Welcome to the Dash Forum!

Please sign up to discuss the most innovative cryptocurrency!

Dash hot wallet and General Bytes ATM

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by thesavoyard, Nov 3, 2017.

  1. thesavoyard

    thesavoyard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2017
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Dash Address:
    Xp8WZRv9Papo21ySQE8ghtQDUxN6qoKzS6
    Hello, I'm trying to get ready to deploy my ATMs. Unfortunately, Dash is still not supported on 2-way operations. It can't even be purchased directly from an exchange. I need to set up a hot wallet to sell Dash from. Despite all the fanfare when GB launched Dash, it still isn't well supported. Are there any ATM operators on here that know of a supported wallet?

    They provide a list of supported hot wallets, and it doesn't look like any of these support Dash. Here's the list of hot wallets they support.

    Block.io Yes
    Uphold.com Yes
    Coinbase.com Yes
    Bitcoind/Bitcoin Core Yes
    Litecoind Yes
    Dogecoind Yes
    Bitcore Yes
    Coin.cz Yes
     
    #1 thesavoyard, Nov 3, 2017
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2017
  2. generalbytes

    generalbytes New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Preliminary vending of Dash via the ATM has been supported since 2017-02. The current setup requires a dash core wallet to communicate to. A proposal has been passed to add two-way support, instantsend and add Dash to the point of sale terminals. This will also support direct buy / sell to / from exchange functionality. For support related issues it is best to send your questions to [email protected]. Once received, Tomas or Martin will assign a ticket number so no support cases are left unanswered. We are unable to monitor FB, Twitter, Dash forum for support related issues (at this time)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. thesavoyard

    thesavoyard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2017
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Dash Address:
    Xp8WZRv9Papo21ySQE8ghtQDUxN6qoKzS6
    Thank you for the reply, Sorry about the little frustration vent there; I removed it. I'm happy to hear about the Dash support. Any chance of linking an exchange like Bitpanda that supports Dash to Euros?
     
  4. bluebit

    bluebit Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    194
    Trophy Points:
    103
    How many ATM's are you deploying, when, and where? I'm currently making a map for all Dash ATM's, would love to add yours once deployed.
     
  5. thesavoyard

    thesavoyard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2017
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Dash Address:
    Xp8WZRv9Papo21ySQE8ghtQDUxN6qoKzS6
    We have three ATMs on the calendar in the next few months. We are past due to deploy (we're paying the lease already) but we're waiting for the machines to arrive. There were some delays due to the Dutch customs office not activating our VAT number in a timely manner. A week of phone calls worked it out.

    The first two ATMs have been ordered and will be in Amstelveen at the Stadshart shopping center. The second is Almere and it's in the City Center shopping, in the Food Passage area next to the supermarkets, cheese store, fish store, wine store, and beer store. We expect to have them up and running by next week. The third, we have a deal with the Stadshart shopping center in Zoetermeer, near Den Haag. We do not have an exact date for that, we need to iron out the bugs on the first two. We expect between mid-December and February. We also have plans for at least two more in the Netherlands, but we haven't started the negotiations for the placement yet.
     
  6. bluebit

    bluebit Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    194
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Awesome, keep us updated.
     
  7. Rodrigo Fernandez

    Rodrigo Fernandez New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Dash Address:
    XhaUJfb7kpmTpUXX5dzqPJiFU6xNDvZRKY
    We just purchased a General Bytes BATM2 and would like to configure the dashd wallet to sell DASH from it.
    The problem we have now is that there are no instructions on how to go about configuring the General Bytes server program to sell DASH.
    Has anybody in this forum have any experience in configuring the GB software for DASH?
    The system runs on Ubuntu 16 with no GUI
    Any ideas or links to some instructions would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks
     
  8. generalbytes

    generalbytes New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Please have a look at our youtube channel: www.youtube.com/c/generalbytes/videos it will explain you how to unbox, install and configure your ATM for several cryptocurrenies. If you have problems configuring, please contact [email protected] I hope you will understand that due to technical limitations we are unable to monitor twitter / facebook chat / bitcointalk and dash forum for support calls.
     
