Welcome to the Dash Forum!

Please sign up to discuss the most innovative cryptocurrency!

PrivateSend fail

Discussion in 'PrivateSend Questions and Help' started by jimbursch, Oct 17, 2017.

  1. jimbursch

    jimbursch Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2017
    Messages:
    821
    Likes Received:
    477
    Trophy Points:
    133
    I'm getting the following message when I try to make a PrivateSend transaction:

    Code:
    Unable to locate enough PrivateSend denominated funds for this transaction. PrivateSend uses exact denominated amounts to send funds, you might simply need to anonymize some more coins.
    My PrivateSend balance and amount are way in excess of the transaction I am trying to make, and I can see plenty of inputs (coin selection) that can be used.

    Why am I getting this error?

    I am using Dash Core QT 12.1.5 64bit on Ubuntu.
     
  2. splawik21

    splawik21 Grizzled Member
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member Dash Support Group

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    2,097
    Likes Received:
    1,415
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    Use coin control and select some mixed inpuls which give you a balance you want to send and just send them. Works?
     
  3. jimbursch

    jimbursch Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2017
    Messages:
    821
    Likes Received:
    477
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Yes, that works, as a workaround.

    Does this bug occur for others? @UdjinM6 are you aware of this issue?
     
    • Like Like x 2
  4. jimbursch

    jimbursch Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2017
    Messages:
    821
    Likes Received:
    477
    Trophy Points:
    133
    ping @UdjinM6 (I know you're busy, so no hurry).
     
  5. thedesertlynx

    thedesertlynx Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    131
    Trophy Points:
    93
    I've had this happen once before. Unfortunately it seems like that's the way PrivateSend works right now. If you're unable to send the exact private balance you wanted, add some extra coins there and mix them for a greater chance there's enough inputs.
     
  6. UdjinM6

    UdjinM6 Official Dash Dev
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,613
    Likes Received:
    3,524
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    To put it simply, here is an example. Say, you have 20 DASH in PS balance but it's 10+10 and you want to send 11 DASH. Unlike for normal transactions, PS txes can't have any change and must spend it as a fee, so you need almost exact match for your inputs or otherwise fee is going to be huge. This means that you need 10+1 (or 11x1 etc) or otherwise fee is going to be 9 DASH. Wallet won't allow you to send tx with such high fee (by default), so PS fails. We don't even try to create such tx actually if wallet doesn't have enough inputs to avoid such fee.
     
    • Informative Informative x 3
  7. akhavr

    akhavr Active Member
    Masternode Owner/Operator

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    334
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Well, then the message should be more descriptive (perhaps a link to a FAQ?) and have a call to action. Now user is left with an unusable PrivateSend and with no recourse.

    Recommending him to manually select inputs that have necessary number of mixing rounds isn't a good solution either.

    Any way to force wallet to split a big output into another round of mixing? Say, 1 -> 10 * 0.1 ?
     
  8. Dandy

    Dandy Member
    Masternode Owner/Operator

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    88
    I wouldn't jump to Zerocoin just yet. It was hacked a few times recently and it doesn't seem to be 100% reliable yet.
    I actually prefer Dash coin mixing system, but I agree that it must be streamlined somehow. It's not really usable in this state for the average Joe.
     

Share This Page