v0.10.13.x RC5 Testing

Status
Not open for further replies.

qwizzie

Well-known Member
Aug 6, 2014
1,552
729
183
Ppl who got stuck with denominations (hours and hours since last denomination) check your debug.log and see which amount Darksend+ is trying to pair with.
Watch for this line : Submiting Darksend for ......

If the amount is a rare amount then stop darksend+ and calculate which amount would make it easily pairable again .. the rest of the amount will
need to go outside yr wallet. This needs to be done through coin control by selecting those amounts with the lesser rounds then start Darksend+ again.
note : so only select those amounts with lesser rounds that make it a rare amount... normal amounts are 1-10-100-500-1024-4096
lets say for example darksend+ is trying to pair 550 then only 50 of those lesser rounds needs to go out.

My own wallet is now happily denominating again after having stuck for 15 hours trying to pair a 600 amount which is rather rare. I sent 100 out and it worked again.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Stealth923

Well-known Member
Foundation Member
Mar 9, 2014
344
372
233
got my 3 wallets going - denominated 3 wallets with 1000 DRK 8 rounds in 30 min...insanely fast!!! will keep them topped up and constantly denominating so other people can benefit :)

status bar looks like its working accurately too!!

I can feel it - open source is close!
 

DrkMiner

Member
Jun 7, 2014
204
63
88
Anyone trying small amounts? 10, 20 DRK?

Darksend is idle for hours. Trying 10 DRK/2 rounds.
 

moli

Grizzled Member
Aug 5, 2014
3,255
1,830
1,183
I'm testing 5000 tdrk, 4 rounds. Just got another tester to join us testing the same amount. So far my wallet got 4 DS denominate fees, but 0 anon tdrk.
 

eduffield

Core Developer
Mar 9, 2014
1,084
5,319
183
****** PLEASE UPDATE TO v9.13.9 (Stable) OR 10.13.9 (RC) *******

There's good reason why we don't use three participants for DS on testnet, there's just not enough wallets to combine with to keep the network going all of the time. I really just wanted to make sure 3 worked, so we could use it on mainnet.

- Testnet merges use two, while mainnet merges will use 3 participants
- Fixed the endless splitting issue causes by splitting 1000DRK and not making a DS compatible input

(waiting for flare's excellent compiling service)
 

DrkMiner

Member
Jun 7, 2014
204
63
88
Great!
Kept getting "Payment to yourself".
Could we change that message to "Denominate"?

We could have tried 3 participants on the testnet.

We just have to setup time that ALL tester will try any amount with max of 20 DRK.

Than different time for 100 DRK etc...
 

flare

Administrator
Dash Core Team
Moderator
May 18, 2014
2,287
2,406
1,183
Germany
****** PLEASE UPDATE TO v9.13.9 (Stable) OR 10.13.9 (RC) *******

There's good reason why we don't use three participants for DS on testnet, there's just not enough wallets to combine with to keep the network going all of the time. I really just wanted to make sure 3 worked, so we could use it on mainnet.

- Testnet merges use two, while mainnet merges will use 3 participants
- Fixed the endless splitting issue causes by splitting 1000DRK and not making a DS compatible input

(waiting for flare's excellent compiling service)

CI-builds for v0.9.13.9-g430a9f1

Windows 32bit:
http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/DWD-DRK/QTL/build-121/gitian-win-darkcoin-bin/32/darkcoin-qt.exe
http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/...tian-win-darkcoin-bin/32/daemon/darkcoind.exe
http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/...coin-bin/32/darkcoin-0.9.13.8-win32-setup.exe

Mac OS X:
http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/browse/DOD-DRK-102/artifact/QTL/gitian-osx-darkcoin/DarkCoin-Qt.dmg

Linux 32bit:
http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/BL-DRK/QTL/build-100/gitian-linux-darkcoin-bin/bin/32/darkcoin-qt
http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/BL-DRK/QTL/build-100/gitian-linux-darkcoin-bin/bin/32/darkcoind

Linux 64bit:
http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/BL-DRK/QTL/build-100/gitian-linux-darkcoin-bin/bin/64/darkcoin-qt
http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/BL-DRK/QTL/build-100/gitian-linux-darkcoin-bin/bin/64/darkcoind

CI-builds for v0.10.13.9-g15683a8

Windows 32bit:
http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/...arkcoin-rc-darkcoin-qt-bin/32/darkcoin-qt.exe
http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/...coin-rc-darkcoind-bin/32/daemon/darkcoind.exe

Mac OS X:
http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/browse/DOD-DRKRC-39/artifact/QTL/gitian-osx-darkcoin-rc/DarkCoin-Qt.dmg

Linux 32bit:
http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/...tian-linux-darkcoin-rc-bin/bin/32/darkcoin-qt
http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/...gitian-linux-darkcoin-rc-bin/bin/32/darkcoind

Linux 64bit:
http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/...tian-linux-darkcoin-rc-bin/bin/64/darkcoin-qt
http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/...gitian-linux-darkcoin-rc-bin/bin/64/darkcoind
 

kryptofoo

Member
Jul 21, 2014
114
36
78
Germany
Ppl who got stuck with denominations (hours and hours since last denomination) check your debug.log and see which amount Darksend+ is trying to pair with.
Watch for this line : Submiting Darksend for ......

