V12 Testing Thread

qwizzie

Well-known Member
Aug 6, 2014
1,581
737
183
DOWNGRADE TEST - 0.11.2.23

whats the current block ? and is there a block explorer up to date ?
also my 6 wallets all ended up on different block heights after -reindex so there could be some forks.

edit : after a second -reindex they all synced to same block (which is the correct one i suppose), currently block 77410
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Sub-Ether

Well-known Member
Mar 31, 2014
1,516
1,254
183
Great! I'm happy that we are close to release! Happy to help.

Wow, after syncing with V12, it feels like V11 is taking a lifetime, but it's still faster than BTC!
Yer I was thinking same thing, but because testnet transactions are small and not many nodes, we won't know the extent of your namesake until mainnet ;)
 
  • Like
Reactions: TaoOfSatoshi

MangledBlue

Well-known Member
Jun 28, 2014
1,246
678
183
USA
So we need to remove 12
go back to 11
and then install 12 to see if it takes as it should?? in any upgrade?

bit confused here....
 

qwizzie

Well-known Member
Aug 6, 2014
1,581
737
183
So we need to remove 12
go back to 11
and then install 12 to see if it takes as it should?? in any upgrade?
bit confused here....
i will just stay on 11.23 untill i hear the network downgrade has succeeded and its okay to upgrade to final version 0.12.0.35 (which isnt out yet anyways..)
 
  • Like
Reactions: TaoOfSatoshi

bertlebbert

Active Member
Jul 17, 2014
670
289
133
Haha, going back to v0.11.2.23 with a few wallets makes you appreciate the "Wallet title" feature crowning gave us a little while back.

Edit: and the Wallet repair options!
 
  • Like
Reactions: moli and yidakee

TanteStefana

Grizzled Member
Foundation Member
Mar 9, 2014
2,861
1,854
1,283
Ok, so I've dialed back to v11.23 but I won't be able to do anything else today, I'm going out. I hope we don't switch back to v12 until tomorrow, to give the network time to settle into the old ways anyway?
 

TanteStefana

Grizzled Member
Foundation Member
Mar 9, 2014
2,861
1,854
1,283
eduffield I haven't been able to sync since yesterday on my two linux server nodes. Yesterday, I was trying the latest build, today, I was trying the 11.23 build. Same problem. I get this in debug log:
2015-08-01 19:32:53 Failed to create backup boost::filesystem::copy_file: File exists: "/home/ingie/.dash/testnet3/wallet.dat", "/home/ingie/.dash/testnet3/backups/wallet.dat.2015-08-01-19.32"
 

moli

Grizzled Member
Aug 5, 2014
3,255
1,830
1,183
DOWNGRADE TEST - 0.11.2.23

I'm happy to announce that v12 looks like it's finished and is very stable! The final test we will need to do is to downgrade the network to 0.11.2.23, then re-upgrade to 12.0.35. The final version will activate a hard fork and the budget system within a day of being launched. Then after a few days (probably about Wednesday), we'll launch v12 officially on mainnet!
eduffield - I feel the budget system hasn't got tested thoroughly yet, or very close to being tested thoroughly. After the hard fork on Testnet, could we test it one more time to make sure please before releasing to Mainnet? Thank you.
 

the-baker

Member
Mar 12, 2015
70
70
58
eduffield - I feel the budget system hasn't got tested thoroughly yet, or very close to being tested thoroughly. After the hard fork on Testnet, could we test it one more time to make sure please before releasing to Mainnet? Thank you.
Might I also suggest starting the first budget cycle a month or so after the rollout. It's a big release, so inevitably some problems will crop up when the whole network updates, and many people will be busy troubleshooting for a while. They won't have much time to wrap their heads around the bugdget system & proposals on top of that
 

scratchy

Member
Jun 24, 2014
204
84
88
DOWNGRADE TEST - 0.11.2.23
I'm happy to announce that v12 looks like it's finished and is very stable! The final test we will need to do is to downgrade the network to 0.11.2.23, then re-upgrade to 12.0.35. The final version will activate a hard fork and the budget system within a day of being launched. Then after a few days (probably about Wednesday), we'll launch v12 officially on mainnet!
...
Downgraded all nodes to v11 (master-branch) ~70 ea, waiting for further instructions ~
 
Last edited by a moderator:

eduffield

Core Developer
Mar 9, 2014
1,084
5,319
183
eduffield I haven't been able to sync since yesterday on my two linux server nodes. Yesterday, I was trying the latest build, today, I was trying the 11.23 build. Same problem. I get this in debug log:
2015-08-01 19:32:53 Failed to create backup boost::filesystem::copy_file: File exists: "/home/ingie/.dash/testnet3/wallet.dat", "/home/ingie/.dash/testnet3/backups/wallet.dat.2015-08-01-19.32"
Sounds like you're out of space. Try "df -h"
 

eduffield

Core Developer
Mar 9, 2014
1,084
5,319
183
eduffield - I feel the budget system hasn't got tested thoroughly yet, or very close to being tested thoroughly. After the hard fork on Testnet, could we test it one more time to make sure please before releasing to Mainnet? Thank you.
I've tested the budget system thoroughly (for months now and rewrote it twice!), however I was going to continue doing testing on Sunday - Tuesday to look for edge cases / exploits. Feel free to join me, if we find anything substantial we can push it back. We're in no hurry
 
Last edited by a moderator:

moli

Grizzled Member
Aug 5, 2014
3,255
1,830
1,183
I've tested the budget system thoroughly (for months now and rewrote it twice!), however I was going to continue doing testing on Sunday - Tuesday to look for edge cases / exploits. Feel free to join me, if we find anything substantial we can push it back. We're in no hurry
Ok, sure will! Thanks! :)

Also, I would like to ask everyone else who can help, please participate! Thank you!
 
