Welcome to the Dash Forum!

Please sign up to discuss the most innovative cryptocurrency!

TAO'S MASTERNODE SETUP GUIDE FOR DUMMIES (UPDATE GUIDE UPDATED FOR 13.0)

Discussion in 'Masternode Guides' started by TaoOfSatoshi, Oct 15, 2014.

  1. bhkien

    bhkien Active Member
    Linguistic

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    281
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Check your firewall setting to open that port.
     
  2. Tien Nguyen

    Tien Nguyen New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I opened that port in windows firewall, but nothing was changed for the error message. Anyone has more ideas about my problem?
     
  3. bhkien

    bhkien Active Member
    Linguistic

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    281
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Oh. As I know masternode only run on Linux.
     
  4. Tien Nguyen

    Tien Nguyen New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yes, I followed all the guide in this thread to set up masternode. I hired Linux server on Vultr.com and did setting up steps on it to link masternode with the QT wallet. Bhkien, are you successful in setting up masternode? If yes, please guide me step by step to finish it. Thanks !
     
  5. bhkien

    bhkien Active Member
    Linguistic

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    281
    Trophy Points:
    133
    If you are setting up Dash masternode you can use Dashman for much easier.

    But I don't know about setting up masternode for other coins.
     
  6. Tien Nguyen

    Tien Nguyen New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Please guide me how to use Dashman for setting up masternode. You can send the guide to my personal email address [email protected]. Thanks !
     
  7. bhkien

    bhkien Active Member
    Linguistic

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    281
    Trophy Points:
    133
  8. camosoul

    camosoul Grizzled Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,160
    Likes Received:
    1,110
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    The collateral amount has nothing to do with the fiat exchange value.
     
  9. FilipZ

    FilipZ New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    well surprize me
     
  10. europound

    europound Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2016
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    68
    horrible tutorial, so many bells and whistles and gimmicks, 90% of water :(
    impossible to follow
     
    • Trolling Trolling x 1
  11. TaoOfSatoshi

    TaoOfSatoshi Grizzled Member
    Linguistic Dash Nation Founder Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    2,621
    Likes Received:
    2,585
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    I’m sorry my guide was unable to meet your needs. It has, however, helped countless individuals with setting up their node, so someone is able to follow it! :) Do you have any specific critiques I could use to improve it?
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  12. everywherebrand

    everywherebrand New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    HI there - interested in setting up a masternode here and have a Gigabyte P55W V6-CF1 GTX 1060 6GB GDDR5, 15.6" IPS LED, i7 6700HQ Gaming Laptop - will that be enough? Thanks
     
  13. Stuart Rolinson

    Stuart Rolinson New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Thanks for the great guide. One question, as the value of Dash increases, has there been any thought to reducing the number of coins that need to be held from 1000?
     
  14. Figlmüller

    Figlmüller Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Why should they? The amount of active masternodes is still rising and the maximum amount is fixed.
     
  15. europound

    europound Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2016
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Do Youtube Tutorial
     
  16. theatab

    theatab New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    it is getting harder and harder to keep running the MNs continuously for 8-10 days! even in vultr's vps!
    is there a plan to make the payments more often? like every 3-4 days?
    thanks
     
  17. strophy

    strophy Administrator
    Dash Core Team Dash Support Group Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2016
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    344
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Unfortunately that is impossible, since only one masternode can be paid in each block, and each block takes 2.5 minutes. The payment interval is simply a function of the number of masternodes on the network.
     
  18. theatab

    theatab New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    then we just have to pay 2 or more MNs in each block ;)
    nothing is impossible for genius programmers ;)
     
  19. Sven

    Sven Member
    Masternode Owner/Operator

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2017
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Or you could just upgrade to better hardware.

    And if you can't afford better hardware with your earnings, then you'll have to drop out and fewer Masternodes means faster payments for the rest of us. Problem solved! :)
     
  20. theatab

    theatab New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    By better hardware you mean better vps? even the best vps out there has not 100% uptime!
    by waiting 10 days to receive the payment is not the best policy!
     
  21. Sven

    Sven Member
    Masternode Owner/Operator

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2017
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Yes. Or dedicated servers. Whatever it takes.

