Welcome to the Dash Forum!

Please sign up to discuss the most innovative cryptocurrency!

v13.0 Testing

Discussion in 'Testing' started by codablock, Nov 10, 2018.

  1. DAOMN

    DAOMN Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2017
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    48
    I could do this about as well as my dog could cook me dinner. There would be lots of broken dishes and probably a fire. I'm afraid the best I can offer here is moral support and gratitude. Buen provecho!
     
    • Funny Funny x 1
  2. TanteStefana

    TanteStefana Grizzled Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,860
    Likes Received:
    1,854
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    Ah well, Dash is supposed to eventually make it easy enough for anyone to use, so you will be a perfect candidate when we get so far, to see if we did it right :D
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. codablock

    codablock Member
    Core Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2017
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    149
    Trophy Points:
    83
    RC8 has been published: https://github.com/dashpay/dash/releases/tag/v0.13.0.0-rc8
    It contains a few crash fixes. Please upgrade ASAP. If you don't upgrade, your nodes will crash when we upgrade our miners.
    It also contains changes to the "dummy DKG" which is used to test simple PoSe on testnet. If enough MNs have upgraded, you'll see more offline nodes getting punished.
     
    • Winner Winner x 1
  4. Geert

    Geert Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    48
    If it's any consolation, the testing work you are doing is greatly appreciated. Many people are counting on you!

    They are probably doing it this way because of the intense pressure to get this release out the door ASAP. They are causing testers to bear more than is usual in an effort to conserve precious developer resources IMHO.

     
  5. TanteStefana

    TanteStefana Grizzled Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,860
    Likes Received:
    1,854
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    @codablock

    So now, the masternode status command gives this information:

    [email protected]:~/dashcore-0.13.0/bin$ dash-cli masternode status
    {
    "outpoint": "e68611bb8bfa7ef3f65e8e3a880c5088b9766de0c892f9293bd808704fa75a3d-0",
    "service": "64.193.62.206:19999",
    "proTxHash": "ff2afab72cb68194cd0f01a136a9e061825b93fa4ddbb0d4edd0ee97ae7c96b7",
    "collateralHash": "e68611bb8bfa7ef3f65e8e3a880c5088b9766de0c892f9293bd808704fa75a3d",
    "collateralIndex": 0,
    "dmnState": {
    "registeredHeight": 270638,
    "lastPaidHeight": 281245,
    "PoSePenalty": 0,
    "PoSeRevivedHeight": -1,
    "PoSeBanHeight": -1,
    "revocationReason": 0,
    "keyIDOwner": "f1000b25efd4a04c55f4402d1f7a8383b416db56",
    "pubKeyOperator": "086666b427134ccdbb43e1a14647f61c2047107498313558e378f6c440c4d752d213a6d0a52e4b3a17c5cc62ff5f539a",
    "keyIDVoting": "f1000b25efd4a04c55f4402d1f7a8383b416db56",
    "addr": "64.193.62.206:19999",
    "payoutAddress": "yg8G647Sqg6xqh3z2XSv4ZFrXmueCTa8NV"
    },
    "state": "READY",
    "status": "Ready"

    So, does that mean enabled?
     
  6. Miner237

    Miner237 Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2014
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    223
    Trophy Points:
    213
    Yup I see you on DIP3 list now about to get your second reward.
     
  7. TanteStefana

    TanteStefana Grizzled Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,860
    Likes Received:
    1,854
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    MONEEEEEEEEEYYYYYYYYYYYY!!! LOL
     
  8. camosoul

    camosoul Grizzled Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,256
    Likes Received:
    1,128
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    Ah, for a $5 VPS and a fistful of tDASH, you can screw up until you get it right. It's the cheapest education money can buy, and the more hard-headed you are, the better it works!

    Service Guarantees Citizenship!

    Check out @TaoOfSatoshi 's guides. Your head will spin at first, because it is all over the place and doesn't really explain much. It's just rote copycatting. But, the more you do it, the more it'll start to make sense. The more you screw up, the more you'll have to re-do it, the more you'll learn. And a few weeks later, you'll realize the whole guide can be compressed to one sentence... I was initially irritated with the guide, but it did lead people to learn. The very, very hard way, but I kinda like brutality...
     
