RC4 Launch

Status
Not open for further replies.

vertoe

Three of Nine
Mar 28, 2014
2,573
1,652
1,283
Unimatrix Zero One
Doesnt make sense. It was a old wallet backup. It must work when you start RC4... it did work. It generated a new address in addition after i was using darksend+. Wallets are always backwards compatible. You miss the point. I was using probably 50 different coin wallets that are based on bitcoin and never saw this bahavior. So darksend must be exceeding 100 transactions and generating a new private key in the wallet? I did 8 rounds...
That makes sense, if you don't understand I will try to explain.

Each coin has a keypool. Lets take your bitcoin wallet as example. You start the client and create a backup. The wallet contains a keypool of 100 pregenerated addresses.
If you recieve coins these addresses are still in your wallet and in the backup.

But as soon as you generate a new address which is not from the keypool or import a private key, you have to create a new backup. Always. This is not new and was there since bitcoin's early days.

Now, what's new with Darkcoin RC4? The keypool was increased to 1000 keys. Now the first launch of RC4 generates 900 new addresses to your wallet. Obviously these addresses are not in your backups, thats why you need to create a new backup. That's no magic, just a huge amount of new addresses added to the key pool.

I'm doing weekly versioned backups of all my active wallets because I know there is a lot of stuff ongoing I might not be aware of. Do regular updates and you are fine, with or without RC4.

And there is nothing to blame, your backups are of course backwards compatible, they just dont include newly generated addresses.
 

DrkMiner

Member
Jun 7, 2014
204
63
88
Might be a good idea to add Auto wallet backup when exiting the program (or after anon is completed) or a pop-up message informing that wallet was changed and a new backup should be created ASAP.
 

flare

Administrator
Dash Core Team
Moderator
May 18, 2014
2,287
2,406
1,183
Germany
Might be a good idea to add Auto wallet backup when exiting the program (or after anon is completed) or a pop-up message informing that wallet was changed and a new backup should be created ASAP.
Yep, already discussed this with Evan to have a "rotatelog"-like behaviour for wallet backups built in.

Added a feature request --> http://jira.darkcoin.qa/browse/DRK-30
 

flare

Administrator
Dash Core Team
Moderator
May 18, 2014
2,287
2,406
1,183
Germany
Well, I gave up and killed it, after about 6 hours running at 100%.
The synching got very slow after about block 60.000.
It took about an hour to get there, and processed only about 15.000 blocks in the remaining five hours.

I'm back to 9.12.31 and it runs like it should.
I have the following finding: If the wallet is unencrypted, blockchain download and system load/responsivness on 0.10.12.31 is as good as as with 0.9.12.31 - on Windows 8

May i ask you to test this on Mac OSX and report back? Thanks!
 

fandarig

New Member
May 29, 2014
17
4
3
Doesnt make sense. It was a old wallet backup. It must work when you start RC4... it did work. It generated a new address in addition after i was using darksend+. Wallets are always backwards compatible. You miss the point. I was using probably 50 different coin wallets that are based on bitcoin and never saw this bahavior. So darksend must be exceeding 100 transactions and generating a new private key in the wallet.
That makes sense, if you don't understand I will try to explain.
Now, what's new with Darkcoin RC4? The keypool was increased to 1000 keys. Now the first launch of RC4 generates 900 new addresses to your wallet. Obviously these addresses are not in your backups, thats why you need to create a new backup. That's no magic, just a huge amount of new addresses added to the key pool.
Thanks dude. This information is crucial for people they are using live ubuntu cds. Every time you boot you delete everything also your wallet.dat. I have no idea why i did a backup it was 50 : 50 chance to do so, i could shutdown the computer and lost a hell of a coins. I think there will be people finding out if not warned that they still only have a backup with 100 keys and losing there coins. This is lack of information, i dont want to know how much noobs will be out there doing that mistake...
 
  • Like
Reactions: flare

franz2

New Member
Jun 26, 2014
6
1
3
I tried denominate with 0.10.12.31 Wiindows Client.

