Welcome to the Dash Forum!

Please sign up to discuss the most innovative cryptocurrency!

Version 12.2 release

Discussion in 'Official Announcements' started by UdjinM6, Nov 8, 2017.

  1. AjM

    AjM Well-known Member
    Foundation Member Masternode Owner/Operator

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2014
    Messages:
    1,228
    Likes Received:
    544
    Trophy Points:
    283
    Ok, but its more powerful than my 1 x 2.4 Ghz core and 1 Gb ram nodes.

    My all nodes uses all the memory + some swap and 80% cpu at this moment,
    wondering should i upgrade my nodes or wait if devs can tweak dashd more...
     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. qwizzie

    qwizzie Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,135
    Likes Received:
    614
    Trophy Points:
    183
    To @UdjinM6

    So when i do getchaintips i see quite a few valid-forks (8x i think ?), will those forks disappear over time or can they become a threath
    to the active chain ? And who is causing those forks ? are they miners ? or masternodes ? wallet users ?

    I remember from the past with Evan we also had a lot of little forks popping up during an update, eventually (if i remembered correctly) we were all asked
    to update immediately with an update that had some form of a block reference in it to guide us all to the correct chain. That does not seem necessary yet,
    has something changed in our spork tech that got us a little more control over mini forks like these ? Or is this situation simply less severe then back then ?
     
    #92 qwizzie, Nov 12, 2017
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2017
  3. AjM

    AjM Well-known Member
    Foundation Member Masternode Owner/Operator

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2014
    Messages:
    1,228
    Likes Received:
    544
    Trophy Points:
    283
    Dashninja is in the wrong fork i think or its stuck: 38 minutes ago 769439
    Wallet and explorer shows: 769456
     
  4. Dusan

    Dusan New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I did not do anything, had 12.2.1 and status ENABLED, bud now suddenly i have status NEW_START_REQUIRED.
    I did not change anything.
     
  5. Acedian

    Acedian Member
    Masternode Owner/Operator

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    70
    Trophy Points:
    88
    Dash Address:
    XdpVBSBvBcyGq8Qi4xgMK8vaYwnWY7WRWB
    That can sometimes be a bug, check elsewhere before issuing a new start or you may lose position in queue.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  6. The philosofers coin

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2017
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I would advice you to upgrade to at least a dual core server, I know it cost a bit more, but it's allot cheaper than missing a payment. At any-rate running 100% CPU power especially on a single core CPU, will most-likely result in your system failing one way or the other. In fact CPU usage around 70%, is much better upper limit to have. I only speak out of my experience as professional and overclocking as a hobby, both from what I have seen and heard. Take it or leave it either way you don't even have to spend 1% of your total profits of running a MN on a dual core or better.

    Memory should never be full either, because once it's full you'll have to go the SSD for extra memory, rough estimate would be that is 10x slower.

    But any rate I gladly take your spot in line to receive the next masternode payment first (joke)
     
    #96 The philosofers coin, Nov 12, 2017
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2017
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  7. qwizzie

    qwizzie Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,135
    Likes Received:
    614
    Trophy Points:
    183
    • Like Like x 2
  8. UdjinM6

    UdjinM6 Official Dash Dev
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,444
    Likes Received:
    3,422
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
  9. AjM

    AjM Well-known Member
    Foundation Member Masternode Owner/Operator

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2014
    Messages:
    1,228
    Likes Received:
    544
    Trophy Points:
    283
    Yes, i also have 25 years experience in the computer field + building and overclocking.
    I agree what you said, but so far my nodes do not have any problems and i hope @UdjinM6 and
    the team will tweak software little more efficient if possible, if not then i can upgrade my nodes.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  10. Figlmüller

    Figlmüller Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    43
    Trophy Points:
    58
    The protocol version changed with this update. You'll need to update your local cold wallet too and issue a start to make it work again.
     
