v12.2 Testing

Status
Not open for further replies.

t0dd

Active Member
Mar 21, 2016
150
132
103
keybase.io
Dash Address
XyxQq4qgp9B53QWQgSqSxJb4xddhzk5Zhh
Let me report to the community that the core team denies that this issue exists.
I challege everyone to test it in their machine, and report here the results. Please do it.

edit ~/.dashcore/dash.conf and insert/change the following line:
rpcuser=demodun <--- add a space at the end of the name
then edit ~/.dashcore/sentinel/sentinel.conf
rpcuser=demodun<---- without a space at the end

then
cd ~/.dashcore
./dashd
cd sentinel
./venv/bin/py.test ./test

...and you will see that sentinel cannot connect to dashd.

You can see it, don't you? I am not crazy , am I?
I am afraid! Please help me discover the truth....:confused:o_O:eek::oops:
I would agree. Bug. There shouldn't be any whitespace allowed pre- or post-. Input coding 101. And the C-code and Python-code had better violently agree. Mind you, if the bug resides in the Bitcoin code, that's where it should be fixed and then carried forward, IMHO. But, demo, your crap-attitude when communicating nearly anything almost involuntarily forces people to oppose everything you advocate.

Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk
 

demo

Well-known Member
Apr 23, 2016
3,114
263
153
Dash Address
XnpT2YQaYpyh7F9twM6EtDMn1TCDCEEgNX
But, demo, your crap-attitude when communicating nearly anything almost involuntarily forces people to oppose everything you advocate.
Communicating nearly anything is my goal. I am not here to convince people. I am here to tell the truth. I do not care at all whether people oppose me or not. I am interested in telling the truth, no matter how annoying , big, small or complex this truth may be. I'm not paid by people's opinion. I am paid by the truth and the truth is what I serve. I cannot do otherwise, after all. I owe my life to the truth, the truth keeps me alive here, and everywhere.
 
Last edited:

demo

Well-known Member
Apr 23, 2016
3,114
263
153
Dash Address
XnpT2YQaYpyh7F9twM6EtDMn1TCDCEEgNX
Just use -b to specify the branch (eg, "git clone -b v0.12.2.x https://github.com/dashpay/dash.git").
It didn't work. :confused::(

Code:
[email protected]:~/compiles$ git clone -b core-v0.12.2.x https://github.com/dashpay/dash
fatal: destination path 'dash' already exists and is not an empty directory.
Please don't tell me, go delete the old dash directory and make a new dash directory. I don't want to recompile all the .o files, it took too many hours to finish!!! I would like to issue a git command able to update only the changed .cpp , .h and the rest source files, in my already existing dash directory, while keeping at the same time the compiled .o files untouched until the next compilation occurs. Is there such a git command ?

And another thing. My masternode always remains in WATCHDOG_EXPIRED status. When I run sentinel, here is what I get:

Code:
[email protected]:~/.dashcore/sentinel$ ./venv/bin/python bin/sentinel.py
Invalid Masternode Status, cannot continue.
Any hints?
 
Last edited:

GNULinuxGuy

Member
Jul 22, 2014
112
68
78
Dash Address
XjkXfrYTSvdYe4738DtNVX5XfUz7qU9HnY
Code:
[email protected]:~/compiles$ git clone -b core-v0.12.2.x https://github.com/dashpay/dash
fatal: destination path 'dash' already exists and is not an empty directory.
I suppose you could do something along the lines of doing a fresh clone of both branches and then creating a patch set to update your old tree, but I question how much time this could save given how many files have changed.
Code:
$ diff -ur dash dash-v0.12.2.x/|grep -c +++
260
Code:
[email protected]:~/.dashcore/sentinel$ ./venv/bin/python bin/sentinel.py
Invalid Masternode Status, cannot continue.
This error means you haven't configured the masternode properly.
 
  • Like
Reactions: demo

GNULinuxGuy

Member
Jul 22, 2014
112
68
78
Dash Address
XjkXfrYTSvdYe4738DtNVX5XfUz7qU9HnY
Had a IS fail to lock a little while ago for the first time since we started testing this branch
Code:
Status: 2/unconfirmed (InstantSend verification failed), broadcast through 14 nodes
Running v0.12.2.0-8591448. @flare Any estimate on when https://test.explorer.dash.org/ will be back up?

