Welcome to the Dash Forum!

Please sign up to discuss the most innovative cryptocurrency!

GUI tool for running Masternode with Trezor

Discussion in 'Projects' started by Bertrand256, Mar 20, 2017.

  1. Acedian

    Acedian Member
    Masternode Owner/Operator

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    88
    Dash Address:
    XrSKdu9aFahGwkYQHbTH6jBn6zoLnZmMp3
    I wish to move my masternode funds to a KeepKey. I have downloaded DMT 0.9.4.
    I use Windows 10 and use a hosting service instead of running my own VPS.

    Please could someone give me the noobs guide to starting a masternode from a KeepKey. Also, any security information I should be aware of.

    Thanks.
     
  2. Bertrand256

    Bertrand256 Member
    Masternode Owner/Operator

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2017
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Dash Address:
    XwZzf7yqYoUBnDFqE7r3zuNmpwKo1CYLMC
    @Acedian, a good start is to follow @tungfa's article: https://dashpay.atlassian.net/wiki/pages/viewpage.action?pageId=106885788
    As a hardware wallet he mentions Trezor, but for Keepkey all steps are identical - you only need to change one switch on the DMT main window, from "Trezor" to "Keepkey".

    In a week or so, I'll release a new DMT version, which will make some things a bit easier for newbies:
    - it will eliminate the need for time-consuming preparation of your own dash daemon with indexing enabled (sections 2-4 from @tungfa's doc)
    - finding the correct collateral transaction ID/Index will be included in the app (@tungfa's section 9, 10)

    If, anyway, you still have some problems with following for @tunfa's doc, feel free to ask.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Acedian

    Acedian Member
    Masternode Owner/Operator

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    88
    Dash Address:
    XrSKdu9aFahGwkYQHbTH6jBn6zoLnZmMp3
    Thanks for your reply and thank you for creating and maintaining this software. I will await the new release.
     
  4. Christian Böhm

    Christian Böhm New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hallo, ich bin ganz neu hier,
    Gibt es einen Schritt für Schritt Anleitung, wie ich das ganze für Windows installieren muss? Ich will nicht DASH verlieren, wenn ich etwas falsch mache
     
  5. flare

    flare Administrator
    Core Developer Moderator

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2,245
    Likes Received:
    2,400
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    Hallo Christian,

    Willkommen im Forum. @tungfa hat eine Anleitung erstellt, diese ist allerdings auf Englisch. Da ein Trezor verwendet wird ist es quasi unmöglich das Deine Dash verloren gehen - sofern Du die Passphrase Deines Trezor nicht verlierst. Ich möchte Dir empfehlen den Dash Nation Slack beizutreten, dort gibt es auch einen Deutschen Kanal und User die Dir sicher weiterhelfen werden.

    --> http://dash-nation-invite.herokuapp.com/

    Holger
     
    • Winner Winner x 1
  6. Christian Böhm

    Christian Böhm New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello Holger,

    Many heartfelt thanks, I will gladly make
     
  7. splawik21

    splawik21 Well-known Member
    Dash Core Group Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    1,989
    Likes Received:
    1,376
    Trophy Points:
    283
  8. tungfa

    tungfa Administrator
    Dash Core Group Foundation Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    7,717
    Likes Received:
    6,086
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
  9. Acedian

    Acedian Member
    Masternode Owner/Operator

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    88
    Dash Address:
    XrSKdu9aFahGwkYQHbTH6jBn6zoLnZmMp3
    When trying to use the latest version of this tool I get as far as "Configure Dash daemon connection in DMT"

    When I "Test Connection I get the error:
    Connect error. Details: [WinError 10061] No connection could be made because the target machine actively refused it.

    Any ideas?

    (following this guide: https://github.com/Bertrand256/dash-masternode-tool)
     
  10. Bertrand256

    Bertrand256 Member
    Masternode Owner/Operator

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2017
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Dash Address:
    XwZzf7yqYoUBnDFqE7r3zuNmpwKo1CYLMC
    It looks like you don't have RPC listening enabled in dash.conf file of your dash daemon or IP address of your PC is not allowed to communicate with it.

