Welcome to the Dash Forum!

Please sign up to discuss the most innovative cryptocurrency!

Remote MasterNode guide UPDATED

Discussion in 'Masternode Guides' started by TanteStefana, May 7, 2014.

  1. TanteStefana

    TanteStefana Moderator
    Linguistic Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,859
    Likes Received:
    1,854
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    I updated with instructions for how it works in testnet (and therefore how it will work when RC3 is released) But I kept the old instructions below. I hope that way if RC3 is released faster than expected, it'll be ready for everyone. if not, and things change, i'll just keep it updated.

    I won't be putting my masternodes online again until RC3 is released I also made two new wallets to hold my masternodes with new passphrases etc... offline in case anyone has gotten ahold of my wallet.dat files. I'm becoming a proper paranoid little old lady now after losing my Bitcointalk account, LOL.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. fusecavator

    fusecavator Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    58
    In the updated guide, it says to make sure masternode=0 on local client, but then it shows masternode=1 in the sample file at the end. Which is correct, or when do you change it?

    Also, what exactly is masternodeprivkey? Putting anything called privatekey on the remote server seems like a bad idea, but if I knew what it actually is(signed message? etc?) I'd be a bit more comfortable.
     
  3. TreasureSeeker

    TreasureSeeker New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Am I correct in assuming that the remote machine's wallet should be encrypted?

    If so, should the walletpassphase be required in...
     
    #63 TreasureSeeker, Jun 9, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 10, 2014
  4. vertoe

    vertoe Three of Nine

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    2,574
    Likes Received:
    1,656
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    Does that allow cold storage already? Did you try that out?
     
  5. yidakee

    yidakee Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    1,812
    Likes Received:
    1,168
    Trophy Points:
    283
    yup, confirmed! Got it instantly going since 10.9.6. Updated today to 10.9.10 and havent received a payment still, but for some reason the testnet MN count went crazy high, maybe that why... even still, been like 4 or 5 hours. Will sleep on it, literally ;)
     
  6. TanteStefana

    TanteStefana Moderator
    Linguistic Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,859
    Likes Received:
    1,854
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    Ooops, after getting your masternodekey, you reset the masternode= back to1, sorry, i'll fix that. Thanks for catching!
     
  7. TanteStefana

    TanteStefana Moderator
    Linguistic Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,859
    Likes Received:
    1,854
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    Nope, only just before you start the masternodes (to unlock) and with the mastrnode start PASS# command. Not required to start darkcoind
     
  8. TanteStefana

    TanteStefana Moderator
    Linguistic Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,859
    Likes Received:
    1,854
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    Yes, but only in testnet at the moment. This updated guide is for RC3 when it comes out, and any changes, I'll update here. It's so people can get used to what's happening so they're as ready as those following on testnet :)
     
  9. Tesquenure

    Tesquenure Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Hi,
    I juste update to last daemon (v0.10.10.1)
    With : masternodeaddr=RemoteIP:9999 , I have : inbound port is not open. Please open it and try again. (19999 for testnet and 9999 for mainnet)
    With : masternodeaddr=RemoteIP , I have : darkcoind: /usr/include/boost/thread/pthread/pthread_mutex_scoped_lock.hpp:26: boost::pthread::pthread_mutex_scoped_lock::pthread_mutex_scoped_lock(pthread_mutex_t*): Assertion `!pthread_mutex_lock(m)' failed.
    error: no response from server

    Thx

    PS : whats work, i put wrong IP.
    Thx
     
    #69 Tesquenure, Jun 18, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 18, 2014
  10. Tesquenure

    Tesquenure Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Now, when i stop the local server, remote go to 0.
    Thx
     
  11. weirdgod

    weirdgod Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    168
    • Like Like x 1
  12. Tesquenure

    Tesquenure Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    78
    • Like Like x 1
  13. icewood

    icewood New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    hi guys,
    i did it withe the how to from: https://darkcointalk.org/threads/drk-guide-rc3-masternode-windows-local-linux-remote-vultr.1367/
    but it won't work :(

    everytime when i shut down the local wallet, the remote wallet gets kicked from the masternode list after round about 10minutes.
    I waited for the message that the hotcoldmasternode is enabled on both systems, but nothing changed...the cold storage solution didn't worked for me...

    i don't know what i did wrong, so it would be very very nice if someone could give me a hint and help me to solve this problem before the hard fork.

    thanky you very much.
     
  14. TreasureSeeker

    TreasureSeeker New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Does the reverted 10.10.2 version include cold wallet support or is it similar to pre-RC3 with no cold wallet support yet? I'm guessing the latter, in which case, are we going to need to wait until being able to try the cold wallet way?
     
    #74 TreasureSeeker, Jun 22, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 23, 2014
  15. dotnetmin

    dotnetmin Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    48
    TanteStefana
    on the first page you recommend to use only darkoind for local wallet ( instead darkcoin-qt ).
    Does that has a special reason ?
    How can i see the inital receiving address of the darkcoind wallet or do i have to create one first with <Getaccountaddress> ?
    Thanks

    Edit : empty darkcoind seems to have no addess. I used a wallet.dat that already had 1K inside.
    To see adresses of wallet use : ./darkcoind listaddressgroupings
     
    #75 dotnetmin, Jul 3, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 3, 2014
  16. Solaso

    Solaso Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2015
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Please tell, is it instruction correct for DASH wallet? Thank you
     

Share This Page