Edit:
Tested again ~15m later and got another failure
Code:
Status: 0/unconfirmed, in memory pool (InstantSend verification failed), broadcast through 14 nodes
 
Last edited:

flare

Administrator
Dash Core Team
Moderator
May 18, 2014
2,287
2,406
1,183
Germany
Had a IS fail to lock a little while ago for the first time since we started testing this branch
Code:
Status: 2/unconfirmed (InstantSend verification failed), broadcast through 14 nodes
Running v0.12.2.0-8591448. @flare Any estimate on when https://test.explorer.dash.org/ will be back up?

Edit:
Tested again ~15m later and got another failure
Code:
Status: 0/unconfirmed, in memory pool (InstantSend verification failed), broadcast through 14 nodes
Explorer is back
 

GNULinuxGuy

Member
Jul 22, 2014
112
68
78
Dash Address
XjkXfrYTSvdYe4738DtNVX5XfUz7qU9HnY
Post your testnet address here I can send some funds
Have quite a bit floating around between various testing wallets, but more couldn't hurt! :)
yTdZSgnVivk3FEsKweBBtZaJKmK4q2M8Qk
 

t0dd

Active Member
Mar 21, 2016
150
132
103
keybase.io
Dash Address
XyxQq4qgp9B53QWQgSqSxJb4xddhzk5Zhh
Fonts. The GUI wallet's fonts, at least on my Fedora machine, are always too big or too small ... this has been an annoyance for quite some time. Anyone else have these issues as well? Or is this isolated to my builds. Regardless, if someone can point to me where fonts are managed in the code as a starting point, maybe I will take a stab at fixing the issue. Or... is this a QT issue? Maybe I am missing a required library or package?

Anyone else have bizarre font sizes in their GUI wallet?
 

UdjinM6

Official Dash Dev
Dash Core Team
Moderator
May 20, 2014
3,638
3,538
1,183
Fonts. The GUI wallet's fonts, at least on my Fedora machine, are always too big or too small ... this has been an annoyance for quite some time. Anyone else have these issues as well? Or is this isolated to my builds. Regardless, if someone can point to me where fonts are managed in the code as a starting point, maybe I will take a stab at fixing the issue. Or... is this a QT issue? Maybe I am missing a required library or package?

Anyone else have bizarre font sizes in their GUI wallet?
That's a known issue for hires/hi-dpi screens. Try selecting "light-hires" theme in settings.
 

t0dd

Active Member
Mar 21, 2016
150
132
103
keybase.io
Dash Address
XyxQq4qgp9B53QWQgSqSxJb4xddhzk5Zhh
That's a known issue for hires/hi-dpi screens. Try selecting "light-hires" theme in settings.
Yup! Helps a bunch. Maybe I will do some digging. Definitely makes it much more usable. Thanks.
 
  • Like
Reactions: UdjinM6

UdjinM6

Official Dash Dev
Dash Core Team
Moderator
May 20, 2014
3,638
3,538
1,183
If you were running testnet MN and don't want to do this anymore - please don't just shutdown the node, move the collateral to de-list your MN.
 
  • Like
Reactions: camosoul

Nanolucas

New Member
Nov 17, 2017
7
1
3
34
I've been looking to contribute in some way and figured I'd try to do a bit of bug testing on testnet but the mixing doesn't seem to be achieving anything on testnet.

