Welcome to the Dash Forum!

Please sign up to discuss the most innovative cryptocurrency!

v0.10.13.x RC5 Testing

Discussion in 'Testing' started by eduffield, Sep 3, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. eduffield

    eduffield Core Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,084
    Likes Received:
    5,319
    Trophy Points:
    183
    The sybil attack issues will be fixed, but the snooping attack will be fixed later, it's a bit more involved than it seems. However, for snooping to work you would need to control all masternodes that a specific input went through(8 rounds = 8 separate masternodes). So it's not a very feasible attack anyway.
     
  2. eduffield

    eduffield Core Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,084
    Likes Received:
    5,319
    Trophy Points:
    183
    • Like Like x 3
  3. flare

    flare Administrator
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2,287
    Likes Received:
    2,406
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    CI-builds for v0.9.13.10-g6aca2ab

    Windows 32bit:
    http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/DWD-DRK/QTL/build-122/gitian-win-darkcoin-bin/32/darkcoin-qt.exe
    http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/...tian-win-darkcoin-bin/32/daemon/darkcoind.exe
    http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/...oin-bin/32/darkcoin-0.9.13.10-win32-setup.exe

    Mac OS X:
    http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/browse/DOD-DRK-103/artifact/QTL/gitian-osx-darkcoin/DarkCoin-Qt.dmg

    Linux 32bit:
    http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/BL-DRK/QTL/build-101/gitian-linux-darkcoin-bin/bin/32/darkcoin-qt
    http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/BL-DRK/QTL/build-101/gitian-linux-darkcoin-bin/bin/32/darkcoind

    Linux 64bit:
    http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/BL-DRK/QTL/build-101/gitian-linux-darkcoin-bin/bin/64/darkcoin-qt
    http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/BL-DRK/QTL/build-101/gitian-linux-darkcoin-bin/bin/64/darkcoind

    CI-builds for v0.10.13.10-g38e0802

    Windows 32bit:
    http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/...arkcoin-rc-darkcoin-qt-bin/32/darkcoin-qt.exe
    http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/...coin-rc-darkcoind-bin/32/daemon/darkcoind.exe

    Mac OS X:
    http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/browse/DOD-DRKRC-40/artifact/QTL/gitian-osx-darkcoin-rc/DarkCoin-Qt.dmg

    Linux 32bit:
    http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/...tian-linux-darkcoin-rc-bin/bin/32/darkcoin-qt
    http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/...gitian-linux-darkcoin-rc-bin/bin/32/darkcoind

    Linux 64bit:
    http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/...tian-linux-darkcoin-rc-bin/bin/64/darkcoin-qt
    http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/...gitian-linux-darkcoin-rc-bin/bin/64/darkcoind
     
    • Like Like x 3
  4. Kai

    Kai Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Huh yeah...
    Between this
    [​IMG]
    And this
    [​IMG]
    I prefer the latter.
     
  5. oblox

    oblox Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,032
    Likes Received:
    537
    Trophy Points:
    183
    I don't care for either of those. If you want to keep the progress bar fine, but make sure it actually represents what is going on. Right now there is confusion among it. It's not going to be any easier for someone new to it to understand what it even means when it doesn't hit 100% or when you change rounds or coins and it starts at x%, etc, etc.
     
  6. Kai

    Kai Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    78
    I understand that there are some issues with it. But it's essential for the user experience to display a progress bar reflecting the status of the process. E.g. You have set 8 rounds and the progress bar indicates 50% ---> the process has already performed 4 rounds of anonymization : simple to explain and to understand.
     
  7. oblox

    oblox Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,032
    Likes Received:
    537
    Trophy Points:
    183
    If it worked like that, we would be in agreement, but it doesn't (or at least didn't when you start adjusting settings). If the progress bar represents to actual progress of anon, it belongs. If it doesn't, then it shouldn't be included. Ether way, one of those has to give.
     
