Welcome to the Dash Forum!

Please sign up to discuss the most innovative cryptocurrency!

Masternode On Raspberry Pi 2 Model B

Discussion in 'Masternode Guides' started by fuzzyduck, Feb 21, 2015.

  1. fuzzyduck

    fuzzyduck Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    93
    you dont have to have 2 cards. You can write image files to the card (like you will in the turorial), but you can also make them. So when you are happy with the running masternode and all is running well, just make and .IMG file from the whole SDcard to any computer using readily available software. That way, if your SDcard gets corrupted (or destroyed by fire lol) you can just flash the IMG file to the SDcard again, and run it like nothing ever happenend.

    As long as you have the private key of the wallet containing the 1000+ dash you cannot loose it by fire. The 1000 dash arent ON your Pi2, the masternode just LOOKS at a wallet containing 1000+ dash as proof you have them.

    So make a spreadsheat with iimportant stuff in it. Make a truecrypt container with a strong password, zip it with another password, mail it to yourself andhang it on your keychain with a usbthumbdrive and you always can recover the 1000+ dash. Even if your house is burned down.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. MangledBlue

    MangledBlue Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,249
    Likes Received:
    678
    Trophy Points:
    183

    right then but your logic is off - lol

    You start by saying you don't need 2 cards - but what if it's destroyed - lol
    I'm just fuck'n with ya - lol

    I do like the image Idea
    You know of a way - maybe in a WINZip like program - can I "access" any files on it?

    For seperating a file out (copying) a file?
     
  3. fuzzyduck

    fuzzyduck Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Ha! A corrupted card can be reflashed! So no 2nd is needed! Eat that! Lol! :tongue:
     
  4. buster

    buster Guest

    The eagle has landed and I wont be sleeping for 3 days.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. bluebit

    bluebit Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    194
    Trophy Points:
    103
    I love both Fuzzyduck and MangledBlue's ideas. I'll have 2 cards, that way I save time if something were to happen to the current card. And the file also stored on the computer.

    I will look into truecrypt, don't know what this is. :)
     
    #125 bluebit, Jun 4, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 5, 2015
    • Like Like x 1
  6. MangledBlue

    MangledBlue Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,249
    Likes Received:
    678
    Trophy Points:
    183
    #126 MangledBlue, Jun 5, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 5, 2015
    • Like Like x 1
  7. bluebit

    bluebit Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    194
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Are these for me? Or do I have to compile myself or make changes to the files? Can someone on this forum give me permission to post links or reply with links?
     
  8. MangledBlue

    MangledBlue Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,249
    Likes Received:
    678
    Trophy Points:
    183

    Those are for anybody that does not want to compile the software

    Just place in .dash DIR
    chmod +x ./dashd
    chmod +x ./dash-cli

    and your all set
    (might not even need to chmod)


    enjoy


    I think you will be able to put in link once you have a better forum score
     
  9. bluebit

    bluebit Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    194
    Trophy Points:
    103
    I believe you posted the first link twice. The second link seems to be the same as the first.
     
  10. MangledBlue

    MangledBlue Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,249
    Likes Received:
    678
    Trophy Points:
    183


    thx - fixed
     
  11. fuzzyduck

    fuzzyduck Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    93
    I do think you should compile at least once, because maybe some day a new download isn't available. Then at least you know what to do.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. MangledBlue

    MangledBlue Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,249
    Likes Received:
    678
    Trophy Points:
    183
    To get started quickly - use the pre-compiled software
    then
    they could compile.....
    1 - to learn how to do it
    and
    2 - to obtain a copy of the complete software package

    :-D
     
  13. bluebit

    bluebit Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    194
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Yep, I will compile. And I do have the time :) My Pi is coming on Wednesday, can't be more excited!!!
     
    • Like Like x 2
  14. bluebit

    bluebit Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    194
    Trophy Points:
    103
    I just did some research on Truecrypt, looks like the devs abandoned it, I downloaded it anyway on my mac and it wouldn't install since Truecrypt requires an older mac version. So I found an alternative, works with both Mac and Windows: It's called Encrypto by MacPaw and it's free.
     
    #134 bluebit, Jun 5, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 5, 2015
    • Like Like x 1
  15. MangledBlue

    MangledBlue Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,249
    Likes Received:
    678
    Trophy Points:
    183
    aes256

    it's what wikileaks used :)
     
  16. fuzzyduck

    fuzzyduck Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    93
    • Like Like x 1
  17. MangledBlue

    MangledBlue Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,249
    Likes Received:
    678
    Trophy Points:
    183
    buster

    Gonna need a progress update Sir :-D
    How's the Pi?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  18. bluebit

    bluebit Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    194
    Trophy Points:
    103
    what routers do you guys have? Any good ones?
     
  19. fuzzyduck

    fuzzyduck Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    93
    One that can open port 9999 :)

    I got a dlink DIR 655 or 665
     
  20. MangledBlue

    MangledBlue Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,249
    Likes Received:
    678
    Trophy Points:
    183

    My Comcast Wireless Gateway modem has: Modem, router, wifi and phone
    But that will change when I move later this year
     
  21. fuzzyduck

    fuzzyduck Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    93
    I'm thinking about opening a random port, not being 22, to ssh into my Pi to update it during my holiday. Of course I need to open that port as well. I'm gonna read about it.
     
  22. bluebit

    bluebit Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    194
    Trophy Points:
    103
    This Raspberry Pi Masternode tutorial is written to have only 1 masternode connected to the router?
     