I would post a screenshot, but as a new account I'm not able to post links:

17/11/2017 08:30 Confirmed (198 confirmations). PrivateSend Create Denominations -0.00001314
17/11/2017 08:28 Confirmed (200 confirmations). PrivateSend Create Denominations -0.00001313
17/11/2017 08:27 Confirmed (201 confirmations). PrivateSend Create Denominations -0.00001688
17/11/2017 08:27 Confirmed (201 confirmations). PrivateSend Create Denominations -0.00001688
17/11/2017 08:25 Confirmed (203 confirmations). PrivateSend Create Denominations -0.00000430
17/11/2017 08:22 Confirmed (204 confirmations). PrivateSend Create Denominations -0.00000599
17/11/2017 08:18 Confirmed (205 confirmations). PrivateSend Create Denominations -0.00001007
16/11/2017 17:47 Confirmed (533 confirmations). PrivateSend Create Denominations -0.00001450
16/11/2017 17:44 Confirmed (534 confirmations). PrivateSend Create Denominations -0.00001688
16/11/2017 17:42 Confirmed (535 confirmations). PrivateSend Create Denominations -0.00001688
16/11/2017 17:32 Confirmed (541 confirmations). Received with (no label) yP25mbtg61xsjNKSQwK9VWGE1KzR1NkR9T 544.55950000
16/11/2017 17:31 Confirmed (541 confirmations). Received with (no label) yZheigkwf4iRWMC5msZCgTyrUAAMKhUUif 1060.61300000
The first two entries were receiving funds from a test faucet and then after that the mixing started, but doesn't seem to have achieved anything. My PrivateSend balance is still at 0.00

Am I missing a step somewhere?

Also none of the testnet block explorers listed in the wiki seem to be working anymore. Are there any currently functioning ones?
 

Nanolucas

New Member
Nov 17, 2017
7
1
3
34
Is there no one from the core team that can comment on the state of the TestNet? Is there some other avenue I should use to contact them?
 

UdjinM6

Official Dash Dev
Dash Core Team
Moderator
May 20, 2014
3,638
3,538
1,183
@Nanolucas sorry, missed your previous post somehow :/
@strophy got it exactly right - 12.2 release was like 2 weeks ago, so almost no one is interested in (mixing on) testnet anymore. You should either find someone and cooperate or you can simply setup 3 local wallets (each in separate datadir) and mix with yourself.
https://test.explorer.dash.org/ is indeed down, it's still reindexing...
 

Nanolucas

New Member
Nov 17, 2017
7
1
3
34
@strophy Thanks for the help! This should get me back on track now. Good job updating the wiki to include the link to that explorer also, as I definitely visited that page before asking here and tried each of the explorers, none of which were working.

@UdjinM6 Thanks for the insight. I was actually expecting that the core team would have multiple test accounts running perpetually so it's good to know that I should always just assume I need to set up my own. Do you guys use some sort of private testnet for development?
 

UdjinM6

Official Dash Dev
Dash Core Team
Moderator
May 20, 2014
3,638
3,538
1,183
...
@UdjinM6 Thanks for the insight. I was actually expecting that the core team would have multiple test accounts running perpetually so it's good to know that I should always just assume I need to set up my own. Do you guys use some sort of private testnet for development?
We don't use private testnet yet, though we'll probably do because otherwise it's hard to keep it consistent - unfortunately a lot of people just don't follow testnet updates once release is out. Testnet in such state is not very usable for developing/testing InstantSend applications for example etc, so managing few controllable (somewhat private) environments is probably the way to go for development/demonstration/private testing purposes.
 

jeffh

Member
May 8, 2017
108
45
78
Not sure if this is the right place for it or not but I'm wondering if there's anybody who would be willing and able to add an Ubuntu ppa for Dash+Sentinel? I see there's one for Redhat and CentOS but Ubuntu is my go to and it would be much simpler to just apt-get install dashcore :) than the current route.
 

UdjinM6

Official Dash Dev
Dash Core Team
Moderator
May 20, 2014
3,638
3,538
1,183
Not sure if this is the right place for it or not but I'm wondering if there's anybody who would be willing and able to add an Ubuntu ppa for Dash+Sentinel? I see there's one for Redhat and CentOS but Ubuntu is my go to and it would be much simpler to just apt-get install dashcore :) than the current route.
@flare ? ^^^
 

flare

Administrator
Dash Core Team
Moderator
May 18, 2014
2,287
2,406
1,183
Germany
Not sure if this is the right place for it or not but I'm wondering if there's anybody who would be willing and able to add an Ubuntu ppa for Dash+Sentinel? I see there's one for Redhat and CentOS but Ubuntu is my go to and it would be much simpler to just apt-get install dashcore :) than the current route.
On my list :)
 
  • Like
Reactions: UdjinM6

jeffh

Member
May 8, 2017
108
45
78
On my list :)
Awesome!

