New Darkcoin.io Webpage .. Suggestions/ Issues ...>>

tungfa

Administrator
Dash Core Team
Moderator
Foundation Member
Masternode Owner/Operator
Apr 9, 2014
8,895
6,723
1,283
well well done on the new webpage !
really shows DRK in a clean professional way and open for business !

i saw a good suggestion on
btctalk

Re: [ANN][DRK] Darkcoin | First Anonymous Coin | Inventor of X11, DGW and Darksend | Instant TX


It is a good idea to list the exchanges on darkcoin.io, HOWEVER:
http://www.darkcoin.io/using-darkcoin/buy-darkcoin/exchanges/
It is nonsense sorting the exchanges alphabetically. Top 2 places have to be reserved for
Mintpal and Cryptsy as this is where 80% of the coin is traded. Possibly Bitfinex or some other exchange based on total value of the latest trade -http://coinmarketcap.com/currencies/darkcoin/#markets
There is no reason to list exchanges that have 0 trade in weeks - it just upsets the prospective investors. On the other hand, if one goes to let's say Mintpal and sees that DRK is no. 1 or 2 and the market is liquid, they are much more likely to invest!
 
Last edited by a moderator:

tungfa

Administrator
Dash Core Team
Moderator
Foundation Member
Masternode Owner/Operator
Apr 9, 2014
8,895
6,723
1,283
Honestly
I think the video of vertoe is far to dominant for what it is (no offense veroe)
as it is NOT a professional Darksend video !
If i as a newcomer land on the page and the first thing i see is this video
from test net working on Linux .... > dam it looks like we are in some Beta Version 5 month ago !
I would really take that down !
On my iPhone i "land" like this (attached)
so it is that video again , in my face, sure the first thing i do is klick it ... and i am back in Testnet on Linux
5 month ago !

This might mean nothing to you guys,
but me for example,
i have never been on the test net (maybe i should) and have "0" idea about linux.
Aren't we done with the techno/computer gang and are looking for outside investors ?
Just my thoughts !..>>>
 

AjM

Well-known Member
Foundation Member
Jun 23, 2014
1,336
571
283
Finland
Those two front page slides are different height.
Top left drk logo does not go to front page.
Community page missing pictures/logos.
This forum bottom darkcoin.io link goes to https, not http.

EDIT: combined 3 posts to this.
EDIT2: added new issue.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

raze

King of the Morlocks
Foundation Member
Masternode Owner/Operator
Mar 9, 2014
337
372
233
Dash Address
Xtrdw361DvoyDhxL5XoeAvTxTPvM4dXuLW
It is a good idea to list the exchanges on darkcoin.io, HOWEVER:
http://www.darkcoin.io/using-darkcoin/buy-darkcoin/exchanges/
It is nonsense sorting the exchanges alphabetically. Top 2 places have to be reserved for
Mintpal and Cryptsy as this is where 80% of the coin is traded.
I disagree. I don't think we should be "playing favorites" with the exchanges. It encourages centralization of the coin supply making attacks and market manipulation easier. It's not as if it's hard to find out where the volume is anyway.
 

GNULinuxGuy

Member
Jul 22, 2014
112
68
78
Dash Address
XjkXfrYTSvdYe4738DtNVX5XfUz7qU9HnY
Looking good, but there are at least 5 WP theme elements that are not using HTTPS, so the site is not displaying properly for people blocking unencrypted traffic. Would be nice to see that SSL/TLS certificate fully utilized. ;)
 
  • Like
Reactions: Red-Shinobi

raze

King of the Morlocks
Foundation Member
Masternode Owner/Operator
Mar 9, 2014
337
372
233
Dash Address
Xtrdw361DvoyDhxL5XoeAvTxTPvM4dXuLW
This seems to be related to permission issues:

Forbidden
You don't have permission to access /wp-content/uploads/2014/09/ on this server.

Apache/2.2.22 (Ubuntu) Server at www.darkcoin.io Port 443
Pretty sure it's a WP shortcode issue. It seems to be fixed by switching the HTML, although I'm still not sure what the problem was.
 

pottu82

New Member
Sep 25, 2014
5
5
3
Instant TX paper missing on the website... anyone else get's a missing css -file on homepage? (using google chrome latest version). I don't see language support anywhere? I would and will offer my help to translate the web page to finnish also if needed.
 
