Darkcoin Update / Masternode requirements / Masternode Payments

Status
Not open for further replies.

coastermonger

New Member
Mar 28, 2014
4
3
3
I would really like to help support the network and run a node, but myself and other users may need some extra advice to walk through it or the process comes across as too technically challenging. Would anyone care to walk us through it, links included?
 

BrainShutdown

Well-known Member
Foundation Member
Apr 8, 2014
149
71
188
Hi,

My masternode stopped connecting to other nodes.
Was there any update to the daemon that I'm not aware of?
Thanks.

Before daemon restart:
Code:
{ "54.213.217.28:9999" : 0, "23.23.186.131:9999" : 0, "54.238.156.138:9999" : 0, "87.242.50.175:9999" : 0, "112.175.123.94:9999" : 0, "94.23.22.195:9999" : 0, "142.161.23.40:9999" : 0, "54.193.124.32:9999" : 0, "54.193.127.186:9999" : 0, "98.101.247.254:9999" : 0, "95.85.59.159:9999" : 0, "54.86.15.235:9999" : 0, "212.101.16.116:9999" : 0, "98.176.239.187:9999" : 0, "54.85.112.223:9999" : 0, "107.170.15.238:9999" : 0, "176.31.113.167:9999" : 0, "141.255.184.191:9999" : 0, "162.243.234.7:9999" : 0, "54.245.240.204:9999" : 0 }
After:
Code:
{
    "54.213.217.28:9999" : 0
}
It was running great for the last 4 days....

Some log:
Code:
2014-04-17 13:15:50 accepted connection 77.173.163.153:36190
2014-04-17 13:15:50 partner 77.173.163.153:36190 using obsolete version 60002; d
isconnecting
2014-04-17 13:15:50 ProcessMessage(version, 100 bytes) FAILED
2014-04-17 13:15:50 disconnecting node 77.173.163.153:36190
2014-04-17 13:15:53 RegisterAsMasterNode
2014-04-17 13:15:54 received getdata (226 invsz)
2014-04-17 13:15:55 socket send error 32
2014-04-17 13:15:55 disconnecting node 178.203.9.140:62340
2014-04-17 13:16:11 Added 1 addresses from 62.75.167.102: 343 tried, 12760 new
2014-04-17 13:16:18 RegisterAsMasterNode
2014-04-17 13:16:19 Added 1 addresses from 213.229.88.102: 343 tried, 12761 new
2014-04-17 13:16:24 accepted connection 24.4.45.219:49030
2014-04-17 13:16:24 partner 24.4.45.219:49030 using obsolete version 60003; disc
onnecting
2014-04-17 13:16:24 ProcessMessage(version, 101 bytes) FAILED
2014-04-17 13:16:24 disconnecting node 24.4.45.219:49030
2014-04-17 13:16:26 Added 1 addresses from 171.93.181.107: 343 tried, 12762 new
2014-04-17 13:16:43 RegisterAsMasterNode
2014-04-17 13:16:48 accepted connection 66.178.182.35:34069
2014-04-17 13:16:48 send version message: version 70012, blocks=52910, us=54.213
.217.28:9999, them=66.178.182.35:34069, peer=66.178.182.35:34069
2014-04-17 13:16:48 Added time data, samples 18, offset -2 (+0 minutes)
2014-04-17 13:16:48 receive version message: /litecoinseeder:0.01/: version 7000
2, blocks=470000, us=54.213.217.28:9999, them=0.0.0.0:0, peer=66.178.182.35:3406
9
2014-04-17 13:16:49 Added 1 addresses from 213.229.88.102: 343 tried, 12761 new
2014-04-17 13:16:49 socket closed
2014-04-17 13:16:49 disconnecting node 66.178.182.35:34069
2014-04-17 13:16:52 accepted connection 176.31.186.58:33893
2014-04-17 13:16:53 send version message: version 70012, blocks=52910, us=54.213
.217.28:9999, them=176.31.186.58:33893, peer=176.31.186.58:33893
2014-04-17 13:16:53 Added time data, samples 19, offset +4 (+0 minutes)
2014-04-17 13:16:53 nTimeOffset = +5  (+0 minutes)
2014-04-17 13:16:53 receive version message: /litecoinseeder:0.01/: version 7000
2, blocks=470000, us=54.213.217.28:9999, them=0.0.0.0:0, peer=176.31.186.58:3389
3
2014-04-17 13:16:54 socket closed
2014-04-17 13:16:54 disconnecting node 176.31.186.58:33893
2014-04-17 13:17:00 Added 1 addresses from 173.48.74.21: 343 tried, 12761 new
2014-04-17 13:17:02 Added 1 addresses from 130.204.61.203: 343 tried, 12761 new
2014-04-17 13:17:06 Added 1 addresses from 80.203.63.210: 343 tried, 12761 new
2014-04-17 13:17:08 RegisterAsMasterNode
EDIT:
After removing peers.dat and waiting about an hour:

Code:
{
    "54.213.217.28:9999" : 1,
    "107.170.15.238:9999" : 1,
    "176.31.113.167:9999" : 1,
    "162.243.234.7:9999" : 1
}
 
Last edited by a moderator:

BrainShutdown

Well-known Member
Foundation Member
Apr 8, 2014
149
71
188
No update yet.
http://darkcoin.io/beta.php

What's your OS ?
Ubuntu on a amazon t1.micro (Linux ip-172-31-17-60 3.2.0-60-virtual #91-Ubuntu SMP Wed Feb 19 04:13:28 UTC 2014 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux)

I have an automatic script that updates the daemon from the link you posted so I thought maybe some internal update or something...

Do you have you masternode list with the flag "1" ?

Did you see my edit on the post above? After removing peers.dat it connected to some nodes...
 

chaeplin

Active Member
Core Developer
Mar 29, 2014
749
356
133
Ubuntu on a amazon t1.micro (Linux ip-172-31-17-60 3.2.0-60-virtual #91-Ubuntu SMP Wed Feb 19 04:13:28 UTC 2014 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux)

I have an automatic script that updates the daemon from the link you posted so I thought maybe some internal update or something...

Do you have you masternode list with the flag "1" ?

Did you see my edit on the post above? After removing peers.dat it connected to some nodes...
some flag "0", some flag "1".

And I rejected those seeders.
https://darkcointalk.org/threads/wh...ldcoinseeder-try-to-check-darkcoin-nodes.263/
 

chaeplin

Active Member
Core Developer
Mar 29, 2014
749
356
133
Question on Masternode list.

Does Masternode has cache time for Masternode list ?

When doing 'darkcoind masternode list', it still show 54.193.127.186.
54.193.127.186 is my old t1.micro's changed two days ago.

I think Masternode list is maintained by txid.
Cause "54.193.127.186" is not changed after node restart(also removing peers.dat).
 

BrainShutdown

Well-known Member
Foundation Member
Apr 8, 2014
149
71
188
I think Masternode list is maintained by txid.
Cause "54.193.127.186" is not changed after node restart(also removing peers.dat).
Well the root node Evan posted (23.23.186.131) is not available. Maybe we need to wait for a new update/information...
Meanwhile I cleared the .darkcoind folder except wallet, conf and peers.
 

nzminer

New Member
Apr 9, 2014
2
0
1
Im very keen to get a master node going if i had enough DRK!
Im experienced with linux and work in IT.
It would be good to have a node or two running in New Zealand.
 

eltito

Active Member
Apr 21, 2014
157
185
103
Any news when the payouts occur of the masternodes? Thanks in advanced
Master node payments are to be implemented with RC2. Evan is currently working on this, but he has given no firm timeline for RC2's release. The code for it is all new, so give him some room to breathe. Judging by his past statements, my assumption is that it will be out sometime in the coming week, but I have no specific information on this. It's coming. Be patient.
 

DcoinZ

Member
Apr 27, 2014
88
25
68
Nice, cant wait to hear how it goes before I attempt to do so.

I am not a tech guy but i see a mutual benefit to loaning the 1000 DRK to a wallet. Maybe add a function to divide the total income in half between two additional wallet addresses. One for the the master-node host and the other for the backer with 1000 DRK.

Just thought it would help get Master nodes around the world in a peer-to-peer fashion.
 

moloch

New Member
Apr 30, 2014
9
3
3
I have a duplicate ip for the master node. I have an elastic ip. How can i remove it? I stopped darkcoind and the most recent of the ip addresses disappears, when I restart it comes back instantly. But the one further up the list remains. Any ideas on how to remove it?
 

Darvin81

New Member
Apr 30, 2014
2
1
3
Is the node do his work without 1000 DRK?
Because i've not the money for 1000DRK, but i will support the network.
 
