Overwrote wallet - anything I can do?

lostmybrain

New Member
Sep 23, 2014
17
14
3
Was transferring money while updating my Darknode and I overwrote a new wallet I created with 1020 DRK. I'm crushed. Is there anything I can do? I have the public DRK address and the overwritten file. The file was created minutes before so there is no backup of the wallet with the DRK now. 99% sure I'm SOL but I'd rather ask and know for sure then wonder.
 

lostmybrain

New Member
Sep 23, 2014
17
14
3
Man, if there is any way you all think of anything I would be eternally grateful. Thank you for thinking on it - if I can provide anything please let me know.
 

flare

Administrator
Dash Core Team
Moderator
May 18, 2014
2,287
2,406
1,183
Germany
Was transferring money while updating my Darknode and I overwrote a new wallet I created with 1020 DRK. I'm crushed. Is there anything I can do? I have the public DRK address and the overwritten file. The file was created minutes before so there is no backup of the wallet with the DRK now. 99% sure I'm SOL but I'd rather ask and know for sure then wonder.
Please define "overwrote a new wallet/overwritten the file" - what did you do exactly?
 

lostmybrain

New Member
Sep 23, 2014
17
14
3
Just FYI - I ran Recuva, R-Studio and testdisk 7.0 trying to see if there was a previous version of the file anywhere with no luck.
 

lostmybrain

New Member
Sep 23, 2014
17
14
3
Forgive me as my brain is still swimming from anger at myself here, trying to recall exactly how i did this. First, I opened my local version of my darkcoin masternode on my local PC to check it, then moved that old RC4 wallet to a new folder. I then started a new darkcoin release on my local PC, creating a RC5 wallet. Copied that DRK address down. Moved NEW wallet to desktop and Loaded my OLD wallet in so I could send all the DRK to the NEW address - sent 1020 DRK there. After sending from the OLD wallet, I grabbed it and dragged to my desktop, overwriting the new one before I realized which version was there.

Was just moving too quick trying to do too many things at once. Edited this as once I read it I remembered the process better.
 

lostmybrain

New Member
Sep 23, 2014
17
14
3
I am on a solid state drive as well - after doing a lot of reading I don't have high hopes.

Thank you again flare - it's time for me to rest but I'll check this first thing in the AM to see if there's anything else I can try.
 

flare

Administrator
Dash Core Team
Moderator
May 18, 2014
2,287
2,406
1,183
Germany
Forgive me as my brain is still swimming from anger at myself here, trying to recall exactly how i did this. First, I opened my local version of my darkcoin masternode on my local PC to check it, then moved that old RC4 wallet to a new folder. I then started a new darkcoin release on my local PC, creating a RC5 wallet. Copied that DRK address down. Moved NEW wallet to desktop and Loaded my OLD wallet in so I could send all the DRK to the NEW address - sent 1020 DRK there. After sending from the OLD wallet, I grabbed it and dragged to my desktop, overwriting the new one before I realized which version was there.

Was just moving too quick trying to do too many things at once. Edited this as once I read it I remembered the process better.
Still trying to get hold of what you call "move the wallet".

I guess you are an experienced MN operator and know that wallet binaries and wallet data are usually stored in separate folders - so when you are writing about "wallet" are you refering to the binary (darkcoin-qt), the data (folder .darkcoin) or both? In the last case if you moved both around you might be right with wallet.dat being overwritten.
 

darkwing

Active Member
Apr 8, 2014
149
110
103
If you are on mac and haven't done anything since overwriting you can undo... apple - Z

Seems a stupid thing to say and stating the obvious, but worth mentioning.
 

lostmybrain

New Member
Sep 23, 2014
17
14
3
Hey flare. I was moving the cold DRK wallet on my local machine, not on the server I had the masternode set up on. I had them on seperate machines.
 

