11.2 - Dash Release

moocowmoo

Bovine Bit-flipper
Foundation Member
Jun 15, 2014
483
603
263
masternode.me
Dash Address
XmoocowYfrPKUR6p6M5aJZdVntQe71irCX
eduffield, UdjinM6:

Am seeing unresponsive daemons across different hosts and some unexpected quits with nothing telling in log and no core file.

Symptom is doing 'dashd getinfo' hangs with no output.

I'm having to kill -9 instances across different hosts. It's sporadic.
Some were fine for hours and went unresponsive just recently.
Some are fine still since launching ~6 hours ago.

These are solid vps' with plenty of ram/disk space.
peers.dat's were deleted between startups.
block heights are all in sync (right up until hang)

I first reported this here https://dashtalk.org/threads/v0-11-2-x-testing.4202/page-19#post-48290
 
Last edited by a moderator:
  • Like
Reactions: Dunedoo

elbereth

Active Member
Dash Support Group
Mar 25, 2014
440
466
133
Costa Rica
dashninja.pl
Dash Address
XkfkHqMnhvQovo7kXQjvnNiFnQhRNZYCsz
Am seeing unresponsive daemons across different hosts and some unexpected quits with nothing telling in log and no core file.

Symptom is doing 'dashd getinfo' hangs with no output.

I'm having to kill -9 instances across different hosts. It's sporadic.
Some were fine for hours and went unresponsive just recently.
Some are fine still since launching ~6 hours ago.

These are solid vps' with plenty of ram/disk space.
peers.dat's were deleted between startups.
block heights are all in sync (right up until hang)

I first reported this here https://dashtalk.org/threads/v0-11-2-x-testing.4202/page-19#post-48290
Same here on all 4 of my 0.11.2.16 nodes. The fifth one is still running 0.11.1.16 (started at the same time this morning) and is not frozen.
Nothing in the debug.log to explain the deadlock.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Dunedoo

xxxsexygirls

Member
Nov 26, 2014
44
20
48
^ Same 2 of 2. It hangs out for 5-10 secs then I get the output.
I noticed also it took quite a bit to download the whole blockchain since I deleted the all blocks, although I uploaded the daemon within the 1st hour since this release (few active MNs maybe?)
 
  • Like
Reactions: Dunedoo

darkchild

Member
Sep 20, 2014
76
193
73
Proxima Centauri
www.dashnodes.com
This is really cool.... looking forward to testing all the new updates. Good work devs and testers!!!!

I've updated my masternode monitoring site (www.dashnodes.com) to include Proof-of-Service (PoSe) and Vote information like the two examples below:

http://dashnodes.com/index/address/Xq6BEA9J9DAgyb9HCS6rH8jtDGAUegNArr

http://dashnodes.com/index/address/XbYkEpzyDePry4v4SvZ7mdTrCETLHcn8Dv

If you want to check your maternodenode, click on the URL below and enter your IP, pubkey, vin, etc in the filter box on the top right and then click on the IP or pubkey to view your masternode's info

http://dashnodes.com/index/masternodes/
 

eduffield

Core Developer
Mar 9, 2014
1,084
5,319
183
eduffield, UdjinM6:

Am seeing unresponsive daemons across different hosts and some unexpected quits with nothing telling in log and no core file.

Symptom is doing 'dashd getinfo' hangs with no output.

I'm having to kill -9 instances across different hosts. It's sporadic.
Some were fine for hours and went unresponsive just recently.
Some are fine still since launching ~6 hours ago.

These are solid vps' with plenty of ram/disk space.
peers.dat's were deleted between startups.
block heights are all in sync (right up until hang)

I first reported this here https://dashtalk.org/threads/v0-11-2-x-testing.4202/page-19#post-48290
Can you run this branch? Just email me the printed output after it locks up and I'll be able to tell what happened.

https://github.com/darkcoin/darkcoin/tree/debug-locks
 
  • Like
Reactions: Dunedoo
S

snogcel

Guest
Found a small bug, occurs when window width is very small. (DASI? another rebrand?? ahhh)

A question about this voting system. Does it only work from hot/cold wallet of from both of them?

