Welcome to the Dash Forum!

Please sign up to discuss the most innovative cryptocurrency!

Guide for MN on TestNet needed ...>>

Discussion in 'Masternode Guides' started by tungfa, Nov 29, 2014.

  1. tungfa

    tungfa Administrator
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member Masternode Owner/Operator Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    8,965
    Likes Received:
    6,737
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    hey
    I have the feeling there are more masternodes needed on TestNet, if somebody provides a guide (Masternode for TestNet , setup + facts) I am happy to post it around (DRK Social Media) to get more newcomers and others interested ! tx

    PS: the best would be to have a full TestNet Guide !
    - Masternode
    - Wallet

    Tx
     
    • Like Like x 3
  2. jpr

    jpr Active Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2014
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    393
    Trophy Points:
    133
    do you need a new vps instance to run a testnet node?
     
  3. Propulsion

    Propulsion The buck stops here.

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Messages:
    1,008
    Likes Received:
    467
    Trophy Points:
    183
    Dash Address:
    XerHCGryyfZttUc6mnuRY3FNJzU1Jm9u5L
    Quick & dirty guide for a hot local Testnet Masternode

    Step one. Download the latest testnet wallet.

    Step two. Start the wallet with the testnet flag. "./darkcoin-qt --testnet &" or "./darkcoind --testnet --daemon --rpcuser=asdf --rpcpassword=asdf &"

    Step two.&ahalf. Send a single 1000 input to the wallet.

    Step three. in the debug window type in "masternode genkey" copy it for step four.

    Step four. Create a new darkcoin.conf file. In it put this:

    Step five. Restart the wallet. Now it'll automatically be on testnet and preconfigured for being a MN. You no longer need any flags it's all in the config.

    Step six. Debug window type in "masternode start" Congratulations! You now have a local hot testnet MN.
     
    • Like Like x 4
  4. MrMime

    MrMime Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    188
    Are there issues with setting up Hot/Cold daemons? On mainnet, hot/cold works fine, but once I turn off my local on test, my remote dies off. Are only Hot test mn's working okay?
     
  5. Propulsion

    Propulsion The buck stops here.

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Messages:
    1,008
    Likes Received:
    467
    Trophy Points:
    183
    Dash Address:
    XerHCGryyfZttUc6mnuRY3FNJzU1Jm9u5L
    Haven't tried Mime. It should be the same procedure as mainnet though.

    Open Port 19999
    Remote : masternode debug
    Local: masternode start
     
  6. MrMime

    MrMime Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    188
    Ya, I figured. Grep'ing Hot.Cold in debug log doesn't pop up though. Weird.. Alright, thanks.
     
  7. tungfa

    tungfa Administrator
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member Masternode Owner/Operator Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    8,965
    Likes Received:
    6,737
    Trophy Points:
    1,283

    tx props
    very cool
    posted already ...>>
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. oaxaca

    oaxaca Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    832
    Trophy Points:
    263
    Regular hot/cold works fine here.
     
  9. tungfa

    tungfa Administrator
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member Masternode Owner/Operator Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    8,965
    Likes Received:
    6,737
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    How about Mining !?
    does TestNet has anything to do with mining ?!
    Meaning miners should point their pools or something in direction testNet ?!

    just a thought, let me know please ....>
     
  10. Lukas_Jackson

    Lukas_Jackson Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    70
    Trophy Points:
    88
    Yes. Mining is still needed on testnet just like on mainnet
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. tungfa

    tungfa Administrator
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member Masternode Owner/Operator Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    8,965
    Likes Received:
    6,737
    Trophy Points:
    1,283

    Maybe somebody can write a guide ?!
    Would be great to have that on paper !
    I promote it ! Promised ! ...>

    Sorry i am always asking for these things, i would write it myself if I could, but I have no idea about this.
    ;)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. Lukas_Jackson

    Lukas_Jackson Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    70
    Trophy Points:
    88
    There is no need for big hash power on testnet but it has to be enough to be stable because variance with small hashpower is a bitch
     
  13. tungfa

    tungfa Administrator
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member Masternode Owner/Operator Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    8,965
    Likes Received:
    6,737
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    well you tell me if it is needed or not ?!
    I think it is always great to have, as newcomers are always looking for guides.

    It would be great to do a paper on "DRK Mining for Newcomers" !
    (incl TestNet and normal / to encourage Newcomers and non Tech People)

    I did the same for Masternodes
    and people are very happy with it !
    https://darkcointalk.org/threads/ma...tups-tools-for-drk-newcomers.3055/#post-30639

    if i get/find these guides i post them on FB / Twitter/ G+/ Blogs and such
    Anybody feels up for it to do a general DRK Mining guide (with all links and suggestions and such)?!
    pbleak already did a great could mining post !
     
    • Like Like x 1
  14. Sub-Ether

    Sub-Ether Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,516
    Likes Received:
    1,254
    Trophy Points:
    183
    You have left out getaccountaddress 0 ?
    I used this order for success on a hot/cold on single machine,

    Step one. Download the latest testnet wallet.

    Step two. Start the wallet with the testnet flag. "./darkcoin-qt --testnet &"

    Step three. in the debug window type in "masternode genkey" copy it for step four.

    step three and a third. getaccountaddress 0

    Step three and 2 thirds. Send a single 1000 input to accountaddress 0

    Step four. Create a new darkcoin.conf file. In it put this:

    darkcoin.conf said:
    rpcuser=User
    rpcpassword=word
    daemon=1
    testnet=1
    masternode=1
    masternodeprivkey=key
    Step five. Restart the wallet. Now it'll automatically be on testnet and preconfigured for being a MN. You no longer need any flags it's all in the config.

    Step six. Debug window type in "masternode start word" Congratulations! You now have a local hot testnet MN.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. flare

    flare Administrator
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2,287
    Likes Received:
    2,406
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    There is no need to do that - you can use any address and fund it with 1000 (t)DRK
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. Sub-Ether

    Sub-Ether Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,516
    Likes Received:
    1,254
    Trophy Points:
    183
    Just to clarify, on mainnet do we still have to use address 0, or is it the same now?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  17. flare

    flare Administrator
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2,287
    Likes Received:
    2,406
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    The need of using "address 0" is deprecated since months - you can use any address and address label for running a masternode - "masternode start" simply uses the first 1000 DRK it finds in your wallet. This applies to the current mainnet version as well.

    I know that many guides refer to address 0, but this is legacy:)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  18. thelonecrouton

    thelonecrouton Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    1,135
    Likes Received:
    813
    Trophy Points:
    283
    You don't even need a separate address for the MN, any address that happens to have a 1000DRK vin will do.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  19. Sub-Ether

    Sub-Ether Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,516
    Likes Received:
    1,254
    Trophy Points:
    183
    Thanks for explaining, perhaps some of the guides should be edited :cool:
     
  20. darkred

    darkred Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2015
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    262
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Thanks for the help, Propulsion. How do I know if the masternode is working? Do you get masternode payments on testnet?