• Forum has been upgraded, all links, images, etc are as they were. Please see Official Announcements for more information

mining on testnet

Juj

hi,

I am new to crypto, and I want to start mining on testnet, can anyone give some guidance?

thanks

Start the full client with the testnet option:
Code:
 ./dashd -testnet

Open the debug console and tell the client to start mining:
Code:
 setgenerate true

That's about all that's needed, you can set testnet in dash.conf either or do it all from the command line, passing " --help " to dashd will give a full list of options and running " dash-cli help " will give all the commands for a running client and further help on each option, " dash-cli help setgenerate " for example.

Start the full client with the testnet option:
Code:
 ./dashd -testnet

Open the debug console and tell the client to start mining:
Code:
 setgenerate true

That's about all that's needed, you can set testnet in dash.conf either or do it all from the command line, passing " --help " to dashd will give a full list of options and running " dash-cli help " will give all the commands for a running client and further help on each option, " dash-cli help setgenerate " for example.

thanks you, I will start messing around with it.

hello again,

i can switching the wallet to production mode or test mode by changing the config file.
therefore, it come to me with some questions:
1) are they sharing a same wallet?
2) will the real dash get messed up with the test dash?
3) should i encrypt/backup the test dash wallet if they are different?

thanks

hello again,

i can switching the wallet to production mode or test mode by changing the config file.
therefore, it come to me with some questions:
1) are they sharing a same wallet?
2) will the real dash get messed up with the test dash?
3) should i encrypt/backup the test dash wallet if they are different?

thanks