Welcome to the Dash Forum!

Please sign up to discuss the most innovative cryptocurrency!

v0.11.2.x Testing

Discussion in 'Testing' started by eduffield, Mar 4, 2015.

  1. TanteStefana

    TanteStefana Grizzled Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,860
    Likes Received:
    1,854
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    It should, sometimes there aren't any other inputs I think, or else it's idle? I think, though I must find out for sure, that there is a randomness to which darksend mixings you join, so they aren't consecutive all the time, more random. Is that correct?
     
  2. bigrcanada

    bigrcanada Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    367
    Trophy Points:
    233
    I am trying Darksend right now to anon the tDASH...is coming up with a error. Darksend request incomplete.

    EDIT: its starting to work now...its giving me some random errors...I guess we need more peeps trying to darksend for it to work?
     
  3. bigrcanada

    bigrcanada Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    367
    Trophy Points:
    233
    I meant I cant see the sending wallet, your wallet address ;)
     
  4. TanteStefana

    TanteStefana Grizzled Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,860
    Likes Received:
    1,854
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    Well, it wouldn't tell you as much as going to the blockchain explorer would, and it'd kind of be a lot of info? I dunno, though, maybe. Would that be useful? The guys would have to program it in...
     
  5. bigrcanada

    bigrcanada Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    367
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Well, it would be nice to know who sent you some coins, or maybe I'm missing something. probably the later. But is someone sends me coins it would be good to track that.
     
  6. moocowmoo

    moocowmoo Bovine Bit-flipper
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2014
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    603
    Trophy Points:
    263
    Dash Address:
    XmoocowYfrPKUR6p6M5aJZdVntQe71irCX
    all the info I suggest is in that code snippet. literally "(and 9 other addresses)"
    And it is useful to have an address you *know* they have control of to send, say, a refund back to.
     
  7. TanteStefana

    TanteStefana Grizzled Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,860
    Likes Received:
    1,854
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    Here is the link to that transaction. I did darksend and instantX so you have a huge list of inputs ;P

    http://test.explorer.dashninja.pl/t...cbe3fb0631d33137db6681aefc29e5673b2e8319bb4ca

    Ah, refunds, that makes sense! Except, people do consolidate their wallets periodically because they can get cumbersome. Then they might have tossed out the address. So it would probably be safest to get a fresh address from the customer in that case.
     
  8. bigrcanada

    bigrcanada Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    367
    Trophy Points:
    233

    yes...I mean I'm always looking at this from my roll as a merchant. I'd want to be able to connect addressed to clients....refunds are a good use, also to verify a client has paid for a good or service....
     
  9. moocowmoo

    moocowmoo Bovine Bit-flipper
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2014
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    603
    Trophy Points:
    263
    Dash Address:
    XmoocowYfrPKUR6p6M5aJZdVntQe71irCX
    just keep in mind it may be more like:

    Code:
    From: yGicnVeYWqR77eJUiGwYYMfdcDrj3Qs1Ew (and 79 other addresses)
    expect many many-to-one transactions -- customer identity should be determined by the receiving address, not the sending. -- Your system needs to reserve and store each generated address and tie it to an invoice.
     
  10. TanteStefana

    TanteStefana Grizzled Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,860
    Likes Received:
    1,854
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    To verify that a customers coins are connected to the transaction is going to have to be a part of the merchant's bookkeeping. But actually, the TXID is really the thing to look at, and like I said earlier, if refunds need to be made, I'd guess the best thing to do is to retrieve a fresh address from the customer???

    Isn't the TXID unique to the one transaction and many TXID's are included in a block?
     
  11. bigrcanada

    bigrcanada Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    367
    Trophy Points:
    233
    hummmm. this makes it hard to track for staff for warranty, refunds and payment confirmations. YIKES!
     
  12. moocowmoo

    moocowmoo Bovine Bit-flipper
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2014
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    603
    Trophy Points:
    263
    Dash Address:
    XmoocowYfrPKUR6p6M5aJZdVntQe71irCX
    read my edit. :)
     
  13. bigrcanada

    bigrcanada Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    367
    Trophy Points:
    233
    just sent the address yGicnVeYWqR77eJUiGwYYMfdcDrj3Qs1Ew 100tDASH via instantx
     
  14. TanteStefana

    TanteStefana Grizzled Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,860
    Likes Received:
    1,854
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    It is with great sadness that I must say good night. I had another sleepless night last night, so I'm going to try and meditate and get to sleep (hopefully) at a normal time tonight ;P Goodnight guys!!
     
  15. bigrcanada

    bigrcanada Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    367
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Hummm....this gives me something to think about from my perspective. This is something I'm going to need help with at our shop. I couldn't imagine doing a few hundred transactions a day through our till....could be interesting. thanks gang. I'm off to bed. I've learnt a lot this evening.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. bigrcanada

    bigrcanada Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    367
    Trophy Points:
    233
    goodnight. me too! cheers!
     
  17. Sub-Ether

    Sub-Ether Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,516
    Likes Received:
    1,254
    Trophy Points:
    183
    cock-a-doodle-doo :tongue:
     
  18. HowlingMad

    HowlingMad Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Strix, the only difference between setting up a testnet or mainnet masternode is "testnet=1' in the dash.conf file. Literally, I kid you not. Or from the command line ./dashd -testnet on the server and at the client.

