Welcome to the Dash Forum!

Please sign up to discuss the most innovative cryptocurrency!

TAO'S MASTERNODE SETUP GUIDE FOR DUMMIES (UPDATE GUIDE UPDATED FOR 13.0)

Discussion in 'Masternode Guides' started by TaoOfSatoshi, Oct 15, 2014.

  1. MelekIco

    MelekIco New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I hope that someone can help me out here with setting up a MN again. I had no problems doing this in older versions but now i keep getting stuck at the same point. Please keep in mind that I am not good in linux but i have used this guide before to keep a MN going for years.

    - I start WinSCP and i click on the folder icon with the wheel/star and make the .dashcore folder
    - At this point the folder does not display in the right window unless i click on the show hidden folder in the lower right corner or i click CTRL - O and write /.dashcore
    - I can copy the two files from the desktop to the folder no problems there
    - Once i get back to putty, i can enter the .dashcore folder
    - I go back to root and install Joe
    - Back in the user folder I type joe .dashcore/dash.conf, get the screen that has nothing in it and paste the setup that i have in my notepad
    - Once i hit CTRL - k - x i get the following ERROR OPENING FILE.

    I have tried creating the folder in putty with mkdir .dashcore but even then it does not show up unless i un-hide hidden files in winSCP.

    Thank you all for your help in advance.
     
  2. Amazing

    Amazing New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I am trying to restart my masternode with the update. when I run ./dashd on the vps with the update I am getting an : Error loading block database. I am asked if I want to rebuild the database but everything hangs when I type yes. I did some research online and it seemed people got this message with bitcoin when there drives where full.

    I have a 15G instance of which 4.1G is available. I've read minimum requirements are 20GB however I should be able to run dashd at least for a little while longer until the drive fills up, so I am confused as to why I am getting this error.

    I want to install sentinel and get my masternode up and running again but am stuck on this part. Any suggestions, please?
     
  3. UdjinM6

    UdjinM6 Official Dash Dev
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,637
    Likes Received:
    3,536
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    Do "./dashd -reindex" once
     
  4. Amazing

    Amazing New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I tried to reindex and that didn't work either. So I just started a brand new instance. Now I am at the ./dash-cli mnsync status part. I am not getting a sync. How long should it take?
     
  5. UdjinM6

    UdjinM6 Official Dash Dev
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,637
    Likes Received:
    3,536
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    A brand new instance would have to download and reprocess full blockchain first which is ~1.2-1.5 GB currently iirc. So the time depends on your bandwidth and cpu/ram.
    Check current blocks via "dash-cli getblockcount" periodically and compare that to http://explorer.dash.org/ - this should give you some idea how far is your node from having full blockchain.
     
  6. Amazing

    Amazing New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Thanks! It's synced now. The node got the current block faster than the other sync variables, namely "isWinnersListSynced" and "IsSynced" took longer for some reason.
     
  7. UdjinM6

    UdjinM6 Official Dash Dev
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,637
    Likes Received:
    3,536
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    Yep, it's ok. There are few steps in sync process, fist is blockchain, next is mn list, winners list and finally gov objs. Steps are not parallel, some of them rely on the other.
     
  8. Amazing

    Amazing New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Only problem now is I am still listed as PRE_ENABLED. Am I missing some step, or does it just take a while to become fully enabled from the network?
     
  9. UdjinM6

    UdjinM6 Official Dash Dev
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,637
    Likes Received:
    3,536
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    PRE_ENABLED means that network saw your mn announcement you made from local wallet but there was no correctly formed message from your masternode itself yet. This should take 10-20 minutes normally.
     
  10. baseball5coach

    baseball5coach New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,
    I'm stuck here at step 4
    step 4) install sentinel dependencies
    venv/bin/pip install -r requirements.txt

    When entered says it can not be found? Any suggestions to fix this part.
    Thanks
     
  11. Amazing

    Amazing New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    And now "Watchdog Expired" means? I think it has something to do with me not setting up the cronjob right on sentinel.
     
  12. baseball5coach

    baseball5coach New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Another error I'm getting is when I run the .dashd
    I get connot obtain lock data directory. Dash core is probably already running
     
  13. Amazing

    Amazing New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    On step 3 did you have to run sudo apt-get install -y virtualenv? If so you have to go back and run virtualenv venv.
     
  14. baseball5coach

    baseball5coach New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1

    Thanks
    But when I enter step 4 cmd now it gives me in red could not open requirements file {errno 2} no such directory



    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  15. baseball5coach

    baseball5coach New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    When I test the sentinel it says invalid mastnode? What and we're is the problem at?
    Also when I run the dash daemon it's says dad core already running?Please someone help.
    Thank you
     
  16. baseball5coach

    baseball5coach New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
     
  17. TaoOfSatoshi

    TaoOfSatoshi Grizzled Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    2,721
    Likes Received:
    2,613
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
  18. baseball5coach

    baseball5coach New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    When I start dashd server I get wallet error can not start. ?
     
