Welcome to the Dash Forum!

Please sign up to discuss the most innovative cryptocurrency!

Masternode guide for complete noobs to update to 0.12.0.58

Discussion in 'Masternode Guides' started by Ryan Taylor, Jul 10, 2014.

  1. Ryan Taylor

    Ryan Taylor Well-known Member
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2014
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    1,597
    Trophy Points:
    263
    EDIT: Updated for the 0.12.0.58 release. Assumes you are simply upgrading and already have a remote masternode running on a Linux 64-bit operating system. Also, I changed the order of the steps to ensure your MN is down for as little time as possible (thus reducing the probability that you will need to manually restart the masternode from your cold wallet)... in previous versions this guide had you stop the MN before it was absolutely necessary. Finally, I have changed some verbiage to improve the clarity of some steps.

    Note that dash-cli may not be necessary to replace, but I always replace it just in case something has changed.

    Step 1: Once logged into your linux server, identify the location of "dashd" and "dash-cli" - these are the files we aim to replace

    Most guides have users place dashd and dash-cli in the main directory while others place them inside a dash directory. No worries, it should be easy to find. Let's take a look at your files. Navigate to the main login directory and determine the location of these files.
    Code:
    cd ~
    la
    You should see a list of files and directories. You will likely see dashd and dash-cli directly here, or there might be some directories for dash in which they reside. If you didn't see dashd or dash-cli here, you will likely see a directory with dash in the name and you can navigate there to take a look.
    Code:
    cd ~/.<directory name here>
    You should be able to search around and find it easily.

    Step 2: Get the version number of your current dashd masternode
    This will be useful if you plan to keep copies of your old dashd
    Code:
    ./dash-cli getinfo
    Note down the version. You will need that information later.

    Step 3: Now we need to get the new files
    Code:
    wget https://www.dash.org/binaries/dash-0.12.0.58-linux64.tar.gz
    You should see the file downloading (although you may need to wait a while for it to start). Once it is done, we should be able to see the file. Let's take a look.
    Code:
    la
    Step 4: Now we need to unpack the contents
    Code:
    tar xfvz dash-0.12.0.58-linux64.tar.gz
    You should see a bunch of new directories that got created and a couple of dashd files will be among them. For the purposes of this guide, I'm assuming that you require the 64 bit version.

    Step 5: Stop your old dashd and move the old binaries to a new name

    This example assumes that you were previously running 12.0.57, and really you could name the old dashd and dash-cli whatever you want if you'd like to use a different naming convention than I've suggested below. It is a good idea to keep at least one old copy of an earlier version of dashd around just in case there is a "rollback" or major bug discovered or you get hung up on a later step in this procedure. You can then move it back to its original state and restart, without hunting down the old version.
    Code:
    ./dash-cli stop
    mv dashd dashd-120057
    mv dash-cli dash-cli-120057
    Some users may also wish to keep things a bit cleaner and create a directory to store their old dashd files. That's fine too.

    Step 6: Copy the new version of dashd and dash-cli to the desired directory
    Code:
    cp dash-0.12.0/bin/dash-cli dash-cli
    cp dash-0.12.0/bin/dashd dashd
    You can check that the new dashd and dash-cli are where you need them.
    Code:
    la
    Step 7: Set read, write and execute permissions on dashd (if you wish)
    You can first check on the current settings.
    Code:
    ls -la dashd
    And modify them if you wish. I suggest following.
    Code:
    chmod 755 dashd
    Step 8: Launch the new version of dashd
    Code:
    ./dashd
    Step 9: Check the current version to make sure everything was done correctly
    Code:
    ./dashd-cli getinfo
    You should see the current version as "120058"

    Step 10: Ensure that your IP is listed in the masternode list
    Code:
    ./dash-cli masternode list full | grep <your.IP.address>
    You should see your IP address listed as "ENABLED" with a ":9999" at the end if everything is working properly. If you don't get that result, wait a few seconds and try again.

    EDIT: As long as you upgrade quickly, the masternode should establish itself as active. If you wait a long period and still cannot get your IP address to come up as active, you may need to go back to your local console and restart your masternode. If your IP address is not listed right away after performing step 10, you should wait about 15 seconds and try running the "masternode list" command again. Your IP might not show up the first time you try, but may show up after a few seconds. If it still doesn't show up after you give it a few minutes, go back to your cold wallet's console and restart the masternode. From your cold wallet's console, enter "walletpassphrase <your passphrase> 60" followed by "masternode start-alias" and the alias of the masternode to start your masternode again. However, remote starting your masternode will cause it to fall to the back of the payment queue, so you only want to do this when absolutely needed.

