v0.10.17.x Testing

Status
Not open for further replies.

eduffield

Core Developer
Mar 9, 2014
1,084
5,320
183
Latest (10.17.17) still splits to powers of 2.
That's not a bug. When the client has an input larger than 1000, it makes powers of two to break it up. It'll use all inputs lower than 1000DRK, then get denominations.
 

oblox

Well-known Member
Aug 6, 2014
1,032
537
183
That's not a bug. When the client has an input larger than 1000, it makes powers of two to break it up. It'll use all inputs lower than 1000DRK, then get denominations.
Moli was able to follow an 8 round DS back to her starting point looking at the power of 2s in the block explorer:

Code:
[14:59] <moli> ok i start with this screen:  http://test.explorer.darkcoin.fr/tx/460a41e4e3b3b873aea919dc49691e8d335a06ba4cab897ce3c0afea9d0f4246
[14:59] <xolbo> Yep
[15:01] <moli> if you click on the first tx, amount 10
[15:02] <xolbo> go on
[15:02] <moli> it takes you to this screen:  http://test.explorer.darkcoin.fr/tx/6f1376b52a249d54ad5fbe375cad996189077eb8fea335413855b08342b9946c#o39
[15:02] <moli> those numbers 2, 4, 64, 128 aren't it
[15:02] <moli> but indexes 7-10
[15:02] <moli> click on any of those indexes
[15:03] <xolbo> Alright
[15:03] <moli> index 7:  http://test.explorer.darkcoin.fr/tx/36c659cb61fe58f19766210d0a66aee0ff3bc2e0d41ad07c61b978f59bd8dc95#o18
[15:03] <moli> and then you see amounts 8, 16, 32
[15:03] <moli> those are the keys
[15:04] <moli> my origin:  http://test.explorer.darkcoin.fr/tx/c2fbb9db3251a3cf825d8b5a2e32eba39d7dd6d9aa07a157e8ec6ede6b55a474#o8
They are the standouts in the explorer vs just having .1, 1, and 10s. So instead of going down a goose egg hunt of similar denominations, you disregard anything that isn't a power of 2. Narrows the pool severely.

EDIT: Is there a way we can do without the powers of 2 to keep the inputs denominations that will actually continue to be used throughout due to everyone darksending .1, 1, and 10s?
 
Last edited by a moderator:

yidakee

Well-known Member
Foundation Member
Apr 16, 2014
1,812
1,168
283
So I guess we have are answer about whether we can leave that in the shortcut or not...haha!
Not confirmed as a feature, so it could still be a bug ;) ... hehe... anyway, nicely spotted. Didn't cross my my mind

EDIT: oh yeah, denom now purring like a kitten.
 

oblox

Well-known Member
Aug 6, 2014
1,032
537
183
Fresh wallet, deleted peers.dat, darksend remains idle after splitting into powers of 2.

Getting a low of:

SplitUpMoney - Too soon to split up again
 

yidakee

Well-known Member
Foundation Member
Apr 16, 2014
1,812
1,168
283
Demon seems to be doing good. Sent my 5 round inputs back to myself. Have it set for 2000/4. Got an accepted 948.xxx pty.
 

JGCMiner

Moderator
Moderator
Jun 8, 2014
364
217
113
************** Please update to v0.10.17.16 ***********************************

- Increased pool size to 1000DRK
- Re-enabled 100DRK denomination

Instructions:

It looks like the majority of the miners aren't running recent software, so darksend transactions aren't being mined.

1.) Restart your client with -zapwallettxes (to clear out the transactions that didn't make it)

2.) Please point your miners here:
http://ec2-54-197-169-85.compute-1.amazonaws.com
(You can use username: eduffield.1 and password:x, or simply sign up)

3.) Try some mixing again

--

Source: https://github.com/darkcoin/darkcoin/tree/instantx


Windows 32bit:
https://github.com/darkcoinproject/darkcoin-binaries/raw/master/instantx/windows/darkcoind.exe
https://github.com/darkcoinproject/darkcoin-binaries/raw/master/instantx/windows/darkcoin-qt.exe

Mac OS X:
https://github.com/darkcoinproject/...ster/instantx/mac/darkcoin-0.10.17.16-osx.dmg