  9. thesavoyard

    thesavoyard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2017
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Dash Address:
    Xp8WZRv9Papo21ySQE8ghtQDUxN6qoKzS6
    I haven't gotten to adding Dash yet since there is no real guide. I've been working for 3 weeks straight trying to get these machines operational. I will start on the Dash wallet tomorrow and keep you updated if I figure it out.
     
  10. Rodrigo Fernandez

    Rodrigo Fernandez New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Dash Address:
    XhaUJfb7kpmTpUXX5dzqPJiFU6xNDvZRKY
    thesavoyard & generalbytes,

    Thanks for your answers.

    I will take a look at the videos mentioned.

    I have been told by General Bytes support staff that I need to configure the parameters in this manner:
    Code:
    protocol:user:password:host:port:accountname
    But I'm clueless on what the correct values for these variables should be.... Any ideas, or a real example could help me understand these fields ;)

    Thanks and regards,

    Rodrigo
     
  11. thesavoyard

    thesavoyard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2017
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Dash Address:
    Xp8WZRv9Papo21ySQE8ghtQDUxN6qoKzS6
    Yeah, it really isn't clear. There is no video guide on setting it up, ignore the canned response above. There's only how to buy Dash. I'm trying to figure it out now, can anyone from that code? How do we get a protocol, user, password, host, port and account name from a core wallet?

    Seems to me GB has made a show of supporting Dash but not enough effort. Good thing we have another manufacturer on the way... More to come.
     
  12. Miner237

    Miner237 Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2014
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    214
    Trophy Points:
    213
    This is a good point they didn't make it extremely apparent, mainly I think the majority of their customers don't care about DASH and use the hosted solution so this is not required of most of the user base but some of us trying to get this working on our own. I will break it down for you here.

    protocol:rpcusername:rpcpassword:127.0.0.1:9998:AccountName

    protocol refers to the rpc protocol which is using http
    rpcusername is the rpcusername in the dash.conf file
    rpcpassword is the rpcpassword in the dash.conf file
    127.0.0.1 is the internal loop back so the command is applied to the CAS server itself
    9998 is the default port for rpc protocol
    AccountName can be a DASH address or account name using dash-cli command getnewaddress

    So an example would be ie http:Radmin:myextrastr0ngpassw0rd:127.0.0.1:9998:Xbon36F261wXDL4p1CEZAX28t8U4ayR9uu

    I hope this helps you and others understand what CryptoDiggers used to build this code for General Bytes to support DASH, if you can't get it setup from this I am sure we could arrange a skype call or something
     
  13. thesavoyard

    thesavoyard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2017
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Dash Address:
    Xp8WZRv9Papo21ySQE8ghtQDUxN6qoKzS6
    Thank you Miner, you're a big help as always.
     
  14. thesavoyard

    thesavoyard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2017
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Dash Address:
    Xp8WZRv9Papo21ySQE8ghtQDUxN6qoKzS6
    So hard to get verified on Kraken, almost as hard as installing the Dashd wallet on Linux ;)

    The site is dysfunctional, tier 3 just doesn't load.
     
  15. thesavoyard

    thesavoyard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2017
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Dash Address:
    Xp8WZRv9Papo21ySQE8ghtQDUxN6qoKzS6
    Does anyone know how to get a Kraken withdrawal key? I have the API key and the private key but there is no withdrawal key.
     
  16. Syntheist

    Syntheist Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2017
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    127
    Trophy Points:
    93
    The whole of kraken is completely dysfunctional at the moment, they posted that there will be an upgrade within a week, so perhaps it will become functional again.

    https://blog.kraken.com/post/1399/degraded-service-upgrade-next-week/
     
  17. Rodrigo Fernandez

    Rodrigo Fernandez New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Dash Address:
    XhaUJfb7kpmTpUXX5dzqPJiFU6xNDvZRKY
    No luck :(
    I tried the above string with our own parameters and it keeps on returning:

    Is there anything else that needs to be done?
    Dash wallet is running on server just fine

    Thanks and regards,
     
  18. thesavoyard

    thesavoyard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2017
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Dash Address:
    Xp8WZRv9Papo21ySQE8ghtQDUxN6qoKzS6
    So does the wallet have to be unlocked? I'm assuming yes for the API to work.

    Also, when setting the rpc user and pass in the config file, I assume I remove the #?

