11.2 - Dash Release

xxxsexygirls

Member
Nov 26, 2014
44
20
48
Can someone please explain how to do this manually step by step for linux terminal nooobs, I got quite a few MN that I cant launch becourse im an Idiot that only uses linux to operate my MN's
Have you already renamed all the stuff to dash?
If so, execute these commands on your console
Code:
$vi update.sh
Paste the following:
Code:
#!/bin/sh
echo "########### This script will update the Master Node"
sleep 5
VERSION=64
URL=$1
FILE=${URL##*/}
DIR=${FILE%.tar.gz}
IP=$(hostname -I)
wget $URL
tar xzvf $FILE
echo "########### Stopping the Master Node"
./dashd stop
sleep 7
rm dashd
cp $DIR/bin/$VERSION/dashd .
chmod 755 dashd
rm $FILE
rm -rf $DIR
rm .dash/peers.dat
echo "########### Restarting the updated Master Node"
sleep 30
./dashd
sleep 15
./dashd getinfo
sleep 20
echo "########### Master Node status - Active: 1, Inactive: 0"
./dashd masternode list | grep $IP
Press : type wq and then click enter. ( :wq ), this will save the file.

Now get the script executable by executing
Code:
$chmod +x update.sh
launch the script
Code:
$./update.sh https://www.dashpay.io/binaries/dash-0.11.2.17-linux.tar.gz
Everytime you want to update your daemon just launch ./update.sh <linux.tar.gz dash link>
 

oblox

Well-known Member
Aug 6, 2014
1,032
537
183
Guys, this is my story

OS Debian 7

1. I did the darkcoin->dash upgrade on my encrypted wallet
2. After the restart it showed me Warning: wallet.dat corrupt, data salvaged! Original wallet.dat saved as wallet.{timestamp}.bak in .dash; if your balance or transactions are incorrect you should restore from a backup.
3. Shortly after that Error loading wallet.dat: Wallet corrupted (EXIT)

I managed to get it working after several restarts and -rescan -reindex options. However, now I cannot unlock the wallet with my passphrase, which was working just fine before the migration.

Could anyone advise on that please?
Did you build your own wallet from source for Darkcoin and again for Dash? Just curious if it's db comparability issue that corrupted your wallet. Did you try -salvagewallet?
 

Icebucket

Active Member
Apr 11, 2014
268
129
103
Have you already renamed all the stuff to dash?
If so, execute these commands on your console
Code:
$vi update.sh
Paste the following:
Code:
#!/bin/sh
echo "########### This script will update the Master Node"
sleep 5
VERSION=64
URL=$1
FILE=${URL##*/}
DIR=${FILE%.tar.gz}
IP=$(hostname -I)
wget $URL
tar xzvf $FILE
echo "########### Stopping the Master Node"
./dashd stop
sleep 7
rm dashd
cp $DIR/bin/$VERSION/dashd .
chmod 755 dashd
rm $FILE
rm -rf $DIR
rm .dash/peers.dat
echo "########### Restarting the updated Master Node"
sleep 30
./dashd
sleep 15
./dashd getinfo
sleep 20
echo "########### Master Node status - Active: 1, Inactive: 0"
./dashd masternode list | grep $IP
Press : type wq and then click enter. ( :wq ), this will save the file.

Now get the script executable by executing
Code:
$chmod +x update.sh
launch the script
Code:
$./update.sh https://www.dashpay.io/binaries/dash-0.11.2.17-linux.tar.gz
Everytime you want to update your daemon just launch ./update.sh <linux.tar.gz dash link>
What is this ? I dont use putty ... can I use putty on linux ?
 

romario

New Member
Apr 2, 2015
31
5
8
Did you build your own wallet from source for Darkcoin and again for Dash? Just curious if it's db comparability issue that corrupted your wallet. Did you try -salvagewallet?
Honestly, I don't remember whether I built it or just downloaded a binary, could be both. Now I first tried to build it, got that Berkeley DB incompatibility issue and finished with --with-incompatible-bdb to force it to use my version. However, this newborn daemon did not start and so I decided to get a ready-made binary.

Yes, I tried with the -salvagewallet options with no success though
 

xxxsexygirls

Member
Nov 26, 2014
44
20
48
Guys, this is my story

OS Debian 7

1. I did the darkcoin->dash upgrade on my encrypted wallet
2. After the restart it showed me Warning: wallet.dat corrupt, data salvaged! Original wallet.dat saved as wallet.{timestamp}.bak in .dash; if your balance or transactions are incorrect you should restore from a backup.
3. Shortly after that Error loading wallet.dat: Wallet corrupted (EXIT)

I managed to get it working after several restarts and -rescan -reindex options. However, now I cannot unlock the wallet with my passphrase, which was working just fine before the migration.