Linux 32bit:
https://github.com/darkcoinproject/darkcoin-binaries/raw/master/instantx/linux/32/darkcoin-qt
https://github.com/darkcoinproject/darkcoin-binaries/raw/master/instantx/linux/32/darkcoind

Linux 64bit:
https://github.com/darkcoinproject/darkcoin-binaries/raw/master/instantx/linux/64/darkcoin-qt
https://github.com/darkcoinproject/darkcoin-binaries/raw/master/instantx/linux/64/darkcoind
Like the fact that the 100 denomination is back because it makes it easier to anonymize large amounts. Was the 2000 DRK mixing limit lifted as well?
 

crowning

Well-known Member
May 29, 2014
1,415
1,997
183
Alpha Centauri Bc
darkcoin-qt just closed itself without interaction:

v0.10.17.17 (Win7, 64 bit)

Code:
2014-12-03 22:36:07 Submiting Darksend for 659.000000 DRK
2014-12-03 22:36:07 DoAutomaticDenominating -- Found unconfirmed denominated outputs, will wait till they confirm to continue.
2014-12-03 22:36:19 AcceptToMemoryPool (tx): 94.23.148.203:19999 /Satoshi:0.10.17.13/ : accepted e5e5f615e0e75771727acdaf238420b2884da68767ab746fb1e92d33155d3eac (poolsz 54)
2014-12-03 22:37:06 opencon thread interrupt
2014-12-03 22:37:06 dumpaddr thread stop
2014-12-03 22:37:06 net thread interrupt
2014-12-03 22:37:06 addcon thread interrupt
2014-12-03 22:37:06 msghand thread interrupt
2014-12-03 22:37:06 Shutdown : In progress...
2014-12-03 22:37:06 Flush(false)
2014-12-03 22:37:06 DBFlush(false) ended  1ms
2014-12-03 22:37:06 StopNode()
2014-12-03 22:37:06 Flushed 56 addresses to peers.dat  7ms
2014-12-03 22:37:06 Committing 113 changed transactions to coin database...
2014-12-03 22:37:06 Flush(true)
2014-12-03 22:37:06 wallet.dat refcount=0
2014-12-03 22:37:06 wallet.dat checkpoint
2014-12-03 22:37:06 wallet.dat detach
2014-12-03 22:37:06 wallet.dat closed
2014-12-03 22:37:06 DBFlush(true) ended  18ms
2014-12-03 22:37:06 Shutdown : done

BTW, I get lots of "2014-12-03 22:36:07 DoAutomaticDenominating -- Found unconfirmed denominated outputs, will wait till they confirm to continue."
I moved most inputs to a single one to make debugging more easy, and they all have 17 confirms now.

Edit: how can a "payment to yourself" be not final? I would like to understand why the code in "bool IsConfirmed() const" looks like this:

Code:
...
  for (unsigned int i = 0; i < vWorkQueue.size(); i++)
  {
    const CMerkleTx* ptx = vWorkQueue[i];