  8. Kai

    Kai Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    78
    No it doesn't work like that, but are we not here to share ideas and to find a solution ? :)
     
  9. vertoe

    vertoe Three of Nine

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    2,573
    Likes Received:
    1,652
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    LOL I was waiting for the image to load.

    I would prefer a text label with counting dots:

    "Doing stuff ."
    "Doing stuff .."
    "Doing stuff ..."
    "Doing stuff ...."
    "Doing stuff ....."
    "Doing stuff ."
    "Doing stuff .."
    "Doing stuff ..."
     
    • Like Like x 3
  10. Kai

    Kai Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    78
    lol
    I like both, let's take the user by the hand. ;)

    [IIIIIIIII 48% ]
    Anonymization in progress .... 2nd round
     
  11. vertoe

    vertoe Three of Nine

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    2,573
    Likes Received:
    1,652
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
  12. coingun

    coingun Active Member
    Masternode Owner/Operator

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    402
    Trophy Points:
    133
    [email protected]:~$ darkcoind getinfo
    {
    "version" : 101310,
    "protocolversion" : 70038,
    "walletversion" : 60001,
    ...
    "testnet" : true,
    "keypoololdest" : 1409778965,
    "keypoolsize" : 1001,
    "paytxfee" : 0.00000000,
    "mininput" : 0.00001000,
    "errors" : "Warning: Displayed transactions may not be correct! You may need to upgrade, or other nodes may need to upgrade."
    }

    Any thought's as to what would be causing this?
     
  13. qwizzie

    qwizzie Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    716
    Trophy Points:
    183
    just found out how to run multiple darkcoin clients on one PC for Windows users:

    - make seperate folders for both darkcoin-qt.exe and the datafolders
    - place shortcuts from each seperate darkcoin-qt.exe to yr desktop
    - in each shortcut add following in the target field: -datadir=yrspecificdatadirectoryfolder -listen=0

    voila... you can now run multiple darkcoin clients on one PC .. increasing the chance of finding pairs for all testers.

    For non-windows users who want to try this see if you can do something with these parameters (-datadir & listen=0)

    i have been running 2 darkcoin clients all night without problems, denominations coming in regarly.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  14. flare

    flare Administrator
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2,287
    Likes Received:
    2,406
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    Do you mind putting this in the documentation wiki? --> http://wiki.darkcoin.qa/display/DRK/Darkcoin+Administrator+Guide
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. Probe

    Probe New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2014
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Thank you ! This cleared the picture for me .
    It looks like this hard to solve issue "sybil attack" is not that hard for you :).
    Its pretty difficult to find the information about the advantages of Darksend. Every user here should make some effort to spread the word !
     
  16. moli

    moli Grizzled Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Messages:
    3,261
    Likes Received:
    1,837
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    LOL !!! I believe there's a hidden message from Evan in every dot! :)
     
  17. vertoe

    vertoe Three of Nine

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    2,573
    Likes Received:
    1,652
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    I think eduffield should write a new paper about the fixed darksend implementation, the old one is very outdated.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  18. teamer

    teamer Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2014
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    136
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Guys i really want to help in development, i have >10 years experience but not in C (C is fine with me, but i never had a working IDE setup) if anyone can help me in setting up an IDE and how to compile and test on Ubuntu i will be able to do some stuff on darkcoin :)
     
  19. vertoe

    vertoe Three of Nine

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    2,573
    Likes Received:
    1,652
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    teamer, get into this thread please! We need people like you! Call for devs: Software adoption - chose your language and go!
     
  20. thelonecrouton

    thelonecrouton Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    1,135
    Likes Received:
    813
    Trophy Points:
    283
    I go away for a week, come back, and read 25 pages about the damn progress bar... :tongue:

    Using a one dimensional graphic to represent a multidimensional process is always going to be a kludge. And most folk don't understand what a vector is, much less a tensor or anything higher-dimensional...

    Proposed 'solution' - use two progress bars! :eek: One representing the progress of that particular round, the other the total progress. Plenty of examples in other software of this, shouldn't be too confusing. Or put more detailed information in the mousover text.