  • Like
Reactions: GNULinuxGuy

mattmct

Member
Mar 13, 2014
259
92
88
Pretty sure it's a WP shortcode issue. It seems to be fixed by switching the HTML, although I'm still not sure what the problem was.
This is a write permission setting on the wp-content/uploads folder on the new server. I've notified Evan about it.
 

raze

King of the Morlocks
Foundation Member
Masternode Owner/Operator
Mar 9, 2014
337
372
233
Dash Address
Xtrdw361DvoyDhxL5XoeAvTxTPvM4dXuLW
This is a write permission setting on the wp-content/uploads folder on the new server. I've notified Evan about it.
Why wouldn't images on other pages be affected as well? Aren't most of them in the same directory?
 

mattmct

Member
Mar 13, 2014
259
92
88
Why wouldn't images on other pages be affected as well? Aren't most of them in the same directory?
Ah sorry I thought you were trying to upload something to this directory. I'll see how Evan uploaded these files. I had issues before where I have moved files via SSH rather than uploading via FTP. Something to do with the user permission, or user group issues. We might be able to fix by re-uploading via FTP or by the wordpress uploader.
 

raze

King of the Morlocks
Foundation Member
Masternode Owner/Operator
Mar 9, 2014
337
372
233
Dash Address
Xtrdw361DvoyDhxL5XoeAvTxTPvM4dXuLW
Ah sorry I thought you were trying to upload something to this directory. I'll see how Evan uploaded these files. I had issues before where I have moved files via SSH rather than uploading via FTP. Something to do with the user permission, or user group issues. We might be able to fix by re-uploading via FTP or by the wordpress uploader.
I already re-uploaded them via WP. Same problem.
 

alex-ru

Grizzled Member
Dash Support Group
Jul 14, 2014
2,374
3,242
1,183
Sorry guys - but new site doesn’t look like like promo site of «first and only already working, easy and ready to use anonymous coin» for ordinary people.
It looks like techno-blog for crypto-geeks testing prototype who already know everything about Darkcoin.

So this new site is great for active adepts of Darkcoin - OK. But to attract new people - IMO we need smth like https://bitcoin.org site.

May be we need to have bouth 2 sites:
1. Promosite to attract users-investors with professional design, usability, promo articles, video, ... with simple interface (strong selling site). Click to understand -> Click to download -> Click to buy. No distracting info.
2. Techno-blog with all the information for adepts that already use Darkcoin and intrested in RS, mining pools, updates and all such stuff ...
 
  • Like
Reactions: pottu82

acidburn

Active Member
May 26, 2014
467
175
113
I fully agree. Everything I read on the site I knew but I tried to get one of my colleagues into dark and thought, brilliant, I'll show him the site.

He read some but still didn't get it and went on to buy some other crap since they have a better site.
 

tungfa

Administrator
Dash Core Team
Moderator
Foundation Member
Masternode Owner/Operator
Apr 9, 2014
8,895
6,723
1,283
I was just trying to send a short reminder to a couple of writers i know personally, regarding OS on Monday
I was thinking to twitter them the link:
http://www.darkcoin.io/media.html

But there is NOTHING on there !!
WHY IS RC5 release NOT on there ??

I need a link for the last release (to use it proper and legit, as it is a DRK link)
and
Monday I will need a link for the new (Open Source Release)
So i can only twitter them now saying oh check it out dude, but i have NO link to use ...
that is bullshit PR right there !
 

tungfa

Administrator
Dash Core Team
Moderator
Foundation Member
Masternode Owner/Operator
Apr 9, 2014
8,895
6,723
1,283
Whatever you guys do
PLEASE
have that sorted by monday !
(it is sunday night where I am sitting and honestly i am stressing out about this !)
can't we just go back to the old page ?

That video is still on the front page
still pictures and links and whatnot missing !!!
 

tungfa

Administrator
Dash Core Team
Moderator
Foundation Member
Masternode Owner/Operator
Apr 9, 2014
8,895
6,723
1,283
emailed them
am looking for a link for the Last RC and then will twitter them too !

tx again
really helpful !!
 