If the amount is a rare amount then stop darksend+ and calculate which amount would make it easily pairable again .. the rest of the amount will
need to go outside yr wallet. This needs to be done through coin control by selecting those amounts with the lesser rounds then start Darksend+ again.
note : so only select those amounts with lesser rounds that make it a rare amount... normal amounts are 1-10-100-500-1024-4096
lets say for example darksend+ is trying to pair 550 then only 50 of those lesser rounds needs to go out.

My own wallet is now happily denominating again after having stuck for 15 hours trying to pair a 600 amount which is rather rare. I sent 100 out and it worked again.
If this is truly what we need to do to use darksend, the average user will be lost. I hope this is only an artifact of so few users on testnet.
 

jpr

Active Member
May 11, 2014
493
393
133
1 hour after downloading 10.13.9 I've got 1998/5000 anonymized coins with 4 rounds :)
 
  • Like
Reactions: moli

moli

Grizzled Member
Aug 5, 2014
3,255
1,830
1,183
Not sure if we have to do like what qwizzie said, but definitely this currency isn't for an average user who has no intention to learn how it works, and not easy to like it at the beginning. But i think once it's understood, the popularity will grow.
 
  • Like
Reactions: jpr

qwizzie

Well-known Member
Aug 6, 2014
1,552
729
183
what i described was only a temporarily fix for wallets that didnt receive any denominations for several hours while we were awaiting further news.

Unfortunetely the exact same thing is happening with my large wallet again (20.000 with amount / round .. 19000 / 8) with this new update.
Again i get stuck when its trying to pair a 600 amount.

I have setup my laptop with the same amount and will see if that pairs in the end with my pc's large wallet.

edit : my laptop paired with my pc wallet and got the 600 amount moving again.

Conclusion : not getting Darksend denominations for a long time seems to be related to Testnet (too few ppl testing the exact same wallets and wallet conditions)
 
Last edited by a moderator:

oblox

Well-known Member
Aug 6, 2014
1,032
537
183
Still nothing on on v39. Grouped the N/A rounds of odd amounts and sent them back to the same main address. Nothing happening as of yet and that was 73 confirms ago.
 

qwizzie

Well-known Member
Aug 6, 2014
1,552
729
183
Still nothing on on v39. Grouped the N/A rounds of odd amounts and sent them back to the same main address. Nothing happening as of yet and that was 73 confirms ago.
best to start over again together with someone else who is doing the exact same wallet amount / amount to anonymize and rounds .. so you two can form pairs.
I'm pairing my 20.000 with my laptop and its denominating like crazy now..
 

jpr

Active Member
May 11, 2014
493
393
133
Ok. 10.13.9, linux here. Set it to 5000 with 4 rounds and got 4396/5000 anonymized already :)
 

qwizzie

Well-known Member
Aug 6, 2014
1,552
729
183
Here is something to think about :

Darksend seems to merge certain input amounts depending on walletsize that can in the end only be paired with other users who are using the exact same wallet size for anonymization.
If that input amount that gets merged at some point can not be paired, it will blockade further denominations.

Example : 20.000 wallet will at some point (early on) combine a 100 & 500 input into a 600 amount which then needs to be paired with another 600 amount to sent the last two inputs (100 & 500) to round 8 before it will start tackling the larger inputs. Unfortunetely these 600 amounts only originate from the 20.000 wallets going through anonymization.... so only other 20.000 wallet users going through anonymization will help this wallet further.

Other wallet sizes will have other input amount merges that will need to be paired with users who are trying to anonymize those exact same size wallets.

Maybe we should investigate which walletsize is tripping over which amount ...

edit : if i were a big bagholder on Mainnet and wanted to anonymize a large wallet i would split the wallet over three equal walletsizes on three different pc's or laptops so that they can pair those early walletsize specific amounts if necessary.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

moli

Grizzled Member
Aug 5, 2014
3,255
1,830
1,183
I'm testing 5000 tdrk, 4 rounds. If anyone wants to pair, please do. Thanks. :)

EDIT: So far I've got 3857 tdrk anonymized. The wallet has been moving nicely. I love it when it says "Darksend request complete: Transaction Created Successfully" before another junk of drk is allocated to "Unconfirmed".
 
