v0.10.12.x RC4 Testing

Status
Not open for further replies.

Raico

Well-known Member
Foundation Member
Dash Support Group
May 28, 2014
138
142
193
****** Please Update To 10.12.13 or 9.12.13 *******

- This version automatically resets the masternode state machine after a short period of inactivity.
- Updated protocol version to kick old masternodes off

Stable Binaries
http://www.darkcoin.io/downloads/master-rc4/darkcoin-qt
http://www.darkcoin.io/downloads/master-rc4/darkcoind

RC4 Binaries ( masternodes / auto-denom )
http://www.darkcoin.io/downloads/rc4/darkcoin-qt
http://www.darkcoin.io/downloads/rc4/darkcoind
Just download the RC4 Banaries:
the darkcoind is ok and the MN has been updated.
but the darkcoin-qt seems the version is still 10.12.12?
snapshot10.png
 
  • Like
Reactions: clayop

moli

Grizzled Member
Aug 5, 2014
3,255
1,830
1,183
Hi,
Is there an updated windows wallet with Darksend for testnet? I've noticed flare's newest windows wallets do not have the Darksend feature, which is needed for this testing. I am sure there are many windows users are waiting to know if they can send more than 9.99 drk through Darksend.
Thank you.
 

JGCMiner

Moderator
Moderator
Jun 8, 2014
360
211
113
Hi,
Is there an updated windows wallet with Darksend for testnet? I've noticed flare's newest windows wallets do not have the Darksend feature, which is needed for this testing. I am sure there are many windows users are waiting to know if they can send more than 9.99 drk through Darksend.
Thank you.

Yes with RC4 you will be able to Darksend any amount. However, currently Darksend enabled wallets are linux only on testnet. So you can try to get linux set up or wait for RC4 on mainnet. It is not expected to be a long wait.
 

clayop

Member
May 13, 2014
76
29
58
I cannot send anonymous funds, nevertheless I have enough anonymized balance. Is this only for me?

http://imgur.com/Cufj1NX

ADDITION: When I use darksend command on console, it works. However, GUI still does not work.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

dotnetmin

Member
Jun 21, 2014
56
19
48
Masternode updated.
Kick off old masternodes looks like working fine. Only 5 nodes active for now.

Edit : will all nodes on mainet kicked off after RC4 update ?
 

flare

Administrator
Dash Core Team
Moderator
May 18, 2014
2,287
2,406
1,183
Germany
Masternode updated.
Kick off old masternodes looks like working fine. Only 5 nodes active for now.

Edit : will all nodes on mainet kicked off after RC4 update ?
Will update my fours nodes now - and yes: All mainnet nodes will be kicked and need to update to RC4 when rolled out.
 
  • Like
Reactions: ozziecoin

clayop

Member
May 13, 2014
76
29
58
Evan, can you check Use Anonymous Funds / Use Non-Anonymous Funds? They seem to be switched.
I chose Anonymous Funds and sent (without anonymous balance) and it worked (says "sent to").
 
  • Like
Reactions: flare

MangledBlue

Well-known Member
Jun 28, 2014
1,246
678
183
USA
Will update my fours nodes now - and yes: All mainnet nodes will be kicked and need to update to RC4 when rolled out.
If the MN's are going to be kicked when RC4 rolls, should we not allow 1-3 days for people to update the nodes and then release to the public?
1 it will build up a sort of climax - lol - and 2 it will allow for a smoother transition? (or I would think)
Maybe I'm wrong......?
 

flare

Administrator
Dash Core Team
Moderator
May 18, 2014
2,287
2,406
1,183
Germany
If the MN's are going to be kicked when RC4 rolls, should we not allow 1-3 days for people to update the nodes and then release to the public?
1 it will build up a sort of climax - lol - and 2 it will allow for a smoother transition? (or I would think)
Maybe I'm wrong......?
In the past mainnet rollouts leveled out after ~24hrs in masternode network. The masternode protocol ('dsee' and 'dseep') is pretty stable right now.

So yes, we could have a 'two wave rollout' to mainnet, but i don't see the benefit - yet :)
 

dotnetmin

Member
Jun 21, 2014
56
19
48
In the past mainnet rollouts leveled out after ~24hrs in masternode network. The masternode protocol ('dsee' and 'dseep') is pretty stable right now.

So yes, we could have a 'two wave rollout' to mainnet, but i don't see the benefit - yet :)
I think we will see a rollout without annoncement as we all were surprised as the last time.
So maybe we see a announcement - Please Update to new version.
All other will bring much speculation to the market.
 
  • Like
Reactions: flare

AjM

Well-known Member
Foundation Member
Jun 23, 2014
1,336
571
283
Finland
You have to type in the full address before it will validate it. I'm on linux and when I just type a x or m in it says invalid, but when I paste a full valid address in it works just fine.
Ok, but do you think that word BITCOIN is rigth when we are testing DARKCOIN wallet?
 
  • Like
Reactions: flare

JGCMiner

Moderator
Moderator
Jun 8, 2014
360
211
113
In the past mainnet rollouts leveled out after ~24hrs in masternode network. The masternode protocol ('dsee' and 'dseep') is pretty stable right now.