Kai

Member
Apr 6, 2014
110
56
78
media html should redirect to https://www.darkcoin.io/news/ now

And I agree, we need to get the homepage fixed today.

HTTPS is broken, icons are broken, and the logo is not clickable anymore...
I figured out why the https homepage's style is broken, it uses non secure url for the css files (http instead of https), therefore the content of those files are blocked by the browsers.
e.g. :
HTML:
<link href="http://www.darkcoin.io/wp-content/themes/Sterling/style.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" media="screen" />
instead of
HTML:
<link href="https://www.darkcoin.io/wp-content/themes/Sterling/style.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" media="screen" />
 
Last edited by a moderator:
  • Like
Reactions: mattmct

loktrrr

New Member
Apr 8, 2014
33
9
8
Both wallet links on the front page go to an internal 404 (blank): darkcoin.io/getstarted.html
Guessing it needs to link to either: darkcoin.io/downloads/ or darkcoin.io/using-darkcoin/wallet/

I see you have bigger problems, but this seems important for new users.

And I know it's been said, but linking to Allcoin first (or anything but top exchanges) makes DRK look terrible :

Allcoin 24h Volume
0.0141 BTC
1.9030 DRK
 
  • Like
Reactions: Kai
S

snogcel

Guest
these problems should be really easy fixes - I have a good amount of wordpress and general website development knowledge, PM snogcel in #darkcoin / freenode if I can help out at all.... would be really good to get the home page fixed before PR blitz ;-)

Edit: specifically,I think adjusting the site URL from https://www.darkcoin.io to http://www.darkcoin.io will fix most of the issues.

SSL / Mixed Content Troubleshooting: https://managewp.com/wordpress-ssl-settings-and-how-to-resolve-mixed-content-warnings

More specifically, I think we should try this backwards - adjust the site URL from SSL (which it probably currently uses) to HTTP. https://managewp.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/08/WordPress-General-URL-Settings.png
 
Last edited:

fernando

Powered by Dash
Dash Core Team
Moderator
Foundation Member
May 9, 2014
1,527
2,058
283
Whatever you guys do
PLEASE
have that sorted by monday !
(it is sunday night where I am sitting and honestly i am stressing out about this !)
can't we just go back to the old page ?

That video is still on the front page
still pictures and links and whatnot missing !!!
We will. For some things access to the server is needed and only Evan has it, but it is still 11am for him.
 
  • Like
Reactions: tungfa and mattmct

mattmct

Member
Mar 13, 2014
259
92
88
The site isn't completely broken, but there are a few issues that need to be fixed for sure. It's tricky when people are on different time zones etc. I could go in now and fix things like the dark logo link, the redirects and things, but right now only Evan have FTP access. I'll see if I can get this off of him so we can go in and fix the remaining issues.

To echo Kai above, yes that is what is causing the issues, some things are currently hard coded to http rather than https, specifically the style sheet, as I wrote about here: https://darkcointalk.org/threads/darkcoin-io-website-overhaul.1874/page-15#post-22599

Redirects are easy to do via htaccess, but FTP is needed for this also.

Most issues will be fixed by forcing http, rather than https. But we can get this working if we force that, and remove the hardcoded http. But once again, comes down to FTP access.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

mattmct

Member
Mar 13, 2014
259
92
88
Did someone just work some magic? :D ..Maybe Evan got my PM. Graphics now loading for me on main page in https mode perfectly.
 

mattmct

Member
Mar 13, 2014
259
92
88
In reference to above, I noticed how some pages were loading correctly for me loged in as an admin, but not as a general user. After disabling some caching things now apear to be loading correctly for me, logged in and out, on https. Also good on my ipad.

Can other users please confirm? Graphics loading, community page looks good. (You might have to refresh a few times)
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Kai

Member
Apr 6, 2014
110
56
78
In reference to above, I noticed how some pages were loading correctly for me loged in as an admin, but not as a general user. After disabling some caching things now apear to be loading correctly for me, logged in and out, on https. Also good on my ipad.

Can other users please confirm? Graphics loading, community page looks good. (You might have to refresh a few times)
Works for me now.
 
  • Like
Reactions: mattmct