Trezor for Darkcoin

ELM4ever

Member
Feb 9, 2015
64
66
58
So we dont need that farting block explorer? I wonder why they've sent me that message. Here is it:
Darkcoin is already supported by the latest Trezor firmware, as per https://github.com/trezor/trezor-mcu/blob/master/firmware/coins.c

vertoe : I believe the issue is with Encompass that have not yet enabled the Trezor plugin.

But if you want to test it out, just "enable" the Trezor support yourself (by removing the comment "#" in Encompass /plugins/Trezor.py L53) - I don't have a spare Trezor handy to test it. If you do - be my guest. My bet is, that it will work out of the box... because Encompass is based on a fork of Electrum 2.0... where the plugins where cloned un-modified.

The only* thing that Encompass did was to make generic the Electrum code that was generic to ALL coins, and group the "custom specs" of individual coins, into a directory called "/lib/chains". Making a port to Electrum super easy, for any coins - even for someone like me....

*= genius
 
Last edited by a moderator:

vertoe

Three of Nine
Mar 28, 2014
2,573
1,652
1,283
Unimatrix Zero One
Darkcoin is already supported by the latest Trezor firmware, as per https://github.com/trezor/trezor-mcu/blob/master/firmware/coins.c
I am aware of that, please see my posts above, a conversation with a TREZOR developer. I'm in contact with them for more than 2 months now. And they told me to get Darkcoin added to TREZOR, we need a BIP-44-compliant blockchain explorer. That's why I'm so puzzled now that they simply added DRK without any hesitation.

vertoe : I believe the issue is with Encompass that have not yet enabled the Trezor plugin.
The encompass TREZOR plugin is untouched as far as I know and thus should only work for Bitcoin yet, does it? It would be great if Propulsion could comment on that.
 

Propulsion

The buck stops here.
Feb 26, 2014
1,008
467
183
Dash Address
XerHCGryyfZttUc6mnuRY3FNJzU1Jm9u5L
The encompass TREZOR plugin is untouched as far as I know and thus should only work for Bitcoin yet, does it? It would be great if Propulsion could comment on that.
I've yet to even clone encompass so currently, no idea. If it's a water downed version of the original Electrum client, I'm not too interested in it. I'll test it with trezor this weekend.

I am aware of that, please see my posts above, a conversation with a TREZOR developer. I'm in contact with them for more than 2 months now. And they told me to get Darkcoin added to TREZOR, we need a BIP-44-compliant blockchain explorer. That's why I'm so puzzled now that they simply added DRK without any hesitation.
This is from reddit: https://www.reddit.com/r/TREZOR/comments/2dnw2i/whats_planned_for_the_next_firmware_release/
reddit said:
klokanx 2 points 6 months ago*
  • Account labels are in the scope of one of the further releases, but it probably would not be the next one.

  • receiving address verification should be there according to this post:http://www.reddit.com/r/Bitcoin/comments/2dn9gw/trezor_concern/cjr4mks

  • LTC is supported by Trezor, but not by the LTC software. Specifically, there is no BIP44 compatible blockchain explorer. If you have one, you can use Trezor for LTC. Ask your favourite LTC developer to build one. Trezor guys are not working on this. In fact, they don't use their own BIP44 explorer for BTC either, but they pay for BoP server licence that has this capability.
slush0 2 points 6 months ago

To be 100% correct, BIP44 isn't necessary. Any BIP32 wallet with TREZOR support will work (maybe Electrum?).​

BIP44 is important only to see the same address as generated in myTREZOR​
I'm thinking when they had those requirements Electrum wasn't an option at the time. You can check out my pull request to trezor-mcu to see the conversation with Slush before adding it.
 

TaoOfSatoshi

Grizzled Member
Jul 15, 2014
2,797
2,614
1,183
Dash Nation
www.dashnation.com

moli

Grizzled Member
Aug 5, 2014
3,255
1,830
1,183
I already saw that first hand last Monday and I quoted in my previous post:
[20:17:34] * Propulsion ([email protected]/propulsion) has joined
[20:18:07] <Propulsion> lol I'm back. So Darkcoins now officially supported with Trezor.
[20:18:11] <Propulsion> https://github.com/trezor/trezor-mcu/commit/65d734df58566d11365a3cf0d66f79811ac35381
[20:18:25] <coingun> wh0000t!!!!
[20:18:28] <coingun> ata boy prop!
[20:18:28] <Propulsion> The commit has been accepted into their official firmware.
[20:18:43] <Propulsion> WoooooO111!
[20:18:52] <Propulsion> lol alright ttyl.
[20:18:54] * Propulsion has quit (Client Quit)
I'm just not sure if "DRK works on Trezor straight out of the box", is what I'm asking.
 

vertoe

Three of Nine
Mar 28, 2014
2,573
1,652
1,283
Unimatrix Zero One
I already saw that first hand last Monday and I quoted in my previous post:

I'm just not sure if "DRK works on Trezor straight out of the box", is what I'm asking.
I can't confirm it. This is all very confusing for me because everyone says something different. If I had a Trezor, I would test it for you, but sorry I can't answer that question for you.
 
