Welcome to the Dash Forum!

Please sign up to discuss the most innovative cryptocurrency!

11.2 - Dash Release

Discussion in 'Official Announcements' started by eduffield, Mar 30, 2015.

  1. xxxsexygirls

    xxxsexygirls Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Have you already renamed all the stuff to dash?
    If so, execute these commands on your console
    Code:
    $vi update.sh
    
    Paste the following:
    Code:
    #!/bin/sh
    echo "########### This script will update the Master Node"
    sleep 5
    VERSION=64
    URL=$1
    FILE=${URL##*/}
    DIR=${FILE%.tar.gz}
    IP=$(hostname -I)
    wget $URL
    tar xzvf $FILE
    echo "########### Stopping the Master Node"
    ./dashd stop
    sleep 7
    rm dashd
    cp $DIR/bin/$VERSION/dashd .
    chmod 755 dashd
    rm $FILE
    rm -rf $DIR
    rm .dash/peers.dat
    echo "########### Restarting the updated Master Node"
    sleep 30
    ./dashd
    sleep 15
    ./dashd getinfo
    sleep 20
    echo "########### Master Node status - Active: 1, Inactive: 0"
    ./dashd masternode list | grep $IP
    
    
    Press : type wq and then click enter. ( :wq ), this will save the file.

    Now get the script executable by executing
    Code:
    $chmod +x update.sh
    
    launch the script
    Code:
    $./update.sh https://www.dashpay.io/binaries/dash-0.11.2.17-linux.tar.gz 
    Everytime you want to update your daemon just launch ./update.sh <linux.tar.gz dash link>
     
  2. oblox

    oblox Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,032
    Likes Received:
    537
    Trophy Points:
    183
    Did you build your own wallet from source for Darkcoin and again for Dash? Just curious if it's db comparability issue that corrupted your wallet. Did you try -salvagewallet?
     
  3. Icebucket

    Icebucket Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2014
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    129
    Trophy Points:
    103
    What is this ? I dont use putty ... can I use putty on linux ?
     
  4. romario

    romario New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Honestly, I don't remember whether I built it or just downloaded a binary, could be both. Now I first tried to build it, got that Berkeley DB incompatibility issue and finished with --with-incompatible-bdb to force it to use my version. However, this newborn daemon did not start and so I decided to get a ready-made binary.

    Yes, I tried with the -salvagewallet options with no success though
     
  5. xxxsexygirls

    xxxsexygirls Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Always dump the private keys of the addresses containing your dash and store them in a safe place (ie. on a paper sheet, password manager, etc)

    walletpassphrase <passphrase> 60
    dumpprivkey <address>

    if needed, importprivkey <privkey> will import the address (usable on a new wallet.dat )

    *edit = sorry didn't read you are not able to unlock it
     
  6. xxxsexygirls

    xxxsexygirls Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Icebucket yes you can use putty on linux as well, remember that in order to paste from the clipboard you will need to press the mid wheel on the mouse
     
  7. romario

    romario New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    My wallet contains thousands of addresses and hundreds of accounts, so it's kinda tricky in my case. I do have several backups though
     
  8. xxxsexygirls

    xxxsexygirls Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Why don't you just revert to the darkcoin-qt wallet?
     
  9. UdjinM6

    UdjinM6 Official Dash Dev
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,637
    Likes Received:
    3,536
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    That was a reeeeeally bad idea.
    https://github.com/darkcoin/darkcoin/blob/master/doc/build-unix.md

     
  10. romario

    romario New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    It can't find nodes anymore. Having 0 connections
     
  11. Icebucket

    Icebucket Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2014
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    129
    Trophy Points:
    103
    this is all way to complicated, someone please make a step by step video or something simple
     
  12. xxxsexygirls

    xxxsexygirls Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Well you are still able to dumpprivkeys on darkcoin-qt, aren't you?
    It will take time but at least you will have back access to your coins.
     
  13. romario

    romario New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    So, the way to go would be downgrading to the db4.8 and then try building dashd again?

    Yes, I believe so. But before I end up like that, I'd better try everything else.
     
  14. UdjinM6

    UdjinM6 Official Dash Dev
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,637
    Likes Received:
    3,536
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    If you already tried to start incompatible-db daemon then wallet could be already broken and 4.8 will not recognize it either. Do you have any backups before this event (running incompatible daemon)? How old is it?
     
  15. romario

    romario New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Yes, I do. I'm doing all this with the backup, which was created on 28.03.2015 by previous darkcoind. I did not perform any modifications to the OS since then.

    I'm curious whether it is possible to get my old darkcoind running? I was trying to launch it, but it shows 0 connections to the network.
     
