Welcome to the Dash Forum!

Please sign up to discuss the most innovative cryptocurrency!

v0.10.12.x RC4 Testing

Discussion in 'Testing' started by eduffield, Jul 19, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. flare

    flare Administrator
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2,287
    Likes Received:
    2,406
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    I am using the option

    in my commandline, and this stops my QT RC4 client from denominating.

    The information was hidden in one of Evans' release notes:
     
    • Like Like x 4
  2. BelStar

    BelStar Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2014
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    86
    Trophy Points:
    58
    flare, thanks for clarifying. Do you know where we can find the info promised earlier?

     
  3. UdjinM6

    UdjinM6 Official Dash Dev
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,637
    Likes Received:
    3,536
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    $ darkcoind -?
    .....
    Darksend options:
    -disabledarksend=<n> Disable use of automated darksend for funds stored in this wallet (0-1, default: 0)
     
  4. flare

    flare Administrator
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2,287
    Likes Received:
    2,406
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    Sorry, i think it's not available yet. Evan and me agreed that we will have a technical documentation for Darkcoin (user guide, admin guide), and i already started working on this, but due to the release yesterday i had no chance to complete it yet. I will keep you posted.

    BTW: If someone wants to contribute writing the doc, don't hesitate to get in contactt with me. There is a lot to do :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. stonehedge

    stonehedge Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    696
    Likes Received:
    333
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Am I doing any harm to the network by staying on the old QT after I have updated my masternodes to RC4?

    EDIT: Just as importantly, am I doing any harm to my masternode's chances of paying out? :D
     
  6. flare

    flare Administrator
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2,287
    Likes Received:
    2,406
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    As you are not a miner, you are not doing harm to the network, but AFAIK you will not be able to connect to your own masternodes since the protocolversion has changed (so 'masternode start' should fail from cold wallet)
     
  7. stonehedge

    stonehedge Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    696
    Likes Received:
    333
    Trophy Points:
    233
    14:29:48
    masternode debug
    14:29:48
    successfully started masternode


    I managed to start ok from cold wallet earlier. Or at least that is what local console reported.
     
  8. flare

    flare Administrator
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2,287
    Likes Received:
    2,406
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    If it works, good :) If the MN shows up in elbereth list as active all is fine. Could mean that RC3 QT is compatible for administering RC4 MN :)
     
  9. stonehedge

    stonehedge Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    696
    Likes Received:
    333
    Trophy Points:
    233
    None of my MNs have shown up in the elbereth list yet although yidakee did find that it took several hours for his masternodes to turn up in there so I'm not panicking yet.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. stonehedge

    stonehedge Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    696
    Likes Received:
    333
    Trophy Points:
    233
    OK. Now I'm panicking :(
     
  11. stonehedge

    stonehedge Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    696
    Likes Received:
    333
    Trophy Points:
    233
    If I run masternode list from the console, my IPs are listed XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX,1 so I'm hoping that all is ok until I turn up in elbereth list! I won't be calm until they have though.
     
  12. UdjinM6

    UdjinM6 Official Dash Dev
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,637
    Likes Received:
    3,536
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    Try this one too http://drk.poolhash.org/masternode.html
    My MNs appeared there just a few minutes after I started them
     
  13. yidakee

    yidakee Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    1,812
    Likes Received:
    1,168
    Trophy Points:
    283
    If console returns :1 then its all good
     
  14. stonehedge

    stonehedge Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    696
    Likes Received:
    333
    Trophy Points:
    233
    None of mine are there but I'll leave it for a few more hours before I go crawling to yidakee for help yet again.

    In yidakee I trust.
     
  15. moli

    moli Grizzled Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Messages:
    3,261
    Likes Received:
    1,837
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    flare, someone on the btctalk thread claimed that disabling DS didn't work for him. I haven't tested this on v.27 so I'm not really sure. But I did test this on a previous version and it worked. Or to make sure after you disable DS, restart the wallet, it should work.
     
  16. flare

    flare Administrator
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2,287
    Likes Received:
    2,406
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    I am running v27 without any problems on disabling denom, but i did not use the GUI options dialog. Maybe that setting is ignored.