    What Dash daemon are you using: DashQT on your local machine or dahsd on remote server?
     
  11. Acedian

    Acedian Member
    Masternode Owner/Operator

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    88
    Dash Address:
    XrSKdu9aFahGwkYQHbTH6jBn6zoLnZmMp3
    Dash Qt on local machine. I added the config to the dash.conf and added the same RPC information into DMT.

    Dash Qt was running and fully sync'd when I tested connection.
     
  12. Bertrand256

    Bertrand256 Member
    Masternode Owner/Operator

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2017
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Dash Address:
    XwZzf7yqYoUBnDFqE7r3zuNmpwKo1CYLMC
    If your DashQT runs on the same PC as DMT and following params are set as below:
    - rpcbind=0.0.0.0
    - rpcport=9998
    - rpcallowip=127.0.0.1
    - server=1

    then within DMT you should choose "Dashd direct RPC" option and set following parameters:
    IP: 127.0.0.1
    Port: 9998

    Is that, what you have set?

    BTW. A new (easier for newbies) version of DMT, which I promised last time, is a bit delayed. I hope it will be ready till next Sunday.
     
  13. Acedian

    Acedian Member
    Masternode Owner/Operator

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    88
    Dash Address:
    XrSKdu9aFahGwkYQHbTH6jBn6zoLnZmMp3
    Yes, same PC.
    I didn't have the line rpcbind (not in guide) but I have closed everything, added it and tried again. Still same error.
     
  14. Bertrand256

    Bertrand256 Member
    Masternode Owner/Operator

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2017
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Dash Address:
    XwZzf7yqYoUBnDFqE7r3zuNmpwKo1CYLMC
    Make sure, that you are editing the same dash.conf file as DashQT is reading: from DashQT choose "Tools->Open wallet configuration file" menu item. The file opened in editor should have all the parameters you filled in.

    If the file is correct, the only thing that comes to my mind now is the antivirus/firewall program not allowing DashQT to listen on a certain TCP port.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. Acedian

    Acedian Member
    Masternode Owner/Operator

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    88
    Dash Address:
    XrSKdu9aFahGwkYQHbTH6jBn6zoLnZmMp3
    I had done this "Tools->Open wallet configuration file" and all looks fine.
    I tried just disabling my firewall to test it and I still got the same error. I only have windows defender, or whatever they call it theses days, so I doubt that is blocking it.
     
  16. Bertrand256

    Bertrand256 Member
    Masternode Owner/Operator

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2017
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Dash Address:
    XwZzf7yqYoUBnDFqE7r3zuNmpwKo1CYLMC
    I'll send you another suggestions with pm.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  17. Bertrand256

    Bertrand256 Member
    Masternode Owner/Operator

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2017
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Dash Address:
    XwZzf7yqYoUBnDFqE7r3zuNmpwKo1CYLMC
    New version (0.9.5) of DashMasternodeTool has been released with the following main improvements:
    • Fixed connectivity issues ("Sent request" error).
    • New RPC connectivity features.
    • Feature of finding coallteral transaction/index (Lookup button)
    As for networking, I've used a quite different approach in the area of connection between DMT and JSON-RPC daemons. In addition to the new feature of connection over SSL, now you can define more than one connection, so in case of problems with one RPC node, the app will automatically switch to another.
    Those, who don't like to or can't run his own JSON-RPC node, just to make some occasionally masternode management, can use "public" nodes, provided by me and @chaeplin.

    The new version of DMT automatically adds these three connection to its configuration when starting the first time:
    • test.stats.dash.org:8080 (@chaeplin's 3-nodes cluster)
    • alice.dash-dmt.eu:8080 (my first node)
    • luna.dash-dmt.eu:8080 (my second node)
    dmt-connections.png

    While creating these config entries, app makes the following assumptions:
    • if you had a "RPC over SSH" connection type in your old DMT version, the app assumes, that you would probably prefer to connect with your own SSH node, so newly added "public" entries are initially disabled
    • if you had a "direct RPC" connection before, the app assumes, that it was probably your local DashQT and that it would rather be more convenient to use "public" nodes, so it disables your old entry and enables new ones
    Regardless of whether these assumptions are correct or not, please revise your configuration after running the new version for the first time.