Propulsion

The buck stops here.
Feb 26, 2014
1,008
467
183
Dash Address
XerHCGryyfZttUc6mnuRY3FNJzU1Jm9u5L
There's still hope. I would recommend to stop using the machine that the local wallet was on. Boot from a live cd/usb and run a couple wallet recovery tools on it.
 
  • Like
Reactions: MrZilch

lostmybrain

New Member
Sep 23, 2014
17
14
3
In case anyone else ever runs into this problem - I ran pywallet on my drive to look for any deleted private keys. That gave me a recovered wallet, which I then placed in my darkcoin app data folder. I ran darkcoin-qt using the -salvagewallet option, and it recovered my coins!
 

jpr

Active Member
May 11, 2014
493
393
133
This reminds me when I lost 200 LTC when it was at $4. Formatted the hdd. Then I thought - fuck it, I lost $800.
When the big pump happened and they were at $40 I was so pissed off and I started to search again for any backups. And I started to import every wallet.dat I had from ubuntuone cloud and found them! Immediately sold half of them. I was so happy I even didn't go to work that day when it happened hah.
 

stonehedge

Well-known Member
Foundation Member
Jul 31, 2014
696
333
233
Hey, congratulations. I had a panic moment a few weeks ago and even though I knew I had a backup I didn't relax until I could see my DRK back in QT.
 
  • Like
Reactions: fernando

fernando

Powered by Dash
Dash Core Team
Moderator
Foundation Member
May 9, 2014
1,528
2,061
283
Hey, congratulations. I had a panic moment a few weeks ago and even though I knew I had a backup I didn't relax until I could see my DRK back in QT.
I had it a couple months back when DRK was really high... It was a masternode wallet and I had to go for my second backup because the first one was mislabeled and was another wallet.

I love when this threads end well, really happy for you lostmybrain!
 

splawik21

Grizzled Member
Dash Core Team
Moderator
Foundation Member
Dash Support Group
Apr 8, 2014
1,918
1,273
1,283
lostmybrain happy for you mate, I`m doing the same right now ;) overwrote the wallet.dat with other wallet.dat, meantime I was looking through all the backups, recoverd the system etc I do not have much believe I can get mine. It is less than your 1020....anyway trying my best... thnx for the program....

edit: tried this program but all I get are bitcoin addresses and privkeys.... what am I doing wrong?
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Sub-Ether

Well-known Member
Mar 31, 2014
1,516
1,254
183
lostmybrain happy for you mate, I`m doing the same right now ;) overwrote the wallet.dat with other wallet.dat, meantime I was looking through all the backups, recoverd the system etc I do not have much believe I can get mine. It is less than your 1020....anyway trying my best... thnx for the program....

edit: tried this program but all I get are bitcoin addresses and privkeys.... what am I doing wrong?
Its a year old thread, splawik! Have you tried looking for specific deposit addresses in old wallet.dat's and using dumpprivkey and then importing the privkey into your current hot wallet?
 

splawik21

Grizzled Member
Dash Core Team
Moderator
Foundation Member
Dash Support Group
Apr 8, 2014
1,918
1,273
1,283
They do not exist in older version, the address` were created 1-3 days ago and the last wwallet backup I had was 2 weeks old.
Udjin said that if I haven`t change the password or got more than 1000 addresses inside this wallet they should have been there - they are not.

I have uset pywallet.py scrypt to get the privkeys from the wallet - specified the datadir and dumpwallet but there are different wallet versions as the script uses wallet version 60000, instead dash wallet was of 61000 version.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

crowning

Well-known Member
May 29, 2014
1,428
2,005
183
Alpha Centauri Bc
lostmybrain happy for you mate, I`m doing the same right now ;) overwrote the wallet.dat with other wallet.dat, meantime I was looking through all the backups, recoverd the system etc I do not have much believe I can get mine. It is less than your 1020....anyway trying my best... thnx for the program....

edit: tried this program but all I get are bitcoin addresses and privkeys.... what am I doing wrong?
Assuming you're using the current wallet version you DID have a look into the folder "backups" in the data directory of the wallet?
 