    if (!ptx->IsFinal())
      return false;
    if (ptx->GetDepthInMainChain() >= 1)
      continue;
    if (!pwallet->IsFromMe(*ptx))
      return false;
...
Edit^2: wallet closed itself again:
Code:
2014-12-03 22:55:43 NotifyTransactionChanged 0470d16d1a12dd3d074b743b34e7d75dc6a6380ad64fb908c8e1ce042ceecf3e status=0
2014-12-03 22:55:43 updateWallet 0470d16d1a12dd3d074b743b34e7d75dc6a6380ad64fb908c8e1ce042ceecf3e 0
2014-12-03 22:55:43  inWallet=1 inModel=0 Index=7-7 showTransaction=0 derivedStatus=0
2014-12-03 22:55:43 Committing 43 changed transactions to coin database...
2014-12-03 22:55:43 SetBestChain: new best=00000000c17a1350f7f130caf39d45c0fffea58bb6fa993a36575b185298bc1c  height=73956  log2_work=46.037533  tx=168383  date=2014-12-03 22:55:32 progress=1.000000
2014-12-03 22:55:43 send last getblocks for 00000000c17a1350f7f130caf39d45c0fffea58bb6fa993a36575b185298bc1c peer=8
2014-12-03 22:55:43 send last getblocks for 00000000c17a1350f7f130caf39d45c0fffea58bb6fa993a36575b185298bc1c peer=2
2014-12-03 22:55:43 send last getblocks for 00000000c17a1350f7f130caf39d45c0fffea58bb6fa993a36575b185298bc1c peer=4
2014-12-03 22:55:44 send last getblocks for 00000000c17a1350f7f130caf39d45c0fffea58bb6fa993a36575b185298bc1c peer=1
2014-12-03 22:55:44 getblocks -1 to 0 limit 500 peer=1
2014-12-03 22:55:45 Flushing wallet.dat
2014-12-03 22:55:45 Flushed wallet.dat 18ms
2014-12-03 22:56:12 Submiting Darksend for 659.000000 DRK
2014-12-03 22:56:12 DoAutomaticDenominating -- Found unconfirmed denominated outputs, will wait till they confirm to continue.
2014-12-03 22:57:11 Flushed 56 addresses to peers.dat  5ms
2014-12-03 22:57:13 Submiting Darksend for 659.000000 DRK
2014-12-03 22:57:13 DoAutomaticDenominating -- Found unconfirmed denominated outputs, will wait till they confirm to continue.
2014-12-03 22:57:18 CDarkSendPool::UpdateState() == 3 | 3
2014-12-03 22:58:13 Submiting Darksend for 659.000000 DRK
2014-12-03 22:58:13 DoAutomaticDenominating -- Found unconfirmed denominated outputs, will wait till they confirm to continue.
2014-12-03 22:58:51 addcon thread interrupt
2014-12-03 22:58:51 dumpaddr thread stop
2014-12-03 22:58:51 opencon thread interrupt
2014-12-03 22:58:51 msghand thread interrupt
2014-12-03 22:58:51 net thread interrupt
2014-12-03 22:58:51 Shutdown : In progress...
2014-12-03 22:58:51 Flush(false)
2014-12-03 22:58:51 DBFlush(false) ended  1ms
2014-12-03 22:58:51 StopNode()
2014-12-03 22:58:51 Flushed 56 addresses to peers.dat  7ms
2014-12-03 22:58:51 Committing 32 changed transactions to coin database...
2014-12-03 22:58:51 Flush(true)
2014-12-03 22:58:51 wallet.dat refcount=0
2014-12-03 22:58:51 wallet.dat checkpoint
2014-12-03 22:58:51 wallet.dat detach
2014-12-03 22:58:51 wallet.dat closed
2014-12-03 22:58:51 DBFlush(true) ended  15ms
2014-12-03 22:58:51 Shutdown : done
 
Last edited by a moderator:

qwizzie

Well-known Member
Aug 6, 2014
1,659
800
183
Like the fact that the 100 denomination is back because it makes it easier to anonymize large amounts. Was the 2000 DRK mixing limit lifted as well?
you are running v0.10.17.17 .. correct ? 2000 DRK mixing limit is still in effect btw
 

qwizzie

Well-known Member
Aug 6, 2014
1,659
800
183
got my first collateral fee on 1 of 6 wallets .. i'm keeping an eye on the wallets to check for more collateral fees. Sent email to Evan, so far its just 1 collateral fee.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

JGCMiner

Moderator
Moderator
Jun 8, 2014
364
217
113
you are running v0.10.17.17 .. correct ? 2000 DRK mixing limit is still in effect btw
Haven't had a chance to test any of the recent versions yet. Just thought that might be the case as the 100 denom is back. Apparently not...
 

qwizzie

Well-known Member
Aug 6, 2014
1,659
800
183
Moli was able to follow an 8 round DS back to her starting point looking at the power of 2s in the block explorer:

Code:
[14:59] <moli> ok i start with this screen:  http://test.explorer.darkcoin.fr/tx/460a41e4e3b3b873aea919dc49691e8d335a06ba4cab897ce3c0afea9d0f4246
[14:59] <xolbo> Yep
[15:01] <moli> if you click on the first tx, amount 10
[15:02] <xolbo> go on
[15:02] <moli> it takes you to this screen:  http://test.explorer.darkcoin.fr/tx/6f1376b52a249d54ad5fbe375cad996189077eb8fea335413855b08342b9946c#o39
[15:02] <moli> those numbers 2, 4, 64, 128 aren't it
[15:02] <moli> but indexes 7-10
[15:02] <moli> click on any of those indexes
[15:03] <xolbo> Alright
[15:03] <moli> index 7:  http://test.explorer.darkcoin.fr/tx/36c659cb61fe58f19766210d0a66aee0ff3bc2e0d41ad07c61b978f59bd8dc95#o18
[15:03] <moli> and then you see amounts 8, 16, 32
[15:03] <moli> those are the keys
[15:04] <moli> my origin:  http://test.explorer.darkcoin.fr/tx/c2fbb9db3251a3cf825d8b5a2e32eba39d7dd6d9aa07a157e8ec6ede6b55a474#o8
They are the standouts in the explorer vs just having .1, 1, and 10s. So instead of going down a goose egg hunt of similar denominations, you disregard anything that isn't a power of 2. Narrows the pool severely.