Could anyone advise on that please?
Always dump the private keys of the addresses containing your dash and store them in a safe place (ie. on a paper sheet, password manager, etc)

walletpassphrase <passphrase> 60
dumpprivkey <address>

if needed, importprivkey <privkey> will import the address (usable on a new wallet.dat )

*edit = sorry didn't read you are not able to unlock it
 

xxxsexygirls

Member
Nov 26, 2014
44
20
48
Icebucket yes you can use putty on linux as well, remember that in order to paste from the clipboard you will need to press the mid wheel on the mouse
 

romario

New Member
Apr 2, 2015
31
5
8
Always dump the private keys of the addresses containing your dash and store them in a safe place (ie. on a paper sheet, password manager, etc)

walletpassphrase <passphrase> 60
dumpprivkey <address>

if needed, importprivkey <privkey> will import the address (usable on a new wallet.dat )

*edit = sorry didn't read you are not able to unlock it
My wallet contains thousands of addresses and hundreds of accounts, so it's kinda tricky in my case. I do have several backups though
 

UdjinM6

Official Dash Dev
Dash Core Team
Moderator
May 20, 2014
3,637
3,536
1,183
Honestly, I don't remember whether I built it or just downloaded a binary, could be both. Now I first tried to build it, got that Berkeley DB incompatibility issue and finished with --with-incompatible-bdb to force it to use my version. However, this newborn daemon did not start and so I decided to get a ready-made binary.

Yes, I tried with the -salvagewallet options with no success though
That was a reeeeeally bad idea.
Ubuntu 12.04 and later have packages for libdb5.1-dev and libdb5.1++-dev, but using these will break binary wallet compatibility, and is not recommended.

for Debian 7 (Wheezy) and later: The oldstable repository contains db4.8 packages. Add the following line to /etc/apt/sources.list, replacing [mirror] with any official debian mirror.
https://github.com/darkcoin/darkcoin/blob/master/doc/build-unix.md

db4.8 packages are available here. You can add the repository using the following command:

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:bitcoin/bitcoin
sudo apt-get update
 

Icebucket

Active Member
Apr 11, 2014
268
129
103
this is all way to complicated, someone please make a step by step video or something simple
 

UdjinM6

Official Dash Dev
Dash Core Team
Moderator
May 20, 2014
3,637
3,536
1,183
So, the way to go would be downgrading to the db4.8 adn than try building dashd again?



Yes, I believe so. But before I end up like that, I'd better try everything else.
If you already tried to start incompatible-db daemon then wallet could be already broken and 4.8 will not recognize it either. Do you have any backups before this event (running incompatible daemon)? How old is it?
 

romario

New Member
Apr 2, 2015
31
5
8
If you already tried to start incompatible-db daemon then wallet could be already broken and 4.8 will not recognize it either. Do you have any backups before this event (running incompatible daemon)? How old is it?
Yes, I do. I'm doing all this with the backup, which was created on 28.03.2015 by previous darkcoind. I did not perform any modifications to the OS since then.

I'm curious whether it is possible to get my old darkcoind running? I was trying to launch it, but it shows 0 connections to the network.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

UdjinM6

Official Dash Dev
Dash Core Team
Moderator
May 20, 2014
3,637
3,536
1,183
Yes, I do. I'm doing all this with the backup, which was created on 28.03.2015 by previous darkcoind. I did not perform any modifications to the OS since then.

I'm curious whether it is possible to get my old darkcoind running? I was trying to launch it, but it shows 0 connections to the network.
That's good. If there were less than 1000 new addresses created since then (during mixing for example) then you should be good. Backup "broken" wallet somewhere just in case too and then replace it with that backup. Use new binaries or compile with db4.8 and you should get it back live.

Old darkcoind could be on way too low protocol so you should see connection rejections in debug.log or smth like that I guess.
 

romario

New Member
Apr 2, 2015
31
5
8
That's good. If there were less than 1000 new addresses created since then (during mixing for example) then you should be good. Backup "broken" wallet somewhere just in case too and then replace it with that backup. Use new binaries or compile with db4.8 and you should get it back live.
Well, the thing is, that all these errors, which I mentioned above, occur when I try to run new binaries with that backup.
 

camosoul

Grizzled Member
Sep 19, 2014
2,266
1,130
1,183
If you already tried to start incompatible-db daemon then wallet could be already broken and 4.8 will not recognize it either. Do you have any backups before this event (running incompatible daemon)? How old is it?
Maybe he could use that awesome hot sex script you made that disregards all formatting and spits out PRIVKEYS in all imaginable formats if there is anything at all readable left in wallet.dat?

Sometimes, trying to figure out the details of the screw up, especially with someone who hasn't the foggiest, is a huge waste of time. Just use manly fix and move on.

/me resembles that remark.

There's no substitute for getting a clue. This is not even close to "IT guy territory." Portraying basic entry-level clue as "experts only" demonstrates that the user has an entitlement complex and believes that others are obligated to serve them... Just throw out the script and go back to doing more important things...
 

coingun

Active Member
Masternode Owner/Operator
Jul 8, 2014
489
402
133
masternode.io
************ Dash Release Update : 11.2.17 ************************

- Fixed the "locking up" issue that would cause masternodes to go offline and general instability
- Masternode list changes - Udjin
- Better icon images - Crowning
- Improved Chinese Translation

https://www.dashpay.io/downloads/
Now if only we could stop rushing these releases out of testnet and into the wild. No offense to everyone I mean it's not like we are running and managing a 25 million dollar software project here. Would it kill us to have some proper software development practices?!?! Feature freezes? Unit testing? We do nothing nothing software projects do.

