Welcome to the Dash Forum!

Please sign up to discuss the most innovative cryptocurrency!

Masternode Android Monitor

Discussion in 'Projects' started by calnaughtonjnr, Nov 25, 2014.

  1. calnaughtonjnr

    calnaughtonjnr Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    157
    Trophy Points:
    203
    I've been working on an Android app to monitor Masternode status and payments. I've seen that there are a few really good tools appearing now that people are making to do the same job and I'm wondering if it's worth carrying on with it.

    Would there be much demand for MN info on a mobile device? Notifications on MN status and payments received?

    Here are some images of where I am so far. http://imgur.com/a/moTId

    It is using elberethzone's amazing work to get the data, which would be made clear in the app.
     
    • Like Like x 9
  2. thelonecrouton

    thelonecrouton Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    1,135
    Likes Received:
    813
    Trophy Points:
    283
    Hell yes mate, carry on, it's all good - the more everyone makes the more we all learn about what's useful, what's needed and how to go about doing it. :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. calnaughtonjnr

    calnaughtonjnr Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    157
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Would be amazing if even a few people found it useful. I use some tools that people here have created, and had a lot of real helpful advice and knowledge. Would be good to pay it back!

    I'll get some loose ends tied up and publish then. Maybe get some feedback from you guys while I work on MN payment and status notifications for v2.

    Thanks for the encouraging words!
     
    #3 calnaughtonjnr, Nov 25, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 26, 2014
    • Like Like x 4
  4. dazman

    dazman Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2014
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    139
    Trophy Points:
    93
    I would certainly use it... It looks really good so far... Please carry on, you're doing a great job :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. tungfa

    tungfa Administrator
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member Masternode Owner/Operator Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    8,961
    Likes Received:
    6,735
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    Keep going ! It is all good !
    Sure there are more and more pages popping up doing the same thing, but as an app you are definitely standing out.
    Picture looks great, and remember these are the 1st steps, in a couple of month you will have
    - Payments
    - MN GPS
    - international stats
    - links to NADAQ and US$ rates
    - ......>
    ;)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. splawik21

    splawik21 Grizzled Member
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member Dash Support Group Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    1,916
    Likes Received:
    1,273
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    Great job mate!
    Once I use it count a tip from my side.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. BiteMyShinyMetalAss

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2014
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    58
    This is amazing! I would certainly use it. Like if you get a notification once the payment was received! :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. calnaughtonjnr

    calnaughtonjnr Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    157
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Thanks everyone!

    BiteMyShinyMetalAss I got notifications working last night. Everything is now working great, but on the press of a refresh button. I'm going to work on having everything running from a scheduled background task now. Hoping to publish tomorrow (fingers crossed).
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. calnaughtonjnr

    calnaughtonjnr Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    157
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Link below to Play Store for download. I have left some features out like status and IP from elberethzone's site, but will have them back in and working on next update.

    This version you can add as many Masternodes as you want and it will list them and show balances. You can manually refresh and check for payment or press start notify and it will check every 15 mins in the background.

    Known bugs that I'm working on are crashing out if blank address used when adding Masternode (you must force quit if you ever put blank address in) and no validation that address is a legit Masternode address. Hopefully some of you guys will find it useful and let me know any problems or any thing I can do to improve it.


    https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.betty8080.mymasternodes
     
    • Like Like x 2
  10. DrkMiner

    DrkMiner Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2014
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    88
    Just installed it. will add MN's and will let you know tomorrow.

    Thank you for the work!
     
  11. buster

    buster Guest

    really awesome, just downloaded and no issues so far. It checks at 15 minute intervals, is it possible to change that? I mean for someone running 1 masternode its not really necessary right? Maybe like every 12 hours would be fine.
     
  12. calnaughtonjnr

    calnaughtonjnr Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    157
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Yeh, I agree. I'm just working on having a user set variable for checking. Maybe select from half hour, hour, 4 times a day, twice a day, once a day? I'm putting a symbol on the summary screen too which will let you know if the background service has been run or not. I keep forgetting if I've pressed the button or not.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  13. acidburn

    acidburn Active Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2014
    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    175
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Or even better... You could use a web socket to send a notification. Or even use a background service and have push notifications sent to the device?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  14. calnaughtonjnr

    calnaughtonjnr Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    157
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Not really sure what web sockets are. Will have a read today though if you think they could be a good idea.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  15. acidburn

    acidburn Active Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2014
    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    175
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I think if you had a background service on a windows box exposing sockets over http. Each client device could subscribe to that and then you could push notifications to it in real time. Eliminates each device polling.