splawik21

Grizzled Member
Dash Core Team
Moderator
Foundation Member
Dash Support Group
Apr 8, 2014
1,918
1,273
1,283
crowning :) You know I did :) but I disabled the backups for security reasons - as you can see more secure would have been if I had at least createwalletbackups=1

Well, the is more road to pass for next node than I though. I`ve already felt the butterflies in my stomach.
 

moli

Grizzled Member
Aug 5, 2014
3,261
1,837
1,183
crowning :) You know I did :) but I disabled the backups for security reasons - as you can see more secure would have been if I had at least createwalletbackups=1

Well, the is more road to pass for next node than I though. I`ve already felt the butterflies in my stomach.
What security problems do we have with wallet backups? I think the automatic backup feature is very good if we do a lot of transactions so frequently and don't have time to backup the wallet all the time, no?

What do you mean "the is more road to pass for next node than I though"? I hope you can retrieve the coins... :/
 

splawik21

Grizzled Member
Dash Core Team
Moderator
Foundation Member
Dash Support Group
Apr 8, 2014
1,918
1,273
1,283
I`m doing the partition image and who know if in next years there will be some tools available to retriew the data.
moli, yes you`re right, I simply didn`t want storaged the wallet.dat on my PC even with different security programs on board.
Now I keep createwalletbackup=2 just in case....
 

noobtrader

Active Member
Mar 27, 2015
188
97
103
I`m doing the partition image and who know if in next years there will be some tools available to retriew the data.
moli, yes you`re right, I simply didn`t want storaged the wallet.dat on my PC even with different security programs on board.
Now I keep createwalletbackup=2 just in case....
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/DataRecovery
http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/linux-general-1/how-to-recover-overwritten-file-774712/

Hi,

splawik, i hope you can find the files. i once had "dd" accident and photorec/foremost (i forgot which) able to recover most of my files. perhaps you can try on the img files.

btw I use this to print paper wallet and keep it save because hdd died when you least expect it too.

https://dashtalk.org/threads/resolved-power-failure-again-dash-qt-problems.5527/#post-57956
 
Last edited by a moderator:
  • Like
Reactions: raganius

splawik21

Grizzled Member
Dash Core Team
Moderator
Foundation Member
Dash Support Group
Apr 8, 2014
1,918
1,273
1,283
thnx nooby ;) I did the partion image just in case but do not know if it is not too late already ....
Checked all my backuped wallets but without success...
Ehh life is 'brutal' and full of 'traps' ;) especially when you do not expect them...
 

Sub-Ether

Well-known Member
Mar 31, 2014
1,516
1,254
183
thnx nooby ;) I did the partion image just in case but do not know if it is not too late already ....
Checked all my backuped wallets but without success...
Ehh life is 'brutal' and full of 'traps' ;) especially when you do not expect them...
Sorry about that, only thing I can think is a v11 wallet exe version would somehow show the key thats not visible in a V12 wallet(I get a password error for a V11 wallet that will not upgrade, I had to import a priv key to v12 to get a small balance back) but thats a complete shot in the dark.
 

splawik21

Grizzled Member
Dash Core Team
Moderator
Foundation Member
Dash Support Group
Apr 8, 2014
1,918
1,273
1,283
I talked with the creators of pywallet :) their soft is compatible but he said that I need the wallet before overwriting to get the privkey so not good....
I dump the image of the partition where the datadir is and store it, meaby one day ..... who know :)
Getting to work now :)
 

scratchy

Member
Jun 24, 2014
204
84
88
I would suggest you to create a DD backup of the partion your wallet.dat was on.
After that mount it read-only on a loop-device.

Which filesystem were talking about? :)
 
  • Like
Reactions: MrZilch

splawik21

Grizzled Member
Dash Core Team
Moderator
Foundation Member
Dash Support Group
Apr 8, 2014
1,918
1,273
1,283
NTFS - scratchy Pmed you...