    Using disabledarksend=1 works for me.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  17. moli

    moli Grizzled Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Messages:
    3,261
    Likes Received:
    1,837
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    Noob question: How do you use this command line in windows wallet? I'm not sure which directory. Thanks.
     
  18. flare

    flare Administrator
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2,287
    Likes Received:
    2,406
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    instead of starting darkcoin-qt.exe directly, create a shortcut to that file, and add the parameter to the Properties. (i do only have german screenshots at hand at the moment, but you should get the idea) :)

    [​IMG]
     
    • Like Like x 1
  19. moli

    moli Grizzled Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Messages:
    3,261
    Likes Received:
    1,837
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    Ah hah! So cool, flare, i love this :) I don't have a MN (will put it back up but not now) so I had to take out "-datadir=.\drkmn01". Here's my screen:
    upload_2014-8-14_11-53-54.png

    and it does put a check mark on the gui to disable Darksend. Thanks!
     
  20. MangledBlue

    MangledBlue Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,246
    Likes Received:
    678
    Trophy Points:
    183
    Maybe this has been answered already but V27 will not kill your MN
    you just need the 1000DRK in any addy
    and MN=1 in config file
    :)
    - even if you don't have a MN - it would still work :)
     
  21. stonehedge

    stonehedge Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    696
    Likes Received:
    333
    Trophy Points:
    233
    I can also confirm this. If you have masternode=1 in your conf file darksend WILL be disabled by default thus making sure that your 1000DRK will not be denominated.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  22. flare

    flare Administrator
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2,287
    Likes Received:
    2,406
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    Yeah, but if you need a new masternodeprivkey you need to set masternode=0 first AFAIK - so it could turn out to be inconvenient to rely on implicit disabling denom.

    I will stick to explicitly disabling it ;)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  23. stonehedge

    stonehedge Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    696
    Likes Received:
    333
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Its almost like somebody should be documenting this ;)
     
  24. qwizzie

    qwizzie Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,504
    Likes Received:
    715
    Trophy Points:
    183
    ready for some testing ? :)

    From Evan : https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=421615.54320

    ****** PLEASE UPDATE TO v9.12.28 (Stable) OR 10.12.28 (RC) *******

    The unconfirming issue was caused by DS going too fast once and awhile and the view not being able to keep up with what inputs were spent. This caused double spends in about 2% of cases. To fix this I've introduced a limit where darksend will only denominate once a block.

    If you have a long standing unconfirmed transaction, simply right click the transaction, copy the txid. Then execute the command "erasetransaction txid" in the console. After that reopen the client with the command -salvagewallet, and the money should be back.

    It will still be possible to mix with clients that haven't updated, so avoid activating darksend for a day or so while the network updates. This update is backwards compatible, so masternodes need not update.

    Source: Compile if you are running a pool, exchange, etc.

    https://github.com/darkcoinproject/darkcoin

    9.12.28 (Stable) Binaries: Does not include Darksend

    Windows.exe: https://raw.githubusercontent.com/darkcoinproject/darkcoin-binaries/master/darkcoin-0.9.12.28-win.zip
    Windows installer: https://raw.githubusercontent.com/darkcoinproject/darkcoin-binaries/master/darkcoin-0.9.12.28-win32-setup.exe
    Mac OSX: https://raw.githubusercontent.com/darkcoinproject/darkcoin-binaries/master/darkcoin-0.9.12.28-osx.dmg
    Linux: https://raw.githubusercontent.com/darkcoinproject/darkcoin-binaries/master/darkcoin-0.9.12.28-linux.tar.gz

    10.12.28 (RC) Binaries: Includes Darksend - Masternode Operators

    Windows .exe: https://raw.githubusercontent.com/darkcoinproject/darkcoin-binaries/master/rc/darkcoin-0.10.12.28-win.zip
    Mac OSX: https://raw.githubusercontent.com/darkcoinproject/darkcoin-binaries/master/rc/darkcoin-0.10.12.28-osx.dmg
    Linux: https://raw.githubusercontent.com/darkcoinproject/darkcoin-binaries/master/rc/darkcoin-0.10.12.28-linux.tar.gz
     
  25. flare

    flare Administrator
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2,287
    Likes Received:
    2,406
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.