Welcome to the Dash Forum!

Please sign up to discuss the most innovative cryptocurrency!

Most of the masternodes down, Sentinel problem ? (Fix in thread)

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by qwizzie, Oct 26, 2017.

  1. qwizzie

    qwizzie Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,540
    Likes Received:
    725
    Trophy Points:
    183
    [​IMG]

    dashninja.pl :

    [​IMG]

    If you guys on Slack or other forums know more about this situation, please keep us in the loop.
     
    #1 qwizzie, Oct 26, 2017
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2017
  2. paraman

    paraman Active Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    103
    git pull in sentinel folder. no restart needed
     
  3. qwizzie

    qwizzie Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,540
    Likes Received:
    725
    Trophy Points:
    183
    thanks, for those that are wondering what this means :

    cd .dashcore
    cd sentinel
    git pull

    Link : https://www.dash.org/forum/threads/...nel-hotfix-action-required.17568/#post-143923

    No restart from cold wallet necessary !
    No restart of dashd necessary !

    quote from flare :

    quote from nmarley :

    quote from nmarley :

    [​IMG]


    Update : looks like there is a time window after all, masternode owners have 180 minutes to issue a git pull to fix sentinel manually.

    [​IMG]



    Dash Central gave a false warning in the end that my masternodes were disabled, while in fact they are working fine according dashninja.pl and according IP grep (shows ENABLED).
    I tried removing my masternodes and re-adding them in Dash Central, but they are now all stuck at status "checking".

    Shout-out to : @rango
     
    #3 qwizzie, Oct 26, 2017
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2017
  4. ericools

    ericools New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2017
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    For some reason sentinel wasn't executable anymore so I made it executable and tried to run it. I got "[error] missing dependencies" So I tried "venv/bin/pip install -r requirements.txt" and every line says "already satisfied".

    edit: I did ./sentinel for some reason. When I do ./venv/bin/python bin/sentinel.py I still get no output.
     
  5. strophy

    strophy Administrator
    Dash Core Team Dash Support Group Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2016
    Messages:
    700
    Likes Received:
    397
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Sentinel should not be executed, it must be interpreted in a virtual environment. If you run /venv/bin/python bin/sentinel.py and get no output, then everything is working perfectly and your masternode is alive, online and recognised by the network.
     
  6. ericools

    ericools New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2017
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Even if list full | grep returns WATCHDOG_EXPIRED?
     
  7. qwizzie

    qwizzie Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,540
    Likes Received:
    725
    Trophy Points:
    183
    Did you do a git pull for sentinel ? The git pull updates sentinel to 1.0.2
    and includes a hotfix for the watchdog expired issue.

    Also make sure you have the cronjob for sentinel running...
     
    #7 qwizzie, Nov 2, 2017
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2017