    So if you have already setup a mainnet masternode, you already know how to setup a testnet masternode. Moli's installation notes on the previous pages were very good, or you can use Tao's guide: https://darkcointalk.org/threads/taos-masternode-setup-guide-for-dummies.2680/

    Sorry I don't know what is needed to compile everything on Arch. Are you on a Raspberry PI? I might have to try this, I have a couple of Pi's doing nothing at the moment.
     
  19. HowlingMad

    HowlingMad Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Anybody know why DASH is getting crushed on Cryptsy yesterday and today?
     
  20. JPCrypto

    JPCrypto Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Wow! All this testnet testing has gotten me in a testing mood! I think I may try setting up a testnet MN today. Will a laptop handle it?
     
  21. splawik21

    splawik21 Grizzled Member
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member Dash Support Group Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    1,912
    Likes Received:
    1,273
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    sure it does :)
     
  22. moli

    moli Grizzled Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Messages:
    3,261
    Likes Received:
    1,837
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    Of course it does! If you're in a good mood, run Darksend also! :)
     
  23. Lukas_Jackson

    Lukas_Jackson Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    70
    Trophy Points:
    88
    Something like the warning info saying that you have 'x amount' addresses left in your wallet before you make a new back up, would be helpful.
    You can refill your pool addresses or change the wallet then.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  24. Miner237

    Miner237 Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2014
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    223
    Trophy Points:
    213
    Hi it's been awhile for me really getting into testnet for reporting bugs, can anyone refresh my memory are we still using JIRA? Can someone post the link for bug tracking?

    I'm sure our awesome Dev team has this on their list already since someone mentioned it here and its a newer feature they are working on but in both windows and linux when i type "masternode vote" without the response the client crashes.
     
  25. UdjinM6

    UdjinM6 Official Dash Dev
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,637
    Likes Received:
    3,536
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    well, jira is kind of abandoned now...

    "vote" crash should be fixed https://github.com/darkcoin/darkcoin/commit/5c03872655ece67ede2efea2a0b5bdeb8a93a9e8 in next binaries or you can recompile from source.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  26. TanteStefana

    TanteStefana Grizzled Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,860
    Likes Received:
    1,854
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    I love this idea, but it would require somehow having memory of when you backup your wallet, which I don't believe the wallet tracks. I think the wallet always keeps a backup of 1000 empty account numbers, each time you start it it adds to the list. So it's kind of an ongoing thing. However, it might not be a bad idea for the wallet to create a backup each time it's started or stopped?? It could be called walletBK.dat or something? But then maybe people would start relying on it and if the HD failed.... I dunno?
     
  27. AjM

    AjM Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2014
    Messages:
    1,331
    Likes Received:
    570
    Trophy Points:
    283
    It would be nice if wallet have automatic wallet backup func with configurable disk/folder address.
    Backup should be auto launch when client exits.
    And max saved backups for example 20 or 30, and older deleted if max is reached.
     
  28. eduffield

    eduffield Core Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,084
    Likes Received:
    5,319
    Trophy Points:
    183
    ******************** TESTNET : 11.2.20 - DS Fixes *********************************

    I'll probably push this out to mainnet tomorrow, thanks for the help everyone!

    - vote-many now supports loading up your masternode.conf on a completely separate computer where your coins are NOT. This will allow masternodes to vote without exposing their cold wallet.
    - DS max rounds in config moved down to 8. There's really no reason ever to use more, however, the parameter still supports up to 16 for advanced users.
    - fixed crash with voting
    - updated chinese translations
    - masternode stop should disable MN and remove it from MN list - Udjin
    - fix filtering for masternode list votes rpc - Udjin

    * Compiling atm

    Windows 32bit:
    http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/DRKW-DEV/JOB1/build-171/gitian-win-dash-bin/32/dash-qt.exe

    Windows 64bit:
    http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/DRKW-DEV/JOB1/build-171/gitian-win-dash-bin/64/dash-qt.exe

    Mac OS X:
    http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/browse/DR...1/gitian-osx-dash-dist/dash-0.11.2.20-osx.dmg

    Linux 32bit:
    http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/DRKL-DEV/JOB1/build-192/gitian-linux-dash-bin/bin/32/dash-qt
    http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/DRKL-DEV/JOB1/build-192/gitian-linux-dash-bin/bin/32/dashd

    Linux 64bit:
    http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/DRKL-DEV/JOB1/build-192/gitian-linux-dash-bin/bin/64/dash-qt
    http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/DRKL-DEV/JOB1/build-192/gitian-linux-dash-bin/bin/64/dashd
     
    • Like Like x 8
  29. AjM

    AjM Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2014
    Messages:
    1,331
    Likes Received:
    570
    Trophy Points:
    283
    Mixing is humming nice.

    Reminder:
    - Overview tab -> Darksend progress bar -> tooltip is NOT translated.
    - Overview tab -> Darksend Mixing -> "Last Darksend Message" some messages is NOT translated.
    - Send tab -> Send confirm window -> "Yes" and "Cancel" buttons is NOT translated.
    - Receive tab -> Request payment window -> "Close" button is NOT translated.

    Last 2 is already translated but not connected to these 3 buttons.
     
  30. Miner237

    Miner237 Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2014
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    223
    Trophy Points:
    213