    From a clients' security perspective, it is worth to mention, that all (@chaeplin's and mine) nodes do not log any RPC commands flowing through them. Solution is based on NGINX server and LUA script, available on @chaeplin;s Github account: https://github.com/chaeplin/dash-ticker/blob/master/web/nginx/dash-jsonrpc-access.lua

    I will not encourage or discourage from using these new RPC connectivity options. The only reason I made that effort, was to help not tech-savvy people.

    If you delete the default "public" nodes configuration but then you'll want to restore it, here is connection string, which you can paste into "Connections" area of the "Configuration" window:

    [
    {
    "port": "8080",
    "use_ssh_tunnel": false,
    "password": "674141414141425a4565533367775a4838415369696478365958416e6d6d646d6c614f7435346b7272352d5879767a366b727076464d344e5162385244356d6856784257686d494d6c426d4d514d526146753948665a314457652d6257564c336d673d3d",
    "username": "dmtuser",
    "host": "alice.dash-dmt.eu",
    "use_ssl": true
    },
    {
    "port": "8080",
    "use_ssh_tunnel": false,
    "password": "674141414141425a456553334c7044464b525f76736b37763648697a414b796d4f4f647a313764624f386e446b4132475867795648506945355235306c75626457674a452d7950334a3071657253727961423038787763624932327278657a6c33673d3d",
    "username": "dmtuser",
    "host": "luna.dash-dmt.eu",
    "use_ssl": true
    },
    {
    "port": "8080",
    "use_ssh_tunnel": false,
    "password": "674141414141425a45655333324d527145616241526e6442552d5658685f4a334373657579766d6f4962433843463579744e5f436a72595a4a6c686e5841725f3267417951596f344f41717752764c6a6e37436a763672643650644f68446d7963413d3d",
    "username": "dashmnb",
    "host": "test.stats.dash.org",
    "use_ssl": true
    }
    ]

    Passwords are encoded, but not secret (you can see them from the app), but I prefer not to place them on the web as plain-text.

    Unfortunately, I am not able to thoroughly test the application on three major operating systems, so if you find a bug, please report it via the Github project page: https://github.com/Bertrand256/dash-masternode-tool/issues

    Config file is located in the following folder:
    Windows: C:\Users\<UserName>\DashMasternodeTool\config.ini
    Mac: /Users/<UserName>/DashMasternodeTool/config.ini
    Linux: /home/<UserName>/DashMasternodeTool/config.ini

    Before saving configuration, applications copies old config.ini to the "backup" subdirectory, appending date/time string to its name.

    And finally, I'm sorry for all my spelling errors.

    Binaries
    Github:
    https://github.com/Bertrand256/dash.../v0.9.5/DashMasternodeTool_0.9.5.linux.tar.gz
    https://github.com/Bertrand256/dash...nload/v0.9.5/DashMasternodeTool_0.9.5.mac.zip
    https://github.com/Bertrand256/dash...oad/v0.9.5/DashMasternodeTool_0.9.5.win32.zip
    https://github.com/Bertrand256/dash...oad/v0.9.5/DashMasternodeTool_0.9.5.win64.zip

    Keybase:
    https://keybase.pub/bertrand256/das...s/0.9.5/DashMasternodeTool_0.9.5.linux.tar.gz
    https://keybase.pub/bertrand256/das...tables/0.9.5/DashMasternodeTool_0.9.5.mac.zip
    https://keybase.pub/bertrand256/das...bles/0.9.5/DashMasternodeTool_0.9.5.win32.zip
    https://keybase.pub/bertrand256/das...bles/0.9.5/DashMasternodeTool_0.9.5.win64.zip
     
    • Like Like x 5
    • Winner Winner x 5
  18. Acedian

    Acedian Member
    Masternode Owner/Operator

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    88
    Dash Address:
    XrSKdu9aFahGwkYQHbTH6jBn6zoLnZmMp3
    I have used your latest version and it was very easy to use. Thanks @Bertrand256
    Do you have a proposal for this project? If not, I for one would vote to pay you for your time and effort and cover ongoing costs, however small.
     
