Welcome to the Dash Forum!

Please sign up to discuss the most innovative cryptocurrency!

(SOLVED)Solo Mining

Discussion in 'Questions and Help' started by Paws, Aug 17, 2015.

  1. Paws

    Paws New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I have never tried solo mining but following some guides and other threads, I can't seem to get it to work. I am using CCMiner, I changed the Dash.conf file to
    1.rpcuser=wallet address


    2.rpcpassword=something random


    3.daemon=1


    4.server=1


    5.listen=1

    I put this same information into ccminer's config file and pointed to -o stratum+tcp://127.0.0.1:9997 but it fails to connect. Never tried this, completely lost!

    Answer:
     
    #1 Paws, Aug 17, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 17, 2015
  2. crowning

    crowning Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,428
    Likes Received:
    2,005
    Trophy Points:
    183
    It's ages since I solomined things, but I think I remember that wallets don't do stratum...try -o http://127.0.0.1:9997
    Oh, and check if you've set this port in dash.conf...
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. flare

    flare Administrator
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2,287
    Likes Received:
    2,406
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    The "getwork" api call was deprecated and removed in Bitcoin 0.10 which we directly inherited. This means that it is not possible to solomine on Dash v12 - that's why your miner is not able to connect to your wallet.

    I miss this feature too in testnet and feel that this should be added back as the hashrate for Dash is by far lower than for Bitcoin and it still makes sense to solomine and "play the lottery"
     
    #3 flare, Aug 17, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 17, 2015
    • Like Like x 4
  4. Paws

    Paws New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I understand, thank you!
     
  5. Sub-Ether

    Sub-Ether Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,516
    Likes Received:
    1,254
    Trophy Points:
    183
    Flare and Paws, I do not have Nvidia but this solo mining works with sgminer but only with V11, it looks like your rpc port setting is wrong, put this as your dash config, then rerun Dash V11,wait sync and keep running.
    (btw, this does NOT work in testnet for me, and does NOT work with V12 because I just tried it!)

    rpcuser=user
    rpcpassword=x
    rpcallowip=127.0.0.1
    rpcport=9332
    daemon=1
    server=1


    goto your sgminer equivalent mining GPU folder and use something like this,

    sgminer -k darkcoin-mod -o 127.0.0.1:9332 -u user -p x --thread-concurrency 14208 --xintensity 2048

    happy solo mining with V11 :D
    but you will have big problem to find a block so good luck
    please post your config setting sif this works for you ?

    upload_2015-8-17_8-55-0.png
     
  6. flare

    flare Administrator
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2,287
    Likes Received:
    2,406
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    Exactly what i wrote: Solo mining is deprecated and removed in v12. And pointing him and let him mine with v11 will start forking in September and is not a solution.
     
    • Like Like x 3
  7. Sub-Ether

    Sub-Ether Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,516
    Likes Received:
    1,254
    Trophy Points:
    183
    fair enough Flare, don't suppose there is any way to bring it back is there, possible small change of code somewhere ?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. flare

    flare Administrator
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2,287
    Likes Received:
    2,406
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    I already asked UdjinM6 to have a look at this to bring back the getwork api call. It may not be relevant for mainnet, but is crucial for testnet.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  9. Sub-Ether

    Sub-Ether Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,516
    Likes Received:
    1,254
    Trophy Points:
    183
    Yer ironically I only figured it out on mainet because I was trying to testnet mine, would be good to have it back.
     
  10. flare

    flare Administrator
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2,287
    Likes Received:
    2,406
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    Same here, it was driving me mad until i found this in the release notes of Bitcoin 0.10 :D

    https://github.com/bitcoin/bitcoin/commit/cf0c47b

    I suppose we can just add it back :)
     
    • Like Like x 2
  11. Paws

    Paws New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Thanks for the replies, the main reason I was trying is because I have the ability to burst mine x11 at about 1,000,000 Kh/s (1TH), for no more than maybe an hour due to many reason I can't quite explain (yet, mainly because I don't understand it completely). After this hour on a P2Pool My payouts are rediculously broken up (20x-30x 0.03 or less payments) or putting it on a PPS it will either get booted off (support says the hash rate from one miner makes the system think it's a DDoS) or the payout is much less than calculated. Solo mining this should be somewhere around 50 Dash/Day - So I am forced to lower intensity for a similar cost to run at 1/50th the payout.

