Welcome to the Dash Forum!

Please sign up to discuss the most innovative cryptocurrency!

v0.10.16.x Testing

Discussion in 'Testing' started by eduffield, Nov 12, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TanteStefana

    TanteStefana Grizzled Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,860
    Likes Received:
    1,854
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    I just replaced my darkcoind and darkcoin-qt files, that's all I did and both started up with no problems. I don't think there is anything wrong with my port settings. I think this has something to do with the latest version of the wallets. both QT and daemon.

    Thanks for your help crowning, but I've got so much work to do, LOL. I guess I probably won't get any payments until I'm properly updated but I'm going to run the older version until something is updated again. BTW, a couple of other people experienced this on BCT as well.
     
  2. qwizzie

    qwizzie Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,500
    Likes Received:
    715
    Trophy Points:
    183
    i just had it too .. i set a rule in my firewall to open port 9999 but it still said inbound port 9999 not open, in the end i got it working by deleting the maxconnections=....line and adding some
    stabile nodes :

    addnode=54.187.228.106:9999
    addnode=68.226.51.134:9999
    addnode=192.241.246.214:9999
    addnode=93.95.228.131:9999
    addnode=94.23.148.203:9999
    addnode=212.129.12.103:9999
    addnode=81.134.134.100:9999
    addnode=108.61.211.107:9999

    it restarted then from cold wallet. Afterwards i deleted the rule in my firewall and added the
    maxconnections=256 back in my darkcoin.conf
    It sure was weird.
     
    #182 qwizzie, Nov 16, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 16, 2014
  3. TanteStefana

    TanteStefana Grizzled Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,860
    Likes Received:
    1,854
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    well, I updated to 16.9 and it's been, I don't know, has it been an hour? My ip's dropped off the list :(

    should I :
    1. wait and see if I come back onto the network?
    2. try qwizzie's method on 16.8?
    3. Hang myself?
    4. go to sleep with some potent sleeping pills?

    LOL

    I just thought of a 5th option, that I'm gonna use. Mai tai time!
     
  4. UdjinM6

    UdjinM6 Official Dash Dev
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,637
    Likes Received:
    3,536
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    16.11 is out :)
     
  5. TanteStefana

    TanteStefana Grizzled Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,860
    Likes Received:
    1,854
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    Ok, it's time for a spanking! I'm heading out to Arizona now, bye! ...........

    BTW, where is it posted?
     
  6. TanteStefana

    TanteStefana Grizzled Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,860
    Likes Received:
    1,854
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    still not working for me :( Get same problem and qwizzie's solution isn't working either. Something is not right....

    16.6 works
    16.7-11 don't

    I deleted peers.dat again
    I tried qwizzie's solution, nope
    I'm at the end of my rope :mad:
     
  7. UdjinM6

    UdjinM6 Official Dash Dev
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,637
    Likes Received:
    3,536
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    you can check ports by
    Code:
    netstat -an | grep 9999
    or
    Code:
    netstat -an | grep 19999
    respectively

    also check debug.log - maybe daemon banned your local machine for some time (24h by default)
    Code:
    cat ~/.darkcoin/debug.log | banned
    you can remove peers.dat or/and try to use this option then
    Code:
    -bantime=<n>           Number of seconds to keep misbehaving peers from reconnecting (default: 86400)
     
  8. DrkMiner

    DrkMiner Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2014
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    88
    Did you change something in the darkcoin.conf (hot wallet)?

    masternodeaddr=178.xxx.xxx.xxx:9999
     
  9. TanteStefana

    TanteStefana Grizzled Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,860
    Likes Received:
    1,854
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    nope, nothing at all. except recently when I deleted maxconnections and inserted addnodes as suggested above ^^^
     
  10. DrkMiner

    DrkMiner Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2014
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    88
    I was getting "not capable masternode" only when I used "masternode start-many" without the correct setup.
     
  11. TanteStefana

    TanteStefana Grizzled Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,860
    Likes Received:
    1,854
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    I haven't tried that. I have only 2 so it wasn't worth it for me to try something new....

    Edit:

    Now I've installed ntp to keep track of time, and sync'd both machines
    I've dumped my ip address, and got a new one
    I got a new masternode private key
    I placed the info in all the correct places (both conf files)

    and I still get "not capable masternode" on the remote server. I am giving up.
     
