How to set up ec2 t1.micro Ubuntu for Masternode part 3/3

chaeplin

Active Member
Core Developer
Mar 29, 2014
749
356
133
* Use this guide only for EC2 instance with Security-Group
* Using this guide on non-EC2 instances is very dangerous ( Especially iptables )


* This guide is valid for RC3(local/remote setup)
* local is home linux cold wallet holding 1K DRK
* remote is server with empty wallet


I. Part 1/3 EC2 Setup
https://darkcointalk.org/threads/how-to-set-up-ec2-t1-micro-ubuntu-for-masternode-part-1-3.240/

II. Part 2/3 AMI Setup
https://darkcointalk.org/threads/how-to-set-up-ec2-t1-micro-ubuntu-for-masternode-part-2-3.241/
https://darkcointalk.org/threads/how-to-set-up-ec2-t1-micro-ubuntu-for-masternode-part-2-3-2.1754/

III. Part 3/3 Masternode update
https://darkcointalk.org/threads/how-to-set-up-ec2-t1-micro-ubuntu-for-masternode-part-3-3.262/


[Update dakcoind]


1. login ec2, check pwd and cd .darkcoin/
[email protected]:~$ pwd
/home/ubuntu
[email protected]:~$ cd ~/.darkcoin/
[email protected]:~/.darkcoin$ ls
blocks chainstate darkcoin.conf darkcoind darkcoind.pid database db.log debug.log peers.dat wallet.dat
[email protected]:~/.darkcoin$ ls -la /usr/bin/darkcoind
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 32 Apr 10 20:13 /usr/bin/darkcoind -> /home/ubuntu/.darkcoin/darkcoind
Code:
pwd
cd ~/.darkcoin/
pwd
ls -la
ls -la /usr/bin/darkcoind
2. download darkcoind
Visit https://www.darkcoin.io/getstarted.html
Download latest vesrion of Masternode(Currentely RC version)
Or visit https://github.com/darkcoinproject/darkcoin-binaries/tree/master/rc

cd ~/.darkcoin
wget https://github.com/darkcoinproject/darkcoin-binaries/raw/master/rc/darkcoin-0.10.11.6-linux.tar.gz
tar xfvz darkcoin-0.10.11.6-linux.tar.gz
cp darkcoin-0.10.11.6-linux/bin/64/darkcoind darkcoind.1
Code:
cd ~/.darkcoin
wget https://github.com/darkcoinproject/darkcoin-binaries/raw/master/rc/darkcoin-0.10.11.6-linux.tar.gz
tar xfvz darkcoin-0.10.11.6-linux.tar.gz
cp darkcoin-0.10.11.6-linux/bin/64/darkcoind darkcoind.1

3. check downloaded file and test it's ok
[email protected]:~/.darkcoin$ ls -la darkcoind.1
[email protected]:~/.darkcoin$ chmod 755 darkcoind.1
[email protected]:~/.darkcoin$ ./darkcoind.1 --help
DarkCoin version v0.10.3.4-18-g0f787e5-beta
Code:
ls -la  darkcoind.1
chmod 755 darkcoind.1
./darkcoind.1 --help

4. stop darkcoind
[email protected]:~/.darkcoin$ darkcoind stop
DarkCoin server stopping
Code:
darkcoind stop
5. replace
[email protected]:~/.darkcoin$ mv darkcoind darkcoind.old
[email protected]:~/.darkcoin$ mv darkcoind.1 darkcoind
Code:
mv darkcoind darkcoind.old
mv darkcoind.1 darkcoind
6. start darkcoind
[email protected]:~/.darkcoin$ darkcoind
[email protected]:~/.darkcoin$ DarkCoin server starting
Code:
darkcoind
7. check running
[email protected]:~/.darkcoin$ tail -f debug.log
Code:
darkcoind getbalance
darkcoind getinfo
tail -f debug.log
 
Last edited by a moderator:

zuperdoge

New Member
Apr 1, 2014
12
2
3
Thanks for putting this together! Your instructions were spot on. I'm struggling with sending the 1k DRK to the new wallet (says it is too much to send at once), but everything else is working flawlessly.
 
  • Like
Reactions: chaeplin

TanteStefana

Grizzled Member
Foundation Member
Mar 9, 2014
2,863
1,854
1,283
Thanks for putting this together! Your instructions were spot on. I'm struggling with sending the 1k DRK to the new wallet (says it is too much to send at once), but everything else is working flawlessly.
This is a really late reply, but in case someone else has this problem, it's probably only because you forgot to uncheck the darksend checkmark on the right side of the wallet. At this time, we can only send amounts under 10 coins :)
 

vertoe

Three of Nine
Mar 28, 2014
2,573
1,652
1,283
Unimatrix Zero One
I cant start my masternode at all.

Code:
$ ./darkcoind masternode start "$x"
error: {"code":-1,"message":"masternode list|count|current> passphrase\n"}
This always throws an error. Using latest code from github.
($x holds my password).
 
  • Like
Reactions: ozziecoin

TanteStefana

Grizzled Member
Foundation Member
Mar 9, 2014
2,863
1,854
1,283
You probably found out already, but there was an error and misunderstanding. The open source code just allows for payments to MasterNodes, and nothing more, no DarkSend functionality is included :)
 
  • Like
Reactions: vertoe

fernando

Powered by Dash
Dash Core Team
Moderator
Foundation Member
May 9, 2014
1,527
2,058
283
I'm done! Chaeplin, thanks for putting this together and for being supportive all the time. No way I could have done this on my own.

