Welcome to the Dash Forum!

Please sign up to discuss the most innovative cryptocurrency!

V12 Release

Discussion in 'Official Announcements' started by eduffield, Aug 14, 2015.

  1. flare

    flare Administrator
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2,287
    Likes Received:
    2,406
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    That's OK on a remote node
     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. qwizzie

    qwizzie Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,512
    Likes Received:
    717
    Trophy Points:
    183
    another question, not really related to this specific version : is it okay to have a cold mn wallet connect to your hot mn wallet ? My malwarebytes antimalware premium keeps blocking an outgoing connection from my windows cold wallet to my hot wallet IP address and it originates from my dash-qt.exe .. can i make an exception to that outgoing connection ?

    I also had to make an exception for PUTTY and WINSCP but i'm not sure about this outgoing connection and its only one of my MN wallets that tries to connect outbound and then gets blocked.
     
    #242 qwizzie, Aug 16, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 16, 2015
  3. ArpFlush

    ArpFlush Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Hi guys, I follow this forum now and then. I'm not an IT pro but I have 1 MN (local cold) running in the previous version.
    Are there big chances I have to take in account or is it just update the wallets as before? Should I edit something in the config file?

    Thanks ;)
     
  4. miningfield

    miningfield New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Updated to v0.12.0.45 on both windows and linux, everything running smoth

    :cool:
     
  5. GermanRed+

    GermanRed+ Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    109
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I have been paying attention to whether MNs get paid correctly during the upgrade. I did not expect these MNs getting paid correctly during the upgrade period. But, I just noticed something on dashninja.pl:

    HeightConsensusMajorityNot in consensus
    320216100%Xk8KRpRa6PzJB7xxPFiRiUEfjTN5aZ22Xj
    320215100%XhAGGdSgfPkHtkH9teXCJdZbnJAoSqTqJg

    That 320215 block was reported to be paid to XhAGGdSgfPkHtkH9teXCJdZbnJAoSqTqJg but it actually goes into XbQzpQCk5kC5NPDDwDV2GdZMH7HrEe91hE as you can see here:

    http://explorer.dashninja.pl/block/0000000000041a5e0047515fd086f54b02e3b7340852b5af5e9e41d52511b5a7

    As I said, MNs not getting the correct payment during this period is not what I am complaining, I am just afraid that things will get undetected like this one. There is no indication from dashninja.pl about this particular wrong payment.
     
  6. qwizzie

    qwizzie Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,512
    Likes Received:
    717
    Trophy Points:
    183
    just delete peers.dat & mncache.dat and do a -reindex with new version 0.12.0.45
    thats pretty much it.

    oh and most rpc commands have moved to dash-cli, so only use dashd to start and use dash-cli for the other rpc commands.
    Oh hell, i can just as well show it in details :

    Hot Wallet

    ./dashd stop

    replace old dashd with new winrar extracted dashd with help of WINSCP

    add new winrar extracted dash-cli to same location as dashd with help of WINSCP

    chmod +x ./dashd

    chmod +x ./dash-cli

    rm ~/.dash/peers.dat

    rm ~/.dash/mncache.dat

    ./dashd --reindex

    ./dash-cli getinfo

    wait for full sync

    Cold wallet :

    replace old dash-qt.exe with new dash-qt.exe

    delete peers.dat & mncache.dat

    start wallet with commandline option -reindex

    wait for full sync

    issue "masternode start passphrase"

    Hot wallet :

    ./dash-cli masternodelist full | grep -e IPADDRESS
     
    #246 qwizzie, Aug 16, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 16, 2015
    • Like Like x 3
  7. oblox

    oblox Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,032
    Likes Received:
    537
    Trophy Points:
    183
    Updated to v45 on all nodes, one still will not start even with repeat stopping of the daemon and issuing start-many and start-alias from cold.
     
  8. oblox

    oblox Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,032
    Likes Received:
    537
    Trophy Points:
    183
    Further, all of my nodes have yet to show up on dashninja (that's why I was asking if it has been working for others). Bah.

