v0.10.16.x Testing

Status
Not open for further replies.

eduffield

Core Developer
Mar 9, 2014
1,084
5,319
183
We're going to be testing v16 to see if we can find any issues before launching on mainnet. This branch is the full release of what I had done of InstantX, but with InstantX disabled, so there's a lot of changes:

- Masternodes can now make a limited number of zero-fee transaction for Darksend. These are special transactions that require a signature that only the masternodes can create.
- Darksend now has no fees to track what-so-ever, all that will ever be in Darksend transactions are Darksend denominations.
- I've implemented a subscription based model for darksend, the per-round idea was flawed and could have been attacked. Instead, the subscriptions are the exact amount as a collateral charge, so if you get charged collateral it's actually just buying more time for Darksend.
- Added queue gaming protection
- Clients remember which masternodes they've connected to in the past and won't use them against.
- Dsee/Dseep messages have been fixed so they only take newer signatures than the one they have
- 2 different kinds of client crashes have been fixed
- Split up main.cpp into core.cpp
- Split up darksend.cpp into masternode.cpp, activemasternode.cpp and instantx.cpp
- Added modular ProcessMessages for Darksend, Masternodes and InstantX

What we need to launch:

- Lots has changed, please try to use Darksend and make sure it works. Let me know if you find any bugs.
- We need miners, anyone can solo mine or use a pool : http://ec2-54-197-214-187.compute-1.amazonaws.com/
- We need masternodes

Many thanks go to Aswan for finding the security issue with Darksend, donations for the work can be sent here:
DRK: XnNazPB1fPS59P9CfEtZWtqcmDttFWNj7A
BTC: 1FGJjQHesURPnLWFEU1R5fZy8PdP7KBkEY

Get test DRK:
https://drkipn.com/test/faucet/

---------


CI-builds for v0.10.16.2

Source:
https://github.com/darkcoin/darkcoin/tree/ds-zero-fee/src

Windows 32bit:
http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/DRKW-DEV/JOB1/build-31/gitian-win-darkcoin-bin/32/darkcoin-qt.exe
http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/...tian-win-darkcoin-bin/32/daemon/darkcoind.exe
http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/...oin-bin/32/darkcoin-0.10.16.2-win32-setup.exe

Mac OS X:
http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/...-osx-darkcoin-dist/darkcoin-0.10.16.2-osx.dmg

Linux 32bit:
http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/.../gitian-linux-darkcoin-bin/bin/32/darkcoin-qt
http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/DRKL-DEV/JOB1/build-32/gitian-linux-darkcoin-bin/bin/32/darkcoind

Linux 64bit:
http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/.../gitian-linux-darkcoin-bin/bin/64/darkcoin-qt
http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/DRKL-DEV/JOB1/build-32/gitian-linux-darkcoin-bin/bin/64/darkcoind



Regards,

The Darkcoin Team
 
Last edited by a moderator:

thelonecrouton

Well-known Member
Foundation Member
Apr 15, 2014
1,135
813
283
- Darksend now has no fees to track what-so-ever, all that will ever be in Darksend transactions are Darksend denominations.
Awesome, I think this will also help greatly with adoption and PR. :)

Will fire up a testnet MN - need to test SMUT 1-click MN install ;) - and a mining rig in an hour or so.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
  • Like
Reactions: darkwing

oaxaca

Well-known Member
Foundation Member
Jul 8, 2014
573
832
263
2 things.
1 - I have a VPS running a liquidity provider I would gladly convert into a testing MN.
2 - Can we change the term "subscription" to something else? http://www.thesaurus.com/browse/subscription "Subscription" will feed the trolls harping about centralization.
 

Minotaur

Well-known Member
Foundation Member
Apr 7, 2014
452
1,079
263
2 things.
1 - I have a VPS running a liquidity provider I would gladly convert into a testing MN.
2 - Can we change the term "subscription" to something else? http://www.thesaurus.com/browse/subscription "Subscription" will feed the trolls harping about centralization.
Agree, we can just call it the Darksend fee, its not like we are running Netflix or something. It is just a fee to avoid spamming and sybil attacks. This will avoid a lot of confusion, just my 2 duffs.
 
  • Like
Reactions: moli and georgem

Minotaur

Well-known Member
Foundation Member
Apr 7, 2014
452
1,079
263
Something like " The Darksend fee will be paid in a separate transaction, before the process starts to avoid the fees revealing any information related to the Darksend process while protecting it from spammers..." just an idea the wording can be different.
 
  • Like
Reactions: HinnomTX

jimbit

Well-known Member
Foundation Member
May 23, 2014
229
103
203
NICE.. I will set up a solo miner tonight.. then a MN.
 