    # You must set rpcuser and rpcpassword to secure the JSON-RPC api
    #rpcuser=Ulysseys
    #rpcpassword=YourSuperGreatPasswordNumber_DO_NOT_USE_THIS_OR_YOU_WILL_GET_ROBBED_385593
     
    #18 thesavoyard, Dec 28, 2017
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2017
  19. thesavoyard

    thesavoyard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2017
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Dash Address:
    Xp8WZRv9Papo21ySQE8ghtQDUxN6qoKzS6
    Yeah, I tried with and without the # symbol. Nothing is working. The wallet is unlocked.

    [​IMG]
     
  20. Miner237

    Miner237 Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2014
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    214
    Trophy Points:
    213
    maybe you can paste your string here but obfuscate or change the rpc user and password afterwards...? there are no # in my example so don't add that anywhere... also hot wallet should not be locked or encrypted in linux backend server also hot wallet needs to be in the same server as the CAS that you run, not the GeneralBytes hosted CAS solution.
     
    #20 Miner237, Dec 28, 2017
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2017
  21. thesavoyard

    thesavoyard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2017
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Dash Address:
    Xp8WZRv9Papo21ySQE8ghtQDUxN6qoKzS6
    Hello Miner, thanks for the reply. I obfuscate it, but syntax should be the same.

    This is the string:
    http:username:areallylongpassword:127.0.0.1:9998: Dash Address

    Dash Address is the literal name of my withdraw address on Kraken, at first, I used the actual public address but on GB videos for Kraken, they used the name. Could the space be a problem?

    In the Dash.conf file I have this:

    rpcuser=username
    rpcpassword=areallylongpassword
     
  22. Rodrigo Fernandez

    Rodrigo Fernandez New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Dash Address:
    XhaUJfb7kpmTpUXX5dzqPJiFU6xNDvZRKY
    Hello Miner237,

    I will try with wallet unlocked
    Thanks
     
  23. thesavoyard

    thesavoyard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2017
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Dash Address:
    Xp8WZRv9Papo21ySQE8ghtQDUxN6qoKzS6
    My wallet is encrypted but unlocked. I can't find a way to permanently decrypt it, is it necessary?
     
  24. Rodrigo Fernandez

    Rodrigo Fernandez New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Dash Address:
    XhaUJfb7kpmTpUXX5dzqPJiFU6xNDvZRKY
    No go :(
    With wallet unlock and not encrypted, I still get :
    batm_dash_error.JPG

    This is the string I'm feeding the GB system (with obfuscated user and pass):


    Any ideas what is happening?

    Thanks,
     
  25. Miner237

    Miner237 Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2014
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    214
    Trophy Points:
    213

    try this command on hot wallet

    dash-cli getnewaddress testaccount then use that account name in the string

    http:myrpcusername:myrpcpassword:127.0.0.1:9998:testaccount
     
    • Like Like x 1
  26. Miner237

    Miner237 Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2014
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    214
    Trophy Points:
    213
    the space could through it off, the reference is referring to the account name of the hot wallet using dash-cli getnewaddress, hope that helps
     
    • Like Like x 1
  27. Miner237

    Miner237 Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2014
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    214
    Trophy Points:
    213
    in dash.conf you may need to all allowrpc=127.0.0.1
    Also make sure firewall isn't blocking port 9998 somehow internally.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  28. Rodrigo Fernandez

    Rodrigo Fernandez New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Dash Address:
    XhaUJfb7kpmTpUXX5dzqPJiFU6xNDvZRKY
    Yes!
    did the trick.
    The secret is to use the address alias instead of address itself.
    Capture.JPG

    Thanks Miner237 for all your help!
     
  29. thesavoyard

    thesavoyard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2017
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Dash Address:
    Xp8WZRv9Papo21ySQE8ghtQDUxN6qoKzS6
    When I put that command in the console debug I get an error. I can do the getnewaddress testaccount but not the dash-cli.

    Still failing for me.
     
  30. thesavoyard

    thesavoyard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2017
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Dash Address:
    Xp8WZRv9Papo21ySQE8ghtQDUxN6qoKzS6
    dash-cli commands give me an error:

    15:12:16

    Method not found (code -32601)
     

Share This Page