Welcome to the Dash Forum!

Please sign up to discuss the most innovative cryptocurrency!

11.2 - Dash Release

Discussion in 'Official Announcements' started by eduffield, Mar 30, 2015.

  1. UdjinM6

    UdjinM6 Official Dash Dev
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,631
    Likes Received:
    3,532
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    rm .dash/.lock
     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. spinner

    spinner New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ah, thats awesome, Ill remember that - thanks!
     
  3. xxxsexygirls

    xxxsexygirls Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Thank you for your response, now I am unfortunately getting this
    Code:
    Unable to bind to 0.0.0.0:9999 on this computer. Dash Core is probably already running.
    : Failed to listen on any port. Use -listen=0 if you want this.
    
     
  4. TanteStefana

    TanteStefana Moderator
    Linguistic Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,859
    Likes Received:
    1,854
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    Sorry for being dense, but I only see two transactions in that block. Wouldn't that be my MN payment and the Miner's payment? Shouldn't I see a 3rd payment of my donation to the foundation? Sorry, I'm just lost.... :(
     
  5. UdjinM6

    UdjinM6 Official Dash Dev
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,631
    Likes Received:
    3,532
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    hmm.... that means that it's actually still running. you need to kill it first then.
     
  6. UdjinM6

    UdjinM6 Official Dash Dev
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,631
    Likes Received:
    3,532
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    Nope. Ok, let me give you an example. Suppose your MN has an dash address A you set it to donate 50 (%) to dash address B. So what will happen?
    After some time passed your MN was chosen as a winner few times and FULL MN payment amount went to A, B, A, A, B, A, B, B. So it's 50% on average but whole MN payment was redirected or not in every single point of time.
     
  7. xxxsexygirls

    xxxsexygirls Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Weird I am not able to kill it
    Code:
    $pidof dashd
    10600
    Code:
    $kill 10600
    Code:
    $./dashd
    Dash server starting
    Unable to bind to 0.0.0.0:9999 on this computer. Dash Core is probably already running.
    : Failed to listen on any port. Use -listen=0 if you want this.
    
     
  8. UdjinM6

    UdjinM6 Official Dash Dev
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,631
    Likes Received:
    3,532
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    kill -9 10600
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. xxxsexygirls

    xxxsexygirls Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Worked, thank you and sorry for the noob questions :)
     
  10. TanteStefana

    TanteStefana Moderator
    Linguistic Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,859
    Likes Received:
    1,854
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    Oh wow, that makes it really hard to track! But at least I understand now, thanks :)
     
  11. AjM

    AjM Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2014
    Messages:
    1,315
    Likes Received:
    566
    Trophy Points:
    283
    MN:s keep dropping of the list, tired to restart, waiting a fix.
     
  12. oaxaca

    oaxaca Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    832
    Trophy Points:
    263
    Can someone explain this?

    2 VPSes, xxx.232 and xxx.233

    From putty on 232:

    ./dashd masternode list | grep xxx.232:9
    "enabled"
    ./dashd masternode list | grep xxx.233:9
    "enabled"


    From putty on 233:

    ./dashd masternode list | grep xxx.233:9
    "sounds of crickets chirping as it's locked up"


    How can the masternode on 233 be active and the daemon frozen at the same time?
     
  13. Ryan Taylor

    Ryan Taylor Well-known Member
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2014
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    1,597
    Trophy Points:
    263
    I am having an issue with the masternode stop commands. I'm wondering if I am perhaps doing something wrong (perhaps with masternode.conf) or if this is issue I should report. Anyone else experiencing this?

    I have multiple masternodes, all appear to be running fine, responding to commands, and showing themselves as "ENABLED".

    On the cold wallet, I have configured a masternode.conf file with a donation address for all masternodes. The console accepts the start-many command and start-alias command and shows success for all MNs.

    The issue is the stop-alias, stop-many, and stop commands (I have one MN configured in the dash.conf file) all result in "failed" with the error message "Darksend Masternode List doesn't include our Masternode, Shutting down Masternode pinging service!". I have been able to replicate the issue running cold wallet for both OSX and Windows.

    1) Is anyone else experiencing the same issue with these commands using the masternode.conf setup? Please specify if you are using the donation feature, too.
    2) If this is my issue only, what could be causing this problem? How can I correct it?

    Thanks!
     
  14. djcrypto

    djcrypto Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2014
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    94
    Trophy Points:
    88
    I'm having a similar problem.

    I try to start or stop dashd on one of my MNs and I get

    error: no response from server
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. splawik21

    splawik21 Grizzled Member
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member Dash Support Group

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    1,879
    Likes Received:
    1,276
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    Same here....
     
