Welcome to the Dash Forum!

Please sign up to discuss the most innovative cryptocurrency!

Electrum Wallet Guides

Discussion in 'Electrum Wallet Guides' started by tungfa, May 2, 2016.

  1. tungfa

    tungfa Administrator
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member Masternode Owner/Operator Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    8,945
    Likes Received:
    6,731
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    [​IMG]

    Dash Electrum (downloadable at https://www.dash.org/wallets) focuses on speed, low resource usage and simple usage of Dash. Startup times are instant because it operates in conjunction with high-performance servers that handle the most complicated parts of the Dash system.

    Dash Electrum is a lightweight Wallet, you do NOT need to download or sync the blockchain (so the wallet is lighter and faster), but it is missing certain Dash features, including:
    • PrivateSend
    • InstantSend
    • Voting
    For simple tasks however, it is much easier, faster and lighter to handle.
     
    #1 tungfa, May 2, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: May 4, 2018
  2. kingcolex

    kingcolex Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2015
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Is there a pi version of electrums Dash as it seems Windows is struggling with the trezor plugin with electrums.
     
  3. tungfa

    tungfa Administrator
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member Masternode Owner/Operator Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    8,945
    Likes Received:
    6,731
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    sorry no pi version as far as I know

    they are working on the Windows fix !
     
  4. Seymour Locksmiths

    Seymour Locksmiths New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Which is the oldest version of Mac that the electrum client is compatible with?

    We use a fairly dated system
     
  5. Amazing

    Amazing New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I think I already know the answer from connected electrum dash 2.4.1 to my trezor, but in addition to the things you say it is missing from QT darksend mixing is not included. Or is this what you refer to as 'privacy protect'?
     
  6. tungfa

    tungfa Administrator
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member Masternode Owner/Operator Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    8,945
    Likes Received:
    6,731
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    correct
     
  7. Reuben

    Reuben New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2017
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    3
    So I'm taking it that Electrum is not the wallet for a DASH user?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. tungfa

    tungfa Administrator
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member Masternode Owner/Operator Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    8,945
    Likes Received:
    6,731
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    depends what u are trying to do !

    after 12.1 a bunch of problems should be sorted
    + there will be an initative to get the rest (of problems) back on track in the next month (or two)
     
  9. Reuben

    Reuben New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2017
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    3
     
  10. Reuben

    Reuben New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2017
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Well what i would like to do is.....
    I have an android phone, i am able to use Wesellcrypto and purchase DASH which is placed into my DASH wallet on my mobile android device. Before i purchase a larger position in DASH, i need to figure out how to store it on a secure hardware wallet like a Trezor.
    Perhaps i need to buy a new laptop? Lately, my devices are an android mobile and an ipad.
     
  11. tungfa

    tungfa Administrator
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member Masternode Owner/Operator Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    8,945
    Likes Received:
    6,731
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    i saw your other post regarding mycelium with android wallet

    mycelium integration for dash is a bit on hold as mycelium is sorting out their internal architecture - this can take a while - nothing we can push unfortunately

    i would definately suggest a labtop !
     
  12. Reuben

    Reuben New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2017
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Hi Tungfa, ok so I now have a laptop. My Trezor wallet is loaded on the laptop. Do you or anybody else know how I get my DASH from my DASH mobile wallet on my phone to my Trezor? I need to send DASH from my mobile wallet to the Trezor, but how?
     
  13. tungfa

    tungfa Administrator
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member Masternode Owner/Operator Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    8,945
    Likes Received:
    6,731
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
  14. flare

    flare Administrator
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2,306
    Likes Received:
    2,436
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    • Like Like x 2
  15. Reuben

    Reuben New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2017
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Thank you Flare. I am almost there but I still have an issue.
    When I set up the Trezor, I used the mytrezor.com address. Fair enough, it seems to be set up and ready to accept Bitcoin.

    After reading your post, I tried to change the backend on the mytrezor.com That obviously did not present me the option of switching to DASH. Next, I went to beta-wallet.trezor.io site

    Indeed, this site shows that I may convert the trezor backend to DASH. I performed this simple task, but then hit the blue tab that says Save Reload on the beta-wallet. Now the wallet just sits there trying to load the wallet. Loading and Loading.......
     
  16. Reuben

    Reuben New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2017
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Is there a chance that I needed to have set up this Trezor in the
    beta-wallet.trezor.io in order for it to accept DASH?

    ie once it was set up on mytrezor.com that's it? It will only function in Bitcoin?
     
  17. Reuben

    Reuben New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2017
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Well, it took quite a bit of time, and I reloaded the Trezor multiple times onto the laptop, but it finally worked! I made a small transfer to confirm it works! Walla! The transfer was a success!
    So now I have been able to purchase DASH direct from Wesellcrypto and send it to my QTDASH wallet on my mobile, I have also purchased BTC from coinbase and converted to DASH on Poloniex then sent the DASH to the mobile DASH wallet. Now I have successfully sent DASH from my mobile wallet to Trezor! Thus, it is totally possible for a person with minimal computing skills to figure this out with the help of this website. Cheers and thank you for the help guys. This forum does work for us dorks!

