Welcome to the Dash Forum!

Please sign up to discuss the most innovative cryptocurrency!

v0.10.11.x RC3 Prelaunch Testing

Discussion in 'Testing' started by eduffield, Jun 23, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jimbit

    jimbit Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    103
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Can we run this on mainnet now?
     
  2. minersday

    minersday Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Updated my 15 testnet masternodes, 5 of them are bringing in hash power..

     
  3. flare

    flare Administrator
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2,306
    Likes Received:
    2,436
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    Tag v0.9.11.3 in git is referencing commit df7734b684, whereas latest commit was bb7fa4f92d - is this correct? Wanted to test my gitian-builds against v0.9.11.3 and need to ensure the tag is correct :)
     
    #153 flare, Jun 25, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 25, 2014
  4. vertoe

    vertoe Three of Nine

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    2,574
    Likes Received:
    1,656
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    Shouldn't we also add like 10-20 pools and spread our hashrate equal to all the pools and see how it works out if we find a lot of blocks at once?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. eduffield

    eduffield Core Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,084
    Likes Received:
    5,319
    Trophy Points:
    183
    Yeah, should be bb7fa4f92d. I'll have to be careful about that with gitian
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. vertoe

    vertoe Three of Nine

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    2,574
    Likes Received:
    1,656
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    flare could someone using the private key generated by masternode genkey to authenticate with the network as the masternode and abuse that somehow?
     
  7. yidakee

    yidakee Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    1,812
    Likes Received:
    1,168
    Trophy Points:
    283
    3 nodes updated.

    payout stats

    Node A = 45 tDRK (12%)
    Node B = 140 tDRK (37%)
    Noce C = 195 tDRK (51%)

    Seems fair so far, still too early for equal dist. :cool:

    eduffield - Any news on a block explorer, or Abe patch? I'm missing being able to check earnings quick
     
    #157 yidakee, Jun 25, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 25, 2014
  8. flare

    flare Administrator
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2,306
    Likes Received:
    2,436
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    As far as i understood eduffield regarding the masternodeprivkey, the key is randomly generated and never used in the wallet.

    So even if someone gets access to this key, he will not have access to your 1000DRK vin.

    Nevertheless the attacker might use the key to sign messages to the network, so he could presumly register a new pubkey/IP combination to hijack payouts - but i have not thought through all implications of this attack-vector and if it's feasable - or if Evan has already countermeasures in place (he is usually very good at this :) )
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. yidakee

    yidakee Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    1,812
    Likes Received:
    1,168
    Trophy Points:
    283
    Would you have fun with it if I gave you one of my node's masternodeprivkey?
     
  10. minersday

    minersday Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    48
    I actually did this by accident, the result is a few pages back..
     
  11. yidakee

    yidakee Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    1,812
    Likes Received:
    1,168
    Trophy Points:
    283
    Dont think its the same thing. I've also managed to do buggy'ish multi-ticket too. We're talking about a third party hijacking the payouts

    as flare put it

     
  12. eduffield

    eduffield Core Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,084
    Likes Received:
    5,319
    Trophy Points:
    183
    Abe it working, it was just stuck yesterday.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. flare

    flare Administrator
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2,306
    Likes Received:
    2,436
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    Nevertheless it fails to parse the masternode votes, as their position in the block moved to the blockheader.

    Code:
    Masternode Votes
    
    
    Blockheight    Pubkey    Votes
     
  14. flare

    flare Administrator
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2,306
    Likes Received:
    2,436
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    Having fun with cross-compilers currently:

    Code:
    [email protected]:~/build/distsrc$ ls -l DarkCoin-Qt.app/Contents/MacOS
    total 12064
    -rwxrwxr-x 1 ubuntu ubuntu 12350516 Jun 25 21:20 DarkCoin-Qt
    [email protected]:~/build/distsrc$ file DarkCoin-Qt.app/Contents/MacOS/DarkCoin-Qt
    DarkCoin-Qt.app/Contents/MacOS/DarkCoin-Qt: Mach-O 64-bit executable
    Looks very promising :)
     
    • Like Like x 3
  15. eduffield

    eduffield Core Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,084
    Likes Received:
    5,319
    Trophy Points:
    183
    So the only thing that key can do is ping the network is say your node is alive, it can also remove it from the masternode list.
     
    • Like Like x 3
  16. flare

    flare Administrator
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2,306
    Likes Received:
    2,436
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    I somehow doubt thats worth hacking the masternode :D
     
  17. yidakee

    yidakee Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    1,812
    Likes Received:
    1,168
    Trophy Points:
    283
    I disagree. Same principle as DDoS competing pools? But then again, either a major exploit is found, or the time and trouble might not affect global payouts.
     