  19. Bertrand256

    Bertrand256 Member
    Masternode Owner/Operator

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2017
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Dash Address:
    XwZzf7yqYoUBnDFqE7r3zuNmpwKo1CYLMC
    @Acedian, I planned this application as a nonprofit project, but if at some point I find that there is a growing discrepancy between what I'm planning to do and what I can do after hours, I will consider submitting a proposal. So thank you in advance for your vote :)
     
    • Like Like x 3
  20. agulab

    agulab New Member
    Masternode Owner/Operator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I used version 0.9.5 just yesterday to start my Masternode from my KeepKey and everything worked perfectly. I sent you a little gift to the dash address on your profile. Thank you and keep up the excellent work!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  21. Acedian

    Acedian Member
    Masternode Owner/Operator

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    88
    Dash Address:
    XrSKdu9aFahGwkYQHbTH6jBn6zoLnZmMp3
    Y U NO BADGE
     
  22. tungfa

    tungfa Administrator
    Dash Core Group Foundation Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    7,717
    Likes Received:
    6,086
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    guides updated - waiting for a pro to double check me :rolleyes:
    (new version - easy as pie)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  23. Bertrand256

    Bertrand256 Member
    Masternode Owner/Operator

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2017
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Dash Address:
    XwZzf7yqYoUBnDFqE7r3zuNmpwKo1CYLMC
  24. UdjinM6

    UdjinM6 Official Dash Dev
    Core Developer Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,299
    Likes Received:
    3,271
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    @Bertrand256 I noticed that if you try to setup the app to use SSH tunnel it will then ask you for a password. But I don't use passwords for SSH, I use RSA keys. Is there a way to skip SSH password dialog? If not, can you can add an option/checkbox "use SSH keys" (in configuration dialog?) pls?
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  25. agulab

    agulab New Member
    Masternode Owner/Operator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I BADGE NOW :D
     
    • Like Like x 2
  26. Bertrand256

    Bertrand256 Member
    Masternode Owner/Operator

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2017
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Dash Address:
    XwZzf7yqYoUBnDFqE7r3zuNmpwKo1CYLMC
    @UdjinM6, SSH session setup with RSA keys is scheduled for the next release, which I hope will be ready in about a week or so.
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Winner Winner x 1
  27. agulab

    agulab New Member
    Masternode Owner/Operator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I tried to extract earnings using "Transfer funds from current masternode address..." tool and everything worked fine until the last step: I had already signed the transaction with my KeepKey and the GUI asked if it should broadcast it, I clicked Yes and this message appeared:

    -26: 16: bad-txns-premature-spend-of-coinbase

    I checked and the payment I received has 78 confirmations, so I guess premature spend of coins is not the problem. If you could lend me a hand, @Bertrand256, I'd appreciate it.
     
  28. Acedian

    Acedian Member
    Masternode Owner/Operator

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    88
    Dash Address:
    XrSKdu9aFahGwkYQHbTH6jBn6zoLnZmMp3
    you need 101 confirmations for the new dash to "mature"
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  29. agulab

    agulab New Member
    Masternode Owner/Operator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Oops, sorry, I didn't know that :p

    Thanks @Acedian !
     
  30. Acedian

    Acedian Member
    Masternode Owner/Operator

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    88
    Dash Address:
    XrSKdu9aFahGwkYQHbTH6jBn6zoLnZmMp3
    4 and 1/4 hours from getting paid and you should be about at 101. What you are trying to do work for me. The tool makes it even easier than using the Dashcore Wallet.
     

Share This Page