Android Wallet for Dash Beta Testing [closed]

HashEngineering

Active Member
May 3, 2014
319
374
133
hashengineeringsolutions.com
Before I release the New Version of the Android App on Google Play and sort of "force" 1600 users to upgrade, I would like to get feedback on how it works and looks.

https://github.com/HashEngineering/darkcoin-wallet/releases/tag/v4.18r3

Let me know your feedback. If it's positive, then I will update Google Play.

Changes include:
Dash Rebranding
InstantX support (sending only). Can't yet spend received InstantX transactions until 6 confirms.
Donation feature will be removed.

If you care to participate, let me know about these items:
1. Icon and color scheme
2. Can you send coins?
3. Can you receive coins?
4. Can you sweep a paper wallet?
5. Can you send with InstantX?
6. Can you see the value of your Dash in local currency?
7. Can you upgrade from a previous version of Darkcoin Wallet.

Receiving InstantX transactions may still be problematic. They can be received, but not spent until 6 confirms.

Good Luck. Use the software at your own risk using a minimal amount of DASH. Backup your wallet/keys before installing this or install it on a device that doesn't have the Darkcoin Wallet for android.

Once we get enough feedback and fix the bugs, we will update Google Play.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

tungfa

Administrator
Dash Core Team
Moderator
Foundation Member
Masternode Owner/Operator
Apr 9, 2014
8,906
6,729
1,283
Before I release the New Version of the Android App on Google Play and sort of "force" 1600 users to upgrade, I would like to get feedback on how it works and looks.

https://play.google.com/apps/testing/hashengineering.darkcoin.wallet (not working yet).
https://github.com/HashEngineering/darkcoin-wallet/releases/tag/v4.0-beta2

Changes include:
Dash Rebranding
InstantX support (sending only). Can't yet spend received InstantX transactions until 6 confirms.
Donation feature will be removed.

If you care to participate, let me know about these items:
1. Icon and color scheme
2. Can you send coins?
3. Can you receive coins?
4. Can you sweep a paper wallet?
5. Can you send with InstantX?
6. Can you see the value of your Dash in local currency?
7. Can you upgrade from a previous version of Darkcoin Wallet.

Receiving InstantX transactions may still be problematic. They can be received, but not spent until 6 confirms.

Good Luck. Use the software at your own risk using a minimal amount of DASH. Backup your wallet/keys before installing this or install it on a device that doesn't have the Darkcoin Wallet for android.

Once we get enough feedback and fix the bugs, we will update Google Play.
Nice and good thinking
i posted this to some Android pieps
 

BolehVPN

Active Member
Nov 24, 2014
195
306
123
Great work love it.

Tried a send/receive and IX
All work.

When requesting Dash, the Copy function doesn't seem to work though however the share functions work.

Also what does the Disconnect button do?
 

noobtrader

Active Member
Mar 27, 2015
188
97
103
it would be awesome if Dash android wallet can do mining too. if its not for the sake of the network, its for newbie to grab their first dash.
 

Sub-Ether

Well-known Member
Mar 31, 2014
1,516
1,254
183
Can anyone help me and explain how to import the wallet backup key from android to the PC ? thanks ..
 

Sub-Ether

Well-known Member
Mar 31, 2014
1,516
1,254
183
A guy in my chat tested it out as well (as I have no android) and he said the same + smoother running than the 1st version
I am surprised how little data usage it has used or requires as I'm on a low rate and its hunky dory.
 

HowlingMad

Member
Jul 12, 2014
100
23
68
I am surprised how little data usage it has used or requires as I'm on a low rate and its hunky dory.
Sub-Ether thanks for the notification. I tried downloading this but it never showed up on phone. Google stated it was compatible with my Samsung. I guess I'll wait a day and try again.
 

Sub-Ether

Well-known Member
Mar 31, 2014
1,516
1,254
183
Sub-Ether thanks for the notification. I tried downloading this but it never showed up on phone. Google stated it was compatible with my Samsung. I guess I'll wait a day and try again.
I downloaded directly from Hash Engineering's github releases via PC and copied the file via USB, but it shouldn't make any difference should it really.
 