I mean give me a break. How many releases is it going to take before our dev team start taking steps towards improving the professionalism of our releases. Sorry about the rant but this shit drives me up the wall it makes the entire community look sloppy.
 

UdjinM6

Official Dash Dev
Dash Core Team
Moderator
May 20, 2014
3,637
3,536
1,183
Well, the thing is, that all these errors, which I mentioned above, occur when I try to run new binaries with that backup.
ghmm... so... did you create this wallet with db5.1 binaries then? I'll be a bit confused if it's not the case...
 

UdjinM6

Official Dash Dev
Dash Core Team
Moderator
May 20, 2014
3,637
3,536
1,183
Maybe he could use that awesome hot sex script you made that disregards all formatting and spits out PRIVKEYS in all imaginable formats if there is anything at all readable left in wallet.dat?

Sometimes, trying to figure out the details of the screw up, especially with someone who hasn't the foggiest, is a huge waste of time. Just use manly fix and move on.

/me resembles that remark.

There's no substitute for getting a clue. This is not even close to "IT guy territory." Portraying basic entry-level clue as "experts only" demonstrates that the user has an entitlement complex and believes that others are obligated to serve them... Just throw out the script and go back to doing more important things...
That script was for unencrypted wallet only unfortunately...
 

raganius

cryptoPag.com
Foundation Member
Masternode Owner/Operator
I have 1 MN with a proof of service score of 1. It seem to be open and very responsive. Do I need to do anything or will it correct back to 0 on its own? Of 5 MNs I only have had 1 go offline and need to be restarted. Everything else seems to be running normal. Windows 7 64bit local and linux VPN.
I've got the same question: how is it that my MN has been receiving PoSe score "1" in both dashnodes.com and dashninja.pl, but when I do a "masternode list pose" on putty I receive "0" as a reply score?

I wonder if I'm doing anything wrong, because I haven't received any other MN payment since march 27 (I've been updating as soon as new releases are published).

Thank you in advance for any help/enlightenment.
 

oblox

Well-known Member
Aug 6, 2014
1,032
537
183
On my problematic masternodes, after I try updating I'm still getting the "error: no response from server". I tried remove .dash/.lock, but then got the "
Unable to bind to 0.0.0.0:9999 on this computer. Dash Core is probably already running.
: Failed to listen on any port. Use -listen=0 if you want this."

What is the appropriate way to move to v17 on these nodes?
 

thelazier

Active Member
Jan 5, 2015
240
184
103
Thailand
Dash Address
Xreiza1qGJMT5BpW6BDtRJqwtcBSxGwWYN
On my problematic masternodes, after I try updating I'm still getting the "error: no response from server". I tried remove .dash/.lock, but then got the "
Unable to bind to 0.0.0.0:9999 on this computer. Dash Core is probably already running.
: Failed to listen on any port. Use -listen=0 if you want this."

What is the appropriate way to move to v17 on these nodes?
I think you may qualified to use this advise https://dashtalk.org/threads/11-2-dash-release.4515/page-9#post-49441
 

AjM

Well-known Member
Foundation Member
Jun 23, 2014
1,334
571
283
Finland
Report:
After update to v.0.11.2.17 all my MN:s are still online, 3 hours now, looking good so far.
v.0.11.2.16 was dropping off after 20-30 mins.
 
  • Like
Reactions: splawik21

orangecycle

Well-known Member
Foundation Member
Oct 2, 2014
169
239
203
node40.com
On my problematic masternodes, after I try updating I'm still getting the "error: no response from server". I tried remove .dash/.lock, but then got the "
Unable to bind to 0.0.0.0:9999 on this computer. Dash Core is probably already running.
: Failed to listen on any port. Use -listen=0 if you want this."

What is the appropriate way to move to v17 on these nodes?
I don't know the appropriate way, but I ended up manually killing the process and then restarting dashd. Seems to have worked for me.
 

splawik21

Grizzled Member
Dash Core Team
Moderator
Foundation Member
Dash Support Group
Apr 8, 2014
1,918
1,273
1,283
I don't know the appropriate way, but I ended up manually killing the process and then restarting dashd. Seems to have worked for me.
simply reboot and start with updated ver, I did that way and all works fine now :)
 
  • Like
Reactions: AjM

splawik21

Grizzled Member
Dash Core Team
Moderator
Foundation Member
Dash Support Group
Apr 8, 2014
1,918
1,273
1,283
That would work to. But some folks are on VPSs that may reassign the IP address on reboot.
Aaaaa that I didn`t know ;) so for other who can not have the reassigned IP you can do that way :D