Although I believe everything is working fine now (the masternode count page has one in my location/isp that wasn't there before), is there a way to check the IP addresses of working masternodes to be sure that mine is there? EDIT: I just figured this out:

Code:
darkcoind masternode list
It returns a list of all working masternodes with IP address... and my baby is there!! :):):)
 
Last edited by a moderator:
  • Like
Reactions: DcoinZ
S

stint

Guest
Hi
I'm in the process of setting up an EC-2 masternode. Great tutorial by the way. So far I've got the instance up and running and can log into it from my OS/X command line in terminal. I'm giong to read over the security docs later.

Just one thing - I already set up an instance a couple of days ago, but when I logged into my EC2 account today it was gone. Is there some level of 'activation' below which instances are wiped after a certain amount of time or something ?

Thanks for any tips.
 

yidakee

Well-known Member
Foundation Member
Apr 16, 2014
1,812
1,168
283
Do not, I repeat, DO NOT use Mac OS terminal... I got crap loads of errors that didnt make sense, commands not flying etc, installed vm unbuntu and it went through like a dream. Somehting to do with unicode I think
About EC2, they are listed by region, maybe you're in the wrong region?
EDIT: just had a thought... maybe there is a "putty" for OSx?
 
Last edited by a moderator:

jcarl987

New Member
May 11, 2014
3
0
1
Do not, I repeat, DO NOT use Mac OS terminal... I got crap loads of errors that didnt make sense, commands not flying etc, installed vm unbuntu and it went through like a dream. Somehting to do with unicode I think
About EC2, they are listed by region, maybe you're in the wrong region?
EDIT: just had a thought... maybe there is a "putty" for OSx?
Strange, I had no problems at all using the standard terminal in OS X to set up my EC2 instance.
 

fernando

Powered by Dash
Dash Core Team
Moderator
Foundation Member
May 9, 2014
1,527
2,058
283
A reminder. When finishing, please clean up the terminal history to avoid leaving your password out there:

Code:
cd ~/
ln -sf /dev/null .bash_history
Then close session, login again and press up arrow to check that there is nothing there. There is another method to avoid your password getting into the console history in the fist place, but I couldn't make it work and this one is easy, so I haven't looked more into it.
 

TanteStefana

Grizzled Member
Foundation Member
Mar 9, 2014
2,863
1,854
1,283
nice thing about using a remote wallet, is that you don't have to enter your passphrase in the remote wallet. You do it all in the local wallet, and it's easy to keep control of that on your local machine :)
 

fernando

Powered by Dash
Dash Core Team
Moderator
Foundation Member
May 9, 2014
1,527
2,058
283
nice thing about using a remote wallet, is that you don't have to enter your passphrase in the remote wallet. You do it all in the local wallet, and it's easy to keep control of that on your local machine :)
I thought about going the remote wallet way, but I saw in a few places doubts about it working or not and I decided against. Eventually I'll do that anyway because it feels much better to have it in cold storage.
 

ozziecoin

Member
May 26, 2014
50
14
48
I cant start my masternode at all.

Code:
$ ./darkcoind masternode start "$x"
error: {"code":-1,"message":"masternode list|count|current> passphrase\n"}
This always throws an error. Using latest code from github.
($x holds my password).
Any replies to this?
 

chaeplin

Active Member
Core Developer
Mar 29, 2014
749
356
133

tungfa

Administrator
Dash Core Team
Moderator
Foundation Member
Masternode Owner/Operator
Apr 9, 2014
8,902
6,734
1,283
Hey Chaeplin
does this work now with RC3 coming ???
(cold wallet)
 

Bizmonger

New Member
Jun 2, 2014
28
4
3
@chaeplin
Can you add a section at the end of part 3 of the guide that lets a master node owner realize that here node is active and working?
Hence, I am not confident that my master node is configured correctly, running healthy, and is ready for the launch date.
 

Audio

New Member
Jun 19, 2014
8
2
3
Chaeplin, thanks for the guide.

Hi everyone, a quick question...
I've followed the instructions to update to 11.06.
I've wgetted 11.06, unzipped it & when i darkcoind --help it confirms that it's 11.06.
When I mv darkcoind.1 to darkcoind & start darkcoind, I am back to 11.05. I've done this twice now, what I am doing wrong ?
 
Last edited by a moderator:

flare

Administrator
Dash Core Team
Moderator
May 18, 2014
2,286
2,404
1,183
Germany
Chaeplin, thanks for the guide.

Hi everyone, a quick question...
I've followed the instructions to update to 11.06.
I've wgetted 11.06, unzipped it & when i darkcoind --help it confirms that it's 11.06.
When I mv darkcoind.1 to darkcoind & start darkcoind, I am back to 11.05. I've done this twice now, what I am doing wrong ?
try
./darkcoind --help
If this is working, there is another copy of this file in your path, which you can locate with
which darkcoind
Either delete that file, or update it :what:
 

Audio

New Member
Jun 19, 2014
8
2
3
try


If this is working, there is another copy of this file in your path, which you can locate with


Either delete that file, or update it :what:
Thanks so much, that worked ! If I run the darkcoind that is in my usr/bin, instead of in the directory with the conf file, would that cause the MN to not function correctly ? or would it not make a difference? thanks again :)
 

flare

Administrator
Dash Core Team
Moderator
May 18, 2014
2,286
2,404
1,183
Germany
Thanks so much, that worked ! If I run the darkcoind that is in my usr/bin, instead of in the directory with the conf file, would that cause the MN to not function correctly ? or would it not make a difference? thanks again :)
No differerence - regardless what darkcoind is started, by default it's using the darkcoin.conf in
Code:
~/.darkcoin/darkcoin.conf
if not specified otherwise.

10.11.6 contained no changes from 10.11.5 regarding MN functionality.
 

grex

New Member
Jun 2, 2014
22
6
3
I had to restart the local wallet as masternode as well, otherwise my mn wasn't listed. Maybe you should add this to the op.