    Personally I'd be happy (and I think most users would be too) with a spinning smiley face telling me that everything is absolutely tickety-boo!, and some text with '234 of 456 DRK anonymised!' or something. Anyone who wants more has coin control to gawp at.

    Anyway, great news and progress generally, look forward to hopping back onto testnet later today!
     
    • Like Like x 5
  21. TsuyokuNaritai

    TsuyokuNaritai Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2014
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    102
    Trophy Points:
    103
    [​IMG]
     
    • Like Like x 1
  22. TsuyokuNaritai

    TsuyokuNaritai Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2014
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    102
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Or if time prohibits, then for now add a banner at the top saying it's outdated with a link to a couple of already existing posts that describe the differences.
     
  23. chaeplin

    chaeplin Active Member
    Core Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Messages:
    749
    Likes Received:
    356
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Solved with option "disablesafemode"

    I have this error
    "errors" : "Warning: Displayed transactions may not be correct! You may need to upgrade, or other nodes may need to upgrade."

    and this

    [email protected]:~> darkcoind masternode list
    error: {"code":-2,"message":"Safe mode: Warning: Displayed transactions may not be correct! You may need to upgrade, or other nodes may need to upgrade."}
     
    #833 chaeplin, Sep 16, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 16, 2014
  24. moli

    moli Grizzled Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Messages:
    3,261
    Likes Received:
    1,837
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    Windows wallet v.10 has a strange error:

    upload_2014-9-16_10-3-6.png

    getinfo
    {
    "version" : 101310,
    "protocolversion" : 70038,
    "walletversion" : 60001,
    "balance" : 1000.00000000,
    "anonymized_balance" : 0.00000000,
    "blocks" : 32440,
    "timeoffset" : 7,
    "connections" : 11,
    "proxy" : "",
    "difficulty" : 0.01029224,
    "testnet" : true,
    "keypoololdest" : 1410852157,
    "keypoolsize" : 1000,
    "paytxfee" : 0.00000000,
    "mininput" : 0.00001000,
    "unlocked_until" : 0,
    "errors" : "Warning: Displayed transactions may not be correct! You may need to upgrade, or other nodes may need to upgrade."
    }
     
  25. thelonecrouton

    thelonecrouton Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    1,135
    Likes Received:
    813
    Trophy Points:
    283
  26. coingun

    coingun Active Member
    Masternode Owner/Operator

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    402
    Trophy Points:
    133
    I would think he is testing the rejecting of certain wallets but it doesn't make sense why the 13.10 client is throwing that error. I'm not choosing to not pay blocks. This wallet does run some of my testnet tools though so now that its offline so its the p2pool node and the faucet.

    Problem is I can't get that wallet to do anything. Doesn't matter if its a new wallet.dat file, old or new version of the wallet, it's just stuck like that with that error can't send or receive coins.
     
  27. eduffield

    eduffield Core Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,084
    Likes Received:
    5,319
    Trophy Points:
    183
    • Like Like x 3
  28. kryptofoo

    kryptofoo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Awesome.

    Not sure what you will do with the status bar jira tickets http://jira.darkcoin.qa/browse/DRK-87 and http://jira.darkcoin.qa/browse/DRK-82 but it sure would be nice if those little nuisances were ironed out. But, please do leave the status bar in!

    Also, I still noticed the typos on the last message area of the overview screen. It still says "Wll Retry" instead of "Will Retry".

    Otherwise it's been working flawlessly for me! Nice work.
     
  29. chaeplin

    chaeplin Active Member
    Core Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Messages:
    749
    Likes Received:
    356
    Trophy Points:
    133

    I have found a option '-disablesafemode'.

    I have relaunched a node with the option.
     
  30. eduffield

    eduffield Core Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,084
    Likes Received:
    5,319
    Trophy Points:
    183
    Can I get someone to zip up their whole .darkcoin directory for testnet and send it to me? This could be something with enforcement. Send to [email protected]
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.