v0.10.12.x RC4 Testing

Status
Not open for further replies.

moli

Grizzled Member
Aug 5, 2014
3,255
1,830
1,183
Question: "Amount of Darkcoin to keep anonymized: 1000".
Does it mean if you have less than 1000 drk in your wallet, DS should stop seeking for entries to denominate? My wallet showed it kept locking some amounts, yet none of the amount (less than 1000) was denominated, and I could not send coins using Non-Anonymous Funds, had to wait until DS Status said "Idle" to do it.
 

UdjinM6

Official Dash Dev
Dash Core Team
Moderator
May 20, 2014
3,638
3,538
1,183
Running wallet by command line (./darcoin-qt -testnet=1) and noticed that every time I open option dialog it writes "QMetaObject::connectSlotsByName: No matching signal for on_resetButton_clicked()" in console.
 

Stealth923

Well-known Member
Foundation Member
Mar 9, 2014
345
375
233
Running wallet by command line (./darcoin-qt -testnet=1) and noticed that every time I open option dialog it writes "QMetaObject::connectSlotsByName: No matching signal for on_resetButton_clicked()" in console.
You need to put "& disown" at the end of your command line. Without the quotes
 

vertoe

Three of Nine
Mar 28, 2014
2,573
1,652
1,283
Unimatrix Zero One
Running wallet by command line (./darcoin-qt -testnet=1) and noticed that every time I open option dialog it writes "QMetaObject::connectSlotsByName: No matching signal for on_resetButton_clicked()" in console.
You can ignore that warning.

You need to put "& disown" at the end of your command line. Without the quotes
Should work without.

Thanks for that one! But doesn't this means that there is something wrong with that dialog itself too?
No.
 
  • Like
Reactions: ozziecoin

moli

Grizzled Member
Aug 5, 2014
3,255
1,830
1,183
I really feel like to make a plea with Evan not to release RC4 today or tomorrow. We are so close to make DRK perfect. The market/supporters have been supporting and waiting this far, they can wait for a few more days. What do you guys think?
 

JGCMiner

Moderator
Moderator
Jun 8, 2014
360
211
113
I really feel like to make a plea with Evan not to release RC4 today or tomorrow. We are so close to make DRK perfect. The market/supporters have been supporting and waiting this far, they can wait for a few more days. What do you guys think?
I agree. Any issues we are having in this thread are going to be 10x worse on mainnet and it wouldn't be good to have another calamity at launch. However, I also think that Evan knows this and won't release until the users in this thread aren't reporting bugs.
 

stonehedge

Well-known Member
Foundation Member
Jul 31, 2014
696
333
233
I don't know Evan or any of the devs but I find it highly unlikely that they will be releasing RC4 until they have done everything they possibly can to ensure stability. We're all in this together.

However...there are some issues IMHO that will not be found in testnet. There will be minor fixes after release. This has to be expected.

I haven't seen any official statements about release dates anyway.
 

JGCMiner

Moderator
Moderator
Jun 8, 2014
360
211
113
I don't know Evan or any of the devs but I find it highly unlikely that they will be releasing RC4 until they have done everything they possibly can to ensure stability. We're all in this together.

However...there are some issues IMHO that will not be found in testnet. There will be minor fixes after release. This has to be expected.

I haven't seen any official statements about release dates anyway.
At the time of the last update Evan mentioned "Monday or Tuesday", but I don't think he expected as many issues as were found in the last 24 hours.
 

eduffield

Core Developer
Mar 9, 2014
1,084
5,319
183
****** Please Update To 10.12.20 or 9.12.20 *******

We should be good to go. Let us know if there's anything critical that still needs to be fixed before launch. Otherwise, I'll merge into master later on today.

PS. It's still possible to get charged collateral, because this update is backwards compatible and masternodes are in the process of updating.

- Disabled collateral charging for now. We'll work on this after RC4 is released and update the masternode network after it's working properly. It's not incredibly important at this stage (while we're closed source), so I don't want it holding up the release. Plus it's really the only issue we're experiencing
- Merged rebroad's (https://github.com/rebroad) changes to bring debugging output more in line with the bitcoin project. Output is now much cleaner and can be split by category.
- Removed some debug messages
- Merged mac/windows build icons
- Fixed windows "Apply" configuration bug

Stable Binaries
http://www.darkcoin.io/downloads/master-rc4/darkcoin-qt
http://www.darkcoin.io/downloads/master-rc4/darkcoind

RC4 Binaries ( masternodes / auto-denom )
http://www.darkcoin.io/downloads/rc4/darkcoin-qt
http://www.darkcoin.io/downloads/rc4/darkcoind
 
Last edited by a moderator:

jimbit

Well-known Member
Foundation Member
May 23, 2014
229
103
203
****** Please Update To 10.12.20 or 9.12.20 *******

We should be good to go. Let us know if there's anything critical that still needs to be fixed before launch. Otherwise, I'll merge into master later on today.