  • Like
Reactions: yidakee

yidakee

Well-known Member
Foundation Member
Apr 16, 2014
1,812
1,168
283
Is the node do his work without 1000 DRK?
Because i've not the money for 1000DRK, but i will support the network.
ATTENTION all newcomers!! This thread is not valid any more! It was for RC1, we are now on RC2+1/2 :)

Set up a p2pool node! Less work and very supporting to the network!
Right now Masternode is NOT live! We are running with test-DRK's, not real DRK's. But when it goes live, then yes, you will need real 1000 DRKs to have a masternode.
 

DcoinZ

Member
Apr 27, 2014
88
25
68
Could I host a Master Node with win7?o_O
I could get a VPN, just not Linux.:confused:
Cant decided between pool, cloud, while waiting to be a master node.
 

Rux

Member
Mar 9, 2014
69
32
58
Hi guys i will try to setup a masternode... but i need your help for some things, i have some knowlegde with linux and networks, but i dont want to waste 1000 DRK for nothing :D

1st, is there anyway that i can setup masternode on NO-IP DNS ? if so please help! Static IP in my country is so expensive...
2nd, is xubuntu 32bit ok on old DELL machine with 1GB DDR1 RAM, because i cant install x64 on this procesor!!!

:) more question as we go...
 

yidakee

Well-known Member
Foundation Member
Apr 16, 2014
1,812
1,168
283
Hold on for now Rux, t0o many patches going on. We're on RC2 testnet, using fake DRK's. It won't go live until the 14th.
Look into amazon ec2 t1.micro instances. With a valid credit card, you get a 1 year free service provided you don't exceed the limitations.
 

Rux

Member
Mar 9, 2014
69
32
58
:) i understand that and im only collecting infos while i enjoy some linux...

tell me can i cancel ec2 contract after 11 months and 25 days with no FEE ?
 

yidakee

Well-known Member
Foundation Member
Apr 16, 2014
1,812
1,168
283
From everything I've read, yes, but not 100% certain. They offer 750h per month for the free tier. You can either run

1 instance = 750minuts month
2 instances = 750/2

So better to stick to 1.

Also, other considerations everyone should be aware of.
http://docs.aws.amazon.com/gettingstarted/latest/awsgsg-intro/gsg-aws-free-tier-usage-limits.html

EDIT: wow... aparently they count linux and windows separely, so you can have 2 instances with 750mins.. hmm.. must investigate further...

AMIs that are available under the free tier are marked in the Amazon EC2 Launch Wizard as Free Tier Eligible. Both Linux and Microsoft Windows AMIs are available under the free tier. The free tier allotment for Linux and Microsoft Windows instances is counted separately; you can run 750 hours of a Linux t1.micro instance and 750 hours of a Windows t1.micro instance in the free tier each month.
 

DcoinZ

Member
Apr 27, 2014
88
25
68
i know this thread is outdated but on another note,
looks like we can mine 750 hours a month using a free Amazon.com service called AWS http://docs.aws.amazon.com/gettingstarted/latest/awsgsg-intro/gsg-aws-deploy-sample-app.html
This video show how in addition to applications they give us, we can deploy a miner application.
750/24 hours a day = 31.25 days! That is 24/7 365 free cloud miner. How Groovy!
Can any help the Dev with a simple tutorial on yje fourms about how we could mine or masternode host Darkcoin 364 days for free with Amazon?
 
Last edited by a moderator:
  • Like
Reactions: Red-Shinobi

TanteStefana

Grizzled Member
Foundation Member
Mar 9, 2014
2,861
1,854
1,283
i know this thread is outdated but on another note,
looks like we can mine 750 hours a month using a free Amazon.com service called AWS http://docs.aws.amazon.com/gettingstarted/latest/awsgsg-intro/gsg-aws-deploy-sample-app.html
This video show how in addition to applications they give us, we can deploy a miner application.
750/24 hours a day = 31.25 days! That is 24/7 365 free cloud miner. How Groovy!
Can any help the Dev with a simple tutorial on yje fourms about how we could mine or masternode host Darkcoin 364 days for free with Amazon?
Yes, and we have a great tutorial by chaeplin in 3 parts.
https://darkcointalk.org/threads/ho...ubuntu-for-masternode-part-1-3.240/#post-2453
 
  • Like
Reactions: DcoinZ

Rux

Member
Mar 9, 2014
69
32
58
But we dont know will they charge us if we try to cancel contract in 12 months :(
 

TanteStefana

Grizzled Member
Foundation Member
Mar 9, 2014
2,861
1,854
1,283
I can't remember, but if you have the 1 or 3 year contract, I believe you can sell it with their system somehow to another user. Haven't looked into it yet though???
 
Status
Not open for further replies.