  18. yidakee

    yidakee Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    1,812
    Likes Received:
    1,168
    Trophy Points:
    283
  19. HammerHedd

    HammerHedd Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    88
    The version i was referring to is the version of p2pool, which is currently commit fac408d. As I type this, tho, I realize that you didn't say you were running a p2pool, only that you were trying to mine on one. In any case, if p2pool is running on testnet, it is using port 18998 instead of port 8998 or port 7903 as on the real network. Because of this, you'd have to point your testnet miner to the the address at port 18998, which is something that I forgot when I was initially setting up a p2pool on testnet.
    That said, if you ARE trying to set up a p2pool on an AWS instance, I also wanted to remind you to open port 18998 and 18999 in the security settings as well.

    And if you wanted to try to determine if it is a miner config problem or a p2pool config problem, you could try pointing your miner at my testnet p2pool node, which is working at 54.88.172.2:18998. if you can't connect there, it is probably a miner issue, because I can connect from various places to that IP. If you CAN connect to my pool, then your miner is probably not the issue, and you can start working through your p2pool config.

    :) because that's what I ended up doing last night :)
     
  20. eduffield

    eduffield Core Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,084
    Likes Received:
    5,319
    Trophy Points:
    183
    Awesome!
     
  21. tifozi

    tifozi New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    3
  22. flare

    flare Administrator
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2,306
    Likes Received:
    2,436
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    Finally got the gitian-descriptors for OSX build working.

    If someone likes to test if the binary distribution is at least starting see link below - i am not able to test it, as i don't even own a mac. The binary is cross compiled on a Ubuntu precise host without any errors, so if i did not f**k up the dmg packaging it should work.

    version 0.9.11.5 (Mac OSX)
    --> http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/browse/DOD-DRK-28/artifact/QTL/gitian-osx-darkcoin/DarkCoin-Qt.dmg

    version 0.9.11.5 (Win32)
    --> http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/DWD-DRK/QTL/build-23/gitian-win-darkcoin/32/darkcoin-qt.exe
    --> http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/DWD-DRK/QTL/build-23/gitian-win-darkcoin/32/daemon/darkcoind.exe

    Next on my wishlist: Linux 32/64 and Windows 64. After that i will create a pull request for Evan, so that the descriptors can be merged into darkcoin master and we can start to distribute signed gitian-builds :)
     
    #172 flare, Jun 26, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 26, 2014
    • Like Like x 3
  23. UdjinM6

    UdjinM6 Official Dash Dev
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,637
    Likes Received:
    3,536
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    Nice! I was able to run it on mac but have some strange fonts:
    original:
    [​IMG]
    your version:
    [​IMG]

    Didn't tested send/receive though

    EDIT: it looks more "strange" live then on screenshot, don't know why...
     
  24. flare

    flare Administrator
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2,306
    Likes Received:
    2,436
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    Thanks for the feedback.

    Hmm, i ask myself if the different fonts are related to the fact that the official client is built against Qt4, where mine is built against Qt5 :)
     
  25. TanteStefana

    TanteStefana Grizzled Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,860
    Likes Received:
    1,854
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    Sorry I haven't been around and if this question is part of 10.11.04 issue, but does this mean my node is being rejected?
    Code:
    2014-06-27 06:38:28 received getdata for: block 000000000006b30a9c2aa4a951607b2e6eda93d96356bcb735f8c9c923d57da1 peer=246
    2014-06-27 06:38:35 peer=474 says we are misbehaving 20
    2014-06-27 06:38:37 peer=474 says we are misbehaving 20
    2014-06-27 06:38:38 peer=474 says we are misbehaving 20
    2014-06-27 06:38:55 received getdata for: block 00000000000a0ed3b90352bcb05460b176396c9b950f5fba4afc7d870c0863ca peer=246
    2014-06-27 06:39:11 Got bad masternode address signature
    2014-06-27 06:39:11 Misbehaving: 192.99.184.49:9999 (60 -> 80)
    
    And will updating to 10.11.05 fix this issue for me?

    Answer was yes :)
     
    #175 TanteStefana, Jun 27, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 27, 2014
  26. TanteStefana

    TanteStefana Grizzled Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,860
    Likes Received:
    1,854
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    So anyway, I know you all are dealing with a pool issue right now, but I can't help but wonder if you've noticed any issues yet? Have we had simultaneous block solutions? Is everything running well under the hood?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  27. eltito

    eltito Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2014
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    185
    Trophy Points:
    103
  28. vertoe

    vertoe Three of Nine

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    2,574
    Likes Received:
    1,656
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    I can read it ;-)
     
  29. eltito

    eltito Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2014
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    185
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Lol thanks - I was a little confused about something Propulsion was doing last night - now it seems pretty obvious my brain was malfunctioning :D.
     
  30. TanteStefana

    TanteStefana Grizzled Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,860
    Likes Received:
    1,854
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    Well, I'm going to get another cheap hard drive tomorrow, LOL (i have the worst luck with HDs) and start up another old machine so I can run a masternode and mine on testnet. And if I can get my cpu miner working on my current ubuntu, I'll have that one up and running too. That way I'll be ready to slip in new versions of the wallet and it won't take me forever to catch up with the testing (as usual, LOL)

    Hope we can start soon! (need dancing baby pic here) :D
     
    • Like Like x 1
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.