Welcome to the Dash Forum!

Please sign up to discuss the most innovative cryptocurrency!

Electrum Dark

Discussion in 'Projects' started by darkzero, Jun 29, 2014.

  1. ELM4ever

    ELM4ever Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    58
    The instructions how to run an Electrum Server are in HOWTO.md file - in the Propulsion repo...

    "If you have an existing installation of darkcoind and have not previously set txindex=1 you need t reindex the blockchain by running

    $ darkcoind -reindex"

    In addition, make sure that in your server config file, you are pointing to the correct directory holding the new UTXO, that the pruning number (10000) is set correctly.

    Ensure that the Darkcoin daemon config file (a different file) has the txindex=1 in it.
     
    #241 ELM4ever, Mar 4, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 4, 2015
  2. ELM4ever

    ELM4ever Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Darkcoin is already supported by the latest Trezor firmware, as per https://github.com/trezor/trezor-mcu/blob/master/firmware/coins.c

    vertoe : I believe the issue is with Encompass that have not yet enabled the Trezor plugin.

    But if you want to test it out, just "enable" the Trezor support yourself (by removing the comment "#" in Encompass /plugins/Trezor.py L53) - I don't have a spare Trezor handy to test it. If you do - be my guest. My bet is, that it will work out of the box... because Encompass is based on a fork of Electrum 2.0... where the plugins where cloned un-modified.

    The only* thing that Encompass did was to make generic the Electrum code that was generic to ALL coins - ...generic to ALL coins, and then group the "custom specs" of individual coins, into a directory called "/lib/chains". Making a port to Electrum super easy, for any coins - even for someone like me....

    *= genius

    .... and it is a system that has been working flawlessly for the last two weeks! May not have darksend or InstantX support yet... but... we will get there!
     
    #242 ELM4ever, Mar 4, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 4, 2015
  3. vertoe

    vertoe Three of Nine

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    2,573
    Likes Received:
    1,652
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    It's not the first time i'm indexing transactoins, fyi. But thanks for pointing me to the docs :rolleyes:

    If this keeps occuring, it might be a bug.
     
  4. vertoe

    vertoe Three of Nine

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    2,573
    Likes Received:
    1,652
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    speaking of electrum, i'm at the bar with thomas the creator of electrum right now. any questions i should pass on?
     
  5. jpr

    jpr Active Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2014
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    393
    Trophy Points:
    133
    At the bar like in a pub? Lol.
    What beer does he like :D
     
  6. vertoe

    vertoe Three of Nine

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    2,573
    Likes Received:
    1,652
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    he already left the building, got to check if he's available at the inside bitcoins berlin tomorrow...
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Propulsion

    Propulsion The buck stops here.

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Messages:
    1,008
    Likes Received:
    467
    Trophy Points:
    183
    Dash Address:
    XerHCGryyfZttUc6mnuRY3FNJzU1Jm9u5L
    The eye rolls a nice touch. Shouldn't give you any issues after setting the transaction index to true and relaunching the daemon with a --reindex.


    Note: Start building the Electrum databse after the daemon has been restarted a second time after the reindex finishes.
     
  8. museack

    museack New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    No, there's a number of major coins that don't have working Electrum servers, much less clients. The number (whether talking major coins or otherwise) without working code far exceeds the number with. There are a number of Electrum ports that seem to have been abandoned for one reason or another.

    We're working on pushing out some Electrum servers so that the coins can be integrated into Encompass. I've also identified a number of coins that appear to have working Electrum servers, its just a matter of finding the time to build & test the modules... 24 hour days just aren't enough.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  9. ELM4ever

    ELM4ever Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    58
    We now have 4 distinct Electrum-DRK servers ready to be used. Anyone interested to try the "electrum-style" client would be most appreciated. Otherwise we will most likely shut down the servers in a few weeks, for lack of interest from the users.

    Client is available under the name of Encompass here (Github). It is a python executable, like Electrum is.

    Linux users:
    1. cd to the downloaded directory
    2. "sudo python setup.py install", to install the dependancies related to litecoin, darkcoin, etc
    3. "./encompass"

    Mac users will have to wait until executables are build for Encompass. If you are interested for such build, mention it on this forum.
     
    #249 ELM4ever, Mar 7, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 7, 2015
    • Like Like x 2
  10. moli

    moli Grizzled Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Messages:
    3,261
    Likes Received:
    1,837
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    I would love to try the Windows version when you have it. Thanks! :)
     
  11. ELM4ever

    ELM4ever Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    58
    I forgot that the Windows versions were available 4 days ago. Only the Mac version is outstanding.

    Windows Encompass (Electrum-style) Multi-coins available here.

    Download the setup, or .exe version - your choice (setup recommended).