I recommend you peel that 1000DASH off into another wallet and start a Masternode :)

Thanks for the heads up on this, will push through an update which will fix that in future versions. Glad to see everything else looks good from a UI perspective, so awesome to see this out in the wild! :D
 
  • Like
Reactions: Dunedoo

moli

Grizzled Member
Aug 5, 2014
3,261
1,837
1,183
I'm trying to shut down the wallet but this little screen keeps hanging:

upload_2015-3-30_20-53-22.png

Windows 32-bit v.11.2.16

Edit: I had to manually close that window, then had to stop the process in Task manager before I could reopen the wallet.

Edit Again: I opened and closed the wallet a few more times and it seems ok, the little screen does not hang anymore... Strange...
 
Last edited by a moderator:
  • Like
Reactions: Dunedoo

moocowmoo

Bovine Bit-flipper
Foundation Member
Jun 15, 2014
483
603
263
masternode.me
Dash Address
XmoocowYfrPKUR6p6M5aJZdVntQe71irCX
Can you run this branch? Just email me the printed output after it locks up and I'll be able to tell what happened.

https://github.com/darkcoin/darkcoin/tree/debug-locks
can you compile a static 64 bit version similar to download? I'm having trouble getting it to run on my hosts, complains about:

Code:
dashd: error while loading shared libraries: libboost_system.so.1.54.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
tried a static compile with:

Code:
make distclean
./autogen.sh
./configure --with-incompatible-bdb
make STATIC=1 -j9
need to do something different?
 
Last edited by a moderator:
  • Like
Reactions: Dunedoo

Lebubar

Active Member
Mar 15, 2014
250
214
103
Just went home...

Maybe I missed the info but what is the wget url?

Edit: found it on another thread..

Post it here for more visibility :
https://www.dashpay.io/binaries/dash-0.11.2.16-linux.tar.gz

Hmmm before I was downling it from github.. (ex :
wget https://github.com/darkcoinproject/darkcoin-binaries/raw/master/darkcoin-0.11.1.25-linux.tar.gz --no-check-certificate )
What is the equivalent for DASH?

Edit 2 : The download for the windows version from oficial site is so so slow... Is it me??
 
Last edited by a moderator:

UdjinM6

Official Dash Dev
Dash Core Team
Moderator
May 20, 2014
3,637
3,536
1,183
Just went home...

Maybe I missed the info but what is the wget url?

Edit: found it on another thread..

Post it here for more visibility :
https://www.dashpay.io/binaries/dash-0.11.2.26-linux.tar.gz

Hmmm before I was downling it from github.. (ex :
wget https://github.com/darkcoinproject/darkcoin-binaries/raw/master/darkcoin-0.11.1.25-linux.tar.gz --no-check-certificate )
What is the equivalent for DASH?

Edit 2 : The download for the windows version from oficial site is so so slow... Is it me??
? https://www.dashpay.io/downloads/
 

Lebubar

Active Member
Mar 15, 2014
250
214
103
Yes,
but I was talking about the windows download so slow...

The linux, ok no problem all good... but waiting for the maternode start and windows download take hours... (I edit the link in my first post to put the good version :) )
 
Last edited by a moderator:

UdjinM6

Official Dash Dev
Dash Core Team
Moderator
May 20, 2014
3,637
3,536
1,183
Yes,
but I was talking about the windows download so slow...

The linux, ok no problem all good... but waiting for the maternode start and windows download take hours... (I edit the link in my first post to put the good version :) )
~5mbit on my side took 3 minutes for zip (80+mb) version....
 

Lebubar

Active Member
Mar 15, 2014
250
214
103
Yes weird... Because I stop my torrent (they go fast...) but this one so slow..

