Welcome to the Dash Forum!

Please sign up to discuss the most innovative cryptocurrency!

looking for help, CPU pool-mining from drkpool

Discussion in 'Questions and Help' started by DcoinZ, Apr 27, 2014.

  1. DcoinZ

    DcoinZ Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2014
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    68
    [​IMG]
    I created an account with dkpool, i downloaded the minerd. i opened and recieved HTTP request failed: nor can I type any command.
    a little help? do i have to disable windows firewall? at&t firewall? thoughts or comments? what am I doing wrong? or is everyone having this problem?
     
  2. DcoinZ

    DcoinZ Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2014
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    68
    [​IMG]

    so i download minerd
    open the folder and click the application.
    Simple noob question, Whar does this mean?
    "HTTP request failed: Failed to connect to 127.0.0.1 port 9
    332: Connection refused"
     
  3. TanteStefana

    TanteStefana Moderator
    Dash Core Group Linguistic Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,714
    Likes Received:
    1,791
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    Ok, first, is your minerd the version for darkcoin? It's a different algorithm, so you need a special version (you can get here: https://github.com/ig0tik3d/darkcoin-cpuminer-1.2c or here: https://github.com/elmad/darkcoin-cpuminer-1.3-avx-aes (Faster if you have the AES-NI instruction set)) Or just go to the front page of the bitcointalk announcement thread here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=421615.0 where you can find downloads for windows that are already compiled.

    Second, you need to be sure to have the correct information when starting the miner. You can start the miner with a .bat or .sh file, or just a command in a terminal, or via a config file. I think you can find tutorials, or "guides" in this forum right here: https://darkcointalk.org/forums/guides.32/
     
  4. admin

    admin Guest

    It means your mining against yourself with no configuration settings. If you are using 127.0.0.1 your mining solo.

    To get it working open up cmd and go to the miner location.
    Then type in the following replacing your [wallet address] with your actual wallet address.

    To see your progress just go to the website here.
    Code:
    minerd.exe -a X11 -o stratum+tcp://p2pool.darkcointalk.org:7903 -u [wallet address] -p 123
     
  5. DcoinZ

    DcoinZ Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2014
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    68
    lost me at "go to the miner location."

    the cmd from minderd does not allow paste or typing.
     
  6. Propulsion

    Propulsion The buck stops here.

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Messages:
    1,008
    Likes Received:
    467
    Trophy Points:
    183
    Dash Address:
    XerHCGryyfZttUc6mnuRY3FNJzU1Jm9u5L
    How about trying this? Click on the start menu and in Search type in "cmd" and hit enter.
    You should now have cmd open. Type in the following.
    Code:
    cd C:\Users\Axelrodde\Downloads\xcoin-miner\xcoin-miner
    And then what darkadmin said except changing your wallet address to what it actually is.

    Code:
    minerd.exe -a X11 -o stratum+tcp://p2pool.darkcointalk.org:7903 -u [wallet address] -p 123
     
  7. scorpio18

    scorpio18 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2014
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    right click on file a click edit and replace what is in the file with
    Code:
    minerd.exe -a X11 -o stratum+tcp://p2pool.darkcointalk.org:7903 -u [wallet address] -p 123
    Save. And now you can start your minerd with that file by double click on it
     
  8. DcoinZ

    DcoinZ Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2014
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    68
    [​IMG]
    Tried a few code combinations but no luck with any of it. I am not an advanced programer but i know my way around a computer. If i cant get a miner to work, i know many others cant.
    This learning curve is to steep. iv been reading this post https://darkcointalk.org/threads/windows-mining-walkthrough.54/ still don't get it. My darkcoin walletqt wont sync either.
     
  9. admin

    admin Guest

    You are not in the right directory. plus remove the "[]" around your address. in command go to the folder that you have the miner program in. Then do the above.

    So if you miner program is in a folder on your desktop, type in "cd" followed by the path to the folder. For example. If I was at the C:/ and my miner was on the desktop I would type in this.
    Code:
    C:\
    C:\ cd Users\Darkadmin\Desktop\xccoin-miner
    
    C:\Users\Darkadmin\Desktop\xccoin-miner\
    
    C:\Users\Darkadmin\Desktop\xcoin-miner\minerd.exe -a X11 -o stratum+tcp://p2pool.darkcointalk.org:7903 -u my wallet address -p 123
     
  10. DcoinZ

    DcoinZ Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2014
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    68
    [​IMG]
    what do i keep doing wrong? forgive me.
     
  11. scorpio18

    scorpio18 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2014
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Type like this in the cmd

    Code:
    C:\Users\Axelrodde\Desktop\xcoin-miner\minerd.exe -a X11 -o stratum+tcp://p2pool.darkcointalk.org:7903 -u my wallet address -p 123
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. Propulsion

    Propulsion The buck stops here.