    EDIT: SOLVED by cache-refreshing the website.
     
    #248 oblox, Aug 16, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 16, 2015
  9. splawik21

    splawik21 Grizzled Member
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member Dash Support Group Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    1,916
    Likes Received:
    1,273
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    do you see your MN IP from another instance as enabled? If yes than no worries ;)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. oblox

    oblox Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,032
    Likes Received:
    537
    Trophy Points:
    183
    Strange, wasn't pulling it on its own instance, the second I found it on another and went back to the problematic instance, it showed up on the masternodelist. Beats me. Will continue to monitor.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. vitaly

    vitaly Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2015
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    88
    12.0.44 -> 12.0.45 need for '-reindex' again or not ?
     
  12. pille

    pille Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    123
    no, only 11.x -> 12.x
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. vitaly

    vitaly Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2015
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    88
    okay, thanks
     
  14. elbereth

    elbereth Active Member
    Dash Support Group

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    466
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Dash Address:
    XkfkHqMnhvQovo7kXQjvnNiFnQhRNZYCsz
    On the masternode monitoring page the Consensus voting table is only indicating if all nodes agrees on who should get paid on each vote. And it is the consensus for v0.12.
    The page knows if it was paid correctly or not for each masternode.
    Example:
    https://dashninja.pl/mndetails.html...9bc6f346fc28dfac6915449158b762138b18514b2d8-0
    https://dashninja.pl/mndetails.html...387d08c6d63e5d560956970275baa871e2f2d270efd-0

    Enforcement is off and the v0.11 and v0.12 nodes that are currently on the network do not agree on who should win.

    I might add the expected payee on the block page.
     
    • Like Like x 3
  15. GermanRed+

    GermanRed+ Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    109
    Trophy Points:
    113
    So, we still have enforcement in v0.12 and it will be activated after most nodes upgrade. I originally thought enforcement no longer exists in v0.12 because the reference node is removed. Sounds like I completely misunderstood what the reference node does.
     
  16. elbereth

    elbereth Active Member
    Dash Support Group

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    466
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Dash Address:
    XkfkHqMnhvQovo7kXQjvnNiFnQhRNZYCsz
    The reference node in previous versions was sending spork messages (like the alert messages of Bitcoin) AND indicating who should get pay.
    Now the reference node only is here for spork messages. The network itself elects the masternode payees in consensus.
    When the spork message for enforcement is sent it will force correct payment, but this needs that the majority of the network (miners) are updated.
     
    • Like Like x 3
  17. GermanRed+

    GermanRed+ Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    109
    Trophy Points:
    113
    So, the selection of payees will be done in consensus for v0.12 but the enforcement is still controlled by the reference node. Is that a correct interpretation of your reply?
     
  18. Sub-Ether

    Sub-Ether Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,516
    Likes Received:
    1,254
    Trophy Points:
    183
    A weird error I had in testnet has reared it's ugly head again.
    In windows, when I attempt to send a transaction, after entering the password, I get a runtime error
    (if I click ignore I get invalid password)
    So can not access the funds using v0.12.0.45 !!

    upload_2015-8-16_15-17-33.png

    error log.
    2015-08-16 14:22:47 The wallet is probably corrupted: Some keys decrypt but not all.

    Edit:if you get this error, the only workaround I can see is to use a V11 .exe version to access the funds from the wallet and then send to a fresh V12 installation (and do not copy the wallet over)
     
    #258 Sub-Ether, Aug 16, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 16, 2015
  19. GermanRed+

    GermanRed+ Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    109
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Are we seeing 6.1% of non-conforming MNs?

    From dashninja.pl,

    0.12.0.45 (70076) 0.1%
    0.12.0.44 (70075) 2.5%
    0.12.0.44 (70076) 3.5%

    Are these nodes trying to fake 0.12 with 7007[56] protocols?
     