Meanwhile I made a small script to update from darkcoin if it can help (can be copied in putty directly):

Code:
wget https://www.dashpay.io/binaries/dash-0.11.2.16-linux.tar.gz --no-check-certificate
tar zxvf  dash-0.11.2.16-linux.tar.gz
cp dash-0.11.2.16-linux/bin/64/dashd .
./darkcoind stop
sleep 6
rm darkcoind
mv .darkcoin .dash
mv .dash/darkcoin.conf .dash/dash.conf
rm .dash/peers.dat
./dashd
 
  • Like
Reactions: Darkuopm

MrMime

Well-known Member
Foundation Member
Mar 9, 2014
169
36
188
So I must have herpa-derped something and receiving this error "Incorrect or no genesis block found. Wrong datadir for network?" after I attempt ./dashd. The thing is, I changed the name on .darkcoin and darkcoin.conf to their respective dash names, and I was able to get my other MN updated no problem. I did experience a corrupted blockchain and that could be the root of it. Has anyone else found this error? Unsure how to redownload the blockchain when I can't even get the daemon to run.
 

xxxsexygirls

Member
Nov 26, 2014
44
20
48
So I must have herpa-derped something and receiving this error "Incorrect or no genesis block found. Wrong datadir for network?" after I attempt ./dashd. The thing is, I changed the name on .darkcoin and darkcoin.conf to their respective dash names, and I was able to get my other MN updated no problem. I did experience a corrupted blockchain and that could be the root of it. Has anyone else found this error? Unsure how to redownload the blockchain when I can't even get the daemon to run.
I messed up everything like you, this is what I executed:

./dashd stop
cp .dash/dash.conf ~/
rm -rf .dash
mkdir .dash
cp dash.conf ~/.dash/
chmod 444 .dash/dash.conf
./dashd

Wait for the blockchain to be downloaded.
 
  • Like
Reactions: MrMime

UdjinM6

Official Dash Dev
Dash Core Team
Moderator
May 20, 2014
3,637
3,536
1,183
Ahh... I guess I know... To explain this we need to go back in history a bit :) Not so long ago first round was actually a "dirty" mixing - it was a process of creation denoms during that first round. So logic to count rounds was "hey, I found a denom in that tx - that's a mixing". And then we moved to preliminary creation of denominations so that only denominations were legit to enter even first round of mixing. But logic behind round calculation stayed the same and that was ok for that time. New wallet however has a lot more strict rules to that: it count each input independently and do not count them at all if there was even a single nondenom input in that tx. So these "dirty" rounds are completely ignored now. This should be more accurate and secure but you will need to mix a bit more though.
 
  • Like
Reactions: moli

moli

Grizzled Member
Aug 5, 2014
3,261
1,837
1,183
Ahh... I guess I know... To explain this we need to go back in history a bit :) Not so long ago first round was actually a "dirty" mixing - it was a process of creation denoms during that first round. So logic to count rounds was "hey, I found a denom in that tx - that's a mixing". And then we moved to preliminary creation of denominations so that only denominations was legit to enter even first round of mixing. But logic behind round calculation stayed the same and that was ok for that time. New wallet however has a lot more strict rules to that: it count each input independently and do not count them at all if there was even a single nondenom input in that tx. So these "dirty" rounds are completely ignored now. This should be more accurate and secure but you will need to mix a bit more though.
I was looking in the threads to find at what version this became the rule. Was it v.11.1.x ?
And this was when people got upset why their anonymous coins became non-anonymous.. :)

Edit: UdjinM6, I found it: https://dashtalk.org/threads/v0-11-0-darkcoin-core-release.3601/page-9#post-37141
And this nice DS change became effective since v.11.0.9 :) Thanks to you and Aswan and Evan! :)
 
Last edited by a moderator:

MrMime

Well-known Member
Foundation Member
Mar 9, 2014
169
36
188
I messed up everything like you, this is what I executed:

./dashd stop
cp .dash/dash.conf ~/
rm -rf .dash
mkdir .dash
cp dash.conf ~/.dash/
chmod 444 .dash/dash.conf
./dashd

Wait for the blockchain to be downloaded.
You are amazing sir!! TY!
 

UdjinM6

Official Dash Dev
Dash Core Team
Moderator
May 20, 2014
3,637
3,536
1,183
  • Like
Reactions: moli

Lebubar

Active Member
Mar 15, 2014
250
214
103
Where can I find the info about proove of service score?
I got two MN with 1... All other at 0.