    #98 camosoul, Dec 11, 2018
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2018
    • Winner Winner x 1
  9. camosoul

    camosoul Grizzled Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,256
    Likes Received:
    1,128
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    Uh, that's the point... TESTnet.

    This used to happen on mainnet, back in the day...

    A complaining beta tester isn't a beta tester. Just beta...

    The whole point is that it's currently busted.
     
  10. martinf

    martinf Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    58
    I think the point was that the test releases should be labeled beta releases (e.g. beta 1, beta 2 etc) rather than release candidates (rc1, rc2 etc).
     
  11. camosoul

    camosoul Grizzled Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,256
    Likes Received:
    1,128
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    ...they are release candidates, which are being tested, for release, maybe.

    Anyway I'm not going any further off the rails with this, please follow suit.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  12. AjM

    AjM Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2014
    Messages:
    1,332
    Likes Received:
    570
    Trophy Points:
    283
    Win 7 x64 - v0.13.0.0-rc8
    PS Info is still untranslated.
    PSinfo.png
     
  13. camosoul

    camosoul Grizzled Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,256
    Likes Received:
    1,128
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    The English version has some problems, too...

    "...so they never know "who" you are."

    Never use quotation marks for emphasis.
    No emphasis needed.

    I would go away from the word "anonymized" in favor of "privatized." It's more accurate, and we don't need to give the dirty guv ammo in our own words. Private and anonymous are not the same thing. Using them interchangeably and/or inaccurately yourself only invites others to continue the misuse.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  14. TanteStefana

    TanteStefana Grizzled Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,860
    Likes Received:
    1,854
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    Good points, Camo, even if I'm horrible with "emphasizing" words, LOL
     
  15. camosoul

    camosoul Grizzled Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,256
    Likes Received:
    1,128
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    RC8 good enough? Or did you guys take a break until January for RC9?
     
  16. codablock

    codablock Member
    Core Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2017
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    149
    Trophy Points:
    83
    RC8 is pretty stable atm. RC9 is in preparation and mostly contains fixes for miners. RC9 will also include a reset of testnet to block 4000+, which will allow us to re-test everything. We're currently preparing everything for this and will properly announce this later today, together with instructions.
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Winner Winner x 2
  17. codablock

    codablock Member
    Core Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2017
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    149
    Trophy Points:
    83
    UPDATE: We've reset testnet to block 4000 and have already spinned up about 60 MNs on the new testnet. The old testnet is still there and mining continues for some time to give integration partners more time to switch to the new testnet. However, the old testnet doesn't have enough MNs anymore, so features like InstantSend or governance are not working.

    For everyone who wants to continue testing the v13 upgrade process, this is the new plan:
    1. We downgrade all nodes (including MNs) to v0.12.3.4, which we released a few minutes ago. This version contains only changes for the testnet reset and is equivalent to v0.12.3.3 when used on mainnet. Upgrading on mainnet is not required! (DCG's MNs are already downgraded)
    2. A few community members perform the same downgrade and spin up their MNs. Please note that these MNs have to be setup with the old way! This means, you have to use the old guides that currently apply for 0.12.3.x. As this is not a v13 release, none of the "protx" commands will work.
    3. We test that everything is working as expected
    4. We repeat the whole DIP3 deployment plan with all the stages described further below. This means that we start to upgrade nodes to v13 (RC9, which is not released yet)

    Github release for v0.12.3.4: https://github.com/dashpay/dash/releases/tag/v0.12.3.4

    To downgrade to this version, simply install the new version as usual and start it with "-reindex-chainstate", or alternatively start with a fresh datadir. You should also consider starting with a fresh wallet.dat as well, as all payments received so far will not be present in the new testnet. To connect to good nodes, invoke the RPC "addnode 18.202.52.170:19999", this should allow you to sync. When we update the dnsseeder, this step won't be required anymore.

    Faucets are not updated yet, which leaves you with no funds for testing and running MNs. If you need 1000 tDash, please ping me in #testnet-lab or write a post with a tDash address here. Make sure to generate addresses with the new wallet which is on the correct chain.