    Step 11: Get rid of all those files we no longer need
    First, let's remove that entire set of files in the new dash-0.12.0 directory and all subdirectories, along with the packed .tar.gz file.
    Code:
    rm -rf dash-0.12.0
    rm dash-0.12.0.58-linux64.tar.gz
    la
    Everything should be gone from the file download. Next, scan through what's there and if there are some older dashd and dash-cli versions you've been holding on to and no longer want, let's remove those too. This is where naming the versions of your old files comes in handy. In this example, there are old copies from version 0.12.0.56.
    Code:
    rm dashd-120056 (or whatever older versions you want to clean out)
    rm dash-cli-120056
    Step 12: After 30-60 minutes, go to https://dashninja.pl/ to check to see that your version number is showing as updated

    Step 13: Provide any feedback on this guide, especially if there are steps at which you struggled, and I'll try to make it more clear

    https://dashpay.atlassian.net/wiki/display/DOC/Update+to+0.12.0.58+Guide+for+noobs
     
    #1 Ryan Taylor, Jul 10, 2014
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2016
    • Like Like x 12
  2. MrMime

    MrMime Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    188
    This guide was fantastic! Thank you so much :)
     
  3. Darkuopm

    Darkuopm Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2014
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Wish I had found this guide first before figuring it out the hard way. For some reason the grep command is not doing anything after the update. I do show up in Elbozo list as open and on the correct firmware but not listed on any of the servers. I am going to start over and re-download the update to see is that helps. Does anyone else have any suggestions or ideas to fix this. Thanks

    *edit
    see post 96 thru 101 here for solution.
    https://darkcointalk.org/threads/dr...-windows-local-linux-remote-vultr.1367/page-5
     
    #3 Darkuopm, Jul 15, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 15, 2014
  4. vertoe

    vertoe Three of Nine

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    2,574
    Likes Received:
    1,656
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    Updated OP to match with RC4 v0.10.12.25!
     
  5. David

    David Well-known Member
    Dash Support Group

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    628
    Trophy Points:
    163
    I followed these instructions to the letter, but when I do darkcoind masternode list | grep <insert my ip here> I get a blank command line. Do I need to do masternode start from my local machine?
     
  6. splawik21

    splawik21 Grizzled Member
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member Dash Support Group Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    1,915
    Likes Received:
    1,277
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    Have the same probelm as David for all my masternodes
     
  7. hard_forker

    hard_forker Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Same problem as David... :(
     
  8. hard_forker

    hard_forker Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    48
    just read on bitcointalk we have to also start it from local machine... this guide should be updated!
     
  9. Lebubar

    Lebubar Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2014
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    214
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Something missing between step 9 and 10 you have to make on the local wallet with good version (10.12.25 errr 26 now) (where the 1000DRK are) and the good conf file (private key ,Ip master node, masternode=1).

    masternode start "PASSFRASE"
     
    #9 Lebubar, Aug 13, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 13, 2014
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Ryan Taylor

    Ryan Taylor Well-known Member
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2014
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    1,597
    Trophy Points:
    263
    Thank you for pointing out... a moderator had updated but didn't add the additional steps you pointed out. I just went through and edited my post for the fact that in this version you need to go back to the console and masternode start. Should be accurate now. Let me know if anything else has changed, but I think this one change makes the instructions accurate.
     
  11. Lebubar

    Lebubar Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2014
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    214
    Trophy Points:
    103
    I didn't do it yet as I'm at work.

    But take care also if you use the QT for the local wallet (with 1000DRK), should disable the anomizacion first, otherwise your 1000DRK will go denominating and didn't have anymore 1000 DRK on 0 address.

    As far as I understood the dafault is OFF for deamon only but ON for QT wallet...

    EDIT : OK no worry :
    "When you run the qt with masternode=1 in the darkcoin.conf as you need to do for the local remote setup, it wont denominate or mix. So no worries""
     
    #11 Lebubar, Aug 13, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 13, 2014
  12. fernando

    fernando Powered by Dash
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,528
    Likes Received:
    2,057
    Trophy Points:
    283
    If you could update .26 to .27 it would be perfect.

    Also a minor comment to a great guide :): the edit about having to restart the masternode from the local wallet console gets lost where it is. I think it would be better to include it in Step 8 or 9.
     
  13. tungfa

    tungfa Administrator
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member Masternode Owner/Operator Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    8,945
    Likes Received:
    6,728
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    Is there a guide like this for MAC OS to upgrade to 0.10.12.32 ??
    and
    is there a guide to migrate MN from one location to another (Amazon) for MAC ??

    Tx
     
  14. vertoe

    vertoe Three of Nine

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    2,574
    Likes Received:
    1,656
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    Just use this guide and replace 31 with 32.

    Not getting the question. Just send the coins to your new mn location?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. tungfa

    tungfa Administrator
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member Masternode Owner/Operator Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    8,945
    Likes Received:
    6,728
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    I was thinking to migrate the whole MN (example) from Japan to Iceland (in Amazone)
    but i believe that does not work, correct ?!

    Tx for the other answer, i am learning !!!
    (sorry for the dumb tech questions)
     
  16. vertoe

    vertoe Three of Nine

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    2,574
    Likes Received:
    1,656
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    Shut it down (dont terminate, just stop it)
    Create a snapshot (right click > create image)
    Wait till AMI is ready (under my AMIs)
    Right click it > copy > Ireland
    Wait

    Profit.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  17. tungfa

    tungfa Administrator
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member Masternode Owner/Operator Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    8,945
    Likes Received:
    6,728
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    Whoowwww
    ok cool, tx, i will try that out later !!!
     
  18. Ryan Taylor

    Ryan Taylor Well-known Member
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2014
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    1,597
    Trophy Points:
    263
    Just updated this guide for the latest version. Will try to keep current more often. Thanks!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  19. tungfa

    tungfa Administrator
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member Masternode Owner/Operator Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    8,945
    Likes Received:
    6,728
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
  20. Ryan Taylor

    Ryan Taylor Well-known Member
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2014
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    1,597
    Trophy Points:
    263
    • Like Like x 1
  21. tungfa

    tungfa Administrator
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member Masternode Owner/Operator Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    8,945
    Likes Received:
    6,728
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    perfect
    :D