  • Like
Reactions: moli

tungfa

Administrator
Dash Core Team
Moderator
Foundation Member
Masternode Owner/Operator
Apr 9, 2014
8,891
6,719
1,283
this is exactly what happens when there are 'News" spread which are NO News !

http://satoshilabs.com/news/
- there is nothing on their webpage/ blog about Darkcoin
- vertoe is in email contact with them direct, wouldn't they have told him
- i am in touch with them as well as i am waiting for joint PR efforts
and sure they would have contacted us if this was officially released !

Was it officially released
NO it was NOT
so can we please stop posting this nonsense about trezor integration on twitter and wherever else this is going on !
it will come out, these things take time as we know, props has it running already, but that does not mean everybody is capable of integrating it !

Will it be integrated, yes sure.
Is it working, maybe.
Should we wait for an official release, DEFINATELY !
 
  • Like
Reactions: moli and vertoe

Propulsion

The buck stops here.
Feb 26, 2014
1,008
467
183
Dash Address
XerHCGryyfZttUc6mnuRY3FNJzU1Jm9u5L
Ok, here's the current status.

I've made changes to the firmware to generate and accept Darkcoin addresses.

A couple days ago, I pushed the changes to the Official Firmware Repository which were accepted.

Which now means that once Trezor pushes a new firmware update which you can download from https://mytrezor.com, darkcoin will be included.

Currently the latest official firmware version is 1.3.1 from the website which means that they haven't tagged the latest commits and created an updated firmware version.

It'll be ready and "Fully supported out of the box" once the new firmware is available for download from their website.
 

vertoe

Three of Nine
Mar 28, 2014
2,573
1,652
1,283
Unimatrix Zero One
Ok, here's the current status.

I've made changes to the firmware to generate and accept Darkcoin addresses.

A couple days ago, I pushed the changes to the Official Firmware Repository which were accepted.

Which now means that once Trezor pushes a new firmware update which you can download from https://mytrezor.com, darkcoin will be included.

Currently the latest official firmware version is 1.3.1 from the website which means that they haven't tagged the latest commits and created an updated firmware version.

It'll be ready and "Fully supported out of the box" once the new firmware is available for download from their website.
and on the desktop side? how do you create transactions?
 
  • Like
Reactions: moli

ELM4ever

Member
Feb 9, 2015
64
66
58
Desktop side will have to be covered with Electrum.
Today, I just offered the Encompass team a bounty of $1000 to speed up the integration of Trezor to Encompass.

Electrum BTC now supports Trezor.
Electrum-LTC 2.0.2 now supports Trezor.

Encompass the Electrum-style wallet, that efficiently provides BTC-LTC-DRK support, and many more coins, should also be Trezor friendly!

EDIT: The bounty is also open to anyone that can provide Trezor support to Encompass - a working pull request on the Encompass Github page will vouch as a valid entry.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

moli

Grizzled Member
Aug 5, 2014
3,255
1,830
1,183
Today, I just offered the Encompass team a bounty of $1000 to speed up the integration of Trezor to Encompass.

Electrum BTC now supports Trezor.
Electrum-LTC 2.0.2 now supports Trezor.

Encompass the Electrum-style wallet, that efficiently provides BTC-LTC-DRK support, and many more coins, should also be Trezor friendly!

EDIT: The bounty is also open to anyone that can provide Trezor support to Encompass - a working pull request on the Encompass Github page will vouch as a valid entry.
Hi ELM4ever, I really appreciate your hard work on this but please pay attention to the current state of this coin before spending your money. If I were you I would wait until the legality of this new name is resolved. Thanks again for your work. :)

EDIT: Unless you wanted to do this anyways for other coins, and not just Darkcoin, then ignore this post. :)
 
Last edited by a moderator:
  • Like
Reactions: splawik21

Minotaur

Well-known Member
Foundation Member
Apr 7, 2014
452
1,079
263
Today, I just offered the Encompass team a bounty of $1000 to speed up the integration of Trezor to Encompass.

Electrum BTC now supports Trezor.
Electrum-LTC 2.0.2 now supports Trezor.

Encompass the Electrum-style wallet, that efficiently provides BTC-LTC-DRK support, and many more coins, should also be Trezor friendly!

EDIT: The bounty is also open to anyone that can provide Trezor support to Encompass - a working pull request on the Encompass Github page will vouch as a valid entry.
ELM4ever

There is no relation between the rebranding process and the need for Encompass integration. We really appreciate what you are doing here, please continue. It is business as usual for all development related work, we are just doing some marketing and design changes.
 
