V12 Release

flare

Administrator
Dash Core Team
Moderator
May 18, 2014
2,287
2,406
1,183
Germany
2015-08-16 08:35:53 CActiveMasternode::ManageStatus() - Checking inbound connection to 'MYOWNPUBIPADDRESS:9999'
2015-08-16 08:35:53 CActiveMasternode::GetMasterNodeVin - Could not locate specified vin from possible list
2015-08-16 08:35:53 CActiveMasternode::ManageStatus() - Could not find suitable coins!
2015-08-16 08:35:53 connected to self at 108.61.189.14:58556, disconnecting
That's OK on a remote node
 
  • Like
Reactions: qwizzie

qwizzie

Well-known Member
Aug 6, 2014
1,546
726
183
another question, not really related to this specific version : is it okay to have a cold mn wallet connect to your hot mn wallet ? My malwarebytes antimalware premium keeps blocking an outgoing connection from my windows cold wallet to my hot wallet IP address and it originates from my dash-qt.exe .. can i make an exception to that outgoing connection ?

I also had to make an exception for PUTTY and WINSCP but i'm not sure about this outgoing connection and its only one of my MN wallets that tries to connect outbound and then gets blocked.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

ArpFlush

Member
Jan 24, 2015
49
23
48
Hi guys, I follow this forum now and then. I'm not an IT pro but I have 1 MN (local cold) running in the previous version.
Are there big chances I have to take in account or is it just update the wallets as before? Should I edit something in the config file?

Thanks ;)
 

GermanRed+

Active Member
Aug 28, 2014
299
109
113
I have been paying attention to whether MNs get paid correctly during the upgrade. I did not expect these MNs getting paid correctly during the upgrade period. But, I just noticed something on dashninja.pl:

HeightConsensusMajorityNot in consensus
320216100%Xk8KRpRa6PzJB7xxPFiRiUEfjTN5aZ22Xj
320215100%XhAGGdSgfPkHtkH9teXCJdZbnJAoSqTqJg

That 320215 block was reported to be paid to XhAGGdSgfPkHtkH9teXCJdZbnJAoSqTqJg but it actually goes into XbQzpQCk5kC5NPDDwDV2GdZMH7HrEe91hE as you can see here:

http://explorer.dashninja.pl/block/0000000000041a5e0047515fd086f54b02e3b7340852b5af5e9e41d52511b5a7

As I said, MNs not getting the correct payment during this period is not what I am complaining, I am just afraid that things will get undetected like this one. There is no indication from dashninja.pl about this particular wrong payment.
 

qwizzie

Well-known Member
Aug 6, 2014
1,546
726
183
Hi guys, I follow this forum now and then. I'm not an IT pro but I have 1 MN (local cold) running in the previous version.
Are there big chances I have to take in account or is it just update the wallets as before? Should I edit something in the config file?

Thanks ;)
just delete peers.dat & mncache.dat and do a -reindex with new version 0.12.0.45
thats pretty much it.

oh and most rpc commands have moved to dash-cli, so only use dashd to start and use dash-cli for the other rpc commands.
Oh hell, i can just as well show it in details :

Hot Wallet

./dashd stop

replace old dashd with new winrar extracted dashd with help of WINSCP

add new winrar extracted dash-cli to same location as dashd with help of WINSCP

chmod +x ./dashd

chmod +x ./dash-cli

rm ~/.dash/peers.dat

rm ~/.dash/mncache.dat

./dashd --reindex

./dash-cli getinfo

wait for full sync

Cold wallet :

replace old dash-qt.exe with new dash-qt.exe

delete peers.dat & mncache.dat

start wallet with commandline option -reindex

wait for full sync

issue "masternode start passphrase"

Hot wallet :

./dash-cli masternodelist full | grep -e IPADDRESS
 
Last edited by a moderator:

oblox

Well-known Member
Aug 6, 2014
1,032
537
183
Updated to v45 on all nodes, one still will not start even with repeat stopping of the daemon and issuing start-many and start-alias from cold.
 

oblox

Well-known Member
Aug 6, 2014
1,032
537
183
Further, all of my nodes have yet to show up on dashninja (that's why I was asking if it has been working for others). Bah.

EDIT: SOLVED by cache-refreshing the website.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

splawik21

Grizzled Member
Dash Core Team
Moderator
Foundation Member
Dash Support Group
Apr 8, 2014
1,918
1,273
1,283
Further, all of my nodes have yet to show up on dashninja (that's why I was asking if it has been working for others). Bah.
do you see your MN IP from another instance as enabled? If yes than no worries ;)
 
  • Like
Reactions: moli

oblox

Well-known Member
Aug 6, 2014
1,032
537
183
do you see your MN IP from another instance as enabled? If yes than no worries ;)
Strange, wasn't pulling it on its own instance, the second I found it on another and went back to the problematic instance, it showed up on the masternodelist. Beats me. Will continue to monitor.
 