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Messages:
    1,008
    Likes Received:
    467
    Trophy Points:
    183
    Dash Address:
    XerHCGryyfZttUc6mnuRY3FNJzU1Jm9u5L
    Looks like your missing a folder should be.
    Code:
    C:\Users\Axelrodde\Desktop\xcoin-miner\xcoin-miner\minerd.exe -a X11 -o stratum+tcp://p2pool.darkcointalk.org:7903 -u my wallet address -p 123
    Your original screenshot shows the folder xcoin-miner IN another folder called xcoin-miner.

    So do the above instructions but make sure your launching minerd from the second folder.
     
  13. scorpio18

    scorpio18 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2014
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    yes you are right , my bad
     
    • Like Like x 1
  14. DcoinZ

    DcoinZ Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2014
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    68
    #14 DcoinZ, Apr 28, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 29, 2014
  15. Propulsion

    Propulsion The buck stops here.

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Messages:
    1,008
    Likes Received:
    467
    Trophy Points:
    183
    Dash Address:
    XerHCGryyfZttUc6mnuRY3FNJzU1Jm9u5L
    Looks to be working. There is a faster miner HERE. Go to that page and hit CTRL S or file download.

    Make a new text file and save it as Quick.bat
    Then copy and paste this code in it and save it.
    Make sure your old miner is off, then double click Quick.bat
    If all goes well you'll be mining much faster.

    Also note: That code is for your specific address, you won't have to change anything.:)
    Code:
    @echo off
    start /d "C:\Users\Axelrodde\Downloads\drk-v1.2c"
    minerd.exe -a X11 -o stratum+tcp://p2pool.darkcointalk.org:7903 -u XwBa1FN9tcfYautcZ3vr178VfZiH2JzXK9+0.001 -p 123
    You can check everything is working by going here.

    p2pool.darkcointalk.org You will see your address and your mining speed. It will take a while to receive a payout with the hash speed you have.
     
  16. DcoinZ

    DcoinZ Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2014
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    68
    [​IMG]
    I tried to use your Code exactly, Propulsion. This is the message I got. Should I leave it in the download folder? Should not make any difference.
     
  17. Propulsion

    Propulsion The buck stops here.

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Messages:
    1,008
    Likes Received:
    467
    Trophy Points:
    183
    Dash Address:
    XerHCGryyfZttUc6mnuRY3FNJzU1Jm9u5L
    Yeah that code was assuming you left the folder in your Download folder not your Desktop.
    Heres the code for the desktop.

    Code:
    @echo off
    dir "C:\Users\Axelrodde\Desktop\drk-v1.2c"
    minerd.exe -a X11 -o stratum+tcp://p2pool.darkcointalk.org:7903 -u XwBa1FN9tcfYautcZ3vr178VfZiH2JzXK9+0.001 -p 123
    EDIT: Leave the +0.001 attached at the end of your address. That automatically lowers the difficulty for your miner since your using a CPU.
     
    #17 Propulsion, Apr 29, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: May 6, 2014
  18. DcoinZ

    DcoinZ Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2014
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Huh?

    [​IMG]

    help me here, is there something i am missing?
    C:\Users\Dan\Desktop\xcoin-miner\xcoin-miner\minerd.exe -a X11 -o stratum+tcp://p2pool.darkcointalk.org:7903 -u XwBa1FN9tcfYautcZ3vr178VfZiH2JzXK9+0.001 -p 123
     
  19. Propulsion

    Propulsion The buck stops here.

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Messages:
    1,008
    Likes Received:
    467
    Trophy Points:
    183
    Dash Address:
    XerHCGryyfZttUc6mnuRY3FNJzU1Jm9u5L
    You tried to start it in the wrong folder. That command has to be in this folder C:\Users\Dan\Desktop\xcoin-miner\xcoin-miner\

    Step 1.) Make a text file
    Step 2.) call it p2pool.bat
    Step 3.)Inside it put this:
    Code:
    @echo off
    dir C:\Users\Dan\Desktop\xcoin-miner\xcoin-miner\minerd
    minerd.exe -a X11 -o stratum+tcp://p2pool.darkcointalk.org:7903 -u XwBa1FN9tcfYautcZ3vr178VfZiH2JzXK9+0.001 -p 123
    
    Step 4.) Save it
    Step 5.) Run it
     
    #19 Propulsion, May 6, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: May 6, 2014
  20. DcoinZ

    DcoinZ Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2014
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Thank you Propulsion, I got it working by removing an xcoin-miner from the line.
    C:\Users\Dan\Desktop\xcoin-miner\xcoin-miner\minerd.exe -a X11 -o stratum+tcp://p2pool.darkcointalk.org:7903 -u XwBa1FN9tcfYautcZ3vr178VfZiH2JzXK9+0.001 -p 123 I am getting better at this! Now I have a desktop at 28 and laptop mining at 11-12 khash. Cheers! :D
     
  21. darkout

    darkout New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    [​IMG] Hi guys, having troubles much like the OP, but i thought i followed the directions in this thread. Still having trouble after two days. If someone can walk me through like im 5 as i've never mined before and i'm not a programmer, just a average computer user. much appreciated. also want to set up nvidia mining. I should mention im on an alienware laptop. willing to send some darkcoin or doge for tutoring me
     
    #21 darkout, May 25, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: May 25, 2014

Share This Page