HowlingMad

Member
Jul 12, 2014
100
23
68
I downloaded directly from Hash Engineering's github releases via PC and copied the file via USB, but it shouldn't make any difference should it really.
Google Play can be annoying! I also downloaded and copied, etc. and it seems to be working fine. I am in the process of sending coins to it to work with. See my post in the Testing thread regarding QR codes.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Sub-Ether

HowlingMad

Member
Jul 12, 2014
100
23
68
Hashengineering - Dude! Really nice work! You need some serious trophy points for this.
So far I have been able:
  1. Receive coins
  2. Change default exchange rate (not sure the upside down teardrop is the best icon for making it default)
  3. Limit to trusted IP, my masternode on Mainnet
  4. Emailed a payment request.
  5. Backed up wallet to SD card
  6. Sent payment via InstantX, less than 2 seconds before popup window displayed on desktop
 

HowlingMad

Member
Jul 12, 2014
100
23
68
7. Sent payment to Desktop without InstantX and showed up in less than 2 seconds also. Desktop wallet is cold wallet for Masternode, so that may have something to do with awesome speed.
 

HashEngineering

Active Member
May 3, 2014
319
374
133
hashengineeringsolutions.com
it would be awesome if Dash android wallet can do mining too. if its not for the sake of the network, its for newbie to grab their first dash.
I don't have plans of adding mining. That is lots of work and I doubt anyone would donate to me for this feature!

Can anyone help me and explain how to import the wallet backup key from android to the PC ? thanks ..
It is not easy to import keys to the PC from the android. The safer way is to transfer the coins using a regular transaction. Nevertheless, you can read this link: https://github.com/HashEngineering/darkcoin-wallet/blob/release-4/wallet/README.recover (beta version of the app)
https://github.com/HashEngineering/darkcoin-wallet/blob/prod/wallet/README ( version 1.x)
 

UdjinM6

Official Dash Dev
Dash Core Team
Moderator
May 20, 2014
3,638
3,538
1,183
it would be awesome if Dash android wallet can do mining too. if its not for the sake of the network, its for newbie to grab their first dash.
I agree with HashEngineering - it's highly doubtful that mobile wallet could ever compete with mining farms to mine some meaningful amount of Dash so it's basically a waste of time and other resources for both developer to implement this and users trying to mine on mobile.
 

oaxaca

Well-known Member
Foundation Member
Jul 8, 2014
573
832
263
The googleplay installer still has "Darkcoin Wallet" on the splash page. :sad:

I sent 1 DASH to the mobile using non-instantx. Something obviously went wrong, it took 4 seconds to show up. :D
 
  • Like
Reactions: tungfa

splawik21

Grizzled Member
Dash Core Team
Moderator
Foundation Member
Dash Support Group
Apr 8, 2014
1,923
1,284
1,283
Meaby
The googleplay installer still has "Darkcoin Wallet" on the splash page. :sad:

I sent 1 DASH to the mobile using non-instantx. Something obviously went wrong, it took 4 seconds to show up. :D
Meaby there was a pow block found or IX as a default dash tx :D
 

HashEngineering

Active Member
May 3, 2014
319
374
133
hashengineeringsolutions.com
Great work love it.

Tried a send/receive and IX
All work.

When requesting Dash, the Copy function doesn't seem to work though however the share functions work.

Also what does the Disconnect button do?
The copy function works for me. It copies a Dash URI to the clipboard, which means that the text copied starts with "dash:"

Disconnect is supposed to close the app and disable the background service.
 

oaxaca

Well-known Member
Foundation Member
Jul 8, 2014
573
832
263
The "Important safety notes" are displaying full of formatting codes (<b>, </b>, etc.)
 

JPCrypto

Member
May 23, 2014
43
17
48
Orion
Under the settings menu if I try to "Disconnect" it doesn't appear to do anything. Does the "Disconnect" function work?