    It will first open under Mazacoin (the default). Then, go to Wallet tab, and select "Change Currency" - then select DRK.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. ELM4ever

    ELM4ever Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Cautions using the Encompass client:

    1. The client does not check for Proof of Work for Darkcoin, like Electrum usually do. The reason is simple, Darkcoin went to so many POW variations since its inception, that nobody has come up with a python implementation to check for it. However, the Encompass client connects to the Electrum-DRK servers, the servers do connect to the official Darkcoin daemons, the Darkcoin daemons do check for POW. Electrum added this feature as a belt over suspenders type of security, against would-be-evil Electrum-servers. If you are not sure, you can at least trust the server "electrum.darkcointalk.org" provided by Propulsion. Mine is "drk1.electrum-servers.us". I know that Vertoe was also planning to set one up, which is currently live in IRC, but for an unknown reason, it doesn't show on the list of servers within the client - maybe Vertoe could fix that when back from the Berlin pub crawl...

    2. PLEASE provide a password when you first create your wallet (after the seed instructions). The same seed is used for all the coins in the wallet. It is a multi-coins wallet - if your wallet is un-encrypted - you risk loosing them all!

    3. Most Electrum plugins are disabled at the moment. Encompass needs to do more tests on them to "enabled" them. That means Trezor is not supported yet (although the code is there, and DRK is supported by Trezor), same applies to many others plugings which are present in Electrum 2.0.
     
    #252 ELM4ever, Mar 7, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 7, 2015
    • Like Like x 1
  13. elan

    elan Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Can't really get it to work with Darkcoin.

    https://github.com/mazaclub/encompass/issues/34
    https://github.com/mazaclub/encompass/issues/35
    https://github.com/mazaclub/encompass/issues/36

    Guess it needs some more work.
     
  14. duffman

    duffman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    13
    I would not discard this client so soon . The "electrum -style" client is the only choice for newcomers that can't download the whole blockchain.
    Here, have some pics for your viewing pleasure:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    I have also setup an electrum server on electrum-drk dot club. The leveldb with the 10000 pruning limit only takes ~456MB.
    It is not public yet because the server is not able to connect to IRC:

    Code:
    Traceback (most recent call last):
      File "build/bdist.linux-x86_64/egg/electrumserver/ircthread.py", line 121, in run
      c = client.server().connect(irc.freenode dot net, 6667, self.nick, self.password, ircname=self.ircname)
      File "build/bdist.linux-x86_64/egg/irc/functools.py", line 46, in wrapper
      return method(self, *args, **kwargs)
      File "build/bdist.linux-x86_64/egg/irc/client.py", line 500, in connect
      raise ServerConnectionError("Couldn't connect to socket: %s" % ex)
    ServerConnectionError: Couldn't connect to socket: [Errno 110] Connection timed out
    
    This is my config if it helps:

    Code:
    [server]
    # username for running the daemon
    username = myuser
    # hostname. set it to a FQDN in order to be reached from outside
    host = electrum-drk dot club
    # ports
    electrum_rpc_port = 8010
    stratum_tcp_port = 50001
    stratum_tcp_ssl_port = 50002
    report_host = electrum-drk.club
    report_stratum_tcp_port = 50001
    report_stratum_tcp_ssl_port = 50002
    password = ************
    banner = Welcome to Electrum-DRK.club
    banner_file = /etc/electrum-drk.banner
    irc = yes
    irc_nick = drkclub
    ssl_certfile = /home/dmanager/cert/server.crt
    ssl_keyfile = /home/dmanager/cert/server.key
    logfile = /home/dmanager/electrum-drk.log
    donation_address =
    [leveldb]
    # path to your database
    path = /run/shm/e-db
    # for each address, history will be pruned if it is longer than this limit
    # can lower to 100 if performance issues are present
    pruning_limit = 10000
    [darkcoind]
    darkcoind_host = localhost
    darkcoind_port = 9998
    # user and password from darkcoin.conf
    darkcoind_user = myuser
    darkcoind_password = ***********
     
    • Like Like x 2
  15. Propulsion

    Propulsion The buck stops here.

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Messages:
    1,008
    Likes Received:
    467
    Trophy Points:
    183
    Dash Address:
    XerHCGryyfZttUc6mnuRY3FNJzU1Jm9u5L
    duffman Change this:
    Code:
     host = electrum-drk dot club 
    to this?
    Code:
     host = electrum-drk.club 
     
  16. duffman

    duffman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    13
    Sorry but no cookie for you :) I wrote the dot explicitly because the forum does not allow "sneaky urls" to members with two posts or less.
    It is something else.
     
  17. Propulsion

    Propulsion The buck stops here.

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Messages:
    1,008
    Likes Received:
    467
    Trophy Points:
    183
    Dash Address:
    XerHCGryyfZttUc6mnuRY3FNJzU1Jm9u5L
    duffman our ports are different. Are you using the latest version?
    git reset --hard origin/master
    Or just change the ports in the config file and try again.