  • Like
Reactions: splawik21

elbereth

Active Member
Dash Support Group
Mar 25, 2014
440
466
133
Costa Rica
dashninja.pl
Dash Address
XkfkHqMnhvQovo7kXQjvnNiFnQhRNZYCsz
I have been paying attention to whether MNs get paid correctly during the upgrade. I did not expect these MNs getting paid correctly during the upgrade period. But, I just noticed something on dashninja.pl:

HeightConsensusMajorityNot in consensus
320216100%Xk8KRpRa6PzJB7xxPFiRiUEfjTN5aZ22Xj
320215100%XhAGGdSgfPkHtkH9teXCJdZbnJAoSqTqJg

That 320215 block was reported to be paid to XhAGGdSgfPkHtkH9teXCJdZbnJAoSqTqJg but it actually goes into XbQzpQCk5kC5NPDDwDV2GdZMH7HrEe91hE as you can see here:

http://explorer.dashninja.pl/block/0000000000041a5e0047515fd086f54b02e3b7340852b5af5e9e41d52511b5a7

As I said, MNs not getting the correct payment during this period is not what I am complaining, I am just afraid that things will get undetected like this one. There is no indication from dashninja.pl about this particular wrong payment.
On the masternode monitoring page the Consensus voting table is only indicating if all nodes agrees on who should get paid on each vote. And it is the consensus for v0.12.
The page knows if it was paid correctly or not for each masternode.
Example:
https://dashninja.pl/mndetails.html...9bc6f346fc28dfac6915449158b762138b18514b2d8-0
https://dashninja.pl/mndetails.html...387d08c6d63e5d560956970275baa871e2f2d270efd-0

Enforcement is off and the v0.11 and v0.12 nodes that are currently on the network do not agree on who should win.

I might add the expected payee on the block page.
 

GermanRed+

Active Member
Aug 28, 2014
299
109
113
On the masternode monitoring page the Consensus voting table is only indicating if all nodes agrees on who should get paid on each vote. And it is the consensus for v0.12.
The page knows if it was paid correctly or not for each masternode.
Example:
https://dashninja.pl/mndetails.html...9bc6f346fc28dfac6915449158b762138b18514b2d8-0
https://dashninja.pl/mndetails.html...387d08c6d63e5d560956970275baa871e2f2d270efd-0

Enforcement is off and the v0.11 and v0.12 nodes that are currently on the network do not agree on who should win.

I might add the expected payee on the block page.
So, we still have enforcement in v0.12 and it will be activated after most nodes upgrade. I originally thought enforcement no longer exists in v0.12 because the reference node is removed. Sounds like I completely misunderstood what the reference node does.
 

elbereth

Active Member
Dash Support Group
Mar 25, 2014
440
466
133
Costa Rica
dashninja.pl
Dash Address
XkfkHqMnhvQovo7kXQjvnNiFnQhRNZYCsz
The reference node in previous versions was sending spork messages (like the alert messages of Bitcoin) AND indicating who should get pay.
Now the reference node only is here for spork messages. The network itself elects the masternode payees in consensus.
When the spork message for enforcement is sent it will force correct payment, but this needs that the majority of the network (miners) are updated.
 

GermanRed+

Active Member
Aug 28, 2014
299
109
113
The reference node in previous versions was sending spork messages (like the alert messages of Bitcoin) AND indicating who should get pay.
Now the reference node only is here for spork messages. The network itself elects the masternode payees in consensus.
When the spork message for enforcement is sent it will force correct payment, but this needs that the majority of the network (miners) are updated.
So, the selection of payees will be done in consensus for v0.12 but the enforcement is still controlled by the reference node. Is that a correct interpretation of your reply?
 

Sub-Ether

Well-known Member
Mar 31, 2014
1,516
1,254
183
A weird error I had in testnet has reared it's ugly head again.
In windows, when I attempt to send a transaction, after entering the password, I get a runtime error
(if I click ignore I get invalid password)
So can not access the funds using v0.12.0.45 !!

upload_2015-8-16_15-17-33.png

error log.
2015-08-16 14:22:47 The wallet is probably corrupted: Some keys decrypt but not all.

Edit:if you get this error, the only workaround I can see is to use a V11 .exe version to access the funds from the wallet and then send to a fresh V12 installation (and do not copy the wallet over)
 
Last edited by a moderator:

GermanRed+

Active Member
Aug 28, 2014
299
109
113
Are we seeing 6.1% of non-conforming MNs?

From dashninja.pl,

0.12.0.45 (70076) 0.1%
0.12.0.44 (70075) 2.5%
0.12.0.44 (70076) 3.5%

Are these nodes trying to fake 0.12 with 7007[56] protocols?
 

tungfa

Administrator
Dash Core Team
Moderator
Foundation Member
Masternode Owner/Operator
Apr 9, 2014
8,967
6,739
1,283
Beside the Master Node problem. I found another problem which is the translation ZH_HK and it still using Darkcoin (暗黑幣) in Chinese. Maybe it is the Outdated translation text. And it can be removed since ZH_HK and ZH_TW is basically the same. It is no need to keep this outdated translation in the program.
http://img107.imagevenue.com/img.php?image=590967356_2015_08_1507.37.08_122_575lo.jpg
did you double check 12.0.45 ?
as far as i know zh_CN + TW is all good now
tx
 

fible1

Well-known Member
Dash Core Team
Masternode Owner/Operator
May 11, 2014
710
722
163
Now it's stuck nine hours behind, "synchronizing budgets"; are we still waiting for a new version?
 
