Welcome to the Dash Forum!

Please sign up to discuss the most innovative cryptocurrency!

Wanting to Build Dedicated Mining Rig

Discussion in 'Questions and Help' started by Xeon, May 4, 2015.

  1. Xeon

    Xeon New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I'm wanting to do as cheap as possible. I'll be selling off my scrypt and sha256 asics. The money from selling those will go towards build. Looking for cheap and still have good hash rate.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. kingcolex

    kingcolex Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2015
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Well you're most likely going to want to buy used hardware, newegg has gpu rig cases for about 30 and extenders are 3$ on amazon. DO NOT SKIMP ON THE PSU!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Xeon

    Xeon New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I already have a 1300W EVGA Gold PSU.

    What GPU's for max Hash but on cheaper side?
     
    #3 Xeon, May 5, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: May 5, 2015
    • Like Like x 2
  4. yidakee

    yidakee Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    1,812
    Likes Received:
    1,168
    Trophy Points:
    283
    I've been slowly getting tempted to to the same. Don't know if I should hold off until autumn to use mining gear as heaters as well :D

    Anyway, interested in getting back into the "game"
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. kingcolex

    kingcolex Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2015
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Well I have been looking at 7970's mostly for the most hash for the buck, if you're lucky you can secure them for around .4 btc each, but they need to be wanting to unload them quickly so be ready to put into escrow asap.
     
  6. Xeon

    Xeon New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I already have a 7950, 7970's are basically two 7950's in one card right?
     
  7. Sub-Ether

    Sub-Ether Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,516
    Likes Received:
    1,254
    Trophy Points:
    183
    You mean the legendary 7990 not the 7970.
    Btw before upgrading, you do know that the new R9 370 series are ready for release and meant to be really quick on memory speed, only reason AMD have delayed the release is because they have a lot of back stock of R9 280's etc. This will put the price down, might be more beneficial hash speed wise per buck to wait a few weeks and buys a load of R9 280x in a sale or try a couple of R9 370's (I am thinking of trying 1)
     
  8. darkred

    darkred Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2015
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    262
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Would you be willing to put together a bill of materials that would be needed? (assuming amazon or newegg as sources)
     
  9. Xeon

    Xeon New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I second that :)
     
  10. kingcolex

    kingcolex Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2015
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Yeah and the 280x is essentially a little beefier 7970, hopefully they clean house and we can snag these great cards on the cheap.

    and yes I will compile a bit of a list.
     
  11. kingcolex

    kingcolex Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2015
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    58
    #11 kingcolex, May 6, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: May 6, 2015
    • Like Like x 1
  12. Sub-Ether

    Sub-Ether Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,516
    Likes Received:
    1,254
    Trophy Points:
    183
    I have problems with the GPU getting recognized in the smaller 1 times PCI-e ports, advise you get a mobo with 3 or 4 full size 16 times PCI-e ports.
     
  13. kingcolex

    kingcolex Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2015
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Well that is going to increase the price by around 50$ if you don't count mail in rebates, I have a bit of trouble occasionally but have been able to solve it mostly through a couple reboots and plugging the monitor into that gpu until recognized.
     
  14. Chetan Bhadage

    Chetan Bhadage New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Hello All.
    I am very new to Dash. I have been cloud mining Bitcoin since past one year. But now, i don't want the dependency on the mining company. I am attracted towards Dash as an alternative to Bitcoin.
    For this, i wish to use Baikal ASIC Miner. But due to global shortage, i am not getting it from the manufacturer itself!!
    Alibaba has got it listed but too hefty price. I mean ridiculous, $520 for a mini miner which sells at #300 on Baikal site. That's almost double.
    So i thought of TWO options:
    1. I could go for building DIY my own x11 asic miner for Dash it would be great.
    2. I could also use mining rig rentals if possible and if the rent justifies economically against the profit.

    Request to experts here.
    Could anyone help me please?