Last edited by a moderator:

eduffield

Core Developer
Mar 9, 2014
1,084
5,319
183
Might I also suggest starting the first budget cycle a month or so after the rollout. It's a big release, so inevitably some problems will crop up when the whole network updates, and many people will be busy troubleshooting for a while. They won't have much time to wrap their heads around the bugdget system & proposals on top of that
Rollout is planned to be staggered:

8/5 - Turn off enforcement / network upgrade
8/7-12 - Turn on enforcement
8/24 - Hard fork to allow for super blocks
9/6 - The very first budget block will be 332320, so that's quite a ways off (about 36 days from today)
 

moli

Grizzled Member
Aug 5, 2014
3,255
1,830
1,183
So... what will happen on Mainnet if masternodes don't update to v12 this time?

I started two of my MN wallets a while ago, running v0.12.0.34-44c9941 (scratchy already downgraded his server to v.11.2.23), and I'm watching "Number of Masternodes" on the info screen... It went from: "Total 52 (DS compatible: 6 / Enabled: 52)" to "Total 23 (DS compatible: 3 / Enabled: 8)" right now. And both wallets are still getting paid...

I guess my wallets will be forked off the net soon?

EDIT: I'm also trying to start another wallet (with same v12) but the orange screen hangs at "Loading wallet..."

EDIT: But actually with bitcoin 10, we can't downgrade on Mainnet, right?

EDIT: Ok, downgrading to v.11.2.23.. lol
 
Last edited by a moderator:
  • Like
Reactions: MangledBlue

UdjinM6

Official Dash Dev
Dash Core Team
Moderator
May 20, 2014
3,638
3,538
1,183
UdjinM6 - What does "txindex=1" mean? What does it do? Thank you. :)
dashd --help :rolleyes:
Code:
Maintain a full transaction index, used by the getrawtransaction rpc call
So basically it collects data about all txes and stores additional tx index next to block index (which is stored always)
 

moli

Grizzled Member
Aug 5, 2014
3,255
1,830
1,183
dashd --help :rolleyes:
Code:
Maintain a full transaction index, used by the getrawtransaction rpc call
So basically it collects data about all txes and stores additional tx index next to block index (which is stored always)
So.. what does it do for v.11? We add this in the dash.conf file to make sure it retrieves all txes in the blockchain before v12 and to be able to withdraw coins from the faucets if the faucets have been running since v11? Sorry about my n00b questions and i hope you're not too sleepy.. lol
 

UdjinM6

Official Dash Dev
Dash Core Team
Moderator
May 20, 2014
3,638
3,538
1,183
So.. what does it do for v.11? We add this in the dash.conf file to make sure it retrieves all txes in the blockchain before v12 and to be able to withdraw coins from the faucets if the faucets have been running since v11? Sorry about my n00b questions and i hope you're not too sleepy.. lol
That's ok, no n00b questions here :)
Looks like it should help us to avoid some issues in v12 and could also help a lot in general
https://github.com/dashpay/dash/com...3d876185f34f107d534826#commitcomment-12204984
 

Roslyn

Member
Aug 22, 2014
105
41
78
The United States of America
I am using the latest version with an encrypted wallet.
First tried importing a private key, It did not. Then tried to dump the private key, that didn't work either. Where did I go wrong?

21:50:42

importprivkey XFSu5xoe7AYgFrdtUQ2fWUa8WLtBWdVPqeBTH1hWEZtetXdwuZ6Q


21:50:42

Error: Please enter the wallet passphrase with walletpassphrase first. (code -13)


21:51:07

walletpassphrase [xxx]

1:51:07

Error: Error parsing JSON:Eternal


21:58:48

dumprivkey Xvjjvf8NSR1TKugqz7J35gJF2Vtzc2mZLS


21:58:48

Method not found (code -32601)
 

moli

Grizzled Member
Aug 5, 2014
3,255
1,830
1,183
I am using the latest version with an encrypted wallet.
First tried importing a private key, It did not. Then tried to dump the private key, that didn't work either. Where did I go wrong?
OMG you shouldn't show your privkey on a forum like that ... but is it really a privkey?
 
  • Like
Reactions: UdjinM6

UdjinM6

Official Dash Dev
Dash Core Team
Moderator
May 20, 2014
3,638
3,538
1,183
I am using the latest version with an encrypted wallet.
First tried importing a private key, It did not. Then tried to dump the private key, that didn't work either. Where did I go wrong?
walletpassphrase somepasshere 999
where 999 is how many seconds to keep wallet unlocked waiting for next command
dumpprivkey

EDIT: btw, are you using v12 or v11?