    Please ignore RCs for v13 until we give notice about RC9. This means, ignore the following lines until we release RC9. RC8 is incompatible to the new testnet and will be stuck when we stop mining for the old testnet.
     
    • Like Like x 3
    • Winner Winner x 2
  18. TanteStefana

    TanteStefana Grizzled Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,860
    Likes Received:
    1,854
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    Can anyone send me 1000 coins please? yf7kAvZXd49hnWaScRbbLP9LMKDvz1f1tp
     
    #108 TanteStefana, Dec 15, 2018
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2018
  19. TanteStefana

    TanteStefana Grizzled Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,860
    Likes Received:
    1,854
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
  20. xkcd

    xkcd Member
    Masternode Owner/Operator

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Dash Address:
    XpoZXRfr2iFxWhfRSAK3j1jww9xd4tJVez
    Anyone need some tDASH @qwizzie or anyone else, please @ me here or in Discord and post your testnet address and the amount you need, I will provide.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  21. Miner237

    Miner237 Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2014
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    223
    Trophy Points:
    213
    • Like Like x 3
  22. codablock

    codablock Member
    Core Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2017
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    149
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Testnet was succesfully downgraded to v0.12.3.4 and reset to block 4000 (we're already at 6582 now). All MN features have been tested and all looks good so far.

    We have just published v0.13.0-RC9, which is also compatible to the new testnet. Please upgrade nodes to this RC and keep testing. This brings us to stage 1. and will eventually lead to stage 2. where miners start to signal DIP3 support.
    It is NOT required to upgrade to protx MNs yet! Instead, perform an old-style upgrade to RC9 and issue the old-style "masternode start" commands.
     
  23. codablock

    codablock Member
    Core Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2017
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    149
    Trophy Points:
    83
    UPDATE: The DIP3 BIP9 deployment has been activated, bringing us to stage 3./4./5./6.
    Please start upgrading your existing MNs to DIP3 (using the new protx commands)
     
  24. TaoOfSatoshi

    TaoOfSatoshi Grizzled Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    2,714
    Likes Received:
    2,610
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    So exciting. It's so close!
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  25. olymp

    olymp New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Should I do something or just wait?

    "state": "WAITING_FOR_PROTX",
    "status": "Waiting for ProTx to appear on-chain"
     
  26. Miner237

    Miner237 Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2014
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    223
    Trophy Points:
    213
    Check out the dash docs article https://docs.dash.org/en/latest/masternodes/dip3-upgrade.html?highlight=protx

    Next, we will prepare an unsigned ProRegTx special transaction using the protx register_prepare command. This command has the following syntax:

    protx register_prepare collateralHash collateralIndex ipAndPort ownerKeyAddr
    operatorKeyAddr votingKeyAddr operatorReward payoutAddress
     
  27. TanteStefana

    TanteStefana Grizzled Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,860
    Likes Received:
    1,854
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    I updated my master nodes to the dip3 immediately after 13 RC9 was released. My masternode receive payments and is running fine since I upgraded to 13 rc9. am I correct in assuming that when we upgrade main at to 13 we can set it all up and let it go until sporks are activated?
     
  28. camosoul

    camosoul Grizzled Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,256
    Likes Received:
    1,128
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    https://docs.dash.org/en/latest/masternodes/dip3-upgrade.html#option-1-automatic-method
    When fix?
    I haz sad of trustz
    OpSec point of interest: Can it be specified/forced that such fees are paid from PS balance of broadcasting daemon?

    If not, could this be a feature-add? Seems like a quick copy-pasta from realm of sendtoaddress/true false true possible?

    Failing this, MN Hosting Services cease to be private by means beyond their control. This forces unsafe use.

    @moocowmoo
    @UdjinM6
    @Bertrand256
     
    #118 camosoul, Dec 19, 2018
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2018
  29. olymp

    olymp New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I've did that command before rc9 and MN was working just fine. But when update to rc9 I recive this message. Do I have to run proregtx again?
     
  30. Miner237

    Miner237 Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2014
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    223
    Trophy Points:
    213
    Well in that case you may need the protx hash and use protx update_service "proTxHash" "ipAndPort" "operatorKey" ("operatorPayoutAddress")

    Make sure you edit dash.conf and add masternodeblsprivkey=