I put to settings that I want to use Darksend and I want to keep 11 Coins anonymized.

The client made me 6 coins anonymized and stopped the process.

I tried to send 3 of the anonymized coins. It worked fine.

but how to tell the client to fill up the 11 coins again?

on the test wallet I have 31 coins.
 

splawik21

Grizzled Member
Dash Core Team
Moderator
Foundation Member
Dash Support Group
Apr 8, 2014
1,917
1,274
1,283
So after denomination on .31 version do I have to backup wallets again because once denominated coin will be not seen/recognised by previous backuped wallet???
 

orbitboy

New Member
Mar 9, 2014
35
12
8
..................... i could shutdown the computer and lost a hell of a coins. I think there will be people finding out if not warned that they still only have a backup with 100 keys and losing there coins. This is lack of information, i dont want to know how much noobs will be out there doing that mistake...
No emoticon could ever display the utter horror of this potential scenario.
 

darkwing

Active Member
Apr 8, 2014
149
110
103
I have the following finding: If the wallet is unencrypted, blockchain download and system load/responsivness on 0.10.12.31 is as good as as with 0.9.12.31 - on Windows 8

May i ask you to test this on Mac OSX and report back? Thanks!
Can verify. 0.10.12.31 unencrypted on OSX working fine for me.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Light and flare

vertoe

Three of Nine
Mar 28, 2014
2,573
1,652
1,283
Unimatrix Zero One
Thanks dude. This information is crucial for people they are using live ubuntu cds. Every time you boot you delete everything also your wallet.dat. I have no idea why i did a backup it was 50 : 50 chance to do so, i could shutdown the computer and lost a hell of a coins. I think there will be people finding out if not warned that they still only have a backup with 100 keys and losing there coins. This is lack of information, i dont want to know how much noobs will be out there doing that mistake...
Are you saying you boot an ubuntu live cd to be sure your system is not compromized, putting your wallet.dat into that system and start denominating coins? I see your issue now.
 

fandarig

New Member
May 29, 2014
17
4
3
Are you saying you boot an ubuntu live cd to be sure your system is not compromized, putting your wallet.dat into that system and start denominating coins? I see your issue now.
Yes thats mostly it. I think just evan should point it out in the main topic that the key size is increased from 100 to 1000. All people that came from bitcoin to dark dont know that. If you never used darkcoin before Rc4 it doesnt matter. In my case i could not even start recovering anything its a live cd. Im happy i made a backup still dont know why i even did it. Sometimes you just do the right thing. ^^
 

splawik21

Grizzled Member
Dash Core Team
Moderator
Foundation Member
Dash Support Group
Apr 8, 2014
1,917
1,274
1,283
Always back up, and back up the backups, I guess :)
I have 6 different backups ;) but wanted to know if I have to backp again after denominations... in RC4.... do I risk something if afte denomination I`ll load the wallet.dat which I used in RC3 ver....
 

flare

Administrator
Dash Core Team
Moderator
May 18, 2014
2,287
2,406
1,183
Germany
Always back up, and back up the backups, I guess :)
I am starting to curse Satoshi for naming the file wallet.dat, as it's basically a keyring plus some metadata.

The wording is misleading and most people don't get that their coins are not stored IN their wallet.dat - just the keys to spend inputs from addresses. If you have the key you own the coin :)
 
  • Like
Reactions: moli

mbilker

Member
Aug 7, 2014
55
8
48
I am starting to curse Satoshi for naming the file wallet.dat, as it's basically a keyring plus some metadata.

The wording is misleading and most people don't get that their coins are not stored IN their wallet.dat - just the keys to spend inputs from addresses. If you have the key you own the coin :)
That's why I have a cronjob running with a python script to backup my wallets to multiple locations.
 