  20. tungfa

    tungfa Administrator
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member Masternode Owner/Operator Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    8,961
    Likes Received:
    6,735
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    did you double check 12.0.45 ?
    as far as i know zh_CN + TW is all good now
    tx
     
  21. fible1

    fible1 Well-known Member
    Dash Core Team Masternode Owner/Operator

    Joined:
    May 11, 2014
    Messages:
    710
    Likes Received:
    722
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Now it's stuck nine hours behind, "synchronizing budgets"; are we still waiting for a new version?
     
    #261 fible1, Aug 16, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 16, 2015
  22. elbereth

    elbereth Active Member
    Dash Support Group

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    466
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Dash Address:
    XkfkHqMnhvQovo7kXQjvnNiFnQhRNZYCsz
    Yes.

    The subver text version is retrieved by the port checker by connecting directly to the nodes and interacting on protocol level. This is retrieved every hour.
    The protocol version is retrieved from the masternode list full.
    If the masternode daemon was updated but without doing a masternode start the protocol version might still be the old one (70075 or 70076).
    This does not mean they are faking v0.12.
     
    • Like Like x 5
  23. GermanRed+

    GermanRed+ Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    109
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Elbereth, thanks for all the information. I also looked up some older posts on the forum. Evan mentioned that v0.12 has a hybrid state for the reference node. Your reply really helps clearing things up for people like me who do not read all the posts.
     
  24. TreasureSeeker

    TreasureSeeker New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    3
    If you're using 0.12.0.45, try shutting down dash then restarting, this time without the --reindex. This worked for me - it seemed to go back a few months to start loading blocks again but when finished, got past the "synchronizing budgets".
     
    • Like Like x 1
  25. Ryan Taylor

    Ryan Taylor Well-known Member
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2014
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    1,630
    Trophy Points:
    263
    This version is looking incredibly stable for me across all of my nodes. I'm running windows 64 and OSX locally (qt) and Linux 64 bit daemon remote.
    • Darksend mixing is moving faster than before (I wish I had a benchmark to quantify this)
    • All messages such as "Synchronizing masternodes", "Synchronizing masternode winners", "Synchronizing budgets", "Synchronizing sporks" are finally disappearing (probably owing to the larger share of the network that's upgraded by now)
    • All my masternodes have been up and stable for the last 24 hours without any issues
    • Upgrade from v44 to v45 didn't even require a restart (since they had the same protocol)
    • I do recommend removing any addnode commands... I found that my clients found more v12 nodes to connect to without it
    If you have been holding off on the sidelines to see if early adopters are experiencing issues, I think you are now in the "safe" zone... I wouldn't hesitate to recommend upgrading at this time.
     
    • Like Like x 3
  26. fible1

    fible1 Well-known Member
    Dash Core Team Masternode Owner/Operator

    Joined:
    May 11, 2014
    Messages:
    710
    Likes Received:
    722
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Tried it, but qt keeps freezing on me and won't quit, I have to restart the comp each time.

    Pablo.
     
  27. moli

    moli Grizzled Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Messages:
    3,261
    Likes Received:
    1,837
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    why do you have to restart your comp?
     
  28. fible1

    fible1 Well-known Member
    Dash Core Team Masternode Owner/Operator

    Joined:
    May 11, 2014
    Messages:
    710
    Likes Received:
    722
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Because the QT wallet freezes and won't shut down. So I have to restart the comp to get rid of it. This is on an HP laptop with Ubuntu 14 and only the wallet running.

    Pablo.
     
  29. TreasureSeeker

    TreasureSeeker New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Shouldn't have to start the comp if it freezes. Just do
    kill -9 [pid of dash-qt]

    or if using windows, kill it using Task Manager.

    I get a bit scared when doing this with wallets so I'd recommend you only do this if you already have a backup copy of your wallet.dat somewhere...but we all have this, don't we :)
     
    • Like Like x 2
  30. moli

    moli Grizzled Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Messages:
    3,261
    Likes Received:
    1,837
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    Yes i would suggest to install with a fresh, empty wallet first, and make sure everything works first.