Welcome to the Dash Forum!

Please sign up to discuss the most innovative cryptocurrency!

How to setup multiple Masternodes from One Wallet ?

Discussion in 'Masternode Questions and Help.' started by Technologov, Mar 17, 2017.

  1. Technologov

    Technologov Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2017
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    88
    Hello,

    I bought a bunch of Dash coins recently (after running away from Bitcoin's scalability issues).

    How to setup Multiple Masternodes from them ?
    I have one control wallet and a bunch of VPSes. One of my VPSes is up-n-running as a MN already !

    I was able to setup one Masternode according to this Guide:

    https://www.dash.org/forum/threads/taos-masternode-setup-guide-for-dummies-updated-for-12-1.2680/

    It uses a command of "masternode genkey" -- but how-to generate multiple genkeys for many masternodes ? Is it even needed ?
    I will need those key(s) for dash.conf on my VPSes.

    Or just one masternode private key (for voting and starting) and multiple Dash addresses with "getaccountaddress 0", "getaccountaddress 1" ... "getaccountaddress n".

    Thanks in advance,
    -Technologov

    P.S: I think that a network now experiencing smaller amount of MNs because previous users sold their Dash during the spike while new users have not-yet setup Dash MNs properly. (Some Windows-only crypto investors lack the necessary skills, so a new type of support job will soon be required). You see: Not all investors understand Linux or technology in general.
     
    #1 Technologov, Mar 17, 2017
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2017
  2. Balych

    Balych Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    211
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Dash Address:
    Xba1ychX7CjgbRrCKE1LjHjT3jLUhcexs5
    1) getnewaddress "label"
    2) send 1000 to this address and get txid and output
    3) masternode genkey
    4) add new line at masternode.conf as example:
    mn_alias vps_ip step_3_key step_2_txid output
    5) repeat
     
  3. Technologov

    Technologov Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2017
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    88
  4. Balych

    Balych Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    211
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Dash Address:
    Xba1ychX7CjgbRrCKE1LjHjT3jLUhcexs5
    Yes.
     
  5. maky

    maky Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2014
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    58
    And "masternodeprivkey" it is just random number generated by command: masternode genkey (try generate couple of times)

    It is not in any way connected to masternode address priv key.

    Just must be the same on local and remote. It is something like password and login in rpc.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  6. Technologov

    Technologov Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2017
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    88
    >2) send 1000 to this address and get txid and output

    1. How to get output ? (or transaction index)
    2. Why is "transaction index" even needed in masternode.conf ?
    3. How to get txid ?
    4. Does command "masternode outputs" has limit in amount of MNs ? (it shows only few MNs, while I clearly created more)
    5. Does it mean that other addresses (txo went to other MNs) ?
    6. How to declare that specific address is MN address, so my wallet will NOT touch it ?

    NOTE: It seems that my wallet spend the money from first MN[0] address into last MN[n] address.
    (so in the end I have only money in some MNs and in change addresses, but not in first several MNs) How to prevent it ?
     
    #6 Technologov, Mar 22, 2017
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2017
  7. UdjinM6

    UdjinM6 Official Dash Dev
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,629
    Likes Received:
    3,538
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    1-3. that's what 4. gives you in its output "txid" : "index"
    4. no, it shows every 1000 DASH you have, no limits
    5. probably
    6. once you configure masternode.conf they will be locked automatically on start, before that you can enable Coin Control (Options -> Wallet -> Enoble Coin Control features) and then "Inputs..." button on Send tab should show allow you to lock specific outpoints manually
     
  8. Technologov

    Technologov Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2017
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    88
    Aha, thanks !!

    So masternode.conf is the biggie locker !! (I didn't know that)
     

Share This Page