  • Like
Reactions: JGCMiner and tungfa

tungfa

Administrator
Dash Core Team
Moderator
Foundation Member
Masternode Owner/Operator
Apr 9, 2014
8,891
6,719
1,283
http://satoshilabs.com/news/2015-04-07-trezor-firmware-1-3-3-connect-api/

TREZOR Releases Firmware 1.3.3 with TREZOR Connect
Posted by SatoshiLabs in News on April 7, 2015 with Comments Off

With TREZOR firmware 1.3.3 we are introducing our latest innovation for secure password-less user authentication – the TREZOR Connect.

This firmware further improves the overall security of the TREZOR hardware wallet and your privacy.

We have also implemented an important change to PIN protection and added support for the Dash cointype.
 

donho

Member
Masternode Owner/Operator
Apr 16, 2014
96
20
58
http://satoshilabs.com/news/2015-04-07-trezor-firmware-1-3-3-connect-api/

TREZOR Releases Firmware 1.3.3 with TREZOR Connect
Posted by SatoshiLabs in News on April 7, 2015 with Comments Off

With TREZOR firmware 1.3.3 we are introducing our latest innovation for secure password-less user authentication – the TREZOR Connect.

This firmware further improves the overall security of the TREZOR hardware wallet and your privacy.

We have also implemented an important change to PIN protection and added support for the Dash cointype.
Amazing!
I'm thinking about ordering one now. Is it possibile to have the MN cold wallet on a TREZOR?

EDIT: And does someone know if it's possible to use one TREZOR for BTC and DASH at the same time?
 
Last edited by a moderator:

tungfa

Administrator
Dash Core Team
Moderator
Foundation Member
Masternode Owner/Operator
Apr 9, 2014
8,891
6,719
1,283
from trezor support:
"We have added Dash support to Trezor firmware only, but the wallet part is being prepared by Dash developers.
Dash will be not supported in myTrezor wallet at the moment.

I´m sure they are finalizing the wallet now and will be released withing following days."

Are we ?
 

fible1

Well-known Member
Dash Core Team
Masternode Owner/Operator
May 11, 2014
710
722
163
I'd like to know the answer to this as well, are we working on our own wallet for use with Trezor?

Another important question, on any of the DASH wallets that will potentially run Trezor, can we run "masternode start" on them?

Pablo.
 

Propulsion

The buck stops here.
Feb 26, 2014
1,008
467
183
Dash Address
XerHCGryyfZttUc6mnuRY3FNJzU1Jm9u5L
I'd like to know the answer to this as well, are we working on our own wallet for use with Trezor?

Another important question, on any of the DASH wallets that will potentially run Trezor, can we run "masternode start" on them?

Pablo.
I believe eduffield stated a while back that he would include the ability to have masternode support on a Trezor.
 

fible1

Well-known Member
Dash Core Team
Masternode Owner/Operator
May 11, 2014
710
722
163
I believe eduffield stated a while back that he would include the ability to have masternode support on a Trezor.
Ah cool, I went through the thread and missed that.

The other question stands though, are we going to build trezor support into Dash QT or will we be able to run a masternode on a third party wallet.

Thanks for taking the time btw.

Pablo.
 

Propulsion

The buck stops here.
Feb 26, 2014
1,008
467
183
Dash Address
XerHCGryyfZttUc6mnuRY3FNJzU1Jm9u5L
Ah cool, I went through the thread and missed that.

The other question stands though, are we going to build trezor support into Dash QT or will we be able to run a masternode on a third party wallet.

Thanks for taking the time btw.

Pablo.
Third party thus far.
 

fible1

Well-known Member
Dash Core Team
Masternode Owner/Operator
May 11, 2014
710
722
163
Kewl, I will have to get my hands on the encompass wallet when it comes out then.

Thanks for clearing that up mate.

Pablo.
 

kingcolex

Member
Mar 28, 2015
43
28
58
Bump to see if any new information has arrived on this, I am very very excited for a trezor version of the Dash wallet.
 

fible1

Well-known Member
Dash Core Team
Masternode Owner/Operator
May 11, 2014
710
722
163
If anyone manages to run a MN on today's Encompass release, please post.
 

kingcolex

Member
Mar 28, 2015
43
28
58
Well I have been testing encompass with my trezor and dash, it seems to work well. I don't see any issues currently but it does let me access the wallet in watch only mode without a trezor and the only fear is a work around to trick it into control mode without the trezor as i don't know where the keys are really held through encompass.
 

fible1

Well-known Member
Dash Core Team
Masternode Owner/Operator
May 11, 2014
710
722
163
can you run a masternode through encompass?