So yes, we could have a 'two wave rollout' to mainnet, but i don't see the benefit - yet :)
If masternodes are going to get kicked then I think a date for RC4's release should be announced in advance and the binaries available at least a couple days before said date. Otherwise people are going to claim their nodes got ninja banned and accuse insiders of scooping up tons of payments while the MN count is low. Basically it would be like a instamine for MN payments.

Obviously this is not the dev teams intention, but in this space the appearance of impropriety often is just as bad as a proven scam.

So I ask:
Is there any reason not to announce a date then give people a few days to update? Plus if RC4 is released MN payment enforcement "on" then isn't it a hardfork anyway? (Feel free to ignore the last part if the intention is to release RC4 enforcement off.)
 

vertoe

Three of Nine
Mar 28, 2014
2,573
1,652
1,283
Unimatrix Zero One
Hi,
Is there an updated windows wallet with Darksend for testnet? I've noticed flare's newest windows wallets do not have the Darksend feature, which is needed for this testing. I am sure there are many windows users are waiting to know if they can send more than 9.99 drk through Darksend.
Thank you.
Yes, scroll one page back:
 

dotnetmin

Member
Jun 21, 2014
56
19
48
If masternodes are going to get kicked then I think a date for RC4's release should be announced in advance and the binaries available at least a couple days before said date. Otherwise people are going to claim their nodes got ninja banned and accuse insiders of scooping up tons of payments while the MN count is low. Basically it would be like a instamine for MN payments.

Obviously this is not the dev teams intention, but in this space the appearance of impropriety often is just as bad as a proven scam.

So I ask:
Is there any reason not to announce a date then give people a few days to update? Plus if RC4 is released MN payment enforcement "on" then isn't it a hardfork anyway? (Feel free to ignore the last part if the intention is to release RC4 enforcement off.)
In my opinon, do not give these speculators that only wait on a announcement a chance for short term profits on a pump & pump.
If it is technical possible to announce a update without a warning with all wallets available - do it.
All really in DRK interested people will update within 24hours and all will be fine.
We know darksend is working, so let us find the real price of DRK and release RC4 like a bomb - without a speculating pump like - is it working or not, let us pump and dump ???
 

BelStar

Member
Apr 17, 2014
76
86
58
Can we get back on topic? This is the RC4 testing thread, not the speculation thread.

This said, I do not feel comfortable with only testing Linux builds of the masternode/darksend client on testnet. I believe we should finalize testing with windows and mac clients as well before releasing to mainnet.

flare : Are there any plans to provide windows/mac builds for use on testnet? I assume they will all be available at the same time for mainnet use anyways?
 

yidakee

Well-known Member
Foundation Member
Apr 16, 2014
1,812
1,168
283
Yes, keep it testnet related only please!

Mr.Collateral playing the blues again, right after updating...

 
  • Like
Reactions: vertoe

JGCMiner

Moderator
Moderator
Jun 8, 2014
360
211
113
In my opinon, do not give these speculators that only wait on a announcement a chance for short term profits on a pump & pump.
If it is technical possible to announce a update without a warning with all wallets available - do it.
All really in DRK interested people will update within 24hours and all will be fine.
We know darksend is working, so let us find the real price of DRK and release RC4 like a bomb - without a speculating pump like - is it working or not, let us pump and dump ???
How the market behaves should be of nobody's concern. If there is a pump then so be it -- if there is not then who cares.

My point is that this release is just like a hardfork for masternodes (whether they recieve payment is dependent on them updating) and it is really bad form to launch something like that without warning. By your logic then we shouldn't have bothered announcing the past hardforks either becuase "all of the people that really care will all update quickly anyway". (Btw, I am aware that multiple forks (caused by people not updated for a hardfork) on the network can be dangerous, but that is besides the point.)
 
  • Like
Reactions: ozziecoin

vertoe

Three of Nine
Mar 28, 2014
2,573
1,652
1,283
Unimatrix Zero One
Another issue: Always after updating my masternode to the new version and i type "masternode start" i get: not a capable masternode.
How's that possible? After each upgrade I need to resend 1000 DRK to accountaddress 0.
If this happens on main net, I'll be screwed.
 

ozziecoin

Member
May 26, 2014
50
14
48
Another issue: Always after updating my masternode to the new version and i type "masternode start" i get: not a capable masternode.
How's that possible? After each upgrade I need to resend 1000 DRK to accountaddress 0.
If this happens on main net, I'll be screwed.
Possibly, you need to wait for your daemon to catch up to correct block height.
 

flare

Administrator
Dash Core Team
Moderator
May 18, 2014
2,287
2,406
1,183
Germany
Another issue: Always after updating my masternode to the new version and i type "masternode start" i get: not a capable masternode.
How's that possible? After each upgrade I need to resend 1000 DRK to accountaddress 0.
If this happens on main net, I'll be screwed.
Never had this issue - updating masternodes since 0.10.12.0

- darkcoind masternode stop
- darkcoind stop
- rm darkcoind ; wget darkcoind ; chmod u+x darkcoind
- darkcoind ; sleep 30
- darkcoind masternode start
 

JGCMiner

Moderator
Moderator
Jun 8, 2014
360
211
113
Can we get back on topic? This is the RC4 testing thread, not the speculation thread.
Sorry for derailing. I didn't think that was off topic (as my points had nothing to do with speculation but how to handle things when the latest test version goes live) but I will apologize anyway.

Carry on. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.