Last edited by a moderator:

elbereth

Active Member
Dash Support Group
Mar 25, 2014
440
466
133
Costa Rica
dashninja.pl
Dash Address
XkfkHqMnhvQovo7kXQjvnNiFnQhRNZYCsz
So, the selection of payees will be done in consensus for v0.12 but the enforcement is still controlled by the reference node. Is that a correct interpretation of your reply?
Yes.

Are we seeing 6.1% of non-conforming MNs?

From dashninja.pl,

0.12.0.45 (70076) 0.1%
0.12.0.44 (70075) 2.5%
0.12.0.44 (70076) 3.5%

Are these nodes trying to fake 0.12 with 7007[56] protocols?
The subver text version is retrieved by the port checker by connecting directly to the nodes and interacting on protocol level. This is retrieved every hour.
The protocol version is retrieved from the masternode list full.
If the masternode daemon was updated but without doing a masternode start the protocol version might still be the old one (70075 or 70076).
This does not mean they are faking v0.12.
 

GermanRed+

Active Member
Aug 28, 2014
299
109
113
Yes.



The subver text version is retrieved by the port checker by connecting directly to the nodes and interacting on protocol level. This is retrieved every hour.
The protocol version is retrieved from the masternode list full.
If the masternode daemon was updated but without doing a masternode start the protocol version might still be the old one (70075 or 70076).
This does not mean they are faking v0.12.
Elbereth, thanks for all the information. I also looked up some older posts on the forum. Evan mentioned that v0.12 has a hybrid state for the reference node. Your reply really helps clearing things up for people like me who do not read all the posts.
 

TreasureSeeker

New Member
Apr 28, 2014
25
5
3
Now it's stuck nine hours behind, "synchronizing budgets"; are we still waiting for a new version?
If you're using 0.12.0.45, try shutting down dash then restarting, this time without the --reindex. This worked for me - it seemed to go back a few months to start loading blocks again but when finished, got past the "synchronizing budgets".
 
  • Like
Reactions: fulltimegeek

Ryan Taylor

Well-known Member
Dash Core Team
Foundation Member
Jul 3, 2014
539
1,631
263
Scottsdale, AZ, USA
This version is looking incredibly stable for me across all of my nodes. I'm running windows 64 and OSX locally (qt) and Linux 64 bit daemon remote.
  • Darksend mixing is moving faster than before (I wish I had a benchmark to quantify this)
  • All messages such as "Synchronizing masternodes", "Synchronizing masternode winners", "Synchronizing budgets", "Synchronizing sporks" are finally disappearing (probably owing to the larger share of the network that's upgraded by now)
  • All my masternodes have been up and stable for the last 24 hours without any issues
  • Upgrade from v44 to v45 didn't even require a restart (since they had the same protocol)
  • I do recommend removing any addnode commands... I found that my clients found more v12 nodes to connect to without it
If you have been holding off on the sidelines to see if early adopters are experiencing issues, I think you are now in the "safe" zone... I wouldn't hesitate to recommend upgrading at this time.
 

fible1

Well-known Member
Dash Core Team
Masternode Owner/Operator
May 11, 2014
710
722
163
If you're using 0.12.0.45, try shutting down dash then restarting, this time without the --reindex. This worked for me - it seemed to go back a few months to start loading blocks again but when finished, got past the "synchronizing budgets".
Tried it, but qt keeps freezing on me and won't quit, I have to restart the comp each time.

Pablo.
 

fible1

Well-known Member
Dash Core Team
Masternode Owner/Operator
May 11, 2014
710
722
163
why do you have to restart your comp?
Because the QT wallet freezes and won't shut down. So I have to restart the comp to get rid of it. This is on an HP laptop with Ubuntu 14 and only the wallet running.

Pablo.
 

TreasureSeeker

New Member
Apr 28, 2014
25
5
3
Tried it, but qt keeps freezing on me and won't quit, I have to restart the comp each time.

Pablo.
Shouldn't have to start the comp if it freezes. Just do
kill -9 [pid of dash-qt]

or if using windows, kill it using Task Manager.

I get a bit scared when doing this with wallets so I'd recommend you only do this if you already have a backup copy of your wallet.dat somewhere...but we all have this, don't we :)
 
  • Like
Reactions: splawik21 and moli

moli

Grizzled Member
Aug 5, 2014
3,261
1,837
1,183
Shouldn't have to start the comp if it freezes. Just do
kill -9 [pid of dash-qt]

or if using windows, kill it using Task Manager.

I get a bit scared when doing this with wallets so I'd recommend you only do this if you already have a backup copy of your wallet.dat somewhere...but we all have this, don't we :)
Yes i would suggest to install with a fresh, empty wallet first, and make sure everything works first.