UdjinM6

Official Dash Dev
Dash Core Team
Moderator
May 20, 2014
3,638
3,538
1,183
one note: version number for 0.10.16.x already was 0.10.16.4 (liquidity providers) and now we are back to 0.10.16.1 :rolleyes:
 

darkwing

Active Member
Apr 8, 2014
149
110
103
How about a miners fee? The "subscription" is paid directly to the miners as a fee.
Do we even need a name? It's still darksend.. I mean the button just says start? So the anonymization process will cost X (payed) to the miners.
 

MangledBlue

Well-known Member
Jun 28, 2014
1,246
678
183
USA
Ticket?

By the way, is mining from the wallet via "setgenerate true" useful?

setgenerate true -1
for full cpu
any hash power will be useful

I'll fire up my miners tonight after work :)
approx 22:00 EST

be nice to play with 1 local solo GPU rig, 1 remote solo rig
it's like 18Mhash

Who has a link a the newer and faster miner for my 270x's :)
 

UdjinM6

Official Dash Dev
Dash Core Team
Moderator
May 20, 2014
3,638
3,538
1,183
started a tMN but cant's see it in masternode list and list is actually empty on remote server and in local qt wallet

also got this in debug.log
Code:
2014-11-12 21:40:40 Successfully synced, asking for Masternode list and payment list
2014-11-12 21:40:40 dsee - Got bad masternode address signature
2014-11-12 21:40:40 Misbehaving: 23.23.186.131:19999 (0 -> 100) DISCONNECTING
EDIT: tMN is spamming in stdout with "Broadcasting that I'm ready" (message should go to debug.log I guess)
EDIT2: masternode list on tMN server now shows my ip only, see my comment below
 
Last edited by a moderator:
  • Like
Reactions: Raico

splawik21

Grizzled Member
Dash Core Team
Moderator
Foundation Member
Dash Support Group
Apr 8, 2014
1,917
1,274
1,283
ready steady and downloading ;)

Evan just an idea, why can`t the fee will be charged from the anonymised funds insted of normal?
 

eduffield

Core Developer
Mar 9, 2014
1,084
5,319
183
started a tMN but cant's see it in masternode list and list is actually empty on remote server and in local qt wallet

also got this in debug.log
Code:
2014-11-12 21:40:40 Successfully synced, asking for Masternode list and payment list
2014-11-12 21:40:40 dsee - Got bad masternode address signature
2014-11-12 21:40:40 Misbehaving: 23.23.186.131:19999 (0 -> 100) DISCONNECTING
EDIT: tMN is spamming in stdout with "Broadcasting that I'm ready" (message should go to debug.log I guess)
Opps, removed it. thanks
 

splawik21

Grizzled Member
Dash Core Team
Moderator
Foundation Member
Dash Support Group
Apr 8, 2014
1,917
1,274
1,283
That's an interesting idea. Definitely for future versions.
Thnx Evan, just eureka came into my head ;) that way neither following the fee we can get to where it started.
 

UdjinM6

Official Dash Dev
Dash Core Team
Moderator
May 20, 2014
3,638
3,538
1,183
Have to correct myself but since Evan quoted me already want to do this in new message:
masternode list was empty on tMN side before I started mine and now it shows only me in the list and masternode list in qt-wallet is empty even after I started my tMN
 

innergy

Member
Jun 27, 2014
46
13
48
OK, I'm mining solo with 4.6MH/s and finding blocks... but I can't connect to the pool. Is that correct:

-o stratum+tcp://ec2-54-197-214-187.compute-1.amazonaws.com:3333
 
Last edited by a moderator:

weirdgod

Well-known Member
Foundation Member
Jun 4, 2014
91
51
168
Slovenia, EU
testing with few tMNs from my side too...

just wondering about mining... there is no -setgenerate true... command for darkcoind ?
does that mean, that darkcoind by defaults already mines too? or is there just no option as opposed to wallet darkcoin-qt ?
 

DrkMiner

Member
Jun 7, 2014
204
63
88
Started to solo mine with my GPU.

Found a block:

Status: 3/unconfirmed, broadcast through 5 nodesDate: 12/11/2014 17:17Source: GeneratedCredit: 23.21428572 DRK (matures in 117 more blocks)Net amount: 0.00 DRKTransaction ID: dee9fbc9dd20b24161e3d6302ad5b6f3c8958f8a604e04ce3d73e455f215f136

Edit: i keep finding blocks of 23.21428572 DRK.
Where could I see what % was paid to MN?
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Status
Not open for further replies.