    #191 TanteStefana, Nov 16, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 16, 2014
  12. TanteStefana

    TanteStefana Grizzled Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,860
    Likes Received:
    1,854
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    couple of things in my debug log I'm going to extract here in case anyone understands them. It seems to me that my wallet is looking at itself to see if it is capable to be a masternode. But that's my ignorant intermpretation:

    2014-11-16 06:11:10 GetMyExternalIP() received [54.67.52.191] 54.67.52.191:0
    2014-11-16 06:11:10 GetMyExternalIP() returned 54.67.52.191
    2014-11-16 06:11:10 AddLocal(54.67.52.191:9999,4)
    2014-11-16 06:11:10 Successfully synced, asking for Masternode list and payment list
    2014-11-16 06:11:10 CActiveMasternode::RegisterAsMasterNode() - Checking inbound connection to '54.67.52.191:9999'
    2014-11-16 06:11:10 trying connection 54.67.52.191:9999 lastseen=0.0days
    2014-11-16 06:11:10 connected 54.67.52.191:9999
    2014-11-16 06:11:10 send version message: version 70046, blocks=170454, us=54.67.52.191:9999, them=54.67.52.191:9999, peer=3
    2014-11-16 06:11:10 maxconnections check 248
    2014-11-16 06:11:10 accepted connection 54.67.52.191:50831
    2014-11-16 06:11:10 connected to self at 54.67.52.191:50831, disconnecting
    2014-11-16 06:11:10 disconnecting node 54.67.52.191:50831
    2014-11-16 06:11:10 socket closed
    2014-11-16 06:11:10 disconnecting node 54.67.52.191:9999
    2014-11-16 06:11:10 ProcessSyncCheckpoint: sync-checkpoint at 00000000000c7cf65f2dfd36eb3cd06e1ec18859824e43ae405e90b7ddbce159
    2014-11-16 06:11:10 socket send error 9
    2014-11-16 06:11:10 getblocks -1 to 0 limit 500 peer=2

    And further down, this is how I stopped and closed:

    2014-11-16 06:13:18 dsee - Got NEW masternode entry 108.61.198.250:9999
    2014-11-16 06:13:18 dsee - Accepted masternode entry -1 -1
    2014-11-16 06:13:19 Added 1 addresses from 144.76.238.2: 10 tried, 8315 new
    2014-11-16 06:13:20 CDarkSendPool::UpdateState() == 3 | 3
    2014-11-16 06:13:50 CDarkSendPool::UpdateState() == 3 | 3
    2014-11-16 06:14:17 dsee - Got NEW masternode entry 162.244.78.229:9999
    2014-11-16 06:14:17 dsee - Accepted masternode entry -1 -1
    2014-11-16 06:14:17 Added 162.244.78.229:9999 from 178.62.217.165: 10 tried, 8315 new
    2014-11-16 06:14:20 CDarkSendPool::UpdateState() == 3 | 3
    2014-11-16 06:14:32 dsee - Got NEW masternode entry 108.61.221.47:9999
    2014-11-16 06:14:32 dsee - Accepted masternode entry -1 -1
    2014-11-16 06:14:37 Added 1 addresses from 54.64.125.248: 10 tried, 8315 new
    2014-11-16 06:14:50 CDarkSendPool::UpdateState() == 3 | 3
    2014-11-16 06:15:05 AcceptToMemoryPool: 37.59.118.30:9999 /Satoshi:0.10.16.7/ : accepted 0a3e5b34ab7cc8670e41246cbe29923a3a8b4661bbe9c3fd95bf8f53a1c019c8 (poolsz 1)
    2014-11-16 06:15:19 Added 1 addresses from 37.59.118.30: 10 tried, 8314 new
    2014-11-16 06:15:20 CDarkSendPool::UpdateState() == 3 | 3
    2014-11-16 06:15:30 ThreadRPCServer method=masternode
    2014-11-16 06:15:36 ThreadRPCServer method=stop
    2014-11-16 06:15:36 opencon thread interrupt
    2014-11-16 06:15:36 dumpaddr thread stop
    2014-11-16 06:15:36 Shutdown : In progress...
    2014-11-16 06:15:36 addcon thread interrupt
    2014-11-16 06:15:36 Flush(false)
    2014-11-16 06:15:36 wallet.dat refcount=0
    2014-11-16 06:15:36 wallet.dat checkpoint
    2014-11-16 06:15:36 net thread interrupt
    2014-11-16 06:15:36 msghand thread interrupt
    2014-11-16 06:15:36 wallet.dat detach
    2014-11-16 06:15:36 wallet.dat closed
    2014-11-16 06:15:36 DBFlush(false) ended 23ms
    2014-11-16 06:15:36 StopNode()
    2014-11-16 06:15:36 Flushed 8324 addresses to peers.dat 41ms
    2014-11-16 06:15:36 Committing 385 changed transactions to coin database...
    2014-11-16 06:15:36 Flush(true)
    2014-11-16 06:15:36 wallet.dat refcount=0
    2014-11-16 06:15:36 wallet.dat checkpoint
    2014-11-16 06:15:36 wallet.dat detach
    2014-11-16 06:15:36 wallet.dat closed
    2014-11-16 06:15:36 DBFlush(true) ended 20ms
    2014-11-16 06:15:36 Shutdown : done
     
  13. TanteStefana

    TanteStefana Grizzled Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,860
    Likes Received:
    1,854
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    Well, now I'm up all night again. I've tried creating a new wallet, and doing everything over from scratch, from the beginning. I got my local to say masternode started, and it shows the remote server's ip address on the list, but the remote server insists it's not a capable masternode and does not see the other wallet on the masternode list. Why am I always the one that has everything screwed up? (bangs head against the wall)

    Just shoot me, seriously, I'm such an old dog, shoot me!