Someone should probably update the Docker builds as well - https://hub.docker.com/r/tomasen/dash-masternode/ (found this one on Docker Hub and it's still 12.1)

I'd much rather pick up a Docker build directly from Dash Core than from a third-party.

The easier that update and deployment gets for Masternode operators, the more likely they'll be to keep their system up to date. There's definitely an assumption that can be made regarding the kind of people who are going to be running Masternode's and their technical abilities but it still doesn't hurt to make it simpler.
 

hlooman

New Member
Mar 20, 2017
14
17
3
After activation of DIP0001 I get the following on my Ubuntu server running 0.12.2.1 when trying to set the fee to 0.00001:
Error: Invalid amount for -paytxfee=<amount>: '0.00001' (must be at least 0.00010000 DASH/kB)
Dashd does not start because of this setting.

Other wallets have no issue to accept 0.00001

Switching it back to 0.0001 DASH/kB starts dashd again, but dash-cli getinfo returns:
"errors": "Warning: unknown new rules activated (versionbit 1)"

Any thoughts?
 

UdjinM6

Official Dash Dev
Dash Core Team
Moderator
May 20, 2014
3,638
3,538
1,183
After activation of DIP0001 I get the following on my Ubuntu server running 0.12.2.1 when trying to set the fee to 0.00001:
Error: Invalid amount for -paytxfee=<amount>: '0.00001' (must be at least 0.00010000 DASH/kB)
Dashd does not start because of this setting.

Other wallets have no issue to accept 0.00001

Switching it back to 0.0001 DASH/kB starts dashd again, but dash-cli getinfo returns:
"errors": "Warning: unknown new rules activated (versionbit 1)"

Any thoughts?
Current version is starting with DIP0001 disabled by default and then it's applying the status of DIP0001 on top of it.
You can adjust paytxfee via rpc:
Code:
settxfee amount

Set the transaction fee per kB. Overwrites the paytxfee parameter.

Arguments:

1. amount         (numeric or sting, required) The transaction fee in DASH/kB

Result

true|false        (boolean) Returns true if successful



Examples:

> dash-cli settxfee 0.00001

> curl --user myusername --data-binary '{"jsonrpc": "1.0", "id":"curltest", "method": "settxfee", "params": [0.00001] }' -H 'content-type: text/plain;' http://127.0.0.1:19998/
Warning is a cosmetic bug, should cause any issues. We'll fix it in next update.
 

hlooman

New Member
Mar 20, 2017
14
17
3
Current version is starting with DIP0001 disabled by default and then it's applying the status of DIP0001 on top of it.
You can adjust paytxfee via rpc:
Code:
settxfee amount

Set the transaction fee per kB. Overwrites the paytxfee parameter.

Arguments:

1. amount         (numeric or sting, required) The transaction fee in DASH/kB

Result

true|false        (boolean) Returns true if successful



Examples:

> dash-cli settxfee 0.00001

> curl --user myusername --data-binary '{"jsonrpc": "1.0", "id":"curltest", "method": "settxfee", "params": [0.00001] }' -H 'content-type: text/plain;' http://127.0.0.1:19998/
Warning is a cosmetic bug, should cause any issues. We'll fix it in next update.
Ah ok.
Maybe in next update also let the system accept the txfee setting from dash.conf for the DIP0001 compliant fees?
 

UdjinM6

Official Dash Dev
Dash Core Team
Moderator
May 20, 2014
3,638
3,538
1,183
Can you explain in retard language what dip0001 is and why anyone should care?
https://github.com/dashpay/dips/blob/master/dip-0001.md
Basically it is a way to activate new consensus rules and make sure that MNs and miners "voted" for this by upgrading their software. It's a BIP9-like mechanism which can be used for different stuffs but this time it was block size limit increase (2mb) and 100kb tx limit. We also reused the same bit to lower fees 10x that's why they sometimes referred as DIP0001 fees. DIP0001 is already activated, so no need to care about this specific one anymore :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.