    The payment is meant to compensate for your expenses, nobody is guaranteeing you a certain level of profit beyond that. In fact, reward payments will decrease over time as the block reward gets reduced every year.

    And you can expect that, as long as there's good money to be made, more and more people will launch masternodes to get a slice of the pie. Right now, we still have the 1000-Dash hurdle to prevent an outright rush, but fractional ownership of masternodes is already in development. Then you can pay in whatever you can afford and get your share of the reward. Expect the number of nodes to skyrocket and times between payouts to get longer and longer.

    That process will only stop once an equilibrium is reached where it roughly costs as much to run a masternode as you can generate income from it. At that point, only those with better, more stable and more cost-efficient hardware will still be profitable. In fact, the roadmap is already talking about "masternode-specific hardware with custom requirements". Low-end VPSs and Raspberry Pies will be squeezed out. So invest to upgrade or throw in the towel.
     
    #441 Sven, Nov 9, 2017
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2017
  22. Kerry Jordan

    Kerry Jordan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Thanks for in-depth explanation. Was looking for it.
     
  23. GTX510

    GTX510 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  24. Rajak

    Rajak New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello, thank you for material i used it and it worked brilliant.

    I have 2 questions:

    1) How an i set up 2 MN for 1 wallet?

    in masternode.conf (for dash qt) i made settings like this

    MN900 MN-ServerIP:9999 PrivateKey1 TransactionNumber1 0
    MN901 MN-ServerIP:9999 PrivateKey2 TransactionNumber2 0

    and dash.conf in remote server (MN server) looks like

    #---
    rpcuser=randomname
    rpcpassword=randompassword
    rpcallowip=127.0.0.1
    #----
    listen=1
    server=1
    daemon=1
    maxconnections=24
    #--------------------
    masternode=1
    masternodeprivkey=PrivateKey1
    externalip=MN-ServerIP



    #----
    rpcuser=randomname
    rpcpassword=randompassword
    rpcallowip=127.0.0.1
    #----
    listen=1
    server=1
    daemon=1
    maxconnections=24
    #--------------------
    masternode=1
    masternodeprivkey=PrivateKey2
    externalip=MN-ServerIP

    but it doesnt worked. can someone help me?

    and second question is:

    what is status : Not capable masternode: Masternode in POSE_BAN state


    thank you
     
    #444 Rajak, Mar 7, 2018
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2018
  25. BitmainCoupons

    BitmainCoupons New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Great tutorial. Thank you!
     
  26. phillipe

    phillipe New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,

    Is it possible to setup a masternode in "regtest" mode?

    I generated a masternode key and obtained the Tx Id (1000 dash). I get the following message when after the command "masternode start-alias <alias>"

    {
    "alias": "mn1",
    "result": "failed",
    "errorMessage": "Sync in progress. Must wait until sync is complete to start Masternode"
    }

    I think the issue may be with the server IP address in the dash.conf and masternode.conf. Since I'm running regtest, I just my localhost address and a random port. I've tried 127.0.0.1 and just plain removing it; still get the same message. Any help would be appreciated.

    Thanks,
    Phillipe
     
  27. TaoOfSatoshi

    TaoOfSatoshi Grizzled Member
    Linguistic Dash Nation Founder Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    2,621
    Likes Received:
    2,585
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    That’s a common message you get when your local wallet has not fully updated before you issue the start command. Simply wait for the local wallet to fully sync and reissue the command.
     
  28. qwizzie

    qwizzie Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,426
    Likes Received:
    696
    Trophy Points:
    183
    Regarding question 1 : Do they have seperate IP Addresses ?

    Regarding question 2 : Looks like something in your setup causes the network to ban your masternode(s).

    Edit : never mind, i see you got your answers here : https://www.dash.org/forum/threads/2-masternodes-for-1-wallet.30437/
     
    #448 qwizzie, Jul 22, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2018
  29. phillipe

    phillipe New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    The synchronization is not progressing (stuck at 25% at the bottom of dash-qt). It may have to do with the fact there are no peers in -regtest. I'm thinking may just have to -testnet to for my testing. Thank you though!
     
  30. TaoOfSatoshi

    TaoOfSatoshi Grizzled Member
    Linguistic Dash Nation Founder Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    2,621
    Likes Received:
    2,585
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    You're welcome. Good luck!
     

Share This Page