    [server]
    # username for running the daemon
    username = mn
    hostname = electrum.darkcointalk.org
    host = electrum.darkcointalk.org
    # ports
    electrum_rpc_port = 8010
    stratum_tcp_port = 50010
    stratum_tcp_ssl_port = 50002
    report_host = electrum.darkcointalk.org
    report_stratum_tcp_port = 50010
    report_stratum_tcp_ssl_port = 50002
    password = ........................................
    banner = Welcome to Electrum-DRK!
    banner_file = /etc/electrum-drk.banner
    irc = yes
    irc_nick = dct
     
  18. duffman

    duffman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    13
    Code:
    ~# git reset --hard origin/master
    HEAD is now at 4522ecf Darkcoin: Corrected inconsistency with IRC naming convention
    
    Yep. I have applied the changes, but no luck. I cannot find peers:
    Code:
    ~# electrum-drk-server peers
    []
     
  19. thelazier

    thelazier Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    184
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Dash Address:
    Xreiza1qGJMT5BpW6BDtRJqwtcBSxGwWYN
    Sorry, what is network part ? Is this line exists in your conf file?
    type = Darkcoin_main
     
  20. Propulsion

    Propulsion The buck stops here.

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Messages:
    1,008
    Likes Received:
    467
    Trophy Points:
    183
    Dash Address:
    XerHCGryyfZttUc6mnuRY3FNJzU1Jm9u5L
    Shouldn't need it in the config file. It's set by default when running run_electrum_drk_server.
    Code:
    grep -n 'Darkcoin_main' run_electrum_drk_server
    112:    config.set('network', 'type', 'Darkcoin_main')
     
    • Like Like x 1
  21. vertoe

    vertoe Three of Nine

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    2,573
    Likes Received:
    1,652
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    lol is that your anti spam rules or is it someone else? ;-)
    obviously he cant post links, even inside a code environment.

    let's add all servers to the repository. what do we have?
    • descartes.darko.in
    • electrum.darkcointalk.org
    • drk1.electrum-servers.us
    • electrum-drk.club
    • drk.khavr.com
    • 103.13.228.168
    https://github.com/mazaclub/encompass/pull/37
     
    • Like Like x 1
  22. Propulsion

    Propulsion The buck stops here.

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Messages:
    1,008
    Likes Received:
    467
    Trophy Points:
    183
    Dash Address:
    XerHCGryyfZttUc6mnuRY3FNJzU1Jm9u5L
    Heh look in his config file again. He posted the regular domain name for 'report-host' so who knows.

    That's more than what's currently showing up in the channel #electrum-drk.
     
  23. akhavr

    akhavr Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Messages:
    755
    Likes Received:
    376
    Trophy Points:
    133
    I'm working on that one right now. It's not up yet.
     
  24. thelazier

    thelazier Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    184
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Dash Address:
    Xreiza1qGJMT5BpW6BDtRJqwtcBSxGwWYN
    FYI,103.13.228.168 = electrum.drk.siampm.com
    Since I'm not yet having a nice personal domain name, the FQDN is under my company domain, and the server will be shown as peers anyway while joining IRC, please kindly remove 103.13.228.168 from repository.

    Thank you so much vertoe for your kindness.
     
  25. vertoe

    vertoe Three of Nine

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    2,573
    Likes Received:
    1,652
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    ok will comment out for now.

    done.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  26. vertoe

    vertoe Three of Nine

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    2,573
    Likes Received:
    1,652
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    ah, what ever, I will leave it in there so we dont have to put up another pull request.

    anyways, take your time.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  27. duffman

    duffman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    13
    I tried every single possible combination, even the suggestion in the trollb... I mean, the bct thread.
    91.142.211.178 = electrum-drk.club. Someone a little paranoid may think that you have banned me from the IRC channel :D
    Thanks for your time, Props.

    And thanks for adding me, vertoe.
     
  28. moli

    moli Grizzled Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Messages:
    3,261
    Likes Received:
    1,837
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    The wallet generates 13 words as seed -- The words aren't easy to remember but we can't create our own phrase?
     
  29. ELM4ever

    ELM4ever Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    58
    The wallet picks the seed words from a list of possible words. WRITE THEM down on a piece of paper. The password to encrypt the wallet information is yours to choose.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  30. ELM4ever

    ELM4ever Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    58
    The important variable for IRC is "report_hostname = electrum-drk.club"

    Please ensure that ports 50001 and 50002 are forwarded to your drk server internal IP address (router configuration).

    PS: I also use my server internal IP address for "host = 192.168.xxx.xxx" in my electrum-drk.conf file.

    EDIT: I was able to connect to your server if I entered the electrum-drk.club manually. And you are on IRC. You must have done something right. Now, it could be just a question of propagating your server to the other clients. With Vertoe pull request, that will help.
     
    #270 ELM4ever, Mar 8, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 8, 2015