Last edited by a moderator:

moli

Grizzled Member
Aug 5, 2014
3,255
1,830
1,183
The anonymization has finished. My wallet now has 5456 anon tdrk.

upload_2014-9-14_2-5-30.png

Coin Control shows how the money was split up in the final step:

upload_2014-9-14_2-9-25.png
 
Last edited by a moderator:
  • Like
Reactions: CODERsp

innergy

Member
Jun 27, 2014
46
13
48
Thanks!

Still waiting... no matching
My 20 were anonymized to 30.00000012 (2x10.00000001 plus 10x1.00000001)... I just don't get it. Where I can read how the denomination in Darksend+ works. When I set 20 I'm expecting a simple denomination of 2x10.00000001

The difference between "Amount and round" and "Anonymised" must be 1DRK at most, etc.

234.567 > 2x100.00000001, 3x10.00000001, 5x1.00000001 > 235.00000010
or
159.159 > 1x100.00000001, 6x10.00000001 > 160.00000007

Am I missing something?
 

moli

Grizzled Member
Aug 5, 2014
3,255
1,830
1,183
My 20 were anonymized to 30.00000012 (2x10.00000001 plus 10x1.00000001)... I just don't get it. Where I can read how the denomination in Darksend+ works. When I set 20 I'm expecting a simple denomination of 2x10.00000001

The difference between "Amount and round" and "Anonymised" must be 1DRK at most, etc.

234.567 > 2x100.00000001, 3x10.00000001, 5x1.00000001 > 235.00000010
or
159.159 > 1x100.00000001, 6x10.00000001 > 160.00000007

Am I missing something?
The result is not a hard set of your threshold. Here are the links where Evan explains how Darksend+ works:

https://darkcointalk.org/threads/development-updates-july-15th.1788/
https://darkcointalk.org/threads/development-update-july-30th.1924/
 

defunctec

Member
Jul 11, 2014
103
36
78
If i can use darkcoin, so can 80-90% of crypto users :p

Im trying to denominate 400 at 8 rounds, can someone help plz
 

moli

Grizzled Member
Aug 5, 2014
3,255
1,830
1,183
What does it mean "Masternode queue is full" ? And the windows wallet still shows the spelling error "Wll try again."
 

moli

Grizzled Member
Aug 5, 2014
3,255
1,830
1,183
Also, is it possible there are too few masternodes on the testnet? I see 15 running v08. If my coins have already been run through one masternode, I assume they would not be processed another round in the same masternode(?). Maybe our coins have to match not only denomiations but also match on a current masternode that neither of us has mixed with previously. Is that how this works?
In the diagram where Evan explains how Darksend works, it looks like 8 masternodes are enough to handle transactions, basically:

https://darkcointalk.org/threads/development-updates-july-15th.1788/

Edit: And if I'm not mistaken, one functioning masternode is adequate to create the network to handle everything.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Diirk

New Member
May 27, 2014
21
31
13
Another user interface concern from my side (please note that I am an industry expert in user interface and design).

I think the use of a progress bar to indicate how many coins have been anonymized is misleading to new users.

Progress bars are usually used to indicate the progress of a download, installation or file transfer. The main goal is to reach 100%. If progress bar does not reach 100%, the operation will be useless in all cases.

With darksend+ this is not the case; anonimizing 30% of your coins and then stopping could be a useful operation depending on the user's needs and intentions. It is not the main goal to reach 100%, or at least, not always.

I'm worried that the user will think he has to anonimize 100% of coins in order to have a successful operation, due to the use of a progress bar which I think is a misleading control in this case as it will be associated with common uses. It is arguably even a wrong use of this control, but I'm not sure of that. Percentage is a secondary type of information in this case, but it is presented as primary due to use of control.

To de-emphasize the anonimized coins in relation to total number of coins in wallet by making it a secondary piece of information, I suggest the following:
1) Instead of a progress bar, simply display percentage in text. Remove progress bar. Example format: "x of y coins are now anonymous (z%)" -- presenting the text like this will clarify the immediateness of the progress further in case of any remaining confusion.
2) To give the user the sense of a process being active, display an animated spinner or indeterminate progress bar while anonimization is active. An intermediate progress bar uses motion or some other indicator to show that progress is taking place, rather than using the size of the filled portion to show the total amount of progress.

Thoughts? I wouldn't say this is critical for RC5, unlike the addition of Start/Stop button, which was a massive win.

Diirk (coinzcoinzcoinz on BTCtalk)
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Status
Not open for further replies.