  16. splawik21

    splawik21 Grizzled Member
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member Dash Support Group

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    1,879
    Likes Received:
    1,276
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    Same here x2.
    After reboot the client appears on network after local start but after some time later disappears...hmmm
     
  17. oblox

    oblox Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,032
    Likes Received:
    537
    Trophy Points:
    183
    Yep, a quarter of my nodes are continuing to lock up. I've given up on trying to get them to stay online until a fix is pushed.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  18. tungfa

    tungfa Administrator
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member Masternode Owner/Operator Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    8,797
    Likes Received:
    6,681
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    i am really tiered of restarting MN's !
    there is some bug in the system which kicks them off again and again
    flare is trying to patch them up, but still again and again
     
  19. MangledBlue

    MangledBlue Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,249
    Likes Received:
    678
    Trophy Points:
    183
    I'm sure ED is working on it -
     
  20. Sapereaude

    Sapereaude Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2014
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    235
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Most of mine are fine, but then again I remade them all completely from scratch when the release came out.
     
  21. ErrorId

    ErrorId Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    41
    Trophy Points:
    88
    Hey folks, after messing around for hours trying everything I could think of I decided to try a vps with a beefier cpu.

    So far so good, it's been rock solid for about 8 hrs.

    Edit: ram usage is extremely high compared to the previous release. Current around 900mb while the previous was around 150mb.
     
    #171 ErrorId, Apr 2, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 2, 2015
  22. GermanRed+

    GermanRed+ Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    109
    Trophy Points:
    113
    It seems to me that when there are two MNs connected together as peers, the CPU load starts to go up and there may be a memory leak somewhere as the memory usage keeps increasing at the same time until this MN is kicked off the MN network.

    Do you guys have "addnode" to other MNs? Try to remove the "addnode" lines in your dash.conf as it may help prevent MNs being kicked off.
     
  23. GermanRed+

    GermanRed+ Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    109
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Do you have addnode pointing to other MNs in your dash.conf? After I removed addnode in my dash.conf, the memory usage stays around 350 MB for 3 hours without a high CPU load.

    EDIT: The memory usage is still slowly increasing but at least the high CPU load is gone. It increased much faster when the CPU load was high.
     
    #173 GermanRed+, Apr 2, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 2, 2015
  24. ErrorId

    ErrorId Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    41
    Trophy Points:
    88
    I'll try that out and report back in the morning.
     
  25. oaxaca

    oaxaca Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    832
    Trophy Points:
    263
    No addnode here, never had it in there. Problem is elsewhere.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  26. tungfa

    tungfa Administrator
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member Masternode Owner/Operator Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    8,797
    Likes Received:
    6,681
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    they are dropping like flies !
    i will stop restarting and wait for a new version
     
    • Like Like x 1
  27. Bridgewater

    Bridgewater Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2014
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    164
    Trophy Points:
    203
    My experience with hanged/unresponsive MN daemons seems to be VPS-specific, too.

    Of the 3 providers I use, only one is having problems. Other two VPS providers are rock solid. HW specs between them are not too different. Setup is the same as the other providers, except on the problematic one, I did select the Ubuntu 14.04 LTS "Minimal" for the OS, which I did not have the option of doing on the other VPS providers.

    Not sure if that could even be the source of the problem, but there are definitely fewer things running in the background than on my other VPS with full 14.04 non-minimal installs.
     
    #177 Bridgewater, Apr 2, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 2, 2015
  28. tungfa

    tungfa Administrator
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member Masternode Owner/Operator Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    8,797
    Likes Received:
    6,681
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    I agree
    my French servers are fine
    my Germans are dropping and dropping
     
    • Like Like x 1
  29. TaoOfSatoshi

    TaoOfSatoshi Grizzled Member
    Linguistic Dash Nation Founder Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    2,586
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    Oh Scheisse!
     
    • Like Like x 2
  30. Bridgewater

    Bridgewater Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2014
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    164
    Trophy Points:
    203
    One common thing I see in the debug.log of the unresponsive daemons is an abundance of:

    Code:
    ProcessMessages(dsee, 253 bytes): Exception 'CDataStream::read() : end of data' caught, normally caused by a message being shorter than its stated length
    ProcessMessage(dsee, 253 bytes) FAILED
    
    and
    Code:
    dseep - Asking source node for missing entry CTxIn(COutPoint(ed2612a8915926d51e2f1272d48b073e0a6eee1bea05fe4b4ec831bb3b463669, 0), scriptSig=)
    
     

Share This Page