- Disabled collateral charging for now. We'll work on this after RC4 is released and update the masternode network after it's working properly. It's not incredibly important at this stage (while we're closed source), so I don't want it holding up the release. Plus it's really the only issue we're experiencing
- Merged rebroad's (https://github.com/rebroad) changes to bring debugging output more in line with the bitcoin project. Output is now much cleaner and can be split by category.
- Removed some debug messages
- Merged mac/windows build icons
- Fixed windows "Apply" configuration bug

Stable Binaries
http://www.darkcoin.io/downloads/master-rc4/darkcoin-qt
http://www.darkcoin.io/downloads/master-rc4/darkcoind

RC4 Binaries ( masternodes / auto-denom )
http://www.darkcoin.io/downloads/rc4/darkcoin-qt
http://www.darkcoin.io/downloads/rc4/darkcoind
getting debug messages in the console with this update

edit: Evan, pretty sure this is critical. debug is coming to the standard output.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

UdjinM6

Official Dash Dev
Dash Core Team
Moderator
May 20, 2014
3,638
3,538
1,183
getting debug messages in the console with this update

edit: Evan, pretty sure this is critical. debug is coming to the standard output.
actually debug messages are now splited between standard output and debug.log: masternodes messages comes to stdout only and connection messages comes to debug.log only
 

GNULinuxGuy

Member
Jul 22, 2014
112
68
78
Dash Address
XjkXfrYTSvdYe4738DtNVX5XfUz7qU9HnY
I like the new debugging output, but we're not getting timestamps on the stdout stuff, and those same messages are not included in debug.log, so it certainly has the potential to make debugging more difficult.
Edit: Guess I'm a bit too slow today. Thanks Evan! :)
 

flare

Administrator
Dash Core Team
Moderator
May 18, 2014
2,287
2,406
1,183
Germany
CI-builds for v0.9.12.20-g15787d4

Windows 32bit:
http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/DWD-DRK/QTL/build-94/gitian-win-darkcoin-bin/32/darkcoin-qt.exe
http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/...tian-win-darkcoin-bin/32/daemon/darkcoind.exe
http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/...oin-bin/32/darkcoin-0.9.12.20-win32-setup.exe

Mac OS X:
http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/browse/DOD-DRK-77/artifact/QTL/gitian-osx-darkcoin/DarkCoin-Qt.dmg

Linux 32bit:
http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/BL-DRK/QTL/build-73/gitian-linux-darkcoin-bin/bin/32/darkcoin-qt
http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/BL-DRK/QTL/build-73/gitian-linux-darkcoin-bin/bin/32/darkcoind

Linux 64bit:
http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/BL-DRK/QTL/build-73/gitian-linux-darkcoin-bin/bin/64/darkcoin-qt
http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/BL-DRK/QTL/build-73/gitian-linux-darkcoin-bin/bin/64/darkcoind

CI-builds for v0.10.12.20-gc1212be

Windows 32bit:
http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/...arkcoin-rc-darkcoin-qt-bin/32/darkcoin-qt.exe
http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/...coin-rc-darkcoind-bin/32/daemon/darkcoind.exe

Mac OS X:
http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/browse/DOD-DRKRC-13/artifact/QTL/gitian-osx-darkcoin-rc/DarkCoin-Qt.dmg

Linux 32bit:
http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/...tian-linux-darkcoin-rc-bin/bin/32/darkcoin-qt
http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/...gitian-linux-darkcoin-rc-bin/bin/32/darkcoind

Linux 64bit:
http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/...tian-linux-darkcoin-rc-bin/bin/64/darkcoin-qt
http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/...gitian-linux-darkcoin-rc-bin/bin/64/darkcoind

EDIT: Also give our new windows installer a try :)
 

TsuyokuNaritai

Active Member
May 24, 2014
181
102
103
This is an awesome team. Kudos to all testers and devs for the great progress. This is true innovation and it's amazing to watch the future being built before my eyes.

Having said that, given the history, please indulge me in a thought experiment:

You wake up after RC4's release to a frantic post-mortem in this thread. Something broke badly on mainnet that didn't affect testnet, and everything had to be reverted.

What probably happened, and what should have been done now to detect the problem in advance?
 
  • Like
Reactions: mattmct

elbereth

Active Member
Dash Support Group
Mar 25, 2014
440
466
133
Costa Rica
dashninja.pl
Dash Address
XkfkHqMnhvQovo7kXQjvnNiFnQhRNZYCsz
Last edited by a moderator:

yidakee

Well-known Member
Foundation Member
Apr 16, 2014
1,812
1,168
283
Sending D+ still says n/a on the sending address... should it be like this ?
 

canibalbranco

New Member
Jul 2, 2014
35
14
8
Brazil
This is an awesome team. Kudos to all testers and devs for the great progress. This is true innovation and it's amazing to watch the future being built before my eyes.

Having said that, given the history, please indulge me in a thought experiment:

You wake up after RC4's release to a frantic post-mortem in this thread. Something broke badly on mainnet that didn't affect testnet, and everything had to be reverted.

What probably happened, and what should have been done now to detect the problem in advance?
It was just a nightmare!
 

eduffield

Core Developer
Mar 9, 2014
1,084
5,319
183
github is still with the debug on the console.
Edit: Evan if you could push your changes. :p
master-rc4 is up to date, on the console I'm just getting this:

init message: Verifying wallet...
init message: Loading block index...
init message: Verifying blocks...
init message: Loading wallet...
init message: Loading addresses...
init message: Done loading


What else are you getting?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.