Welcome to the Dash Forum!

Please sign up to discuss the most innovative cryptocurrency!

TAO'S MASTERNODE SETUP GUIDE FOR DUMMIES (UPDATE GUIDE UPDATED FOR 13.0)

Discussion in 'Masternode Guides' started by TaoOfSatoshi, Oct 15, 2014.

  1. Solaso

    Solaso Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2015
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ok, I deleted donation addresses
    I have 3 MN and add all output index 1, its right? For example
    mn1 149.xx.xx.229:9999 7xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxo 0e8ef838aa699a0d15fd3518a3d518bbef5759b96084a623e03fc26ae4037529 1
    mn2 92.xx.xx.234:9999 7xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxY 06291cdd4599dfd76333323e120b422244bdc2fb4dea290c6e2dd9f69ee5a715 1
    mn3 5.xx.xx.23:9999 7xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxW a200db8cad3d2b1547c8d7beab3f59d64801f4caae6dbbc3da88bd4dd3e0c669 1
     
  2. moli

    moli Grizzled Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Messages:
    3,262
    Likes Received:
    1,837
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    If all info is correct, and the indexes are correct, save it, restart your wallet, do "masternode start-many" .. they should work.
     
  3. Solaso

    Solaso Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2015
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Thank you. Please tell me, when I need index 0? Or other
     
  4. moli

    moli Grizzled Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Messages:
    3,262
    Likes Received:
    1,837
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    The indexes are the numbers in order of your transactions on the explorer. Or on the console if you type "masternode outputs" it will show the tx's and their indexes for you.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Solaso

    Solaso Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2015
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    68
    How many masternodes can be in masternode.conf? 100 or 1000?
     
  6. moli

    moli Grizzled Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Messages:
    3,262
    Likes Received:
    1,837
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
  7. Lebubar

    Lebubar Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2014
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    214
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Hey all, was opening a new VPS on vultr because of problem I got with cheap VPS ;)

    And saw that there is Ubuntu 14.10 and 15.04.
    Did someone already tried to install a MN on those version of Ubuntu (15.04 and or 14.10), and can confirm me if it's work OK? as all guides indicates to install v14.04.
     
  8. Solaso

    Solaso Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2015
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Thank you. How I can update wallet on server? What I should to do? Now Masternode Operators 0.12.0.49
     
  9. Solaso

    Solaso Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2015
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    68
    dash-cli stop, then replace wallet, then start
     
  10. moli

    moli Grizzled Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Messages:
    3,262
    Likes Received:
    1,837
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
  11. djcrypto

    djcrypto Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2014
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    94
    Trophy Points:
    88
    OK I went crazy on the dash.conf file but it says incorrect rpcuser and rpcpassword when I try to check dash-cli getinfo?
     
  12. UdjinM6

    UdjinM6 Official Dash Dev
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,637
    Likes Received:
    3,536
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    You shouldn't change rpcuser/rpcpassword while dashd is running. Kill it and start daemon again.
     
  13. djcrypto

    djcrypto Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2014
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    94
    Trophy Points:
    88
    I've deleted dashd and dash-cli but get the same problem. dashd start up but cannot get access to dash-cli. Should I install a new wallet?
     
  14. UdjinM6

    UdjinM6 Official Dash Dev
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,637
    Likes Received:
    3,536
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    Hmm... by "Kill it" I meant literaly "kill -9 $(pidof dashd)" - it must be still running in background with old user and password settings.
    If that doesn't help... what does your dash.conf look like?
     
  15. studioz

    studioz Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    464
    Trophy Points:
    163
    im on
    OS:Ubuntu 14.04 x64
    with vultr , super stable
     
  16. djcrypto

    djcrypto Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2014
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    94
    Trophy Points:
    88
    Ok thanks for that. I actually had the qt wallet open haha *oops*.
    I have three MNs that I'm trying to get working again with V12 (not with start-many) but I'm not having much luck.

    My dash.conf file on the VPS looks like:
    rpcuser=XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
    rpcpassword=XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
    rpcallowip=127.0.0.1
    listen=1
    server=1
    daemon=1
    logtimestamps=1
    maxconnections=256
    addnode=23.23.186.131
    masternode=1
    masternodeprivkey=(masternode genkey)

    Am I supposed to have a dash.conf similar to this but with the IP on the local computer as suggested by Tao? If so, I'm not sure how I can do that with multiple MNs.
     
  17. TaoOfSatoshi

    TaoOfSatoshi Grizzled Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    2,691
    Likes Received:
    2,600
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    djcrypto

    From a running V11 Masternode, this is what I did:

    On Putty:

    ./dashd stop
    rm dashd
    rm .dash/peers.dat
    rm .dash/debug.log
    rm .dash/mncache.dat

    On home computer:

    Download the latest V12 tar.gz on Dashpay.io, save to desktop.
    Extract.