EDIT: Is there a way we can do without the powers of 2 to keep the inputs denominations that will actually continue to be used throughout due to everyone darksending .1, 1, and 10s?
i think we need to discuss this a bit more or get a reply from Evan on this matter, does the use of the power of 2 form a vulnerability in that the starting point can be traced back more easily on Mainnet ? i do realise there is a difference between Testnet (few testers) and Mainnet (a lot of users) but still .....
 

coingun

Active Member
Masternode Owner/Operator
Jul 8, 2014
489
402
133
masternode.io
My rental doesn't want to connect, sorry.
Your welcome to point it back at my p2pool.

-o http://test.p2pool.masternode.io:18998 -O mpyoND6JcQupEjkjiQw1MRoTE2koREkFzd:xyz

I have added some swap space so even if it overwhelms it now it can at least swap some stuff out of memory. Didn't realize until last week that vultr's base images have zero swap configured.
 

eduffield

Core Developer
Mar 9, 2014
1,084
5,320
183
i think we need to discuss this a bit more or get a reply from Evan on this matter, does the use of the power of 2 form a vulnerability in that the starting point can be traced back more easily on Mainnet ? i do realise there is a difference between Testnet (few testers) and Mainnet (a lot of users) but still .....
This input? It only went through 1 round:
http://test.explorer.darkcoin.fr/tx/460a41e4e3b3b873aea919dc49691e8d335a06ba4cab897ce3c0afea9d0f4246

1.) Click the first 10
2.) Click index 7

should be here now:
http://test.explorer.darkcoin.fr/tx...d0a66aee0ff3bc2e0d41ad07c61b978f59bd8dc95#o18

To which he says this is the source? Isn't that 1 round, not 8?
 

eduffield

Core Developer
Mar 9, 2014
1,084
5,320
183

moli

Grizzled Member
Aug 5, 2014
3,255
1,830
1,183
This input? It only went through 1 round:
http://test.explorer.darkcoin.fr/tx/460a41e4e3b3b873aea919dc49691e8d335a06ba4cab897ce3c0afea9d0f4246

1.) Click the first 10
2.) Click index 7

should be here now:
http://test.explorer.darkcoin.fr/tx...d0a66aee0ff3bc2e0d41ad07c61b978f59bd8dc95#o18

To which he says this is the source? Isn't that 1 round, not 8?
Evan, that was my discussion with oblox in IRC. I had about 322 tDRK anonymized with 8 and 9 rounds as you can see from my previous post:
https://darkcointalk.org/threads/instantx-testing-v10-17.3083/page-30#post-32063

Then I made two transactions and traced them to see if I could. Do you think maybe the amounts with 9 rounds became just 1 round? Why did I get 9 rounds on some denoms when my setting was 8 rounds?

Edit: The tx was done with v.10.17.12. I haven't tested the newest version yet.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

qwizzie

Well-known Member
Aug 6, 2014
1,659
800
183
This input? It only went through 1 round:
http://test.explorer.darkcoin.fr/tx/460a41e4e3b3b873aea919dc49691e8d335a06ba4cab897ce3c0afea9d0f4246

1.) Click the first 10
2.) Click index 7

should be here now:
http://test.explorer.darkcoin.fr/tx...d0a66aee0ff3bc2e0d41ad07c61b978f59bd8dc95#o18

To which he says this is the source? Isn't that 1 round, not 8?
hmm if its indeed only the first round that got traced back then that pretty much explains it .. its just that Oblox mentioned
''Moli was able to follow an 8 round DS back to her starting point looking at the power of 2s in the block explorer''
so that got me worried a bit...