  19. Amazing

    Amazing New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My watchdog keeps expiring. Can someone confirm that my cronjob is configured correctly? I've made sure I am updated to latest version of sentinel, and I have also confirmed that my cronjob is pointing to the correct directory:

    * * * * * cd /home/MYUSERNAME/.dashcore/sentinel && ./venv/bin/python bin/sentinel.py 2>&1 >>sentinel-cron.log
     
  20. Janus Anderson

    Janus Anderson New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi all, thanks to this awesome guide I have successfully set up 3 masternodes that I have been operating for a couple of months now. My only issue is that it seems that about once a week or two, each of the nodes (hosted on vultur) 'crash' (meaning the dashd process stops for some reason), and I have to go through the manual process of restarting the dashd client and digging the wallets out of cold storage to get everything up and running again. There doesn't seem to be a pattern to them crashing, and since I'm not a linux expert I'm having a hard time diagnosing what the problem is here. It does not appear that the instance itself is going down, so something else is causing the dash core to exit.

    My questions are:

    1) what is the best way to diagnose how/why dashcore stopped functioning?
    2) Are other masternode operators seeing this pattern, meaning is this just typical behavior?
    3) is the base 768MB / 15GB vultur node enough horsepower for a masternode, or could it be running out of RAM? Storage seems to be fine @ 15GB.
    4) Is there a way to restart these nodes without having to dig out your wallet from cold storage each time?
    5) Are there external ways to 'crash' someone else's masternode? I've disabled root logins and used the guide's basic firewall setup, should I be doing more here security-wise?

    Sorry for the noob questions, I've got a lot to learn about Linux.
     
  21. UdjinM6

    UdjinM6 Official Dash Dev
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,637
    Likes Received:
    3,536
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    1) There is a bunch of scripts posted on forum
    could be as simple as:
    Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    if [ -z `pidof dashd` ]; then
    /path/to/dashd
    fi
    
    save this to some file e.g. mn_watch.sh, make it executable
    Code:
    chmod u+x mn_watch.sh
    
    and run it every 5 minutes via cron
    Code:
    crontab -e
    # add this line
    */5 * * * * /path/to/mn_watch.sh >/dev/null 2>&1
    
    2) It depends, crashes can happen due to a) errors in code b) lack of resources
    3) Could be that it's killed by OOM (system), consider adding/increasing swap file
    4) If they were offline more than 3 hours - no, if less - they should recover by themselves
    5) Could be a result of ddos attack if you don't have proper defense in place and/or enough resources to mitigate it
     
    • Like Like x 1
  22. Chip Auger

    Chip Auger New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for this guide. I'm working my way through it step by step. I've run into a problem, when I attempt to login to my VULTR VPS using PuTTY or WinSCP I'm always met with "Access Denied." I am able to login via the console using the same login credentials. What have I missed?
     
  23. camosoul

    camosoul Grizzled Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,256
    Likes Received:
    1,128
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
  24. Jeremy.West

    Jeremy.West New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Thank you so much Tao... but please help!

    I have followed your instructions to a T up to the above quoted step. At this point, although I can clearly see the file "dashd" in ".dashcore" in WinSCP:
    upload_2017-3-14_16-41-42.png

    I get the below error when trying to run it in putty:
    upload_2017-3-14_16-46-7.png

    Can anyone help?

    Highest Regards,
    Jeremy
     
  25. TaoOfSatoshi

    TaoOfSatoshi Grizzled Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    2,721
    Likes Received:
    2,613
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    You must first activate the file by doing this "chmod 777 ./dashd"
     
  26. Technologov

    Technologov Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2017
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    88
    Hello Tao.

    Small updates for your Guide:
    1. SSH sessions expires VERY quickly on Vulture VPSes by default: (about 3 min. I can't configure anything at all)

    SSH server expires too quickly: (edit /etc/ssh/sshd_config) add lines:

    ClientAliveInterval 60
    ClientAliveCountMax 60

    then do:
    /etc/init.d/ssh restart

    2. For multiple Masternodes please put a NOTE:

    "Note: A masternode private key will need to be created for each Masternode you run. You should not use the same masternode private key for multiple Masternodes."

    This is NOT obvious to me.

    3. We can install all the dependencies in one go, at the start.

    # apt-get install git python-virtualenv virtualenv htop vim joe

    4. Thanks !!

    -Technologov
     
    #386 Technologov, Mar 17, 2017
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2017
  27. Busyissie

    Busyissie New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hey Guys,

    i was able to make my own Masternode with succes, it has been running for 4 days, does any one have estimate when to expect earning..
    Everything is running fine, i dont know if there is a certain period when earning are credited..
     
  28. Duyen

    Duyen New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi, you mentioned the local wallet can be closed here on afterwards when successful, but does the masternode need to have its wallet unlocked at all times? I saw the encrypt part in the steps, but couldn't find the unlocking part.
     
  29. NewDashUser

    NewDashUser New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi I used Tao's guide to setup Masternode on remote server. I was able to get "Masternode Sucessfully Started" on putty screen. But when I go and check the status of my MN on dashninja it says "Inactive" under status bar ? I still 1000 DASH vested, and my server CPU is running at 9% with like 3.5 gb space used ? Can someone help please ?
     
  30. Bertrand256

    Bertrand256 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2017
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    272
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Dash Address:
    XwZzf7yqYoUBnDFqE7r3zuNmpwKo1CYLMC
    @NewDashUser, I am wondering that the message "Masternode successfully started" you see on the putty screen. Starting masternode should be done from your local Dash Core wallet, that controls the private key holding your 1000 Dash collateral (Step 7 of Tao's manual). So either you keep your Dash collateral on the remote server's wallet (which is not safe) or you have done this step on the wrong machine (remote instead of local).