    I'm going to setup a service that will parse the block chain and offer a similar service to users who re interested in getting an event when a transaction occurs via websockets

    When this is done you could hook into this. You'd simply register the addresses that your interested in and I'll notify you when a transaction occurs.

    Reduced network traffic all round. :). No more polling every x minutes.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. jpr

    jpr Active Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2014
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    393
    Trophy Points:
    133
    This is a great app. Simple, no need for scripts and sms. Absolutely perfect man!
    Would like to report though it crashes when you hit refresh button on an empty masternode list :) After I added my node it works like a charm.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  17. calnaughtonjnr

    calnaughtonjnr Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    157
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Cheers Mate, and thanks for the bug report too. I have just stopped the app letting you add blank addresses. Will get on this now. Should have an update ready by tomorrow.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  18. stonehedge

    stonehedge Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    696
    Likes Received:
    333
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Just downloaded and set up for my masternodes. Looking great.

    You prob know already but if you click OK by accident before pasting in a masternode address when adding a masternode there is an unhandled exception.
     
  19. calnaughtonjnr

    calnaughtonjnr Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    157
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Yeh, cheers. That is fixed now. Was thinking about as well as stopping you add blank addresses, having the app only let you add legitimate MN addresses. I do put other wallet addresses in though so I can get notifications on those receiving payments, not just Masternode payments.
     
  20. stonehedge

    stonehedge Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    696
    Likes Received:
    333
    Trophy Points:
    233
    I tend to agree with you...would be good to monitor other addresses if a user wanted to.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  21. calnaughtonjnr

    calnaughtonjnr Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    157
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Just published v1.1 that has slightly better address validation. Better status and monitoring still to come, but still trying to get my head around JSON :confused::confused::confused:
     
  22. calnaughtonjnr

    calnaughtonjnr Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    157
    Trophy Points:
    203
    :sad::sad::sad::sad::sad::sad::sad::sad::sad::sad::sad::sad::sad:
    [​IMG]
     
  23. vertoe

    vertoe Three of Nine

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    2,573
    Likes Received:
    1,652
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    Sorry to hear. Do you know why?

    That's why I dont use Android ffs.
     
  24. calnaughtonjnr

    calnaughtonjnr Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    157
    Trophy Points:
    203
    They emailed quoting a certain section of their Ts&Cs which related to receiving payments through their payment system. I think I can get it back up by just removing the donate text. I've emailed them now and asked if I can republish or if I have to create a whole new listing.

    You think I might have less problems on Apple App Store? I have done a little bit of work on App Store apps, so could give it a shot I think.
     
  25. vertoe

    vertoe Three of Nine

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    2,573
    Likes Received:
    1,652
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    Oh, no I was not referring to Apple, they are even worse.
     
  26. splawik21

    splawik21 Grizzled Member
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member Dash Support Group Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    1,916
    Likes Received:
    1,273
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    My samsung s5570 has to be changed because my phone is not compatible.
    Btw. Can you put info of sum of all added masyernodes?
     
  27. calnaughtonjnr

    calnaughtonjnr Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    157
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Yeh, that's a great idea. Will do now.

    What version of Android you running?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  28. DrkMiner

    DrkMiner Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2014
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    88
    Could you add the option to rename the MN?
    If you have a few MN its much easier to look for the name Ex: MN 1, MN 2 etx than just the DRK address.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  29. calnaughtonjnr

    calnaughtonjnr Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    157
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Sure, another good idea. Nice one!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  30. DrkMiner

    DrkMiner Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2014
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    88
    give the option to display DRK address or MN name or even both.

    In version 1.0 when I get paid i get a notice. when i click on that it links to the explore. clicking "back" to return to the previous screen loads a blank screen.

    another idea.... QR reader to add the address. no need to type. Just scan the QR from the explorer page. to enter an address.