    On WinSCP:

    Navigate to desktop.Find dash-cli and dashd, and transfer to VPS.

    On Putty:

    chmod 777 ./dash-cli
    chmod 777 ./dashd
    ./dashd -reindex
    WAIT WAIT WAIT WAIT for sync
    ./dash-cli getinfo (If synced, proceed)

    On home comp (with the same version installed, from dashpay.io)

    Debug console
    walletpassphrase YOURPASSPHRASE 120
    masternode start YOURPASSPHRASE

    Did you perform all of these steps?
     
  18. djcrypto

    djcrypto Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2014
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    94
    Trophy Points:
    88
    Yes I did but I don't understand how to setup the dash.conf and masternode.conf files on my pc vs. VPS for multiple MNs
     
  19. TaoOfSatoshi

    TaoOfSatoshi Grizzled Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    2,691
    Likes Received:
    2,600
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    Remote dash.conf doesn't change. You need to consolidate your MNs to one QT wallet on your PC, then create a masternode.conf on your PC. Here is a good guide on how to do that (keep in mind there is no donation feature anymore):

    https://dashtalk.org/threads/reuben...rnodes-from-one-wallet-guide-start-many.4034/
     
  20. moli

    moli Grizzled Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Messages:
    3,262
    Likes Received:
    1,837
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    I've used Reuben's guide. It's a good guide but it has an error: outputs indexes are NOT either 0 or 1 like he said. They can be any number starting at 0.

    For new users, here's a screenshot of what index numbers look like on the explorer http://explorer.darkcoin.io/chain/Darkcoin


    upload_2015-8-29_20-10-12.png
     
  21. moli

    moli Grizzled Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Messages:
    3,262
    Likes Received:
    1,837
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
  22. djcrypto

    djcrypto Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2014
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    94
    Trophy Points:
    88
    Thanks guys.

    What is the command to get the output index for MNs setup in masternode.conf?
     
  23. moli

    moli Grizzled Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Messages:
    3,262
    Likes Received:
    1,837
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    masternode outputs
     
    • Like Like x 1
  24. Dash4Ever

    Dash4Ever Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2015
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    105
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Dash Address:
    XybaxnhtFBih2g4M2F71rWKBt5USzo8R
    Thanks alot for the tutorial ! I'm collecting my last Dash to start my own MasterNode :) so excited ;):)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  25. TaoOfSatoshi

    TaoOfSatoshi Grizzled Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    2,691
    Likes Received:
    2,600
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    You're welcome. Enjoy the payments!
     
  26. Dash4Ever

    Dash4Ever Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2015
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    105
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Dash Address:
    XybaxnhtFBih2g4M2F71rWKBt5USzo8R
    Will donate some when Im up and running :) what's the highest earning on a day for one MasterNode ?
     
  27. TaoOfSatoshi

    TaoOfSatoshi Grizzled Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    2,691
    Likes Received:
    2,600
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    Gratuities are appreciated!
    On average you will earn about half a Dash per day, maybe a little less now with the rise in Masternode count.
     
  28. Dash4Ever

    Dash4Ever Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2015
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    105
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Dash Address:
    XybaxnhtFBih2g4M2F71rWKBt5USzo8R
    Okey nice :) I've read something about jackpots ? somedays you might get some extra ?
     
  29. TaoOfSatoshi

    TaoOfSatoshi Grizzled Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    2,691
    Likes Received:
    2,600
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    Yes, I believe that is the case, although I don't know the ins and outs of that...
     
  30. moli

    moli Grizzled Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Messages:
    3,262
    Likes Received:
    1,837
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    I think i know what you're asking... Sometimes you get two payments in two consecutive blocks and your next payment is not skipped, it's like a lottery jackpot. During testing this is what Evan said:

    "... , some double payments are OK, that's working as designed. Think of it as round robin, with a 1% chance of double payment (on mainnet, it's much higher with a lower masternode count). It's going to act kind of like a lottery, it should add some fun to the mix."

    And here's the link: https://dashtalk.org/threads/v12-testing-thread.5484/page-82#post-60588

    He said again in the "New Payment Logic" post: https://dashtalk.org/threads/v12-release.5888/page-21#post-64073

    "- Multiple payments in a row are possible and OK. There should be about a 1/100 chance of this happening and you will not skip your next payment, it's something like the daily network lottery."

    And I can testify it's true as it happened to one of my nodes, got two payments in two consecutive blocks, and counted as one payment. But since then I haven't got another jackpot... lol... and now it seems taking longer for masternodes to get paid because of so many masternodes onboard.