  11. qwizzie

    qwizzie Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,135
    Likes Received:
    614
    Trophy Points:
    183
    Protocol version only bumped with v0.12.2.0
    v0.12.2.1 is a hotfix for high cpu behaviour and does not contain a new protocol version on itself.

    Edit : edit to show correct versions.
     
  12. Figlmüller

    Figlmüller Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    43
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Yea, that's right. Mea culpa. At least I jumped directly to 12.2.1, skipping 12.2.0 - this may not be the case for all.
     
  13. UdjinM6

    UdjinM6 Official Dash Dev
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,444
    Likes Received:
    3,422
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    Agree with both of you :) (though dual core cpu is probably still an overkill today). High CPU usage was a combination of a bug and a super extreme load due to migration process, there shouldn't be such issue during normal operation time.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  14. Figlmüller

    Figlmüller Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    43
    Trophy Points:
    58
    What about high network traffic and connection count? I noticed an increase from usually ~18 connections to ~100 per node to dashd resulting in ~3.6 Mb/s. Traffic is also coming from weird hosts such as web and mailservers. Another DDoS wave?
     
  15. UdjinM6

    UdjinM6 Official Dash Dev
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,444
    Likes Received:
    3,422
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    Lot's of nodes come up and down during migration and they have to sync additional data (mnlist, winners, governance) from scratch first time after upgrade due to changes in cache data structure, so I guess this is also a temporary issue and should go away eventually. We'll see :) Traffic from web and mail servers could be because people use same servers for their masternodes, not sure about that though, never checked.
     
    • Informative Informative x 2
  16. TRB

    TRB New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Cześć mam problem
    Czekałem kilka godzin na transakcje, które nie korzystają
    Wysokość bloku 769372
    Jeszcze nie zrealizowane
    co się dzieje
     
  17. t0dd

    t0dd Active Member
    Masternode Owner/Operator

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    100
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Dash Address:
    XyxQq4qgp9B53QWQgSqSxJb4xddhzk5Zhh
    Okay Dash Masternode (or node) folks using my packages discussed in the quoted text (on Fedora, RHEL, or CentOS Linux)...
    * If you have NOT already moved from 12.1 to 12.2... just follow the instructions in the quoted text and you are good.
    * If you have already moved from 12.1 to 12.2 but are on 12.2.0, but not yet on 12.2.1 (rpm -qa|grep dashcore will tell you), then you should be able to simply do this...

    sudo dnf upgrade -y --refresh
    sudo systemctl restart dashd


    ...and you are done.

    Note: If you are not running dashd like a sysadmin with systemd, contact me separately
    and I will give you other instruction. A little more manual, but it is almost as easy.

    * If you are just running the wallet, just do the dnf upgrade step above and you are golden.

    Let me know if you have any issues. Thanks, and have a lovely day. -t
     
    • Like Like x 1
  18. nnx3

    nnx3 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Devs in my pinion U should correct last DASH. version, because ... CPU is still overheated : CPU is hot 50% about 40connections to other node... Im trying to test with other cryptocurency with results:
    CPU Deamon usage fo currencies:

    PIVX 3% (30nodes)
    DECRED 1% (42nodes)
    IOTA 26% (9nodes)
    DASH 50% (40nodes)
    MONERO 4% (13nodes)


    Last time v. DASH have 6% cpu core usage
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  19. qwizzie

    qwizzie Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,135
    Likes Received:
    614
    Trophy Points:
    183
    1 : you can put a limit on the number of connections in your dash.conf (maxconnections=XX)
    2 : because of a restructure with v0.12.2.0 and a overlooked bug, a lot of pressure was set on the CPU side.
    v0.12.2.1 fixes the bug part.

    Try to do another check on your CPU after you upgraded to v0.12.2.1 and after you limited your connections to 10 (maxconnections=10)
    How fast is your CPU by the way ? And what kind of processor do you have ?
     