    I'm not here to "get rich" i'm trying my best to make a masternode and become a real part of dash, I have a long way to go but I have more money in equipment than in my bank (to buy dash). I can only imagine people don't appreciate me directing this much power to one node.
    [​IMG][​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    When I break 200-300MH/s I notice half the pool leaves, if this is hurting the other miners, please make me aware of it, at the moment I don't have many places to go that are worth it.
     
    #11 Paws, Aug 17, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 17, 2015
  12. Paws

    Paws New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    18
  13. flare

    flare Administrator
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2,287
    Likes Received:
    2,406
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    If you are interested i could set up a "private burst pool" for you - interested?
     
    • Like Like x 2
  14. Paws

    Paws New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Sent PM, let me know what you think. I'm probably doing it wrong haha
     
  15. UdjinM6

    UdjinM6 Official Dash Dev
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,637
    Likes Received:
    3,536
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    "I have the ability to burst mine x11 at about 1,000,000 Kh/s (1TH).." :what:
    "I have the ability to burst mine x11 at about 1,000,000 Kh/s (1TH).." :what::what:
    "I have the ability to burst mine x11 at about 1,000,000 Kh/s (1TH).." :what::what::what:
    "I have the ability to burst mine x11 at about 1,000,000 Kh/s (1TH).." :what::what::what::what:
    :eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

    EDIT: sorry, I have no words for this
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. crowning

    crowning Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,428
    Likes Received:
    2,005
    Trophy Points:
    183
    I guess after about one hour the power plant of your region breaks down :D
     
    • Like Like x 2
  17. Sub-Ether

    Sub-Ether Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,516
    Likes Received:
    1,254
    Trophy Points:
    183
    I am having trouble with the units, 1 terahash = 1,000,000,000 kilohash, I think Paws means around 1 gigahash,
    the network is only 60 gigahash, so if he was a 1 terahash he would be 17 times the whole network, that would certainly shove the difficulty up a bit ~ TIA Paws ;)
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tera-
     
    • Like Like x 1
  18. oblox

    oblox Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,032
    Likes Received:
    537
    Trophy Points:
    183
    Quite evident in the pictures he's mining at 1GH
     
  19. Sub-Ether

    Sub-Ether Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,516
    Likes Received:
    1,254
    Trophy Points:
    183
    Well everyone was saying 1 TH :tongue:
     
  20. Paws

    Paws New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    18
    You are right! 1 GH! Sorry!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  21. Sub-Ether

    Sub-Ether Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,516
    Likes Received:
    1,254
    Trophy Points:
    183
    have you noticed the difficulty is on a 22-24 hr wave cycle, if you bang on 1 gig on the troughs you will get more yield for short periods.
    Which is about now by the looks ..
     
    #21 Sub-Ether, Aug 18, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 18, 2015
  22. UdjinM6

    UdjinM6 Official Dash Dev
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,637
    Likes Received:
    3,536
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    Pheeeww.... Oh, God, I almost had a heart attack when you said 1TH earlier.:)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  23. Paws

    Paws New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Yes, I actually mentioned this to flare aswell, within 10 minutes the difficulty makes large swings and incredibly fast (most of the time it has been mined 5 minutes before block explorers/pools update) I watched it go from 1900 difficulty and 7.4 payout to 3300/4.5 in half an hour, an hour after I left the pool it reports less than 2100/7.4, the network hash for that pools block is 1.2GH which is +/- 10% meaning I brought this particular pool 100% more hash and the difficulty ramped up for the unfortunate people chugging under 1MH, this is why I am worried if I should point it at a small pool, it wasn't worth it anyway; from what I can tell the two payments I received so far were 0.18 and 0.15, solo mining it should have been almost 1.4 Dash in that same amount of time.