    I don't know when this happened, or how but somehow I had my wallet on my local on 15.x!

    After I fixed this and created a new private key, and put it in both wallets, my remote wallet still claimed "not capable masternode". However, after starting my local hot masternode, it showed up on the remote as "successfully started"

    Now, if it is still running In the morning, I may not kill myself! LOL (JK)
     
    #193 TanteStefana, Nov 16, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 16, 2014
  14. qwizzie

    qwizzie Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,500
    Likes Received:
    715
    Trophy Points:
    183
    lol.... hope its stays active.
     
  15. superplus

    superplus New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    3
    i've got a question concerning instantx,
    i read all the possible attacks through in the white paper, but what happens if the masternode network is ddos attacked and some bad actor masternodes overtake the network for a short period.
    wouldn't that be a scenario for doublespending?
     
  16. UdjinM6

    UdjinM6 Official Dash Dev
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,637
    Likes Received:
    3,536
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    That's a good question. I think the easiest way to protect from this kind of attack is by simply stopping providing InstantX functionality if there is less then SomeReasonableNumberOfMasternodes. And set SomeReasonableNumberOfMasternodes to.. let's say 1000.
     
  17. thelonecrouton

    thelonecrouton Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    815
    Trophy Points:
    283
    Compared to the vulnerability of over 50% of the total nethash being controlled be 3 or 4 people, this isn't even worth thinking about.
     
  18. superplus

    superplus New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    3
    i don't think so, a well organized ddos and some mn are way easier to accomplish
     
  19. TanteStefana

    TanteStefana Grizzled Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,860
    Likes Received:
    1,854
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    My MNs are still running, I'm a very happy camper :)

    However, this brain of mine is a serious issue. It needs re-programming (or new hardware). Any suggestions? :what::confused::eek::tongue::oops:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  20. thelonecrouton

    thelonecrouton Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    815
    Trophy Points:
    283
    Congrats Tante, just finished rebuilding all mine from scratch too. I've given up trying to improve my brain, it's too far gone. :tongue:
     
  21. TanteStefana

    TanteStefana Grizzled Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,860
    Likes Received:
    1,854
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    Thing is, I've always been this way. And it's so hard to figure out where you went wrong when it could be anything, regardless of logic. LOL I'm sincerely sorry for wasting everyone's time :( I will NOT give you a list of my nicknames ;P but you can guess what they're like.... LOL)
     
  22. illodin

    illodin Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    78
    This has been in the discussions before, and iirc the problem was it's hard to reach a trustless consensus on the number of running masternodes without every node pinging every masternode constantly. Perhaps it's not hard at all if you know how to do it though. :)
     
  23. superplus

    superplus New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    3
    but nodes could just be checked in case of an instant tx, couldn't they? nodes have to be connected anyway during the election process

    minimum_nodes connected could be 70% of the average of the last 2 months or something.
    maybe the number of nodes could be found in the blockchain by scanning the masternodepayments?
     
  24. crowning

    crowning Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,428
    Likes Received:
    2,005
    Trophy Points:
    183
    This scenario is handled in chapter 4.5 "Multiple Consensus Messages" in Evan's whitepaper.

    A locking message is propagated to ALL clients, so in case of a conflicting message ('bad' Masternodes send different messages for the same lock) it's (relatively, poor Evan has to implement this :) ) easy to find out that the same inputs are spent twice and switch back to 'normal' block confirmation.

    So, if anything, it's more a kind of DDOS for the transaction-speed(!), not the function itself.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  25. TsuyokuNaritai

    TsuyokuNaritai Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2014
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    102
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Any updates on when Instant Transactions testing might start? :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  26. splawik21

    splawik21 Grizzled Member
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member Dash Support Group Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    1,919
    Likes Received:
    1,278
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    When we will have stable onyx v2? ;)
     
  27. vertoe

    vertoe Three of Nine

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    2,574
    Likes Received:
    1,656
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    I'm with a 0.9.x client on testnet currently. What are you up to?
     
  28. oblox

    oblox Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,032
    Likes Received:
    537
    Trophy Points:
    183
    The latest release (10.16.16) would be the one you would use on testnet until Evan pushes testnet only releases with instantx and/or other features implemented.
     
  29. UdjinM6

    UdjinM6 Official Dash Dev
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,637
    Likes Received:
    3,536
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    Mixing 1000/8 on v0.10.16.16.... please join :)
     
  30. crowning

    crowning Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,428
    Likes Received:
    2,005
    Trophy Points:
    183
    If my wallet finally decides to _completely_ sync I'll join in a couple of minutes...
     
    • Like Like x 1
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.