Welcome to the Dash Forum!

Please sign up to discuss the most innovative cryptocurrency!

Masternode keeps going inactive

Discussion in 'Masternode Questions and Help.' started by m4dh4tter, Nov 11, 2017.

Tags:
  1. m4dh4tter

    m4dh4tter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I got myself a masternode 5 weeks ago feeling happy about the investmeent and the opportunity to pay back to the community.
    First two weeks all went fine, but in the last three weeks my masternode have gone inactive four times, without getting any rewards. I use the vultre service. i have followed TAO's guide both when installing and updating to 0.12.2.
    Does anyone have any advice for me to get the masternode working properly, or should I just sell my 1000 DASH and invest it elsewhere?
     
  2. Dandy

    Dandy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    96
    Trophy Points:
    88
    • Like Like x 1
  3. 3dificio

    3dificio New Member
    Masternode Owner/Operator

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Also, if you're running vultr's 512 mb RAM vps, you need to upgrade to at least 1 GB ram (2 GB to be safe). My masternode is using 707 mb of ram right now. If your vps runs out of ram it will crash.

    You should also setup a SWAP partition, i won't go into detail here 'cause i'm certain someone online has explained it a lot better than i ever could, just google it :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. strophy

    strophy Administrator
    Dash Core Team Dash Support Group Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2016
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    344
    Trophy Points:
    133
    • Like Like x 1
  5. m4dh4tter

    m4dh4tter New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Thanks for the tips. I have upgraded to 2GB RAM and version 0.12.2.1. Also did setup a swap file.

    masternode up and running for 30 minutes and counting...
     
  6. revelations86

    revelations86 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2016
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Yes, take it from me. I've lost countless Dash because I didn't upgrade to 1gb ram. Its not worth the risk.
     
  7. Sven

    Sven Member
    Masternode Owner/Operator

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2017
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Is there documentation about how to set up and read the log files that the node generates? That would help troubleshoot problems like this.

    For example, my sentinel-cron.log contains no time stamps, which severely limits its usefulness. I see a lot of this in there:
    Code:
    [Errno 111] Connection refused
    Cannot connect to dashd. Please ensure dashd is running and the JSONRPC port is open to Sentinel.
    
    but can't tell how old those are.

    debug.log shows e.g.
    Code:
    CGovernanceObject::CheckOrphanVotes -- Failed to add orphan vote: GOVERNANCE_EXCEPTION_WARNING:CGovernanceObject::ProcessVote -- Masternode index not found
    Are there options to turn on more or less verbose logging? Time stamps? Are those sentinel error numbers explained somewhere? Is there documentation about the different possible log entries?
     

Share This Page