Welcome to the Dash Forum!

Please sign up to discuss the most innovative cryptocurrency!

Masternode On Raspberry Pi 2 Model B

Discussion in 'Masternode Guides' started by fuzzyduck, Feb 21, 2015.

  1. MangledBlue

    MangledBlue Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,249
    Likes Received:
    678
    Trophy Points:
    183
    1 external IP per MN

    internal IPs will do you no good - unless you want to make your own little DASH world intranet - that should not be connected to the internet but would run through a router only - lol

    edit - you would still need the 1000DASH per MN, of course

    edit 2: the above would also cause a fork since you would not be on the net
     
    #151 MangledBlue, Jun 7, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 8, 2015
  2. bluebit

    bluebit Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    194
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Is anyone here running more than 1 masternode on a Raspberry Pi? If so, how do you do it? I know that 1 remote server costs like $5 per month. So I see why some people would want to use their existing Home IP to host a server to save money. I'm planning on starting more than 1 masternode. If it's possible I'd like to host multiple masternodes from at Home. Can I use 1 DASH wallet to host multiple masternodes?
     
  3. bluebit

    bluebit Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    194
    Trophy Points:
    103
  4. MangledBlue

    MangledBlue Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,249
    Likes Received:
    678
    Trophy Points:
    183
    Not sure yet - Have not been able to look it yet....
     
  5. moli

    moli Grizzled Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Messages:
    3,262
    Likes Received:
    1,837
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
  6. bluebit

    bluebit Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    194
    Trophy Points:
    103
    I couldn't resist buying two more. :) Look so cool.

    [​IMG]
     
    • Like Like x 3
  7. moli

    moli Grizzled Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Messages:
    3,262
    Likes Received:
    1,837
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    OMG... LOL... Where did you buy them?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. bluebit

    bluebit Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    194
    Trophy Points:
    103
    The Pi2s I got on Amazon and the cases I got at Adafruit: http://www.adafruit.com/products/2346

    The copper heatsinks on Amazon

    :)

    Here is what it looks like in all it's beauty.
    [​IMG]
     
    • Like Like x 3
  9. studioz

    studioz Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    464
    Trophy Points:
    163
    nice casing
    i have 3 older RPIs here with shitty casings each running 20 scrypt gridseeds miners on xpool
    for close to 1 1/2 year now
    super stable
     
    #159 studioz, Jun 24, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 24, 2015
  10. MangledBlue

    MangledBlue Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,249
    Likes Received:
    678
    Trophy Points:
    183
    Actually very simple...

    sudo nano /etc/ssh/sshd_config

    Find the line that reads : Port 22
    and
    Change it to whatever port number you want - above 3000 below 5000
    [CTRL-x] to exit and save


    Open the same Port # on your router - instructions vary due to modem/router type

    then
    go to: http://www.yougetsignal.com/tools/open-ports/
    to check the Port open


    If open - you are good :)



    enjoy
     
  11. fuzzyduck

    fuzzyduck Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Thx will try when I get home from holiday. For now I just perma ban everyone after 3 tries.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. fuzzyduck

    fuzzyduck Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    93
    worked like a charm. Thx! SSH port changed to random number for added security
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. tungfa

    tungfa Administrator
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member Masternode Owner/Operator Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    8,871
    Likes Received:
    6,706
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    Hey Raspberry Pie people
    I am finally working on a PR piece in this direction

    Can i please have some photographs (i collected all others already)
    of a MN Pie ?!
    Nice/graphic/clean
    (i know i asked this before, sorry to hustle you guys again)
    tx
     
  14. fuzzyduck

    fuzzyduck Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Im in no position to make any good photo. My house is partly being redone Atm.

    You already got my ugly pic right? Scroll up i think.

    Anyway, you still can take any random royalty free Pi2 photo off the internet as source. No one can tell if its a Masternode or not!:D

    http://www.gnodde.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/Raspberry-Pi-2.jpg

    http://www.adafruit.com/images/970x728/x998-00.jpg.pagespeed.ic.WZ4X2A3n-N.jpg

    http://icdn2.digitaltrends.com/image/raspberry-pi-2-hand-v2-970x647-c.jpg?ver=1

    Dunno about royalties of above pics. Just samples.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. fuzzyduck

    fuzzyduck Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    93
    I just imagined a stealth MN running on a PI2 with a batterypack attached, connected with WIFI on a public hotspot. (citywide hotspot for example).
    Just in case DASH needs to go underground after some white collar gangsters bans crypto.

