Welcome to the Dash Forum!

Please sign up to discuss the most innovative cryptocurrency!

v0.10.15 - Onyx Release

Discussion in 'Official Announcements' started by eduffield, Oct 16, 2014.

  1. thelonecrouton

    thelonecrouton Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    1,135
    Likes Received:
    813
    Trophy Points:
    283
    On testnet for this release (and maybe previous ones, I don't know, I always run a hot wallet on testnet) you have been (mostly) able to just swap in the new darkcoind, start it and that's it, the Masternode restarts itself without the 'masternode start' command being needed anywhere. Apparently this has been possible for some time on mainnet too, but I've always done the local restart thing.
     
    #61 thelonecrouton, Oct 17, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 17, 2014
  2. oblox

    oblox Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,032
    Likes Received:
    537
    Trophy Points:
    183
    As opposed to just updating the remote daemons and restarting. I found I had to issue masternode start from local for this one, although, I did get 1s from just the remote update (about 30 second downtime to update). I was going off the poolhash and drk.mn listings which made all my mn's show up as inactive but I figured afterwards it was due to them not being updated.
     
  3. Raico

    Raico Well-known Member
    Foundation Member Dash Support Group

    Joined:
    May 28, 2014
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    142
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Great Work. All my MN has been updated.

    BTW. Nice picture.~;)
     
  4. Ignition75

    Ignition75 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    214
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Very logical and methodical approach to tackling issues and new developments Evan, bl00dy well done mate.
     
    #64 Ignition75, Oct 17, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 17, 2014
  5. MrMime

    MrMime Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    188
    MN's updated! =)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Light

    Light Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    256
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Benjamin Lawsky:

    “To clarify, we do not intend to regulate software as software or software development,” he said, according to Reuters. “For example, a software developer who creates and provides wallet software to customers for their own use will not need a license" - awesome news!

    "“Mining per se will not be regulated. To the extent the miner engages in other virtual currency activities, however – for example, hosting wallets or exchanging virtual currency – a license may be required for those activities. For mining itself, there will be no license requirement.”" - awesome news!

    I am all for regulating exchanges like mintpal

    Expect bitcoin price to skyrocket?

    Sources:
    http://www.wired.com/2014/10/bitlicense/
    http://www.coindesk.com/lawsky-bitcoin-developers-miners-exempt-bitlicense/
     
    #66 Light, Oct 17, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 17, 2014
  7. stonehedge

    stonehedge Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    696
    Likes Received:
    333
    Trophy Points:
    233
    But isn't that just New York State?
     
  8. Light

    Light Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    256
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Yes, I think the Bit License is for the State of New York BUT since NYC is the financial center (Wall street etc.) of the US, it is likely that the other states will follow them.
     
  9. stonehedge

    stonehedge Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    696
    Likes Received:
    333
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Lets hope the remaining 6.7 billion people on earth follow New York too :D

    Ok, if I stop being facetious...I think its fantastic that the centralised points of a decentralised economy are regulated. Its a real boost although it is also no reason why decentralised exchanges can't become a reality too.
     
  10. yidakee

    yidakee Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    1,812
    Likes Received:
    1,168
    Trophy Points:
    283
    Weird.

    One of my nodes just went disappeared off the list. Regenerated IP, genkey and 1k deposit. This seems odd... still waiting to on confirms. I wasnt on testnet this time round. Is this normal behaviour?

    [​IMG]
     
  11. oblox

    oblox Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,032
    Likes Received:
    537
    Trophy Points:
    183
    Pretty sure it's more than 15 confirms... like the number of existing masternodes is the length of time in confirms needed before you qualify to be on the list. At least I believe that was put into this release.
     
  12. spinner

    spinner New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I see my own 'masternode : 1' when I grep the masternode list, but my MN has dropped off of elberethzone's mn list.

    Anyone else seeing this?

    wallet: Xqc1UjBg3fAb2U5Yk4fDQQHBDRGyf8KjsD

    I updated darkcoind on MN then upgraded cold wallet and restarted masternode from there.
     
  13. Light

    Light Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    256
    Trophy Points:
    233
    I can't see your MN either. Neither at drk.mn nor at drk.poolhash
     
  14. moli

    moli Grizzled Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Messages:
    3,261
    Likes Received:
    1,837
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    Flare said you should give it 24 hours before checking again. It might not show up because it has to wait for so many confirmations.
     
  15. Lariondos

    Lariondos Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    158
    Elbereth and El Presidente first need to update their nodes to reflect the current state.
     
  16. moli

    moli Grizzled Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Messages:
    3,261
    Likes Received:
    1,837
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    You can send an Inbox message to them. But I am sure they already know. We just have to be patient and if it takes so many confirmations it won't show up on those sites anyway until the confirmations are done.
     
  17. Lariondos

    Lariondos Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    158
    This has nothing to do with confirmations. The protocol version was changed. Older daemons are not able to receive the current masternode list.
     
