Welcome to the Dash Forum!

Please sign up to discuss the most innovative cryptocurrency!

mining on testnet

Discussion in 'Questions and Help' started by Juj, Aug 2, 2017.

  1. Juj

    Juj New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    hi,

    I am new to crypto, and I want to start mining on testnet, can anyone give some guidance?

    thanks
     
  2. stan.distortion

    stan.distortion Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    839
    Likes Received:
    492
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Start the full client with the testnet option:
    Code:
     ./dashd -testnet 
    Open the debug console and tell the client to start mining:
    Code:
     setgenerate true 
    That's about all that's needed, you can set testnet in dash.conf either or do it all from the command line, passing " --help " to dashd will give a full list of options and running " dash-cli help " will give all the commands for a running client and further help on each option, " dash-cli help setgenerate " for example.
     
  3. Juj

    Juj New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3

    thanks you, I will start messing around with it.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Juj

    Juj New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    hello again,

    i can switching the wallet to production mode or test mode by changing the config file.
    therefore, it come to me with some questions:
    1) are they sharing a same wallet?
    2) will the real dash get messed up with the test dash?
    3) should i encrypt/backup the test dash wallet if they are different?

    thanks
     
  5. stan.distortion

    stan.distortion Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    839
    Likes Received:
    492
    Trophy Points:
    133
    No, different wallet and most other files, the only one shared is dash.conf iirc. All the others should be in the testnet3 folder in the Dash data directory.
    No, Dash and tDash are entirely seperate
    No point encrypting the testnet wallet.dat but it won't cause any problems.

    You can include the setgenerate command in dash.conf too if you want the client to mine at startup, forgot to mention earlier. You can also run both clients simultaneously on the same machine with no issues, launch one normally and the other passing -testnet
     
  6. Juj

    Juj New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    great, thanks, it should keep me busy for a while:)