    Only Port 9999 is a problem then. Cant the data be tunneled without port 9999 open on a router? Just like Teamviewer.com tunnels a remote desktop?

    EDIT: OR a solarpowered Masternode WOOT
    https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/viewtopic.php?t=11089
     
    • Like Like x 2
  16. moli

    moli Grizzled Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Messages:
    3,262
    Likes Received:
    1,837
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    I would suggest fuzzyduck , or MangledBlue, or whoever that has successfully installed a masternode on a Rpi to do a short, concise video how great to have a Rpi run your own masternode from home. I think it's better for them to illustrate and explain how a Rpi works with a MN because they know how it works. Just my two duffs..
     
    • Like Like x 2
  17. MangledBlue

    MangledBlue Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,249
    Likes Received:
    678
    Trophy Points:
    183
    Gonna move my Pi to an 8GB microSD card - so I'll work up a complete guide, from start to finish
    Might need somebody with a MAC to add that needed parts.....

    Basically it will expand on what this current guide has
    like - setting ssh port - default EDITOR etc etc
    Basically make life eaiser....
     
  18. fuzzyduck

    fuzzyduck Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Shall give you my login so you can edit this one? Ill change my pass to something so you can edit.
     
  19. MangledBlue

    MangledBlue Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,249
    Likes Received:
    678
    Trophy Points:
    183

    I'm at work right now - but that would be very cool
    I won't mess with anything - lol - promise

    I'll hit ya up when I'm ready :-D
     
  20. tungfa

    tungfa Administrator
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member Masternode Owner/Operator Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    8,871
    Likes Received:
    6,706
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    Hey you friends of the "Pie"

    are any of you tech guys here
    members of
    - Tech Blogs
    - Tech chats
    - Raspberry Pie communities
    - .....
    or
    reading
    - Tech News blogs/ pages
    - ....

    or do you have some pointers for me where a story:
    "Running a Dash Masternode on Raspberry_Pi"
    could fit ?!
    I am looking for PR outlets outside the Crypto World , more tech geek related pages
    tx for any tips and pointers, that would really help
    ;)
     
  21. oaxaca

    oaxaca Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    832
    Trophy Points:
    263
  22. moli

    moli Grizzled Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Messages:
    3,262
    Likes Received:
    1,837
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    • Like Like x 1
  23. fuzzyduck

    fuzzyduck Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    93
    I didn't copycat for sure:cool:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  24. MangledBlue

    MangledBlue Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,249
    Likes Received:
    678
    Trophy Points:
    183
    The LIB files are completely different
     
  25. MangledBlue

    MangledBlue Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,249
    Likes Received:
    678
    Trophy Points:
    183
    fuzzyduck

    My compile crashed last night on the MATE - even had SWAP
    Gonna try again soon - not sure what happened - ugh

    Raspian went through just fine - also SWAP
     
  26. fuzzyduck

    fuzzyduck Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    93
    mmm thats a bummer. Could it be that the GUI of Ubuntu MATE takes up too much of the free RAM (1gb), even when 1gb swap added?

    Check the ongoing build with another terminal and use the command TOP. It shows the RAM and swap usage.
     
  27. MangledBlue

    MangledBlue Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,249
    Likes Received:
    678
    Trophy Points:
    183
    htop?
    I have that installed

    sudo apt-get install htop

    What is TOP?
    Is it generally already installed?

    edit
    Just remembered that MATE has a system monitor tool :-D
    I'll run that in tow with the compile -


    thx - good thinkin :-D
     
    #177 MangledBlue, Jul 14, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 14, 2015
  28. fuzzyduck

    fuzzyduck Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Lol did you even try typing TOP in the terminal to find out? :D

    It's a live process monitor for terminal
     
    • Like Like x 1
  29. MangledBlue

    MangledBlue Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,249
    Likes Received:
    678
    Trophy Points:
    183
    I'm at work right now - I'll have to try later
     
  30. MangledBlue

    MangledBlue Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,249
    Likes Received:
    678
    Trophy Points:
    183

Share This Page