  23. MangledBlue

    MangledBlue Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,249
    Likes Received:
    678
    Trophy Points:
    183
    YES - because - as far as I know - you can only have ONE -IP- per MN
    BUT
    I'm still trying to figure out WHY some MN reporting sites show X number of MN's but at the same time they ALSO show Y number of IP address's


    Could be a reporting issue - - - ???
    Could be a TOR issue - - - - ???

    but when 2500 MN's report and there are 2300 IP addresses - I have to ask WHY????

    Is this some kind of advanced IP configuration?
    Or just poor MN reporting???\

    WHO KNOWS???????
    (not rhetorical)
     
  24. bluebit

    bluebit Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    194
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Watch this video:


    The guy talks about using multiple ip's behind a router, not sure if this is how to host multiple masternodes with a raspberry pi correctly.

    Bascially, to summarize I think it's possible to have multiple Raspberry Pi's behind a router all of them using the same IP address, but using different ports.

    [​IMG]

    This video is also very helpful:
     
    #144 bluebit, Jun 7, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 7, 2015
  25. buster

    buster Guest

    I got super sick on Thursday and been in bed since then. I'm finally feeling better today and gonna crack open my PI Box. Probably not the progress update you wanted but it's all i got at the moment.
     
  26. MangledBlue

    MangledBlue Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,249
    Likes Received:
    678
    Trophy Points:
    183
    So sorry to hear that - keep us posted
     
  27. bluebit

    bluebit Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    194
    Trophy Points:
    103
    I must be wrong, because I just check https://dashninja.pl/ and all the masternodes are using the same port: 9999
     
  28. MangledBlue

    MangledBlue Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,249
    Likes Received:
    678
    Trophy Points:
    183
    Yes - DASH uses 9999
    No way to change that and make it work from what I know
     
  29. MangledBlue

    MangledBlue Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,249
    Likes Received:
    678
    Trophy Points:
    183
    Updated the MN code to check your MN
    You have to be using dash-cli along with dashd




    #!/bin/bash

    # -----

    MNIP=`wget -qO- http://ipecho.net/plain ; echo | awk "{print \\$2}" | sed -e 's/addr://' | tr "\n" " "`;

    export GREP_OPTIONS=--color=always

    # -----

    function wait_clear() {
    PROMPT="
    press enter or wait $1 seconds to continue "
    read -p "$PROMPT" -t $1 NOOP;
    clear;
    }

    # ----------------------------------------------------------------

    wait_clear 1;

    cat << EOF
    YOU MUST RUN
    DASH-CLI
    FOR THE DASH REVIEW
    WITH MASTERNODE
    TO PROCEED PROPERLY
    EOF


    # ----------------------------

    wait_clear 5;

    cat << EOF


    *** START 'DASH' REVIEW - WITH MASTERNODE
    EOF

    # ----------------------------

    wait_clear 5;

    cat << EOF


    *** CHECKING YOUR DASH MASTERNODE IP CONNECTION(S) ON PORT: 9999

    `netstat -an | grep 9999 | more`


    *** CHECKING YOUR DASH 'LISTENING' ABILITY
    *** LISTENING, ON PORT : 9999

    `netstat -an | grep LISTEN | grep 9999
    EOF

    # ----------------------------

    wait_clear 10;

    cat << EOF


    ***GET-INFO FOR 'DASH'

    `./dash-cli getinfo`
    EOF

    # ----------------------------

    wait_clear 8;

    cat << EOF


    ***YOUR DASH MASTERNODE 'IP' SHOULD = ENABLED

    `./dash-cli masternode list | grep $MNIP`
    EOF

    cat << EOF


    ***ZERO IS THE BEST SCORE FOR YOUR MASTERNODE


    `./dash-cli masternode list pose | grep $MNIP`

    EOF

    # ----------------------------

    wait_clear 8;


    VOTES=`./dash-cli masternode list votes`

    cat << EOF


    ***ALL VOTING RESULTS FOR THE CURRENT DASH 'VOTE'
    -------------------------------------------------


    YES = $(echo "$VOTES" | grep -c YEA)
    NO = $(echo "$VOTES" | grep -c NAY)
    ABSTAIN = $(echo "$VOTES" | grep -c ABSTAIN)
    YOUR VOTE = $(echo "$VOTES" | grep $MNIP)

    TOTAL MASTERNODE COUNT = $(./dash-cli masternode count)
    EOF

    # ----------------------------

    wait_clear 10;

    cat << EOF


    HAVE A NICE DAY ........................................
    EOF

    # ----------------------------

    wait_clear 5;

    cat << EOF

    PLEASE FEEL FREE TO DONATE TO THE FOLLOWING DASH ADDRESS

    XexrpL5LWdtzkDRspikBqR5Ue1Kt3zyduv

    *33% OF ALL DONATIONS WILL GO TO fuzzyduck
    *33% OF ALL DONATIONS WILL GO TO moocowmoo

    EOF


    exit;








    copy and paste into: nano [what-ever-you-want-to-name-it]
    to save: CTRL-x
    input: chmod +x ./[what-ever-you-named-it]
    to run: ./[name]



    enjoy :-D
     
  30. bluebit

    bluebit Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    194
    Trophy Points:
    103
    So does every masternode need it's own external ip address, or can one have multiple masternodes using different internal ip addresses, yet they all use the same external ip?
     

Share This Page