    PS I also made my first purchase using DASH from Brave New Books!
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1
  18. Reuben

    Reuben New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2017
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Flare, What was amazing to me was that I did not need mycelium, electrum, or any other 3rd party wallet to send DASH to the Trezor. You can go from the DASH QTwallet directly to Trezor cold wallet in one step. I'm excited to learn about this because I hadn't read or watched any videos showing this option or possibility. Thanks again Flare
     
  19. flare

    flare Administrator
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2,306
    Likes Received:
    2,436
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    If this gets you excited already wait until 12.1 is out - then you can put all your Dash on your Trezor and launch your masternodes from it (using a Python script provided by @chaeplin )
     
  20. camosoul

    camosoul Grizzled Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,240
    Likes Received:
    1,124
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    Any docs on this now that 12.1 is alive?
     
  21. flare

    flare Administrator
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2,306
    Likes Received:
    2,436
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    Sorry, no - had to focus on 12.1 the last weeks. We'll follow up on that one next week.
     
  22. camosoul

    camosoul Grizzled Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,240
    Likes Received:
    1,124
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    Well crap. I just wiped and set my Trezor up for realz and moved all my DASH over. Definitely bigger fish to fry, understood.

    Will this be built into electrum-dash? Or still planning to do this with a python script? Or something else entirely?
     
  23. halso

    halso Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2016
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    236
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Can you still interact with sentinel if your MNs are on a Trezor?
     
  24. flare

    flare Administrator
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2,306
    Likes Received:
    2,436
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    Both options will be available i think, Python script already works very good --> https://github.com/chaeplin/dashmnb

    The script is even capable to harvest the rewards from the nodes without breaking it (coin control)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  25. camosoul

    camosoul Grizzled Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,240
    Likes Received:
    1,124
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    I was just going to ask that...

    Will the coin control features in the script be added to electrum-dash?

    When will electrum-dash query DAPI/MNs for data instead of centralized servers?

    Have to figure out how to force 16.04 to upgrade python above 2.7....
    Code:
    [email protected]:~$ sudo apt-get install python3
    [sudo] password for anon:
    Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree     
    Reading state information... Done
    python3 is already the newest version (3.5.1-3).
    0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 121 not upgraded.
    [email protected]:~$ python --version
    Python 2.7.12
    [email protected]:~$ 
    Derp...
     
    #25 camosoul, Feb 6, 2017
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2017
    • Like Like x 1
  26. camosoul

    camosoul Grizzled Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,240
    Likes Received:
    1,124
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    • Like Like x 2
    • Winner Winner x 1
  27. camosoul

    camosoul Grizzled Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,240
    Likes Received:
    1,124
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    I got it to work, listed a bunch of addresses... Not sure how to make it do anything else yet... Seems to list more addresses than it should. The rest of the documentation on the git page leaves me hanging...
     
    #27 camosoul, Feb 6, 2017
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2017
  28. chaeplin

    chaeplin Active Member
    Core Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Messages:
    749
    Likes Received:
    356
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Updated, Thank you.

    change no of max_gab. default is 20.
    Code:
    # config.py
    max_gab = 20     # number of keys used on mn config
     
    • Like Like x 3
  29. studioz

    studioz Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    464
    Trophy Points:
    163
    thx Chaeplin , this tool works on Win10 with Core12.1 ?
     
  30. camosoul

    camosoul Grizzled Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,240
    Likes Received:
    1,124
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    From this point on, I'm kinda lost...
    Ah, so it's just a static number off the bip32 chain.

    I'll see if I can figure out how to broadcast an MN start later, too tired now... Is it just checking the log for a true closed-loop MN activation notification? I really don't want to set up my ssh with keys...

    I really hope a "start masternode" button gets added to electrum-dash... If IIRC, wasn't there an earlier version that had this, and it was removed because the protocal wasn't sorted or even certain to be included?

    As cool as this script is, it's a real pain in the ass... The numberpad thing was like woah... I'm not knocking the work. I like doing things in console, and it's definitely a clever tool. But, reality is that most people are not going to do this. It's got 5x more dependencies and pre-requisites than the official client! Not to mention the versioning mess that Python has created. Gentoo is used to upstream derpage and has a visible way to wrangle it as the user desires... Not so visible or convenient in in Debian derivatives. Sure, it slotted, but I still facepalm...

    P.S., @moocowmoo the forum edit button doesn't update stored variable content anymore... It's a real pain. Repeated edits require a refresh or the previous edit is lost.
     
    #30 camosoul, Feb 6, 2017
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2017
    • Like Like x 1