    #109 qwizzie, Nov 12, 2017
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2017
  20. AjM

    AjM Well-known Member
    Foundation Member Masternode Owner/Operator

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2014
    Messages:
    1,228
    Likes Received:
    544
    Trophy Points:
    283
    I checked my maxconnections, and it was 128, so i changed that to 32, lets see how it affects to my mnodes cpu usage.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  21. AjM

    AjM Well-known Member
    Foundation Member Masternode Owner/Operator

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2014
    Messages:
    1,228
    Likes Received:
    544
    Trophy Points:
    283
    @UdjinM6 @qwizzie
    Maxconnections reduction results from 128 ==> 32, nice drop from 80% cpu usage to 45%.
    Also memory usage dropped about 150 MB.

    EDIT: Server specs: 1x 2.4 Ghz CPU, 1 GB Memory + 512 MB Swap.

    maxconn.png
     
    #111 AjM, Nov 13, 2017
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2017
    • Like Like x 3
    • Informative Informative x 1
  22. demo

    demo Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2016
    Messages:
    2,223
    Likes Received:
    161
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Dash Address:
    XnpT2YQaYpyh7F9twM6EtDMn1TCDCEEgNX
    And you can clearly see in the below chart how the market reacted, after the 12.2 update.
    Maybe the stupid Masternodes should write for punishment the above sentence not only 100 times, but 1000 times, in order to finally understand it.

    chart.jpeg


    And especially for @Macrochip (who rated the above truth as troll) he should write it 10000 times.
     
    #112 demo, Nov 13, 2017
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2017
    • Dumb Dumb x 2
    • Trolling Trolling x 1
  23. TanteStefana

    TanteStefana Moderator
    Linguistic Dash Core Team Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,793
    Likes Received:
    1,823
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    I would like to try out the experimental HD wallet. Is it dashd only? How do we access it? Thanks :D
     
  24. qwizzie

    qwizzie Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,135
    Likes Received:
    614
    Trophy Points:
    183
    From Testnet v12.2 thread :

    - Experimental BIP39/BIP44 complaint HD wallet (disabled by default, should be fully functional but there is no GUI yet)

    The official release note should have mentioned the "disabled by default because missing GUI" part too.
    Also i remember reading awhile back that the HD wallet should not be activated, it had an unsafe element that needed to be worked on (could possibly be fixed by now).
    It had something to do with the seed creation i think.
     
    #114 qwizzie, Nov 14, 2017
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2017
  25. UdjinM6

    UdjinM6 Official Dash Dev
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,444
    Likes Received:
    3,422
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
  26. jimbursch

    jimbursch Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2017
    Messages:
    628
    Likes Received:
    387
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Just curious, given the above, why was this HD functionality included in this release? As a matter of principle, it seems unwise to release code that requires this type of warning.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  27. Wh1teKn1ght

    Wh1teKn1ght New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    are there any negative effects from setting maxconnections lower than the default?
     
  28. TanteStefana

    TanteStefana Moderator
    Linguistic Dash Core Team Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,793
    Likes Received:
    1,823
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    Thank you guys. I'm curious, once you create the wallet and encrypt it, is the mnemonic passphrase encrypted, and thus safe after the wallet is encrypted? I can see creating the wallet offline on a temporary OS the way we do paper wallets, no? I'm not going to use this until it's released, except in testnet. :) So don't worry :D
     
  29. AjM

    AjM Well-known Member
    Foundation Member Masternode Owner/Operator

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2014
    Messages:
    1,228
    Likes Received:
    544
    Trophy Points:
    283
    I dont know what is default, but 32 works nice.
    @UdjinM6 can you comment on this?
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  30. t0dd

    t0dd Active Member
    Masternode Owner/Operator

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    100
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Dash Address:
    XyxQq4qgp9B53QWQgSqSxJb4xddhzk5Zhh
    Mine have been set at 8 for over a year. I get paid, but... is my Masternode properly servicing the network? Yeah, if it needs to be set to something else, I would love @UdjinM6 or someone to comment. Especially since I write documentation that others follow.
     

Share This Page