Welcome to the Dash Forum!

Please sign up to discuss the most innovative cryptocurrency!

PinIdea ASIC X11 Miner DU-1 (USB Version Hashrate 9 MH/s , Releasing in Mid-May 2016)

Discussion in 'Hardware Discussions (ASIC / GPU / CPU)' started by soleo, Apr 8, 2016.

  1. UnklAdM

    UnklAdM New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Open a new terminal window and run

    sudo tail -f /var/log/messages

    Unplug and replug device. Great for debugging hardware.

    - UnklAdM
     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Crushed

    Crushed New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yep, I swapped out cables and the unit I had that would only run @ 200 will now run at 300 and the one that would only run at 300 now seems to run at 400.
     
  3. Rabinovitch

    Rabinovitch Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    68
    I have testes all my 10 units using one of the out-of-the-box cables. Each miner has been connected to 2 USB3 ports. 8 are able to mine at 400, only 2 can't work at 400, only at 300 giving stable 6 MH/s. It looks that it's not a cable-dependent issue...
     
  4. Balych

    Balych Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    211
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Dash Address:
    Xba1ychX7CjgbRrCKE1LjHjT3jLUhcexs5
    I thinked it's can't work @400, but now.. :D

    [​IMG]

    ..without additional power it work @400 only at USB3 port.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. UnklAdM

    UnklAdM New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Still nothing here... 'processing'.

    I guess I shoulda' just bought sys.
     
  6. intertan

    intertan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Just got a response #100 has been shipped. Tracking details emailed soon.
     
  7. spatula

    spatula Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    158

    Yea, I'm thinking the supplied cables must have really high resistance that leads to voltage drop, which throws the DU-1 into an error state. In this scenario, the hub could have plenty of amperage available for powering the miner, but the voltage drop that happens on the cable before it gets there is what is causing the problem. Using the supplied cables, I have to use the Y splitter to add additional power to the cable to keep the voltage high, but with a quality cable, I can use just the hub power without issue.

    Also, it seems that some DU-1 units are more sensitive to this than others. Pinidea needs to release updated DU-1 firmware that allows for a slightly lower voltage before sending the miner into an error state, especially with the quality of the supplied cables.
     
    #127 spatula, Jun 15, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2016
  8. iRybin

    iRybin New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2016
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Does someone managed to get them working on Nicehash?
     
  9. arun kumar

    arun kumar New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    my order is #177 any one know when i got
     
  10. Rabinovitch

    Rabinovitch Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Try to start without #xnsub.
     
  11. Crushed

    Crushed New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have all five of mine running on Nicehash using #xnsub.

    I've also run them on Zpool with #xnsub.
     
  12. Mammon

    Mammon New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi Guys

    I ordered 10 of these, right at the first moment of order.
    Still not received a single unit.
    Mailed them about this, but they say they don't have a track and trace??
    More people having not received there usb miners?
     
  13. Rabinovitch

    Rabinovitch Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Seems that here in Russia #xnsub doesn't work. ;)
     
  14. PeterNorth

    PeterNorth New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Oh yes I think many of us still dont, I ordered 10 items while the web page said "In Stock" and I think it still does so I assumed from that they could be picked off the shelf and sent.
    Given the time passed, frightening results of those who have them and the poor business model on response I think a refund now is a fair thing, Im seeing the return on mining on dash already reducing as other powerful asics are getting in early before we get a look in with these.
    We have people improving their items with large pieces of copper wire, looking horrid but functional.
    So concerned that this would turn out the way it has that I gave myself a 750MH/s injection from elsewhere . . . not interested in the shooter big boy now as Ive just experienced easy to set up, quality build and right on the numbers product.
    Thank you Dr Dash, I feel much better now . . .

    Now, back to the refund . . .
     
  15. intertan

    intertan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Well I just got my tracking number. Carrier just received shipping information and doesn't have the package yet.
    Considering days before I got an email saying package has shipped makes me wonder how organized they are.

    BTW order 100 canada
     
  16. PeterNorth

    PeterNorth New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Yeah it is common for them to already know the tracking number before the carrier gets it, even I can provide ship track numbers well before I send. Anyway, I have got my shipping detail also so they are starting to get through the bulk of the early to mid may orders.
     
  17. Rabinovitch

    Rabinovitch Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    68
    • Like Like x 1
  18. UnklAdM

    UnklAdM New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Order #145 purchased May 19th shipped via DHL to Upstate NY USA June 17th from Hong Kong. E.T.A. Tuesday June 21st.

    More soon.

    Thanks Pinidea.io !!

    - UnklAdM
     
  19. SugarBear

    SugarBear New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    #144 same ETA to Southern California via DHL
     
  20. Rabinovitch

    Rabinovitch Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Could you please measure the current consumed via this new "cable" somehow?
     
  21. Balych

    Balych Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    211
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Dash Address:
    Xba1ychX7CjgbRrCKE1LjHjT3jLUhcexs5
    Unfortunately, with connected multimeter it work @300 only - 1.7A, @200 - 1.4A
     
  22. SugarBear

    SugarBear New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Shipment arrived one day late. All five worked great @ 400 with supplied cables and pinidea driver/software.
     
  23. Jeztah

    Jeztah Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2014
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    145
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Order #84 still waiting after being told that it's been shipped (with no tracking info) over a week ago. So disappointed.
     
  24. PeterNorth

    PeterNorth New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Yeah I would be miffed with that, I was order #158 and got my 10 today. The first one I tried was dead, would not hash at all, others I find that a normal PC USB port struggles to give them the power they need and only work at lower clock speeds, varied frustrating results that way, much better with my powered USB hub.
    On Win 7 64bit I have six units running thru the hub at 400 clock speed getting around 50MH/s, the others I will get another hub. I have a 12 port hub (2 for charging) and plugged in the main USB plug on the provided cables into each of the hub data slots and the secondary plug that is on each cable into the remaining hub slots and two charging slots.
    The hub I used was from amazon.com , also ordered some Anker Brand usb cables.
    Dyconn PowerHub SuperSpeed 12-Port 2 - 5A Charging Only Industrial Grade USB 3.0 Hub with Mounting Brackets (HUBC10B)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  25. arun kumar

    arun kumar New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Order #177
    Your order has been completed!
     
  26. arun kumar

    arun kumar New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    waiting for arrival
     
  27. Jeztah

    Jeztah Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2014
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    145
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Finally. :)

    Wednesday, June 22, 2016
    Location Time Piece
    1 Shipment information received HONG KONG - HONG KONG 16:11
     
  28. UnklAdM

    UnklAdM New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    These work great at http://give-me-coins.com my favorite pool.

    Come join me there let's hit some blocks!

    Little power hogs, more on that later.
     
  29. PeterNorth

    PeterNorth New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Yeah I had 3 of my 10 units would not work very well on my PCs USB ports even with both plug heads in. One of those at only 200 clock the other at 300.

    Now have all 10 of them working at 400 when using the decent dyconn powered hub. I had to use two hubs to cover the 10 . They simply need power to work well. The cgminer output screen isnt programmed to show all 10 miners, I can only see 7 in the output but the hash rate adds up to 10 units and the accepts show that the hidden units are doing their bit every so often.
    Definately need to use both of the plugs on the cable in most cases, not all.

    BLOCK! BLOCK! BLOCK! and so many, wont tell you who with :)

    Using standard driver as supplied with pinidea software.
     
  30. Jeztah

    Jeztah Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2014
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    145
    Trophy Points:
    103