    I believe cost effectively it's better to split this hashrate between multiple locations or run much less at a time, like 70MH/sec for a rough cost of 1200 watts

    There was one point I had nearly 1.8GH on the last stretch which gave a ridiculous near 4k and 2.5 payout, thats when it has to go.

    It basically does this-
    [​IMG]
     
    #23 Paws, Aug 18, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 18, 2015
    • Like Like x 2
  24. Paws

    Paws New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    18
    If I had access to 1TH I might have a masternode by now haha
     
    • Like Like x 1
  25. Sub-Ether

    Sub-Ether Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,516
    Likes Received:
    1,254
    Trophy Points:
    183
    Makes sense to mine small amounts of hash and spread it around-given an alotted amount otherwise, you will be effectively mining against your own high difficulty (how ironic) and also the getwork from the network is not keeping up with your end.
    (this is argument against quantum computers btw, basically they can't get new work in and out quick enough to process, entry/exit bottlenecks, lol)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  26. Paws

    Paws New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Right on; I spread it between 5 area's and did 100MH/s on each node that reported a different block, and this didn't really work. So I put the 1GH on a PPS and it yielded almost twice as much but it took nearly 3 days to pay out everything, even on blocks that I didn't mine on, it essentially took 75% and divided it up between ~30 blocks so I essentially got 2.5% for several days even thought I mined on 1- 1.5 block(s) the PPS system is either incredibly fair or is more attractive to someone with higher hash rate since a block may not be solved in 2 or less hours, or both.

    In contrast mining 500MH/s for 12 hours on PPNLS (P2Pool) came to roughly the same amount as 1GH/s for 45 minutes(3 days payout) on PPS, the cost effectiveness is cheaper for 1GH burst, but 1GH for 1 hour on P2Pool was around 50%+ less.

    PPLNS
    500MH/s 12 hours/1 pool (P2Pool) = ~4.5 Dash
    100MH/s on 5 different pools 12 hours (P2Pool) = ~3.75 Dash
    1GH on 1 P2Pool for 1 hour = 0.56
    11 MH/s 24 hours (P2pool) = 0.45

    PPS
    11MH/s 24 Hours PPS = 0.27
    500MH/s 24 Hours PPS = 18.7
    1GH for 1 Hour PPS = (2.59 Day 1) (3.97 Day 2) (5.44 Day 3)
    1GH for 12 Hours PPS = 14.97
    1GH for 24 hours PPS = 24.12 <- This number is slightly lower because by the 14-15 hour mark the difficulty was almost 4k the nounce was 4 million, the payout was about 2.5 per block and I was asked in an email around the 12 hour mark to spread my hash power out, I didn't get the email until I got home and at some point 20 hours in my miner was on a temporary ban (less than 2 hours).

    So overall this was about 70 Dash or $182 USD and the cost of the test was 170 +/- I made 5 dash after covering cost to run or ~$13USD, it's more efficient to mine at less than 20MH/s on one node by my numbers. Keeping difficulty around 2500 or less and a block worth of 4.5 or more, 2 GTX 980's @ 21 MH/s and just under 400 watts at average difficulty is where the profit hits diminishing returns before difficulty puts on the brakes.
     
    #26 Paws, Aug 24, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 24, 2015
    • Like Like x 1
  27. wherethehelisit

    wherethehelisit New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    well?? its been almost a fukin year where the fuk is it.

    when is this shit ganna get fixed i wanna solomine already
     
  28. crowning

    crowning Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,428
    Likes Received:
    2,005
    Trophy Points:
    183
    The 'c' key on your keyboard is broken.
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Funny Funny x 1