Welcome to the Dash Forum!

Please sign up to discuss the most innovative cryptocurrency!

Unable to run dash-qt

Discussion in 'Daemon and QT Wallet Guides' started by jakezeal, Dec 6, 2015.

  1. jakezeal

    jakezeal New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I extracted dash-qt to desktop however there is no "Run". It offers "Open" and asks me to search for an application.
    Please help.
    I am on Ubuntu
    Thanks
     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. flare

    flare Administrator
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2,306
    Likes Received:
    2,436
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    • Like Like x 2
  3. tungfa

    tungfa Administrator
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member Masternode Owner/Operator Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    8,945
    Likes Received:
    6,731
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
  4. jakezeal

    jakezeal New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Thanks. I followed all of the steps however, unfortunately it is still not working. Everything went through in the terminal but no icons or anything were installed. I still cannot open dash-qt.

    I look forward to getting into mining and running a masternode :)
     
  5. Sub-Ether

    Sub-Ether Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,516
    Likes Received:
    1,254
    Trophy Points:
    183
  6. jakezeal

    jakezeal New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Thanks! First I must actually get a wallet up and running : ) . I am curious, would a USB ASIC miner work with Dash (effectively)?
     
  7. Sub-Ether

    Sub-Ether Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,516
    Likes Received:
    1,254
    Trophy Points:
    183
    No, you will need a graphics card for X11, the guide goes into some depth about this.
    For AMD, a R9 290 tri X is a good place to start and for Nvidia GTX 750ti is ok on electricity and reasonable bang per buck.

    There is cpu mining possible but only expect around 500 Kilohash per i7 8 thread device typically.
     
  8. jakezeal

    jakezeal New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Okay thanks. Is this something I could do with a gaming laptop?
     
    #8 jakezeal, Dec 7, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 7, 2015
  9. Sub-Ether

    Sub-Ether Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,516
    Likes Received:
    1,254
    Trophy Points:
    183
    Can, but not recommended for long periods, it will heat stress your cpu running at 100%, but its a good learning experience and will teach you something about how block creation work and proof of work operates, give it a try:)
    https://dashtalk.org/threads/sub-ethers-guide-to-cpu-mining.6170/
     
  10. Sub-Ether

    Sub-Ether Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,516
    Likes Received:
    1,254
    Trophy Points:
    183
    Easy way to start is when you manage to install the wallet, goto debug console and enter, setgenerate true
    This will start solo mining, and max out your cpu, but be warned it is not optimized and much slower than the guide versions
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. jakezeal

    jakezeal New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Just started with setgenerate true . To stop I can simply close my wallet? How can I find what my computer is actually doing? The coins will simply be sent to my wallet?
     
  12. jakezeal

    jakezeal New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Do you have a tutorial for mining on Ubuntu ? Also can I try with a raspberri pi ?
     
  13. jakezeal

    jakezeal New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    How much Dash should I expect to mine in say an hour or 12 hours ?

    Thanks !
     
  14. splawik21

    splawik21 Grizzled Member
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member Dash Support Group Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    1,919
    Likes Received:
    1,278
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    getinfo and you will see your hashrate
     
  15. jakezeal

    jakezeal New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    The hashrate would be the difficulty? How do I know my chance of solving & thus how much I would expect in a given amount of time ?
     
  16. buster

    buster Guest

    If you didn't get your wallet running g yet do this:

    Find out what directory dash-qt is located in. Open directory and Right click white area and hit "open in terminal" - if u can't do then open terminal and navigate to the DIrectory.

    Once directory is open in terminal type this.
    ./dash-qt

    Dash should open. You can right click the icon and lock it to your ubuntu menu items so you can just click the icon instead of running command every time.
     
  17. Bugeater

    Bugeater Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Guys, this is important. On Linux Dash 11 or earlier is easy but Dash 12 shows OPEN not RUN. Now what do we do?

    Please stop giving links for DASH 11 because the problem is that DOES NOT work. Only Dash 12 links please
     
  18. buster

    buster Guest

    See my quoted post above.
     
  19. MangledBlue

    MangledBlue Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    678
    Trophy Points:
    183

    setgenerate false
    to stop wallet from CPU mining