  • Like
Reactions: flare

flipme

New Member
Apr 27, 2014
17
3
3
I have the following finding: If the wallet is unencrypted, blockchain download and system load/responsivness on 0.10.12.31 is as good as as with 0.9.12.31 - on Windows 8

May i ask you to test this on Mac OSX and report back? Thanks!
Hi, I can't confirm, my wallet was never encrypted (my disk is, though)
 

jpr

Active Member
May 11, 2014
493
393
133
I have 6 different backups ;) but wanted to know if I have to backp again after denominations... in RC4.... do I risk something if afte denomination I`ll load the wallet.dat which I used in RC3 ver....
I loaded up an rc3 wallet after denominating and got shocked when saw 6drk instead of 1000. Deleted .darkcoin folder but was lucky and didn't empty thrash folder.
Always do your backups after using darksend.
 
  • Like
Reactions: flare

splawik21

Grizzled Member
Dash Core Team
Moderator
Foundation Member
Dash Support Group
Apr 8, 2014
1,917
1,274
1,283
OK thnx.
Just to ask you guys
With RC4 10.12.31 version my wallet goes inactive and uses a lot of cpu power, that in get stability and get inactive again. I can`t even open funcions of it not telling to send coins or what.
is it normal? IMO no.

EDIT: found the problem here: http://jira.darkcoin.qa/browse/DRK-25
 
  • Like
Reactions: flare

darkstrike420

Active Member
Jul 1, 2014
178
136
103
Damn. Bought at 12 USD, now price: 1.44 USD :( My thousand turned in to a hundred :(

Why did the price drop so hard? Darkcoin is what Bitcoin should have been. It should be rising not falling.

Edit: Sync is stuck at Block 2500. Using stable build.

Edit2: After restart it continues to sync.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

acidburn

Active Member
May 26, 2014
467
175
113
I think it was a load of whales jumping out and now the true believers are left to pick up the pieces
 

darkstrike420

Active Member
Jul 1, 2014
178
136
103
I think it was a load of whales jumping out and now the true believers are left to pick up the pieces
I think the price will sky rocket only when Darksend is stable and open-source. I can see all the black markets implementing Darkcoin.
 

crowning

Well-known Member
May 29, 2014
1,415
1,997
183
Alpha Centauri Bc
That's why I have a cronjob running with a python script to backup my wallets to multiple locations.
....just to have a broken wallet copy at multiple locations.

( I guess you do some versioning, I just wanted to mention this for the starters ...)
 
Last edited by a moderator:

moli

Grizzled Member
Aug 5, 2014
3,255
1,830
1,183
That's why I have a cronjob running with a python script to backup my wallets to multiple locations.
Could you show me how to do this? What about USB sticks? I think we still have to do manually with USB sticks, right? Thanks.
 

mbilker

Member
Aug 7, 2014
55
8
48
....just to have a broken wallet copy at multiple locations.

( I guess you do some versioning, I just wanted to mention this for the starters ...)
Not totally, I just copy them in their current state, so I have versioned copies based on date since I backup regularly. This is also on a machine with darksend disabled so there are not too many keys used.
 

mbilker

Member
Aug 7, 2014
55
8
48
Could you show me how to do this? What about USB sticks? I think we still have to do manually with USB sticks, right? Thanks.
I don't do it currently with USBs. I just have 4 harddrives of similar usage (about 5000 hours PowerOnTime) which is very normal for server class hard drives.

EDIT: Forgot to mention that they are also encrypted and then sent to my web-based servers around the world.
 

flare

Administrator
Dash Core Team
Moderator
May 18, 2014
2,287
2,406
1,183
Germany
Hi, I can't confirm, my wallet was never encrypted (my disk is, though)
OK, did you originally create the wallet.dat with a version before RC4 (e.g. 0.9.11.6 / 0.10.11.6)? It turns out the different keypool sizes are causing the high cpu load.

Please try the following workaround: backup your wallet.dat (as always), let 0.10.12.31 create a new wallet.dat and transfer the coins from the old wallet to this new one. This should resolve your CPU load issues.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.