edit : didnt see Moli's post .. i will let you two sort it out :)
 
Last edited by a moderator:

yidakee

Well-known Member
Foundation Member
Apr 16, 2014
1,812
1,168
283
Wow, this version really does it quick. Almost done 2000/4 - but lots of 5 rounders in there.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Raico

qwizzie

Well-known Member
Aug 6, 2014
1,659
800
183
Wow, this version really does it quick. Almost done 2000/4 - but lots of 5 rounders in there.
damn, i was just about to write a post that the darksend rounds look fixed now :)

6x 1000 wallets set for 950 / 4 rounds, 2 of those wallets finished with 100% (with all 4 rounds) or were about to finish (1 round to go to make it round 4) at which point i changed my mind about the Darksend amount / rounds, stopped the mixing and adjusted the Darksend amount / rounds to 990 / 8 rounds of all 6 wallets.

So far the rounds are not exceeding the set 8 rounds, there is however some mismatch between set amount and the achieved Darksend Balance ... for example this wallet which finished all its input amounts with 8 rounds, i was exspecting my Darksend Balance to be a bit more higher i guess...
I will check the other wallets for the achieved Darksend Balance tomorrow as they are still mixing right now.

Edit : another wallet finished with all input amounts on 8 rounds, see difference between Darksend Balance and Darksend Amount of both wallets :



 
Last edited by a moderator:
  • Like
Reactions: drkhouse and Raico

Raico

Well-known Member
Foundation Member
Dash Support Group
May 28, 2014
138
142
193
damn, i was just about to write a post that the darksend rounds look fixed now :)

6x 1000 wallets set for 950 / 4 rounds, 2 of those wallets finished with 100% (with all 4 rounds) or were about to finish (1 round to go to make it round 4) at which point i changed my mind about the Darksend amount / rounds, stopped the mixing and adjusted the Darksend amount / rounds to 990 / 8 rounds of all 6 wallets.

So far the rounds are not exceeding the set 8 rounds, there is however some mismatch between set amount and the achieved Darksend Balance ... for example this wallet which finished all its input amounts with 8 rounds, i was exspecting my Darksend Balance to be a bit more higher i guess...
I will check the other wallets for the achieved Darksend Balance tomorrow as they are still mixing right now.

Edit : another wallet finished with all input amounts on 8 rounds, see difference between Darksend Balance and Darksend Amount of both wallets :



Yep~ Same thing happens here.
All my 2 Qt-client denominate smooth and quick~
 

moli

Grizzled Member
Aug 5, 2014
3,255
1,830
1,183
eduffield: I have a request: Would you let us have a choice to anonymize for more than 8 rounds, up to 20 rounds? Even if users have to pay for some fees for more than 8 rounds, I think it's worth it. What say you?
 

oblox

Well-known Member
Aug 6, 2014
1,032
537
183
eduffield: I have a request: Would you let us have a choice to anonymize for more than 8 rounds, up to 20 rounds? Even if users have to pay for some fees for more than 8 rounds, I think it's worth it. What say you?
Change to periods up to x number, each period represents 8 rounds. Defaults to 1 which means everyone automatically when they start DS goes 8 rounds.
 
  • Like
Reactions: moli

moli

Grizzled Member
Aug 5, 2014
3,255
1,830
1,183
Change to periods up to x number, each period represents 8 rounds. Defaults to 1 which means everyone automatically when they start DS goes 8 rounds.
Sounds good. But there're people who don't want to use Darksend, not sure if it's a good idea to have DS enabled automatically.

Edit: I mean not sure if it's a good idea to make people go thru 8 rounds automatically.
 

moli

Grizzled Member
Aug 5, 2014
3,255
1,830
1,183
This windows wallet version is amazing and lightning fast! I got 1844.20000082 tDRK anonymized within about 65 minutes. All amounts went thru 8 or 9 rounds, even the smallest amounts. And it seems less bloated because the 100DRK denomination is back!

Edit: Just got another 110 tDRK anonymized and added to the stash.. and another 19.77499907 DRK is unconfirmed. What a beast.
 

baldpope

New Member
Sep 25, 2014
1
0
1
might not be relevant to this version, but I've been unable to get anonymize working when running headless. would be glad to work with someone and document procedures to do this from the command line, not all of us run a gui
 
Status
Not open for further replies.