    #225 romario, Apr 2, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 2, 2015
  16. UdjinM6

    UdjinM6 Official Dash Dev
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,637
    Likes Received:
    3,536
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    That's good. If there were less than 1000 new addresses created since then (during mixing for example) then you should be good. Backup "broken" wallet somewhere just in case too and then replace it with that backup. Use new binaries or compile with db4.8 and you should get it back live.

    Old darkcoind could be on way too low protocol so you should see connection rejections in debug.log or smth like that I guess.
     
  17. romario

    romario New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Well, the thing is, that all these errors, which I mentioned above, occur when I try to run new binaries with that backup.
     
  18. camosoul

    camosoul Grizzled Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    1,130
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    Maybe he could use that awesome hot sex script you made that disregards all formatting and spits out PRIVKEYS in all imaginable formats if there is anything at all readable left in wallet.dat?

    Sometimes, trying to figure out the details of the screw up, especially with someone who hasn't the foggiest, is a huge waste of time. Just use manly fix and move on.

    /me resembles that remark.

    There's no substitute for getting a clue. This is not even close to "IT guy territory." Portraying basic entry-level clue as "experts only" demonstrates that the user has an entitlement complex and believes that others are obligated to serve them... Just throw out the script and go back to doing more important things...
     
  19. coingun

    coingun Active Member
    Masternode Owner/Operator

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    402
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Now if only we could stop rushing these releases out of testnet and into the wild. No offense to everyone I mean it's not like we are running and managing a 25 million dollar software project here. Would it kill us to have some proper software development practices?!?! Feature freezes? Unit testing? We do nothing nothing software projects do.

    I mean give me a break. How many releases is it going to take before our dev team start taking steps towards improving the professionalism of our releases. Sorry about the rant but this shit drives me up the wall it makes the entire community look sloppy.
     
    • Like Like x 6
  20. UdjinM6

    UdjinM6 Official Dash Dev
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,637
    Likes Received:
    3,536
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    ghmm... so... did you create this wallet with db5.1 binaries then? I'll be a bit confused if it's not the case...
     
  21. UdjinM6

    UdjinM6 Official Dash Dev
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,637
    Likes Received:
    3,536
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    That script was for unencrypted wallet only unfortunately...
     
  22. raganius

    raganius cryptoPag.com
    Foundation Member Masternode Owner/Operator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    719
    Likes Received:
    1,162
    Trophy Points:
    263
    I've got the same question: how is it that my MN has been receiving PoSe score "1" in both dashnodes.com and dashninja.pl, but when I do a "masternode list pose" on putty I receive "0" as a reply score?

    I wonder if I'm doing anything wrong, because I haven't received any other MN payment since march 27 (I've been updating as soon as new releases are published).

    Thank you in advance for any help/enlightenment.
     
  23. oblox

    oblox Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,032
    Likes Received:
    537
    Trophy Points:
    183
    On my problematic masternodes, after I try updating I'm still getting the "error: no response from server". I tried remove .dash/.lock, but then got the "
    Unable to bind to 0.0.0.0:9999 on this computer. Dash Core is probably already running.
    : Failed to listen on any port. Use -listen=0 if you want this."

    What is the appropriate way to move to v17 on these nodes?
     
  24. thelazier

    thelazier Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    184
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Dash Address:
    Xreiza1qGJMT5BpW6BDtRJqwtcBSxGwWYN
    I think you may qualified to use this advise https://dashtalk.org/threads/11-2-dash-release.4515/page-9#post-49441
     
  25. AjM

    AjM Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2014
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    571
    Trophy Points:
    283
    Report:
    After update to v.0.11.2.17 all my MN:s are still online, 3 hours now, looking good so far.
    v.0.11.2.16 was dropping off after 20-30 mins.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  26. orangecycle

    orangecycle Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2014
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    239
    Trophy Points:
    203
    I don't know the appropriate way, but I ended up manually killing the process and then restarting dashd. Seems to have worked for me.
     
  27. splawik21

    splawik21 Grizzled Member
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member Dash Support Group Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    1,916
    Likes Received:
    1,273
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    simply reboot and start with updated ver, I did that way and all works fine now :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  28. orangecycle

    orangecycle Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2014
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    239
    Trophy Points:
    203
    That would work to. But some folks are on VPSs that may reassign the IP address on reboot.
     
  29. AjM

    AjM Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2014
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    571
    Trophy Points:
    283
    Damn, thats bad, i would not accept that kind vps.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  30. splawik21

    splawik21 Grizzled Member
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member Dash Support Group Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    1,916
    Likes Received:
    1,273
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    Aaaaa that I didn`t know ;) so for other who can not have the reassigned IP you can do that way :D