  18. spinner

    spinner New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    K thanks guys - will come back around to it tomorrow morning and check.
     
  19. Light

    Light Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    256
    Trophy Points:
    233
    I wrote to Chinese exchnage "BTC38.com" today and asked them if they would be interested in adding Darkcoin to their exchnage or work with Darkcoin community.

    Got this reply:

    [​IMG]

    Can we also contact the other exchanges in China as a community and ask them to consider/reconsider adding Darkcoin? After MintGox and CryptsGox, there is nothing left with volume to trade anymore. The third biggest is Bitfinex and it has about 20BTC volume :-/

    Edit: Some of those Chinese exchanges heavily relied on arbitrage with European/US exchanges (Mintpal and Cryptsy) but since the latter two are down, probably the profit of Chinese exchanges also got hit. It might be our window of opportunity to get them accept Darkcoin trading and it would be a win-win situation both for the Darkcoin and the exchanges.
     
    #79 Light, Oct 17, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 17, 2014
    • Like Like x 2
  20. Lariondos

    Lariondos Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    158
    You are almost right. To be selected for payments one needs "masternode count" confirmations. But to just start a masternode, 15 confirmations are sufficient.
     
  21. moli

    moli Grizzled Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Messages:
    3,261
    Likes Received:
    1,837
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    Some people (with the update) already have their MNs showing up on those sites. At this point like flare said, give it 24 hours. Also this is a new protocol and it takes a lot of confirmations, not 6 anymore. We went over this on testnet. Evan needs to confirm this.
     
  22. thelonecrouton

    thelonecrouton Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    1,135
    Likes Received:
    813
    Trophy Points:
    283
    I think required confirmations = masternode count, so currently about 350. Setting up another MN today, so I'll find out I suppose.
     
  23. scratchy

    scratchy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    88
    Got trouble running the Github version of Edans p2pool.

    Heres the output http://pastebin.com/DJhfmqT5

    (it doesnt find any valid peers..)


    I tried the fresh version directly from github (https://github.com/darkcoin/p2pool-drk).
    Also i tried to patch my old running client on my own (also increased the version number).

    Always the same output.

    I downgraded to 'old' running p2pool again, works fine

    Any idears how to solve the issue?
     
    #83 scratchy, Oct 17, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 17, 2014
  24. coingun

    coingun Active Member
    Masternode Owner/Operator

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    402
    Trophy Points:
    133
    I just choose a randomly higher number then the current. I think i went with 70058 cause it allowed me to only change one character. LOL.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  25. Cryptotoll

    Cryptotoll New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Hello community,

    I am a long time DRK bag holder first time posting on thread(I do read for updates often). It seems as if I have made an error updating my DRK client last night. I have made numerous client updates without a problem and at least 2 client updates where I was stuck on wrong chain but I was able to resolve any past updating issues. I downloaded new wallet and it wouldn't sync(I usually create new folder on desktop for new wallet folder and wallet.dat file when I back my wallet up). So I found the appdata folder and deleted it. I did not make a copy of my wallet.dat file because I had a copy in my DRK folder this is on my desktop. I downloaded latest client and it did sync but my DRK are nowhere to be found. I then restored original appdata folder and I've tried numerous combinations opening client with my old wallet.dat file. I made various copies of this wallet.dat file and put them in the appdate folder as well. Not sure if I completely fucked up by not copying wallet.dat file in appdata folder(because I had a copy in another folder on desktop already). Could the wallet.dat file I had on desktop get overwritten by new client download that goes to appdata folder? Any ideas? I'd really appreciate any sort of help or input, Thank you...
     
  26. Light

    Light Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    256
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Was it a bad idea to upgrade to ONYX fast? If these data is correct, RC5 is paying 1.3 DRK/day which is pretty damn high :)

    [​IMG]
     
  27. scratchy

    scratchy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    88
    Why you did those crazy things with wallet.dat?
    Well if you dont have an wallet.dat which is working anymore your drk seems to be gone.

    The best thing is you have a valid backup of your wallet.dat on a usb drive or something like that, so you are able to recover easylie..
     
  28. bertlebbert

    bertlebbert Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    669
    Likes Received:
    289
    Trophy Points:
    133
    After successfully syncing new client, there's a new (EMPTY) wallet.dat in APPDATA folder. You only need replace this new wallet.dat by copying the old wallet.dat you saved in that Desktop folder. Hope this helps.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  29. Cryptotoll

    Cryptotoll New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    That is what I have been doing. My old wallet.dat file must have been overwritten, IDK. I have an even older wallet.dat file on a USB drive. I've tested both older wallet.dat files in new empty appdata folder and I still get same result. I'm sure it's user error, but I do update wallets for various coins often without to much of an issue. I appreciate the response.
     
  30. bertlebbert

    bertlebbert Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    669
    Likes Received:
    289
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Sorry, that's all I could suggest... good luck
     
    • Like Like x 1